Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Winter 2012/2013... What are your predictions??

• 19-11-2012 11:07pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭

So, we all know how cold and snowy last year's winter was supposed to be, and it was... just cold.
    Since they predict -20c this winter, do you think we'll get teh white stuff for Christmas? I actually like snow, so I don't mind :D

What are your predictions? Cold and snowy or cold and rainy?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

does it matter?,we're all going to die next month.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

(shouty black guy voice) It's gona rain

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

Mild and wet nothing as exciting as snow this year i'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

Cold. Rain. Wind. Slush. Hail.

That was hard, I need to lie down for a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Damnit

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

smash wrote: »
    Damnit

it's grand,your link doesn't work anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭EoghanIRL

Precipitation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

smash wrote: »

Lots and lots of snow??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Irish logic dictates that if we are prepared for snow we'll get no snow. Everyone go buy grit salt and those stupid grips for your shoes to ward off bad weather.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

It'll be like the summer winter of 69.

Moist and warm with a happy ending.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭Wade in the Sea

I strongly suspect the weather outside will be frightful but the fire'll be so delightful, and since we've no place to go let snow let it snow let it snow.

Though it'll probably rain instead. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

I'd love a bit of snow but then for it to piss off when I need to get somewhere important.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

phasers wrote: »
    Irish logic dictates that if we are prepared for snow we'll get no snow. Everyone go buy grit salt and those stupid grips for your shoes to ward off bad weather.
    I have 100 ton of salt - we will get feck all snow, I am a bad businessman. If I had none, we'd get a foot of the stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 967 ✭✭✭HeyThereDeliah

It'll be like the summer winter of 69.

Moist and warm with a happy ending.

You still talking about the weather?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Hope Jean Byrne gets that dress out again

squod wrote: »
    Hope Jean Byrne gets that dress out again

Knew she'd be popping up soon. The little minx!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 621 ✭✭✭dave3004

Winter is coming ;)

dave3004 wrote: »
    Winter is coming ;)
    It already came. Kept me up all night with the moaning and groaning. I think Spring was fingering it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

If it snows I'm gonna die. I seriously don't know how anyone who isn't unemployed or in school or college could look forward to snow! It's the devil I tell ye. Makes it impossible to get anywhere! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

I predict snow.
    The uk is set to get a terrible winter. We're only a few miles away from them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

If it snows I'm gonna die. I seriously don't know how anyone who isn't unemployed or in school or college could look forward to snow! It's the devil I tell ye. Makes it impossible to get anywhere! :(

Step 1: Get a full licence
    Step 2: Buy a Mercedes ML
    Step 3: Buy a set of winter tyres
    Step 4: Buy a set of snow chains
    Step 5: ??????
    Step 6: Profit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

Pottler wrote: »
    I have 100 ton of salt - we will get feck all snow, I am a bad businessman. If I had none, we'd get a foot of the stuff.

You alone are keeping Ireland snow-free this year. God bless you good man ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 967 ✭✭✭HeyThereDeliah

I predict snow.
    The uk is set to get a terrible winter. We're only a few miles away from them.

Same distance when the sun shines but we never seem to get their good weather.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Sobanek wrote: »

I'm not sure I could stretch my grant (that I haven't gotten yet) that far :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

If you buy a mercedes ML then step 5 = sling crack.

Sauve wrote: »
    You alone are keeping Ireland snow-free this year. God bless you good man ;)
    No, I am alone in making sure the men and women of Ireland continue to get fashionable clothing at great prices regardless of snow;) You owe me a debt you will never be aware of! Anyway, my new mind-frame is "Anti-fragile" for those who get that, so bring on the snow, I will laugh in the face of its white slipperyness. It will make me stronger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭Cosmicfox

I say it'll just be rain and wind. We've not even had much frost yet where I am.

Cosmicfox wrote: »
    I say it'll just be rain and wind. We've not even had much frost yet where I am.
    Your centrally heated basement sex-dungeon is not representative of the rest of the country. Get out more.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

December the 20th will start off wet and windy. Around middday it will be fine and about 20 degrees. Later in the evening, snow will arrive and the temperature will plummet. Or the temperature will plummet and snow will arrive. I'm not sure. Just a typical winter's day. Somewhere.

December the 21st will start off normally enough, with breakfast. Then, around midday...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭franktheplank

There won't be snow in Africa.

There probably won't be Christmass either, seeing as it's mostly muslim.. Geldof had a brain fart tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭franktheplank

Pottler wrote: »
    There probably won't be Christmass either, seeing as it's mostly muslim.. Geldof had a brain fart tbh.

Yup sure did, actually i hate to break it to everyone but the peak of Mt Kilimanjaro is covered in snow all year round.

You lied to us Bob. You fuckin lied man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭Max Power

I predict a riot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,419 ✭✭✭✭jokettle

-20, you say? Sure then it'll be too cold for snow.

jokettle wrote: »
    -20, you say? Sure then it'll be too cold for snow.

It can only "not" snow at absolute zero I am afraid. If we go there then you won't be worrying about it snowing or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

The usual winter, mild enough 7-8 degree average with regular rainfall through out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

I predict it be very mixed like November. It be mixture of being mild one day, raining another, blustery, and perhaps very cold but not sure if we'd get snow its possible depends how wet and cold it gets. If we do I don't think it be that bad.

We had a cool enough summer except the odd warm day here and there but then again it was a very mild Christmas last year so anything is possible this year as the years before that were pretty cold or wet. Each year was different in the degree of how the winter weather went though. Temperatures dropped dramatically two years ago but only lasted a few days.

A few weeks back it was very cold and the cool air came down as polar air from the north pole/the Arctic.

Hard to know. Just have to wait and see what happens! I'd expect it to be cold and probably either wet or dry but little snow. Not sure how much the temperatures will drop say it be no different to what we have had so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭Pacly

It still feels like autumn right now. I think it will be a late winter, so snow in January and Febuary.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,869 ✭✭✭asherbassad

So, we all know how cold and snowy last year's winter was supposed to be, and it was... just cold.
    Since they predict -20c this winter, do you think we'll get teh white stuff for Christmas? I actually like snow, so I don't mind :D

It's nearly december and there hasn't been even a sniff of frost yet.
    I remember slipping my arse off going to school most octobers. But then I'm so old that could have been the last ice age.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Yeah, another underwear soiling winter ahead for me. I live up a series of hills and last year was a nightmare trying to go anywhere early in the morning. I think I'll have to ditch the car and invest in some skis =\

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

Spring will follow, if we get through next month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,419 ✭✭✭✭jokettle

It can only "not" snow at absolute zero I am afraid.

Huh, never knew that. I always heard wizened old people utter those wise words of weather forecasting while staring wistfully at the bitter cold sky; I wanted to believe they held the secrets to precipitation in their aged brains.

Turns out they were just talking through their @rse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭Pacly

Huh, never knew that. I always heard wizened old people utter those wise words of weather forecasting while staring wistfully at the bitter cold sky; I wanted to believe they held the secrets to precipitation in their aged brains.

I think people say that because its colder when theres no clouds and no clouds means no snow.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Scattered showers across the land, with some downpours being heavy in places. As you can see, this low pressure is coming from the Alantic, some heavy showers, light in places. Might be sunny some places but rain more. That's your weather from RTE, thank you and good night.

Absolutely full of sh1t the lot of them. How the hell does it snow in Canada or Russia when it's minus bloody 40 then if that's too cold to snow? Do they truck in vast consignments of snow from warmer climates and manually spread it all over the place?

Pacly wrote: »
    I think people say that because its colder when theres no clouds and no clouds means no snow.

Like anyone would look into a clear sky no matter what the temperature and make the cretinously obvious statement that it "won't snow" :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Hippies!

End of November: Close & Wet
    Beginning of December: Cold but too cold to snow.
    Middle of December: Fierce close and wet (Panic that there will be no snow for xmas)
    Xmas Period: Mmmmmm period.
    That Horrible Aftertaste of Xmas: Sticky & Wet
    New Years: Windy & Wet
    January: Depressing Weather
    Beginning of February: Wet
    End of February: Bitterly cold and sleet, sure sign Spring is here.

Accuracy: 98%

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

Much the same as the summer of 2012...shíte:D