Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

foxing

• 16-11-2012 11:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12

hi lads was just wondering if any one was out hunting foxes at the min every whare seems to be over run with em ive been out a few times the last wk or so an got 7 so far ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭Ape Owners

21 seen in 2 square miles out my way when lads lamping hawks..5 of them directly behind my house and could have hit some with stones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Big dog fox scared the **** out of me hour ago when I was puttin rubbish in the bin in front garden
    And seen 3 within a km from me job to house
    My estate is crawling with them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭Ape Owners

they getting braver up there in the urban places lad. jaysus u wanna see them down here aaron. lads cant go blowing off a whatever gun you guys need to kill them but their numbers need to be checked.a goldie will sort it out ..lol

They are gettin very brave and Jesus they are gettin big
    Well fed around my area lad
    Fcuk the goldie
    Get myself a female eeo
    She'll sort em out
    Goldies too expensive eeo will do same job and at night :D
    Seen your bird on the forum
    She's looking serious man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭DogfoxCork

3 on the way home from pub this eve. and thats not even a 10 min walk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

19 shot in the last 3 nights over in ballinasloe area

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Noticed a big fella hanging around the front of Dunnes on my way back from the pub a few weeks back. Saw him again in the same estate I'm renting in atm. Must try and get my hands on a good fox trap to get a closer look at him;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 mac1981

yea lads there all gettin well fed around here too im just outside carlow an theres a lot of land round me here an its crawling with them an a very scarse amount of phesents this yr also are the gun culbs not trying to control the fox population at all every field i passed through last wk while out for birds ya could smell the p1ss off em ,i spoke to a chap in carlow the other day he was tellen me he seen a fox pulling a black bag out of a wheele bin not to long ago in the centre of town , man there getten brave lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭pintos80

place is alive with them as they are eating rubbish at houses.
    im lamping 11 years now, and have never seen as many.

out 3 nights in the last week, 35 shot, missed 2!!!!! fookin ragin.....
    cant get them all unfortunately but..........il see them again:D

• Subscribers Posts: 336 ✭✭noeleire

i work in a butcher shop in dublin and we have people coming in all the time for scraps for the foxes they have living in there area. They think they are pets no wonder they are getting braver

Thing is if people keep feedin them they'll get to close and only a matter of time before a child is bitten

these people have forgotten about the fox that came into the house in england and ate the ****e out of the little girl asleep in her bed. these people need to realise a fox is a wild predator, not a pet!!

bad job bringing them around their houses....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭Cork24

Saw one one night at around 1 am eating a bag of Chips that some one feck out their window. I pulled the Car up right next time he didnt even Run, could have got him with a Fish Weight with the Sling Shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭staghunter

between meself an another lad we shot forty in the last six nites we've been out around four hours each nite and we seen alot more

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭Cork24

pintos80 wrote: »

these people have forgotten about the fox that came into the house in england and ate the ****e out of the little girl asleep in her bed. these people need to realise a fox is a wild predator, not a pet!!

bad job bringing them around their houses....

A lot of people do this in the country put food out for them, better to eat the food then their live stock?

If you where hungry wouldnt u do crazy sh*t just like that fox saw a small baby classed it as food, how many dogs attacked children and their pets

ye like that, saw loads more than 35 when out but they were at the back door of houses etc so had to let them go........ we will meet again ...lol

its a tough call, farmers dont want to loose livestock,naturally....
    if they get scraps from houses, they may not go mad and attack a child.....

only answer is a 55grain hollow point from my lovely .223!!
    i love that rifle::D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭anthonyos

is there many lads using shotguns for them or is it all rifles..i only have a shotgun myself..and feel foxing can be a waste of time as iv only managed 1 fox and that was a lucky find :D

ye there is, often come on a red lad to close for a rifle, we always bring a 24" with us for handiness.

some craic walking up to one on a windy night.
    we did it last year and walked within a foot of him, yer man with me shouted
    "sit and stay foxy"..........he sat for a second out of shock id say, but needless to say he did not stay.... enter the 24"........end of story

priceless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Sika98k

anthonyos wrote: »
    is there many lads using shotguns for them or is it all rifles..i only have a shotgun myself..and feel foxing can be a waste of time as iv only managed 1 fox and that was a lucky find :D

Going after foxes with a shotgun and a lamp was how I learnt how to do it. It was great fun on a windy night getting up to 20 or 30 yards from a fox. I think 8 in the one night was the best we did.

I wonder does anyone still do it like that ? I progessed through a 22Lr to a 22 mag,22 Hornet and have settled on a 22/250 for the last 10+ years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭bud2000

saw a fox yesterday morning at 1015, broard daylight picking on the road in blackrock dublin. it was nearly completly bald with mange except for a bit of fur around its neck. i have never seen the like of it, and would not have believed it had i not seen it myself.

poor little fecker, pity ya didnt do him a favour!!
    if we get frost he will freeze to death anyway

• Subscribers Posts: 336 ✭✭noeleire

bud2000 wrote: »
    saw a fox yesterday morning at 1015, broard daylight picking on the road in blackrock dublin. it was nearly completly bald with mange except for a bit of fur around its neck. i have never seen the like of it, and would not have believed it had i not seen it myself.
    i seen a fox in stillorgan car park 2 weeks ago that also had the mange looked half dead skinny thing it was around 12;30 lunch time ,,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭good logs...

you will notice the foxs you see in dublin city are sickly looking, not all but most,i think this may be down to a lot of inbreeding, cause theres no way to tin out the numbers or control the population of foxs.

i seen a fox in stillorgan car park 2 weeks ago that also had the mange looked half dead skinny thing it was around 12;30 lunch time ,,
    A half dead one is worse
    I'd tend to think the ones that are sick and riddled with mange are the ones most likely to attack a small child
    I wonder what way could they be controlled around cities
    A rifle would be too dangerous Around busy places
    And trappin would e too dangerous as kids would prob stick a finger in the trap
    Snares would result in certain people complaining of animal cruelty seeing a dead fox with snare on its neck
    Maybe eagle owl would do the job
    Think it's used in Belgium I sure I remember a lad tellin me this

id love to go "thinning them out" in the city......
    is the reason they are not themselves, because they are out of there natural habitiat?

roaming around cities eating rubbish is not a foxes diet. in regard to the mange issue, could this have anything to do with the amount of rats in cities, which are not out in the wilderness where a fox lives......for instance where was that fox sleeping in stillorgan? the only grass there is kilmacud crokes.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,061 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

pintos80 wrote: »
    id love to go "thinning them out" in the city......
    is the reason they are not themselves, because they are out of there natural habitiat?

roaming around cities eating rubbish is not a foxes diet. in regard to the mange issue, could this have anything to do with the amount of rats in cities, which are not out in the wilderness where a fox lives......for instance where was that fox sleeping in stillorgan? the only grass there is kilmacud crokes.......

The mange is from feral cats, I see foxes every week in my locality and my garden and I have seen them since I was a kid. I never see mangy ones.

Scavenging is a huge part of a foxes diet, most likely the main. They have stomachs of iron.

You're lacking in Dublin geography, acres and acres of wild areas in and around the city for healthy breeding and dens (try google earth). I live beside 500 acre park ten minutes from the city that hosts foxes, badgers and a multitude of species of indigenous and non indigenous wildlife, I guess they are the top predator but roadkill and natural selection seems to keep things in check. I agree that direct feeding is not a good idea.

There are dozens of areas with FOX in the name, Foxrock, Foxfield etc...

In short, Dublin has had foxes since before Dublin became Dublin. Dubliner's don't have and issue with them, we have badgers, falcons, herons, otters, deer, fox and plenty more. Arrivals like yourself to the city sometimes perceive a problem, but realistically, they are not the problems you really need to worry about. Like in all cities, villages, towns, jungles, forrests, use common sense and you will be fine.

As for "thinning them out in the city" How would you feel if I came to your locality and started telling you how to manage your wildlife? ;)

John_Rambo wrote: »

The mange is from feral cats, I see foxes every week in my locality and my garden and I have seen them since I was a kid. I never see mangy ones.

Scavenging is a huge part of a foxes diet, most likely the main. They have stomachs of iron.

You're lacking in Dublin geography, acres and acres of wild areas in and around the city for healthy breeding and dens (try google earth). I live beside 500 acre park ten minutes from the city that hosts foxes, badgers and a multitude of species of indigenous and non indigenous wildlife, I guess they are the top predator but roadkill and natural selection seems to keep things in check. I agree that direct feeding is not a good idea.

There are dozens of areas with FOX in the name, Foxrock, Foxfield etc...

In short, Dublin has had foxes since before Dublin became Dublin. Dubliner's don't have and issue with them, we have badgers, falcons, herons, otters, deer, fox and plenty more. Arrivals like yourself to the city sometimes perceive a problem, but realistically, they are not the problems you really need to worry about. Like in all cities, villages, towns, jungles, forrests, use common sense and you will be fine.

As for "thinning them out in the city" How would you feel if I came to your locality and started telling you how to manage your wildlife? ;)
    From the way your going on I think u like foxes?
    This is hunting thread not exactly love the things

From the way your going on I think u like foxes?
    This is hunting thread not exactly love the things

I like having them around, as do a lot of hunters, farmers and plenty of other like minded folk.

This is indeed the hunting thread, not the dislike animals thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,814 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Neighbour across the road saw a vixen and 2 cubs going down the road past the house a while back at about 4 in the morning..I'm in the town with no farms for a good distance and a dual carriageway in between so I'm guessing they're living in the locality or down by a river nearby.

A half dead one is worse
    I'd tend to think the ones that are sick and riddled with mange are the ones most likely to attack a small child
    I wonder what way could they be controlled around cities
    A rifle would be too dangerous Around busy places
    And trappin would e too dangerous as kids would prob stick a finger in the trap
    Snares would result in certain people complaining of animal cruelty seeing a dead fox with snare on its neck
    Maybe eagle owl would do the job
    Think it's used in Belgium I sure I remember a lad tellin me this

In UK cities they trap problem foxes. The traps are left in secure locations overnight and removed early the following day. Any foxes are dispatched in the usual way and traps are re-set again just before nighfall. Its done eithier by private pest control companies or local authority workers in the vermin control unit of the city council. It was featured on that channel 4 "Live of Grime" programme a while back.

Blay wrote: »
    Neighbour across the road saw a vixen and 2 cubs going down the road past the house a while back at about 4 in the morning..I'm in the town with no farms for a good distance and a dual carriageway in between so I'm guessing they're living in the locality or down by a river nearby.

From local knowledge they use rivers, train lines and anything with an overgrown 'bank' or an overgrown peripheral area as a highway. In my area theres a DART line, a dense parkland, a coastline, an island and plenty of huge gardens with easy access to each other (bushes and wooden fences).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,814 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

From local knowledge they use rivers, train lines and anything with an overgrown 'bank' or an overgrown peripheral area as a highway. In my area theres a DART line, a dense parkland, a coastline, an island and plenty of huge gardens with easy access to each other (bushes and wooden fences).

Ah good, I was thinking of the riverbank because they were going down that way and it's the only overgrown, wooded area around here that would be isolated enough and not being disturbed on a regular basis.

I like having them around, as do a lot of hunters, farmers and plenty of other like minded folk.

The op was askin if anyone been out shooting them
    And I don't know any farmers or hunters that do like them

The op was askin if anyone been out shooting them
    And I don't know any farmers or hunters that do like them

I guess plenty of hunters like fox(ing)!!:P;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭terminator2

was talking to a farmer yesterday hes shot nearly 30 from his back door , he gave us permission to lamp away

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭lb1981

I shoot plenty of them during the year were they cause me a problem ie. were we have lambs on our club land or were we release our birds as for the ones in my estate i couldnt really care less about them ,i often sit watching their behaviour and test different calls on them , i live beside the phionex park so plenty of them around ,when i finish work at 3-4 am i would often see up to 7 or 8 foxes from blackrock to when i get home , plenty about but i view them just like cats in the city ,they dont bother me

dislike thread???wha....i didnt say i or anyone else dislikes them. in the country, majority of farmers frown upon a fox , due to loss of livestock....lambs,ewes,turkeys chickens,hens etc. they are verman ya know..

my point was that a fox is out of his natural habitat walking around stillorgan carpark in daylight!!! a fox is a nocternal(spell check)lol creature, this is way out of the norm if you ask me.

John I agree with what you saying to an extent ! Yes foxs were always in Dublin but Dublin has grown to twice the city it once was , taking over there habitat and forcing these animals to scavage . And regardless of habitat they need to be controlled ! Making a statement that road kill and natural selection will do the job when it isn't doing the job is just showing you have rose tinted glasses on . And with the over population of urban foxs in Dublin it is just a matter of time before an attrack or out break of something .

As a hunter I treat all my quarry with respect and have often taken the time to understand them , mayb you should to .

And it never stopped dubs coming down ere hunting phesents so pull in the horns about us hunting around Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 mac1981

staghunter wrote: »
    between meself an another lad we shot forty in the last six nites we've been out around four hours each nite and we seen alot more

man thats good goin i taought i was doin well i got 2 more wed nite in a short distance a big ould dog an a skinney vixen my count is at 9 so far ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭funkhouser

Have to laugh at the notion here that the possibility a fox COULD bite someone justifies x, y and z. All down to some ridiculous frenzy of scare stories in the right wing British press last year.

Domestic dogs, cats and probably cows are more dangerous to kids than foxes.

Foxes are magnificent creatures. Anybody who doesn't appreciate and respect wildlife has no business hunting. And certainly anybody describing the subject of increasing fox numbers or the nature of foxes themselves in terms of le bien contre le mal is an idiot.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Before this becomes a discussion about the rights, and wrongs or morality of hunting/shooting foxes, let me remind all posters that the discussion of morality of hunting as a hobby/sport/pursuit is not permitted on this forum.

This is a hunting forum for the discussion of all things hunting, and as a 100% legal activity we do not have to justify why we do it, or the rights and wrongs of it. If such topics offend anyone then do not read the forum and most definitely do not reply to the threads.

If anyone has an issue with this feel free to PM me, but any posts discussing it, or arguing this notification will be removed without further warnings.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

TriggerPL wrote: »
    John I agree with what you saying to an extent ! Yes foxs were always in Dublin but Dublin has grown to twice the city it once was , taking over there habitat and forcing these animals to scavage . And regardless of habitat they need to be controlled ! Making a statement that road kill and natural selection will do the job when it isn't doing the job is just showing you have rose tinted glasses on . And with the over population of urban foxs in Dublin it is just a matter of time before an attrack or out break of something .

Sorry for the late replies, I was off helping out on my friends farm... bad signal and no wi-fi.

Foxes were always scavengers, Dublin isn't exactly a dense urban metropolis like London, outside the city it's a massive urban spread, full of green areas. Even inside the canals there are swaths of green areas.

Education and learning to live with wildlife is more suitable than simple guesswork and assumptions that "the population is out of control, forcing them to scavenge and there's going to be attacks and outbreaks" (Drama. ;))

Seriously, there's bigger issues in the city that need to be dealt with than the off chance that a fox might bite someone because the population might be out of control.
    And it never stopped dubs coming down ere hunting phesents so pull in the horns about us hunting around Dublin

What never stopped what Dubs? Not sure what you're on about here, maybe it's a local issue for you and needs it own thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

was talking to a farmer yesterday hes shot nearly 30 from his back door , he gave us permission to lamp away

I had this from a local Kildare farmer aswell
    " oh ye loads of foxs I can't get rid of them way to many there killing lambs and chickens every nite of the week on him.

I really appriate the permission but in all the times (2 years) I was there I only ever seen 1 fox which was to far and only ever shot one rabbit because that's all I seen. Some lads just want you down around incase. But it was jointing to another permission aswell so I will always take a walk on it so he is happy. Yd know yourselfs.

Some lads just want you down around incase

Like a free human decoy? :pac:

I think the comparisons with England are laughable, London has a population of 8 million and is severely built up , i think the anti social behavior , the increased number of junkies on our main street or the 30 robberies that happen every day in the city center are a bigger problem for us in Dublin rather than a few poxy foxes rooting in bins, id be more worried by peados or kidnappers than foxes harming a child in the city .
    I think lads should get off the bandwagon, in rural or country areas were they cause problems for farmers and gun clubs yes they should be delt with and if do become a problem in a built up area trap them ,but as far as i can see they don't cause a problem ,id be more concerned with feral cats digging up and ****ting in my flower beds.

lb1981 wrote: »
    I think the comparisons with England are laughable, London has a population of 8 million and is severely built up , i think the anti social behavior , the increased number of junkies on our main street or the 30 robberies that happen every day in the city center are a bigger problem for us in Dublin rather than a few poxy foxes rooting in bins, id be more worried by peados or kidnappers than foxes harming a child in the city .
    I think lads should get off the bandwagon, in rural or country areas were they cause problems for farmers and gun clubs yes they should be delt with and if do become a problem in a built up area trap them ,but as far as i can see they don't cause a problem ,id be more concerned with feral cats digging up and ****ting in my flower beds.

Amazing half you argument there has nothing to do with hunting , on the subject of foxing , rural areas don't have a problem because there kept in check , you could drive for 50 mile in the country and not see one , all u have to do in Dublin is look out your estate window . But I forgot Dublin is perfect .

What are you talking about? Over the last few posts you have really started to turn this into the rest of Ireland vs Dublin and thats not what it is about ,it has gone from a foxing thread to foxes attacking kids and Dublin being over run with foxes and all im pointing out is that is pure fantasy and we have bigger problems than foxes
    They dont cause a problem for us and anyone saying other wise is a spoofer.
    As i said i shoot over 60 -70 foxes a year but that is in areas were they are causing problems.(taking lambs ,poultry,pheasants etc.)
    you seem to have a problem with Dublin or people from Dublin judging by the nature of your last few posts.:confused:

lb1981 wrote: »
    What are you talking about? Over the last few posts you have really started to turn this into the rest of Ireland vs Dublin and thats not what it is about ,it has gone from a foxing thread to foxes attacking kids and Dublin being over run with foxes and all im pointing out is that is pure fantasy and we have bigger problems than foxes
    They dont cause a problem for us and anyone saying other wise is a spoofer.
    As i said i shoot over 60 -70 foxes a year but that is in areas were they are causing problems.(taking lambs ,poultry,pheasants etc.)
    you seem to have a problem with Dublin or people from Dublin judging by the nature of your last few posts.:confused:

That is hilarious ! And I'm not even going to justify that with an ans !

I'm sure Dublin city council don't share your view
    Foxs in urban areas scavage , where every they can and most of the time it in bins or rubbish bags , now taking into account the population of Dublin and the mountains of black bin bags I seen on side of the street waiting to be picked up , lots of them pulled apart by dogs , foxs etc , that alone can spread disease , rubbish equals rats equals threat if disease ! Not including the disease that foxs can potentionaly carrie . Even you have to admit that there not as healthy looking as the foxs we have in the country .

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Second and final notice lads.

This is a hunting forum. Keep all topics of conversation hunting related. If anyone wants to discuss social issues of major cities there are more suitable fora for that.

Any further "derailment" will result in deletion or closure of the thread. Any questions feel free to PM me.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

Ban em
    Ban em all :D

Every night now I see at least 3 including the big dog fox on my road hes a monster of a fox
    I believe there's a few people that have them as pets in this country that found cubs and reared them