Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Late Late Show - 23rd. November 2012

• 22-11-2012 4:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,321 ✭✭✭✭

Confirmed so far...music from The Strypes and golfing guy Darren Clarke.

Update: Music from The Stunning, as well as Noriana Kennedy (promoting 'A Woman's Heart 20th. Anniversary')

Plus (unconfirmed)...Sean Quinn Jnr.?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Tubs and sports don't mix, I'm sure he'll focus mainly on Darren's British Open win in 2011 and his personal life. As a golf fan I'd like to hear him speak about his major dip in form since his Open triumph. He's struggled to make a cut in a tournament since, its shocking really how far he's fallen down the world rankings, more than 100 places in the past year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Darren Clarke received an OBE this week from Tub's *cousin ;).

o-CLARKE-570.jpg?4

http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/2012/11/21/darren-clarke-obe-queen_n_2170279.html
    *Ryan Tubridy - Who Do You Think You Are?
    He [Ryan] didn't expect that the search would lead him to the gates of Windsor Castle and a direct connection to the English Throne!

Ryan was able to trace back through generations of the Dolman pedigree, which then connected to many more generations of another established family, and then another, and another...

Eventually, the direct line led to the 14th Century and Edmund of Langley... who not only was the 1st Duke of York, he was also son of Edward III! And from Edward III, Ryan's direct royal line led back to the 12th Century and King John of England.

http://www.rte.ie/tv/whodoyouthinkyouare/outline_ryan-tubridy.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

As a golf fan I'd like to hear him speak about his major dip in form since his Open triumph. He's struggled to make a cut in a tournament since, its shocking really how far he's fallen down the world rankings, more than 100 places in the past year.

He had no form going in to it, and was extremely lucky that things came together the way they did for him that week.. Many golfer who are far more talented than Clarke never won a major.. He should just thankful that he won instead of constantly whinging about lack of success since.
    Tubs and sports don't mix, I'm sure he'll focus mainly on Darren's British Open win in 2011 and his personal life.

Clarke is very good friends with Tiger Woods, so no doubt Tubridy will ask him all about Tiger's sex life (like he did when Harrington was on)..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

He had no form going in to it, and was extremely lucky that things came together the way they did for him that week.. Many golfer who are far more talented than Clarke never won a major.. He should just thankful that he won instead of constantly whinging about lack of success since.

Yeah, it was something of a blip on an otherwise consistently downward trajectory.

I never warmed to Darren Clarke. Definitely my least favourite of the Irish Major Golf Winners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 canalman

canalman wrote: »

Interesting. I would guess that they will pre-record it for legal reasons. Presumably Tubridy will give him the usual Hello Magazine style 'grilling'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Skid wrote: »
    Yeah, it was something of a blip on an otherwise consistently downward trajectory.

I never warmed to Darren Clarke. Definitely my least favourite of the Irish Major Golf Winners.

Yeah thinking back I suppose he was, he didn't really push on enough from his world championship wins in the early part of the century.

He's an extremely nice guy though from my experience. I met him in Baltray at the Irish Open a couple of years back, was very open and approachable and generous to say the least in the amount of drink he bought for people.

Come to think of it his party lifestyle might have hindered his talent somewhat. Similar to John Daly in a way but obviously not as extreme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,321 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Remember last week how we joked about Twink's book heading the same way as Alan Partridge's 'Bouncing Back'?

https://twitter.com/AMKellyDJ/status/271151649471479808

Remember last week how we joked about Twink's book heading the same way as Alan Partridge's 'Bouncing Back'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

It is nice to see a professional drinker with a small interest in golf on the show. I'm sure the golf crap will disappear over time and Darren Clarke will become a fully rounded individual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

It is nice to see a professional drinker with a small interest in golf on the show. I'm sure the golf crap will disappear over time and Darren Clarke will become a fully rounded individual.
    :D:D:D

Reminds me of his drunken press conference after winning the Open.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

She's the gift that keeps on giving.....
    Twink Facing Motoring Offences in Court

Ms King is now being prosecuted for eight Road Traffic Act offences.

She is accused of: failing to produce a certificate of insurance or certificate of exemption to Gardaí within 10 days; using a '05-registered vehicle which had no NCT, failing to produce a driving licence on January 6, failing to produce a NCT cert within 10 days, having no insurance, driving without a licence, failing to produce a licence within 10 days, and driving “without reasonable consideration for other persons”.
    http://www.breakingnews.ie/entertainment/twink-facing-motoring-offences-in-court-575057.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

167 copies??????

That many??????.......I am truly shocked...:eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

MrsD007 wrote: »
    At least he didn't turn up with a pint of Guinness in his hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

His wife died a while back so that fills the misery quota.

I see Michael Bublé is gonna be on The Saturday Night Show... Another kick in the pants for Mr Peter Pan Feet..

I'm guessing that The Sat Nite Show (with Brendan) will soon be moved to Friday night and Tubridy will be hosting something more appropriate for him.. maybe The Meaning Of Life, he could co host with Gay Byrne.. :D Could you imagine it..

Gay: "And what will you say when you meet Peter at the pearly gates".
    Some Ex Irish Celeb: "I just say 'I've had a good life', Gay"
    Tubridy: "Let's take a look at a video clip of what that might look like, then we'll have the audience quiz"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,165 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

Love Darren Clarke :D
    Never heard of the Strypes! :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭ghiertal

Although Juliette Binoche wasn’t at the launch, there was great excitement about her expected visit to the festival next Saturday, November 24th, to open her new film, Another Woman’s Life. The Oscar-winning French actress is currently filming near Dublin

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/weekend/2012/1117/1224326696107.html

Juliette is in town. Tubbins has had two years to research her non-Hollywood fims. Be interesting to see that interview, would show us if Tubs has improved as an interviewer in the meantime.

I would imagine Ms. Binoche has been blacklisted as a guest. That interview was a complete disaster mostly due to her attitude. I doubt Gaybo or Parkie at their height could have got her to talk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Shea O'Meara

Yamanoto wrote: »
    She's the gift that keeps on giving.....

Twink Facing Motoring Offences in Court

Ms King is now being prosecuted for eight Road Traffic Act offences.

She is accused of: failing to produce a certificate of insurance or certificate of exemption to Gardaí within 10 days; using a '05-registered vehicle which had no NCT, failing to produce a driving licence on January 6, failing to produce a NCT cert within 10 days, having no insurance, driving without a licence, failing to produce a licence within 10 days, and driving “without reasonable consideration for other persons”.

http://www.breakingnews.ie/entertainment/twink-facing-motoring-offences-in-court-575057.html

It's simply that because shes Twink, she feels above it all. I recall many many moons ago at her height:rolleyes: she tried to bring two large dogs into a restaurant and kicked up a stink when she wasn't allowed.

Dovies wrote: »

Late Late Favourites, they have been on twice before

Teenage Retro Rockers, I think they sound good

Okay I've just discovered that the reason my signal for The Late Late Show has been bad for the last few week is that my splitter outside the window got full of water...

So I'd like to apologise.
    i) to the good people who work at Saorview who are not the "biggest shower of useless fkn b*stards" as I may have previously proclaimed....
    ii) to Ryan Tubridy who should ignore the suggestions I made re: alternative uses for the digital aerial..
    iii) to Tommy & PJ for any assertions I may have made about them having a being involved in a sexual relationship with each other...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Shea O'Meara

Late Late Favourites, they have been on twice before

Teenage Retro Rockers, I think they sound good

Twinks nephews?;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,696 ✭✭✭Lisha

Okay I've just discovered that the reason my signal for The Late Late Show has been bad for the last few week is that my splitter got full of water...

Fyp. .

Sounds painful JA hope you're back in full working order before half9

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭castle

This show should be axed, must be at least 80% irish on it , so sad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭cofy

Noriana Kennedy (promoting 'A Woman's Heart 20th. Anniversary')

Does anyone know if they will be re-releasing the original "A Woman's Heart" album, I had it on cassette:o up until about 6 years ago, when my daughter broke it. I absolutely loved it but cannot find it anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

cofy wrote: »
    Does anyone know if they will be re-releasing the original "A Woman's Heart" album, I had it on cassette:o up until about 6 years ago, when my daughter broke it. I absolutely loved it but cannot find it anywhere.
    Hope this helps.

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=a9_sc_1?rh=i%3Aaps%2Ck%3Aa+womans+heart&keywords=a+womans+heart&ie=UTF8&qid=1353697348

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

I expect 166 of them (I assume twink will keep a copy) will end up in Oxfam shops pretty soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

castle wrote: »

It used to be that if Gaybo needed to fill a space they could get in someone like Spike Milligan or Peter Ustinov to tell some tall tales and amuse everyone. There just doesn't seem to be any equivalent characters out there these days. Of course even if there were Tubs wouldn't be able to handle them and would balls up the interview anyway.

I thought that Katie was on the woman's heart original album.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

Another show I will not watch when will RTE wake up this guy is brutal at the LLS.
    I used to enjoy watching it until the Ronan Keating interview and then it was curtains.
    Sad to see my license fee paying a very obnoxious plank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,370 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Exactly why I never bet on golf. Absolute no hopers according to the rankings can win majors. It's a funny game. Clarke was useless (rankings and success wise) pre Open 2011, and useless after it (rankings and success wise).

Betting Clarke talks about "goin' on the piss" after the Open win.

It used to be that if Gaybo needed to fill a space they could get in someone like Spike Milligan or Peter Ustinov to tell some tall tales and amuse everyone.

That's a bit of an exaggeration. It was far from Milligan or Ustinov every week. There were some awful shows in Gay Byrne's era, but in general he got much more out of his interviewees.

And I can't stand Gaybo, but he was streets ahead of Ryan. Far more relaxed and natural; pompous fuc&%$, but was good.

That's true, I remember some borefests. Gaybo's autobiography even admits to that.
    Also back in the day, stars were less controlled by handlers. Insane people like Ollie Reed and Peter Sellers wouldn't be allowed out in public. Tubridy would not be able to handle an Ollie Reed display of his equipment or Peter Sellers dressed in a Kaiser hat. Among the saner end of the spectrum, Billy Connolly and Lenny Henry used to be reliable interviews as well.

Dovies wrote: »
    Twinks nephews?;)

I'm glad you added the question mark. It must be defamatory to allege that someone is related to Twink :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭Max Power

castle wrote: »
    Mad ain't it. You'd think it was an Irish chat show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭jimmynokia

BOP BOP BOP WILLY WONKA JELLY BEANS!
    Will mrs quinn mr be in toe i wonder? Or is this a gallant effort to say he is broke when he drives a whopper merc..

Sounds like Michael Palin is making an appearance tonight.

For a man who purportedly does a lot of travelling, he spends a lot of time in RTE studios...

Bank of Ireland, who couldnt run their own business, sponsoring Dragons Den.. It really is getting ridiculous at this stage.. Why dont they just give the keys of the country to the bankers.

Michael Palin can interview himself. He just winds up and goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,063 ✭✭✭Hitchens

mick palin ...legend

For a man who purportedly does a lot of travelling, he spends a lot of time in RTE studios...

To be fair, I think he really does the travelling. Unless the BBC are doing a lot of Greenscreen trickery.

The BBC could have done with a few green screens when Jimmy Saville was filming..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,063 ✭✭✭Hitchens

oh yeah, like that trick they pulled with davy attenborough and the mama polar bear :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 moon2012

Nice easy start for Tubridy.

jaysus I'm asleep already...

*ruffles pillow*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,321 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Noswaith dda!

Alms for an ex-leper?