Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How NOT to carry a child

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

THINK OF THE CHILDERS!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Jaysus, I thought people like that were meant to be too stupid to reproduce.

Thanks a lot Darwin!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Keep_Her_Lit

Beautifully timed, paulgalway. It's less than 90 minutes to Friday :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

I realize it's potentially extremely dangerous, but it made me think that even carrying a child on your shoulders is dangerous.

If you tripped and fell forward or slipped and fell back, the kid is going to suffer some serious injury.

Bet there will be an outright ban on carrying children in an "inappropriate and dangerous manner" now in the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,971 ✭✭✭fat bloke

Does that mean tha really tall one-armed people with small heads shouldn't be allowed to cycle either cos it's "too dangerous"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,830 ✭✭✭doozerie

Not to mention the fact that actually having children is dangerous. The list of complications before, during, and after birth is scarily long and quite, well, scary, and those risks apply to both mother and child or prospective child. If we really cared for children's welfare we should probably just stop having them.

In the meantime, it's about time that someone started a thread on exactly how TO carry a child on a bike. We seem to have had our fair share of hand-wringing, fit of the vapour -enducing, would you look at the state of him/her/them and sure isn't that tantamount to murder, threads recently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭FISMA

I think they need to check this guy out to see if he's doping!
    :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,220 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

I've done that before, although only because I had another child in the front basket. And I was on an off road cycle track.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,365 ✭✭✭Lusk Doyle

Jeez, what's the big issue? He was in the cycle lane wasn't he?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,573 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

there is a more important question - was he wearing a helmet !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭Mcofferon

there is a more important question - was he wearing a helmet !

Oh yes, that white one - it's about 2 years old and would have protected his head from damage quite well:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭Peterx

A man had his toddler in the basket of a Dublin Bike there this morning. In fairness it looked unusual. The toddler had a teddy. I'm not sure if the teddy had anything!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,075 ✭✭✭BTH

Peterx wrote: »
    A man had his toddler in the basket of a Dublin Bike there this morning. In fairness it looked unusual. The toddler had a teddy. I'm not sure if the teddy had anything!

I've seen a woman pick up her child from a creche on a Dublin bike and carry the child home in the basket, legs dangling over the front of it.
    Horrific stuff.

BTH wrote: »
    I've seen a woman pick up her child from a creche on a Dublin bike and carry the child home in the basket, legs dangling over the front of it. Horrific stuff.

Why is it horrific?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Remember reading about police in the Canaries once stopping this moped that was carrying two blokes and a goat. Only the goat was wearing a helmet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,075 ✭✭✭BTH

Lumen wrote: »
    Why is it horrific?

Because neither was wearing a helmet :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,971 ✭✭✭fat bloke

I've seen a woman pick up her child from a creche on a Dublin bike and carry the child home in the basket, legs dangling over the front of it.
    Horrific stuff.

That is the stuff of nightmares indeed. I couldn't counsel anything less for the creche run.

2010%252BRange%252BRover%252BSport%252BSide.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭manwithaplan

I often give my 6 year old daughter a crossbar. She thinks it's a human right.

I reckon she can start steering soon enough and then I can have a smoke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

fat bloke wrote: »
    That is the stuff of nightmares indeed. I couldn't counsel anything less for the creche run.

Pffft.....that's quite irresponsible of you - that Range Rover has zero resistance to mines and IEDs!!

A civilianised MRAP is the only option to protect the dahlings.....

rg33_c2v_mrap_mine_protected_command_control_wheeled_vehicle_United_states_US_American_Army_640.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭longshank

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    I realize it's potentially extremely dangerous, but it made me think that even carrying a child on your shoulders is dangerous.

If you tripped and fell forward or slipped and fell back, the kid is going to suffer some serious injury.

Bet there will be an outright ban on carrying children in an "inappropriate and dangerous manner" now in the UK.
    as for carrying a child up and down a stairs should be banned too or just carrying a child altogether...ban it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,245 ✭✭✭check_six

fat bloke wrote: »

Looks a bit flimsy to be honest. You would need to add more firepower... sorry, scratch that, I mean, SAFETYpower.

The kind of added safety you get by mounting a killdozer ram on the front and a .50 calibre machine gun on the roof!

As regards the original cyclist with child on shoulders, I've seen worse in a circus, or do I mean 'better'? Some kind of skill involved in doing that at all. Mainly the skill of stopping your kid grabbing at your eyes or nostrils. That can be offputting.

I saw a cyclist carry a sleeping child in the front of their jacket recently. I still haven't worked out the logisitics of this. It was like they had turned their coat into a sling type of thing.

Maybe it's a child-shaped helmet.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭enas

The only thing that puzzles me here is why, if he thought it was so dangerous, the person who took the photo and sent it to the police didn't just stop and have a word with the cyclist? I can appreciate that one could see this as very dangerous for the child, but if so, why not try and protect the child from this perceived danger? Some people are strange...

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭rp

Jawgap wrote: »
    Pffft.....that's quite irresponsible of you - that Range Rover has zero resistance to mines and IEDs!!

A civilianised MRAP is the only option to protect the dahlings.....

rg33_c2v_mrap_mine_protected_command_control_wheeled_vehicle_United_states_US_American_Army_640.jpg
    Whoops, didn;t see that curb - are you ok in the back there, Thomas and Chloe?
    MRAP+roll+over.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Gambas

I can't see what the issue is. The child would definitely provide better protection for his head on impact than a helmet would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Gambas

Horrific stuff.

The horror, the horror...

To be honest, this has to be the minimum standard of safety when you are Fionn, Setanta and Granuaile to school.......

irish_army_mowag_piranha.jpg

.....if the school is more than 500m away from the house, you probably need to be thinking helicopters

if the school is more than 500m away from the house, you probably need to be thinking helicopters

Not if the children dangle their legs out. Imagine the crushing injuries if the helicopter crashed?

tropicth.jpg

Lumen wrote: »
    Not if the children dangle their legs out. Imagine the crushing injuries if the helicopter crashed?

tropicth.jpg

How 1960s of you.....:)

I was thinking more.....

5432471062_7f90a91dca.jpg

With a couple of these either side....

10-longbow-apache.jpg

Scratch that.......

The best way to transport the kids.....

mh-53j-dfst8909541-s.jpg

MH-53J Pave Low III - "The MH-53J Pave Low III heavy-lift helicopter is the largest and most powerful helicopter in the Air Force inventory, and the most technologically advanced helicopter in the world. Its terrain-following, terrain-avoidance radar and forward-looking infrare d sensor, along with a projected map display, enable the crew to follow terrain contours and avoid obstacles, making low-level penetration possible.

The helicopter is equipped with armor plating, and a combination of three 7.62mm miniguns or .50 caliber machine guns. It can transport 38 troops or 14 litters and has an external cargo hook with a 20,000-pound (9,000-kilogram) capacity."

Of course, you should also have one of these on station too.....

pic_ac-130specs.gif

You can't be too careful with your kids....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭galwaycyclist

Maybe it's a child-shaped helmet.....

Someone could do a study on the effect of child-shaped helmets on the passing distances of motorists?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Hungrycol

I have on occasion carried my child on my shoulders*.... it becomes interesting when they cover your eyes with their hands.

*although not on a bike!

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭rp

10-longbow-apache.jpg
    Tricycle undercarriage: I guess that's ok for a cycling forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

Clearly this is the safest way to get the kids to wherever they need to go.

144760-aircraft-carriers.jpg

Gonna need a lot more canals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,830 ✭✭✭doozerie

Raam wrote: »

Holy god, thats a DISGRACE, it's a DEATH TRAP! It needs a 3m high railing all the way around the outer edges, the tower will have to be blocked off for fear the little dears climb it and fall, I see lots of moving parts that might get swallowed, the decks will have to be scoured with bleach to disinfect them, the engines will have to go as it'll hurt their little ears, and so on.

Oh, and the water will have to go too - what would happen if they climbed the barriers blocking off the tower and slipped on a sterilised surface still wet with bleach, and fell into the water? Sure you might as well put them in a bag filled with bricks and throw it in the river as let them loose on that yoke. Tut.

Dalkey Residents Association already have one or two of these to help stop the exploration for oil......

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

Only got to watch the video there...

The BBC guy says that as the driver drove past he realised that the cyclist had one hand on the bike and one hand on the child -- I'd fecking hope so, it'd be a good idea to hold both the child and the bike.

Clearly nobody in BBC News has ever cycled or put a baby on their shoulders regardless of the cycling part.

Down with infrastructure!

No to segregation!