Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Russian driving at it's best!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭TrailerBob

Moral of the story... Russians cant drive...

*resists stereotypical vodka quip...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,781 ✭✭✭clappyhappy

I wonder what the road fatality statistics are for Russia, scary driving. The child that fell out of the car was very lucky. Just crazy....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Topper Harley

Jaysus, some of them are minor enough but some are really bad.

This one caught my eye after. I thought I was about to see a murder take place. :eek:

I'd love to understand what they're saying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

the one in the fog is pretty special

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Jaysus, some of them are minor enough but some are really bad.

This one caught my eye after. I thought I was about to see a murder take place. :eek:

I'd love to understand what they're saying.

After his first few sentences the driver shut up pretty quick, a threat probably and i can't blame him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

I'm sorry, but that lad with the dashcam in the first video is a jinx:pac: Everywhere he goes he gets into a crash.

After his first few sentences the driver shut up pretty quick, a threat probably and i can't blame him

I was surprised he spoke at all. I thought he was just going to kill the driver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

I was surprised he spoke at all. I thought he was just going to kill the driver.

I would have atleast smashed his mirrors. Childish but that bike has to have been scratched/scuffed to hell and back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

A complete gobshíte like that doesn't deserve a car, let alone an E34

Could this be the motors Russian dashcam thread? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭Bearcat

Russia has a massive alcohol problem which translates into this carnage. Cameras I think are a prerequisite re insurance.

It's the wild east out there.

I would have atleast smashed his mirrors. Childish but that bike has to have been scratched/scuffed to hell and back

Well he has it all on camera, so the dickhead's insurance should cover it. Not to mention what should be a charge for extremely dangerous driving. It's not even careless or reckless, it's completely intentional. He even yells at the biker while he's doing it. You could even say it was attempted murder, but that might be pushing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭actuallylike

@4:49

Total carnage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭born2bwild

I used to live there - not only am I never getting into a car in Russia again I am never, ever going going back - chaotic rules of the road, alcoholic lunatics and chauvinistic pigs behind the wheel, random holes in the street, no road markings - crazy.
    Absolutely insane.

born2bwild wrote: »
    I used to live there - not only am I never getting into a car in Russia again I am never, ever going going back - chaotic rules of the road, alcoholic lunatics and chauvinistic pigs behind the wheel, random holes in the street, no road markings - crazy.
    Absolutely insane.

You're not so wild. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

born2bwild wrote: »
    Absolutely insane.

Roads seem fine to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭born2bwild

Roads seem fine to me.

That's nothing - when I was in Donetsk there was a fycking gaping hole on a bridge over the main river - just left there - some genius had stuck a few twigs down into cracks in the asphalt around the hole to warn oncoming motorists.
    Mad ba$tards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,632 ✭✭✭✭okidoki987

You sure that's Russia?

Looks like The Naas Dual carraigeway at rush hour on a Friday night of a Bank Holiday w/e. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

the one in the fog is pretty special
    I refuse to drive in fog end of. Scares the sh!t out of me driving :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭AugustusMinimus

Thats crazy with the truck..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭guza81

There is so many videos on youtube from Russia recently, you'd think everyone has a camera in the car. But then if I was there I'd definitely have one.

What a lovely fella and how romantic of him. Going to all that trouble just to say hello and ask her out on a date...I presume. Sounds like they really hit it off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭Solair

OK, if I ever go to Russia I am sticking to pedestrianised areas and underground trains!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

What a lovely fella and how romantic of him. Going to all that trouble just to say hello and ask her out on a date...I presume. Sounds like they really hit it off.
    To be fair, she was weaving in and out of lanes like they didn't exist. She definitely cut across him a couple of times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭Annuv

I think this one was posted earlier in the week but it's worth seeing again in my opinion

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

Annuv wrote: »
    I think this one was posted earlier in the week but it's worth seeing again in my opinion

A helicopter. A frigging HELICOTER!

I am never, ever setting foot in that place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Do they have a NCT equivalent in Russia to help get rid of those unsafe Lada's?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

They do.

It consists of paying a corrupt official €20 for the cert each year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Yakuza

666 in his reg plate, they'd have a hell of a time on that date!

About 5:10-5:15 in the OP video - what the hell was he doing, lamping at that speed in fog?

Has car ownership gone up hugely in the last few decades, with the fall of communism or something - leading to a huge cohort of untrained, aggressive obnoxious ar5eholes on the road? (Sounds like Ireland!)

Yes. Cars are a new thing in the former communist countries. It is piss easy to get a licence so every clown is now driving some class of sh1tbox. But it is 100 times worse than Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

I'm of the opinion now that the only safe place to drive in russia is inside a tank. Mother of god it looks mad

And a MIG. Awesome.

228871.PNG

BX 19 wrote: »
    I'm of the opinion now that the only safe place to drive in russia is inside a tank. Mother of god it looks mad

And a MIG. Awesome.

Even in a tank, you wouldn't be safe from that MIG.

Yes. Cars are a new thing in the former communist countries. It is piss easy to get a licence so every clown is now driving some class of sh1tbox. But it is 100 times worse than Ireland.

And what do insurance companies think of all the mayhem? Is insurance a compulsory requirement over there?

Third party is mandatory over there. Hence why dash cams are so popular, insurance scams are everywhere

3rd party is mandatory but it is very cheap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭BigEejit

I worked in china for a while and the traffic was like this or worse, I saw some idiotic accidents (driving on wrong side _at speed_). I always felt like i was taking my life in my hands when we got a taxi somewhere on one of the light traffic motorways. No indicators used at any time, you would swear there was a law against using them.

A lot of the ordinary city roads are quite wide, but they have a bicycle lane on each side, as wide as a car lane and so people used them as car lanes. I was once in a taxi that was overtaking a truck that was overtaking a bus that was overtaking a cart .... ie we were in the bicycle lane on the other side of the road and we sent cyclists crashing onto the footpath and a couple landed on the bonnet of the taxi ..... also sewer covers missing was very common and you would see cars at the side of a road missing wheel and suspensions etc.

Traffic was so bad everywhere that they rarely get fast enough to do serious damage.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/China_National_Highway_110_traffic_jam

Ah yes China, where using your mirrors is forbidden and the common practice for a lane change is, just swerve into it and if there's someone else already occupying that space, they'll beep you.

Not to mention taking a left turn at a junction. No, don't wait for a gap in oncoming traffic, just weave through all them fast moving cars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

Seem to be a whole load of impatient feckers.
    Not all from Russia though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

They do.

It consists of paying a corrupt official €20 for the cert each year.

How do you think I get my car through:pac:... ANd to complicate more this year, there was a cop on the premises, and the guy made me go away and come back a couple of days later. It failed on emissions.
    I wouldn't be allowed cross the ferry to get into Uk never mind getting the one to Ireland.

And yes, every f88king day I see stupid driving like on the videos, I have been in so many close shaves I just dont count them anymore, which is why Im getting a video as soon as possible.

Irish driving is streets ahead of the majority of the world, no matter what the whingers here say.
    A lot more can be done and should be done, but i dont think I'd have a problem with a driving test every ten years. or extra classes for winter or rainy driving.

BX 19 wrote: »
    Third party is mandatory over there. Hence why dash cams are so popular, insurance scams are everywhere
    3rd party is mandatory but it is very cheap.

And yet insurance is quite expensive here, grossly unfair!! Lawyers must have a field day in Russia?

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/europe/3039042.stm 10 years on and nothing has changed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭dorkacle

Amazing stuff! Hate to think of the stuff they can't show in clips! :eek:

Also I for some reason I thought it was particularly funny when one guy ended up on a guard rail! Throws his hazards on, as ye do...! :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

Seemingly EVERYBODY in Russia has a Dashcam and that was how we got those cool Meteor pics last week.

The roads themselves (alignment and surface maintenance) are alright but winter road maintenance ( salt) and driving ( drink an option) and most especially vehicle standards are all completely shíte.

Some great clips below. If you want to entertain yourself google for Russian Dashcam Youtube...you could run a full 24 hour TV channel out of that place. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

It's clear from the videos that most drivers in Russia drive too fast, especially in poor weather conditions. 99% of the accidents in any of these videos that I've seen are down to excessive speed, poor observation, or both.

Be interesting though to see the same level of dashcam use over here, and what gems we'd come up with.

Love the one at 02.20s

And at 04.30. I'm not surprised we see that on the M50 more often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,977 ✭✭✭rocky

Russia be crazy yo!

I'm subscribed to 3 car crash channels on youtube, I'm addicted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭quad_red

What the hell is going on in that compilation at 2:50!

Is that a massive wave?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

quad_red wrote: »
    What the hell is going on in that compilation at 2:50!

Is that a massive wave?
    Even better, plane crashed into the side of the road

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2254582/Moscow-plane-crash-Four-killed-passenger-jet-overshoots-airport-runway-Moscow-breaks-crashes-main-road.html