Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The most obnoxious conversation you've overheard?

• 22-11-2012 10:45am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

The other day, Mrs Geeky was working away in a café. Overheard two charming ladies having a conversation.

Highlights included
    - "sure there are plenty of jobs out there - people just don't want to work"
    (I won't turn it into a dole-bashing/defending thread, but there are far less jobs out there than people available - and there they were sat on their arse having coffee!)

- "Oh it's a shame about that Savita woman. But you know, if it was her time, it was her time. This is a Catholic country"
    (Apparently some people don't believe in medical intervention of any kind. Even when they're bouncing a baby on their lap. Wonder what that woman would have said if her baby had a condition requiring emergency surgery and the doc had just said 'sure, if it's her time...')

- "I disagree with foster care. Why should the state pay for the kids of junkies. They're just the junkies of the future"
    'Nuff said.

So, AHers, what's the most obnoxious conversation you've overheard?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Ms Geeky is a better woman than I, I don't think I'd have been able to bite my tongue hearing all that. Pair of ****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

'Just let them suffer, we're comfy here!'

-Enda Kenny to his Cabinet last week.

(I really wish I hadn't been told that)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

geeky wrote: »
    "Oh it's a shame about that Savita woman. But you know, if it was her time, it was her time. This is a Catholic country"
    (Apparently some people don't believe in medical intervention of any kind. Even when they're bouncing a baby on their lap. Wonder what that woman would have said if her baby had a condition requiring emergency surgery and the doc had just said 'sure, if it's her time...')

I think you made this up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭HowAreWe

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    I think you made this up

I really hope he/she did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

I once overheard 2 people say that the royal welsh show was the best show in England

2 people I used to work with said of a known local man that was cleared of all sexual harassment of a young girl who admitted she made up false accusations , sure there's no smoke without fire.

I worked for a large retail giant in 2000 and I overheard one manager telling another that you have to keep a personnel distance from the shop floor workers , you have the suit on and they have to respect that , ( now some people might agree but I thought the 2 of em were ass holes )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭Spiritual

Confab wrote: »
    'Just let them suffer, we're comfy here!'

-Enda Kenny to his Cabinet last week.

(I really wish I hadn't been told that)

Care to elaborate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,482 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

My mate was living in Cologne where there is a large population of Turkish immigrants.

Alot of the younger lads, how do I put it, would be of similar ilk to C.Ronaldo with how they would dress and carry themselves.

So my mate is on the subway and two Turkish young fellas get on and hear my mate on the phone talking in English and assume he can't understand German but he can hear them talking and understands fine..

"Hey, should we jump on that guy there and rob him"
    "I don't know, I think he's English."
    "You're right, the English can fight, better not."
    "They've got no style though."

And with that they got off, my mate chuckling to himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭allibastor

Once heard some scumg bag lady on the phone talking about how she was getting a new TV, 50 inch one on HP cause the dole will cover the cost for her on the children allowance as she had now conviced them to pay for her bills so she has more money, and ryan is working for cash and staying with her.

I really want to nick her bag and find out her details to rat her out. Fat miserable knacker bitch.

allibastor wrote: »
    Once heard some scumg bag lady on the phone talking about how she was getting a new TV, 50 inch one on HP cause the dole will cover the cost for her on the children allowance as she had now conviced them to pay for her bills so she has more money, and ryan is working for cash and staying with her.

I really want to nick her bag and find out her details to rat her out. Fat miserable knacker bitch.

It begins.

Spiritual wrote: »
    It begins.

What begins, was that not an obnoxious conversation, or do you want to set up some rules or somethign first!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭martomcg

Ush1 wrote: »
    My mate was living in Cologne where there is a large population of Turkish immigrants.

Alot of the younger lads, how do I put it, would be of similar ilk to C.Ronaldo with how they would dress and carry themselves.

So my mate is on the subway and two Turkish young fellas get on and hear my mate on the phone talking in English and assume he can't understand German but he can hear them talking and understands fine..

"Hey, should we jump on that guy there and rob him"
    "I don't know, I think he's English."
    "You're right, the English can fight, better not."
    "They've got no style though."

And with that they got off, my mate chuckling to himself.

oooooh german speaking friend......

http://data.whicdn.com/images/21990035/tumblr_lx8lfeMLNN1qkm0qgo1_500_thumb.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Having a smoke beside some hip and happening hipsters when somehow they get to the conversation of people with disabilites when one of them comes out with this clanger:

"People who make fun of those with mental disabilities like, down syndrome is it?..........are, like, retards."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

I think you made this up
    HowAreWe wrote: »
    I really hope he/she did.

I wish I or my wife did. But it happened. Just checked and the quote was 'If Savita was meant to live, she would have'

I asked Mrs Geeky to tell them that the state intervention they despise had probably saved them from the Darwinian demise nature and their stupidity intended. But I doubt they were big fans of Darwin.

What begins, was that not an obnoxious conversation, or do you want to set up some rules or somethign first!!

Your own use of language is pretty obnoxious and I don't believe your story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Kev_2012

Queuing for a nightclub in London with one of the lads, we heard a group of lads ahead of talking about soccer. They were saying that the Rome derby is in the San Siro. Was a *little* annoying!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 967 ✭✭✭HeyThereDeliah

People are not allowed sit in a cafe, pay for coffee and chat about whatever they choose to now in case some waitress is offended, seriously some people need to Stfu and mind their own business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

People are not allowed sit in a cafe, pay for coffee and chat about whatever they choose to now in case some waitress is offended, seriously some people need to Stfu and mind their own business.

People are not allowed to talk about conversations they overheard and find despicable on the internet now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭Ddad

This isn't a personal freedoms thread. Read the thread title.
    ^^^^^^
    Got there before me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭donegal_road

oncology ward in an undisclosed Irish hospital:

Doctor: 'there are two patients who need immediate attention as they were in a lot of pain last night'

Consultant: 'why do you care?'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭superblu

My wife and her boarding school book club friends have some pretty obnoxious conversations. It's usually about other people's husbands and boyfriends. I'm sure they think I'm an ill mannered so and so. I'm usually legging it out the door for a pint and champions league when I see their gormless faces appearing round the door.

Your own use of language is pretty obnoxious and I don't believe your story.

Actually mate, its my spelling that is shocking, but due to the marvels of spell check it helps. Though i didnt realise spelling mistakes were obnixious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Ush1 wrote: »
    Phone reception on the metro did he?

This.
    Actually mate, its my spelling that is shocking, but due to the marvels of spell check it helps. Though i didnt realise spelling mistakes were obnixious.

Nothing to do with your spelling, I would not be that rude.

And I ain't your mate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 984 ✭✭✭ViveLaVie

I heard someone say before that people with disabilities shouldn't be given jobs as they are incompetent. :-\

I also overheard a guy in the pub in college talking rather loudly about how anyone drawing the dole shouldn't be allowed to vote. His argument was that the unemployed are stupid and they wouldn't understand the politics at play. That infuriated me so much that I turned around and pointed out that he was the ignorant one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,482 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Aidric wrote: »

No idea, could have been a tram?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

When mickey waving smug aethists get into full flow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭Tiddlypeeps

The metro in Cologne runs above ground in a lot of places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭griffdaddy

superblu wrote: »
    My wife and her boarding school book club friends have some pretty obnoxious conversations. It's usually about other people's husbands and boyfriends. I'm sure they think I'm an ill mannered so and so. I'm usually legging it out the door for a pint and champions league when I see their gormless faces appearing round the door.

Are you some kind of soccer version of Ross O Carroll Kelly?

griffdaddy wrote: »
    Probably not interested in listening to two faced gossips.:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

♫ Hey there Delilah / What's it like up on your high horse?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

I think you made this up

Perhaps. perhaps not. But the version i heard yesterday in a Doctors waiting room (Man flu!) was "They have a cheek , them packys, coming over here telling us how to run our health service and that we have to have abortions"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Rasmus

I think we got the picture at 'boarding school book club friends' !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Motivator

Sitting on a bus heading from UCD into town one day. Had just been in for a breakfast roll in Spar & as I sat in on the bus the only seat left was in front of four utter cnuts. I began listening to their rubbish stories as I tucked in to my roll. One of them obviously spot the scruffy guy just out of bed in sitting in front of them & one of them pipes up:

"Like guys what is even in a breakfast roll? I know there's beans & mushrooms but isn't that like poor people food?"

That would have been bad enough, but all four of them spoke for about 15 minutes about the ins & outs of not just breakfast rolls, but poor peoples food in general. I'd love to say I didn't care but I felt their eyes burning into the back of my skull. I jumped off the bus & waited for the next bus. Never in my life had I heard such rubbish from so called "educated" people. They weren't that young either, maybe 22 or 23. Old enough to know better & shut the **** up while I'm trying to eat my roll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,874 ✭✭✭✭Kolido

Dispite the name, all lot of Cologne's subway system is above ground.

This.

Nothing to do with your spelling, I would not be that rude.

And I ain't your mate.

Well, maybe you should have seen this particular miserable person, then you might change your opinion. failry heavy, covered in fake gold jewelery, wads of rings on each finger, Addidas purple shell suit.

And i dont want you for a mate then, if thats how you want to be!

Well, maybe you should have seen this particular miserable person, then you might change your opinion. failry heavy, covered in fake gold jewelery, wads of rings on each finger, Addidas purple shell suit.

And i dont want you for a mate then, if thats how you want to be!

I knew this day would bring something good. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Rasmus

Doesn't seem as much obnoxious as blatant predjudice on your part, me thinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭BrensBenz

Routinely drove two female colleagues to and from work. One morning, one of the ladies was missing. "Where's Annie" I asked. "Oh, she's sick. She has a pelvic infection." Annie was known to be a bit, em, friendly so, trying not to smile, I said "Oh, that's bad." "Yeah, it's strange alright. I thought only fellas had pelvics."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

padd b1975 wrote: »

Catholic church, abortion, rabble rabble!!!!:mad:

Rasmus wrote: »
    Doesn't seem as much obnoxious as blatant predjudice on your part, me thinks.

not predjudice, just was an obnoxious conversation telling someone, in a very loud way in the que for food all her little details.
    what woudl you class as an obnoxious conversation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Hippies!

Motivator wrote: »
    Sitting on a bus heading from UCD into town one day. Had just been in for a breakfast roll in Spar & as I sat in on the bus the only seat left was in front of four utter cnuts. I began listening to their rubbish stories as I tucked in to my roll. One of them obviously spot the scruffy guy just out of bed in sitting in front of them & one of them pipes up:

"Like guys what is even in a breakfast roll? I know there's beans & mushrooms but isn't that like poor people food?"

That would have been bad enough, but all four of them spoke for about 15 minutes about the ins & outs of not just breakfast rolls, but poor peoples food in general. I'd love to say I didn't care but I felt their eyes burning into the back of my skull. I jumped off the bus & waited for the next bus. Never in my life had I heard such rubbish from so called "educated" people. They weren't that young either, maybe 22 or 23. Old enough to know better & shut the **** up while I'm trying to eat my roll.

They were trying to make friends with you. Lads rip on each other if they like ya :) I read it in a book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭harney

No idea about Germany, but in Madrid you get phone reception on the metro underground.

Motivator wrote: »

You had the ammo, why didn't you use it?;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭Knight who says Meh

Perhaps. perhaps not. But the version i heard yesterday in a Doctors waiting room (Man flu!) was "They have a cheek , them packys, coming over here telling us how to run our health service and that we have to have abortions"

Im sure this conversion and versions there of has taken place in The Dail more than once. With lumbering inarticulate morons of the calibre of Cowen and the Healy-Raes Im sure it a regular utterance.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭Knight who says Meh

Psssssssssst. Posts on Boards are not real life conversations.
    Read the thread title and try again;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Motivator

You had the ammo, why didn't you use it?;)

I wouldn't mind but there was no beans or mushrooms in the roll. I was never so annoyed in my entire life, they were the typical D4 ragdoll head sluts that you always see in and around that kip of a University. I should have flattened the fat one, she had a face that was made for smacking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭Katgurl

isn't that an oxymoron?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Most peoples waffle isnt even original waffle. Its simply a regurgitation of something that was said or written by someone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Katgurl wrote: »
    isn't that an oxymoron?

No its a question.

Psssssssssst. Posts on Boards are not real life conversations.
    Read the thread title and try again;)
    Unfortunately, I have real world experience of it.