Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

[IRLClan] Call of Duty : Black Ops 2

• 19-11-2012 2:13pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 586 ✭✭✭

Hello fellow combatants!

A few of you regulars outside the IRL Clan will know who we are and what we do.
    For those that don’t allow me to briefly explain a few things before you consider joining us for a few games:

First and foremost, we have a set of rules which we won’t beat into you, we feel a quick read and understanding of these and your good to go, and they are only to ensure that we continue to bring in a high quality player, we don’t just invite in every Tom Dick and Harry.

Clan Rules:

* We respect ALL players, members and non-members alike (yes, even Shoveltooth).[/FONT]
    * We do not hack, cheat or boost.
    * To qualify for membership, you must have played with at least three members and receive their approval for membership.
    * When possible, all members must use the clan tag IRL for identification purposes.
    * Donations towards the site by members is appreciated but not mandatory. [This is for upkeep of our website, domain and hosting]
    * A fair system will be adopted when entering clan matches, so everyone receives the opportunity to compete.
    * There is no activity requirement to be a member. If you are going to take a break for a while please post and let us know.
    * We do not instigate or insult other clans.
    * You must have a mic available for use, we’re a sociable bunch of people and hate being ignored

So there you have it, not to bad so far, but before we get down to the essentials, just incase you’re new around and you want to know a bit more about IRL Clan our history is as follows :

Clan History and Background:
    The initial post was as follows:

“Battlefield BC2 Irish Clan”
    “Your country needs YOU”
    “Anyone want to join an Irish clan on Battlefield BC2 Xbox360 with the clan tag (IRL).”
    “These online war games are a lot more fun when your doing proper team work and communicating on where the tango’s are hiding.”

Almost immediately, the clan swelled with Irish gamers from the boards forum. Although in the beginning it was only meant to be a Battlefield Bad Company 2 clan, it has evolved and branched out into other FPS games and other genres. It’s also important to point out that we do not restrict membership to only Irish players, however, it’s important to remember that one of the benefits of the clan is that we all live relatively close to each other on a global scale, which helps the online experience for everyone.

Over the first few months, with new members coming and going, it became obvious to the core members that the clan was quite unique. Members consisted of all ages but had similar attitudes towards gaming. This provided the community with a perfect place to build from with a solid membership of friendly, mature minded gamers who appreciated the fun factor of playing with people that you know.

The Clan has always had a fairly open door policy for new members. We believe that it’s the quality of the gamer, not his gaming ability that makes for good members. It’s the banter and craic that’s most important to us, however, don’t be misled into thinking we aren’t accomplished players. As a clan, when duty calls, we rally together and “God help” all those who stand in our way.

Due to the success of our community on the Boards website, we finally decided to launch our own dedicated website and forum url]www.irlclan.net[/url. We look forward to the further success of the community, victory in competitive play and continuing enjoyment for everyone involved.

TL; DR;
    With the release of BlOps2 the clan has regrouped and reformed. With most of our members picking up this game no public lobby is safe from our wrath.
    So if you’re interested in playing with a group of Irish gamers and bored of playing alone or with the same few people let us know here on the thread so we can drop you can invite into game, once you’ve done that after a few games so we can make sure you’re not some sort of sex line addict (before 8pm of course) we can get you registered into the IRL Clan’s ELITE system and on our website.
    Any questions feel free to ask here, it’s a great way to have a chat with and get to know some of our members.

Cheers lads,
    Mark, GT: mlindsay215

[FYI: The oul friends list is a touch full so I’ll post up when its safe to send me a few invites.]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭PeterStrauss The Second

Feel free to add me DOC09UNAM and I'll make sure I invite ye into matches when I'm on!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 586 ✭✭✭mlindsay215

Some other regular members to go ahead and add include : FAILSAFE 00, Clindsay546, canto asti, canto28, THE DEMON CELT.

Also when your sending the invite in the message section if you could just write "boards.ie" we will know where you've come from and get your tossed in with us :D

EDIT : Here is a list of all registered members of the ELITE system in the IRLCLAN, by no means is this all our mmebers, just the ones that could be bothered signing up :)

Dunworth1
    canto28
    ADarkKnight88
    Bandit8310
    Cableguy IE
    canto asti
    Clindsay546
    cycocycle 1340
    DOC09UNAM
    Dutch2008
    eoghan c94
    FAILSAFE 00
    garseys
    Gary Guitar
    In4Ab8tin
    jambodavo
    ManadInDaHead
    mlindsay215N0RTH
    naughtokev
    Polarbearhappy
    RamJaxed
    Ravage1616
    THE DEMON CELT

The guys in red are the guys you should add if interested as they are the ones online at fairly consistant times during the week, meaning you won't be missed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭tony1980

Some other regular members to go ahead and add include : FAILSAFE 00, Clindsay546, canto asti, canto28, THE DEMON CELT.

Also when your sending the invite in the message section if you could just write "boards.ie" we will know where you've come from and get your tossed in with us :D

EDIT : Here is a list of all registered members of the ELITE system in the IRLCLAN, by no means is this all our mmebers, just the ones that could be bothered signing up :)

Dunworth1
    canto28
    ADarkKnight88
    Bandit8310
    Cableguy IE
    canto asti
    Clindsay546
    cycocycle 1340
    DOC09UNAM
    Dutch2008
    eoghan c94
    FAILSAFE 00
    garseys
    Gary Guitar
    In4Ab8tin
    jambodavo
    ManadInDaHead
    mlindsay215
    N0RTH
    naughtokev
    Polarbearhappy
    RamJaxed
    Ravage1616
    THE DEMON CELT

The guys in red are the guys you should add if interested as they are the ones online at fairly consistant times during the week, meaning you won't be missed!

List Edited

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,358 ✭✭✭dunworth1

so whos going to be online tonight i'm heading on now

10:30 onwards for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,368 ✭✭✭naughto

ahem

naughto wrote: »
    ahem

?

am i not on the elite thing though i signed up

naughto wrote: »
    am i not on the elite thing though i signed up

You are and your on the list.

sorry dident see my name on the list.should be on after 11 or so

had some good games last night

not knowing the maps is really messing me up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭NORTH1

I'm going to be on shortly for a few games, and a bit of friendly banter.....or not so friendly, depending what side your on.

N0RTH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭Double Top

Had a great laugh tonight playing with you lads again..hope I wasnt too rusty havnt played hardcore in a long long time so my call outs were a bit slow.

looking forward to playing more, first time i enjoyed Black Ops 2 since getting it.

Irish Warlordxx

Double Top wrote: »
    Had a great laugh tonight playing with you lads again..hope I wasnt too rusty havnt played hardcore in a long long time so my call outs were a bit slow.

looking forward to playing more, first time i enjoyed Black Ops 2 since getting it.

Irish Warlordxx

That's great

I thought You were grand anyway when you kept milling me down

had some cracking games last night at one stage
    i was a lone wolf and randoms against a full team of irl

the first round i won by capping a flag

second round didnt go so well two randoms left
    so i was down men for most of the game.

then cableguy join but it was too late to make enough difference.

also last night three times i was on the winning side and the host left
    and the game was kicked :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,162 ✭✭✭TheMooseInNam

Hi guys,

I'm going to move this thread out of the Xbox section and into the main Games section. The reason for this is that I don't want the Xbox section getting filled up with clans for various games etc. The propose of this forum was never to be for general games discussions but as an informational forum where members could find help with or discuss the hardware and software side of things.

The original Bad Company 2 and Battlefield 3 threads were the exception as opposed to the rule.

Besides, you'll have way more people viewing and commenting on the thread if it's in the general games section.

Cheers,

Moose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,401 ✭✭✭Royal Irish

Cheers Moose. Its much better suited here in the CoD forum.

Going to disagree I liked our area as it was we attracted a more general type of gamer as opposed to someone who maybe only or mostly plays FPS. I find when people look in our old area they are searching for something Xbox not game related and stumble into the clan.

But that's just me.

/2 CENT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭battser

batts ka on live if anyone willing to play with someone of average ability!!! Online now :)

All abilities welcome. You should add the guys highlighted in red on the first page. Some of them will be online both now, and later on tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭jambofc

good games last nite be after the footbaw for more stabby stabby :D

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

I've no problem with IRL having a thread here. But if this goes the same way of threads in the past, there'll be long bans handed out from the off if need be. Doesn't matter who it is or from what side they are from. That goes for the About Last Night thread as well.

Any thin veil comments are being noted too.

Also IF there is another match that does indeed take place. Then please sort it out through PM or XBL first, and then if all rulings are accepted by both sides. Then create a separate thread.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

MOD HAT ON HERE: anyone who posts in this thread with any intent to derail or troll will be looking at taking a holiday from the forum. You all know who you are.

If you can't play nice, don't play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭bigbadcon

Had some great games with you guys last night.

Really enjoying BO2 and its so much more fun when playing with a team of irish gamers.

bigbadcon wrote: »
    Had some great games with you guys last night.

Really enjoying BO2 and its so much more fun when playing with a team of irish gamers.

whats your gamertag buddy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭Delboy007

Can you add me, Delboy6361

Delboy007 wrote: »
    Can you add me, Delboy6361

add me i'll be on tonight

gt below

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭Not The Real Scarecrow

Not getting involved with any side,but there is already a clan on the cod section already that has alot of people in it that post regularly in this section.Having another one will lead to pretty much the same ****e that happened last time. If I'm not wrong the IRL lads have their own website so might be better to keep talk of their clan there and leave the other clan stick around here,as they have been for god knows how long.
    Grand if they want to recruit a few people, but if they already have an active forum I don't see why you'd use this forum to natter about stuff you surely set the forum up for in the first place.
    There's usually a bit of friendly banter over here as well, which I think might have been taken out of context already by some of the IRL lads.I don't think Ipam or anyone was trying to start ****e with ye but was just giving a bit of the usual.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭Not The Real Scarecrow

We're just looking for lads that don't have anyone to play with.

It was going fine until a select few jumped in trying to derail.

I'll be on tonight for some games at some stage - DOC09UNAM

add away.

I know.Not having a go at anyone at all.Have no problem with ye posting anywhere, just making a suggestion to avoid arguments again.There's been a few other clans that have posted here before and usually they get a bit of grief for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭tony1980

Meatwad, im all for a bit of banter! I don't post too much which you can see and im far too busy to be getting involved in disagreements about a feck**g game. I can't see why both threads can't exist, surely people are mature enough so as it doesn't develop into the type of shi*e im hearing happened before.

I wasn't around for any of that and I don't intend on having any arguments with anyone here, Im just trying to understand WHY people on this forum can't just have a bit of craic and talk about the game.
    Yes, I know there is another thread for Blops 2, but surely the lads there wouldn't mind a different thread for the IRL clan, obviously its main purpose would be to discuss the game and offer any gamers out there who wish to play in a group, as opposed to playing with randomers all the time, a choice as whether they would like to join or not. It would be their choice on whether they would like to or not, they could continue playing on their own or maybe play with the BRDS guys instead!

I can't imagine they would like to play with either group if they saw some childish stuff going on in either thread. I don't play games competitively, I go on for the craic and like it that way. I wouldn't mind playing a game with some of you lads some night, Core or Hardcore, doesn't bother me, im sh*t hot at both ;) I think it would be a good thing to trying smooth things over between you lot, im not talking a clan v clan match, I mean to just play a few games with ye on the same side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

There were 6 reported posts in the last hour, so I'm locking this until a mod gets to it.

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Cheers Mr.E
    It would be easier if you just deleted the previous posts on this thread from Ipam, Cossax, and Everlast75, as this thread was started and moved to this forum for people who are might be playing alone on Black Ops 2 and might be interested in playing with a group of Irish players, and these three guys have absolutely no interest in joining the IRL clan so are obviously just trying to stir ****.

No need for it to go the same way it did last time. Just the guys who are not interested, don't post. Reading trolling posts and bickering like that will just put people off taking part and playing online in a community.

There was a line drawn by myself. You shouldn't have replied tbf, or if you really had to then a PM would have sufficed instead. I've said as much to yourself before about PM'ing me likewise anyone else if not reporting posts.
    Cheers Nuri. Hopefully that will keep the usual trolls like Ipam, Cossax, Everlast75, and Cereal Rapist from derailing this thread.

You were replying to Cereal Rapist, not myself.
    x43r0 wrote: »
    In all seriousness I agree that this might be for the best. There was a lot of crap the last time from both sides which made this forum not a nice place to be for a while

X, they (IRL) shouldn't have to feel hounded out. They have this thread, you guys have your thread and unless I'm blind all of a sudden, they've not gone into your thread fishing for a reaction. Doesn't matter if it's just harmless or not banter. That doesn't concern me whatsoever, maybe I'd have factored that in before but not this time. Last time was one big headache for me I'll be quite honest. I really shouldn't have to say all this, and I don't won't to be telling one group to stay out of the others thread but I have little choice here.

Fair enough if IPAM was asking a genuine question but comments there after certainly didn't help things, and likewise with people stepping over the line again as I eluded to above.

This is all so, so, so very boring now. People need to step back and look at their posts.

_________

Opening the thread now. IRL have this thread, and the other lads have the About Last Night thread. There isn't a need to be posting in either one as far as I'm concerned, so don't. 1 month ban is minimum now if you don't adhere to this rule. Context of conversation means nowt to me so don't play the banter card neither.

Maybe in future, if things settle I can change the rule to something more lenient but if I'm honest, I feel like I perhaps asking too much!

Oh and any questions, just PM myself or either of the two other mods here please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭Dues Bellator

You can stick my name to the Cod list lads' i seen the topic on the website just slipped my mind to ask to be added.

Money Shot IRL cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,448 ✭✭✭Garseys

almanu wrote: »
    You can stick my name to the Cod list lads' i seen the topic on the website just slipped my mind to ask to be added.

Money Shot IRL cheers.

What happened to the other lad, eh, large potatoes or something?:pac:

Seems like a few new names coming through, (whether they be from boards or elsewhere)

He was last seen at the .....BACK POST!!!

Garseys wrote: »
    What happened to the other lad, eh, large potatoes or something?:pac:

Seems like a few new names coming through, (whether they be from boards or elsewhere)
    That F**ker Keith Lemon ruined my fantastic Fat Potatoes gamer tag :mad: Only so much "Po Tay Toes" a guy can take in a lobby :pac:

He was last seen at the .....BACK POST!!!

I shall always be found .....BACK POST!!!!:pac::pac:

In other news' random team mates keep hacking my care packages :( time for some blue on blue if this trend continues me thinks.

Fantastic games tonight and even picked up a few boardsies for a few games. Those private IRL vs IRL matchs where hilarious.

GG lads, GG indeed.

Fantastic games tonight and even picked up a few boardsies for a few games. Those private IRL vs IRL matchs where hilarious.

GG lads, GG indeed.

Highlight of the night was the stand off at the edge of the water, was laughing for the rest of the match after that :D

Irish Warlord

Highlight of the night was the stand off at the edge of the water, was laughing for the rest of the match after that :D

Irish Warlord

T'was ****ing epic sir. I sent you a PM about registering with IRL.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭PeterStrauss The Second

Good to have you warlord, quick off the trigger you are!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭NORTH1

Docs dive out the window on nuketown, to kill Failsafe for the round win.

When your one on one in search and destroy, and you are pinned down at the window by a sniper, most normal players would back way from the first floor window and try and flank.

Not Doc, he backs away from the window, then sprints at it, dives out the window and shoots Failsafe with a ballistic knife as he hits the ground

Failsafe, you have to put the video of that move up, its unbelievable!

requesting some vIMv V IRL clan matches tonight if at all possible ? Maybe do it like the last time with a mix of Cap n Search. great fun the last time and very close run matches.

I set up a thread on the IRL site also :)

Good to have you warlord, quick off the trigger you are!

Cheers, sometimes i'm quick but other times i just stare at people and get shot...or run over the flag and then wonder why i have it haha

Last nights,

Manad - "WARLORD WHY DIDN'T YOU TELL ME SOMEONE WAS BEHIND ME YA **** YE"

Warlord - "Well, incase you didn't already notice I have a bit of a stutter".

Me - "No need to lie Warlord, you just don't like the ****".

By **** did we all laugh. My sides where in horrendus pain, I'm going to check myself into the musculoskeletal ward up here to ensure my sides haven't torn from last nights epic laughter moments also include, but are not limited to, the water jump shot, I laughed even harder warlord when I heard you pissing yourself.

Thank god for the after death chat.

More tonight I hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭FinnD

Anyone be on for a few games tonight? Ill be on after 11!

NORTH1 wrote: »
    Docs dive out the window on nuketown, to kill Failsafe for the round win.

When your one on one in search and destroy, and you are pinned down at the window by a sniper, most normal players would back way from the first floor window and try and flank.

Not Doc, he backs away from the window, then sprints at it, dives out the window and shoots Failsafe with a ballistic knife as he hits the ground

Failsafe, you have to put the video of that move up, its unbelievable!

I found the clip and have it in my COD TV thing, looking at it again its a 1 in a million shot

Get a link to that bad boy up

FinnD wrote: »
    Anyone be on for a few games tonight? Ill be on after 11!
    should be add some of the people from the list

More tonight gents.

going on now for an hour or two