Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Euromillions

• 12-11-2012 2:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 330 ✭✭

So heres how I'll divvy up my 170 million after I win it tomorrow night.....
    Parents: 5,000,000

Wifes Parents: 5,000,000

Mate who I'm in a syndicate with for the ordinary lotto but not Euromillions: 5,000,000.

Siblings (8 of em!): 3,000,000 each x 8 = 24,000,000

Wifes Siblings (only 3!) : 3,000,000 x 3 = 9,000,000

Mates who I've promised a digout if I win: 3,000,000 x 7 = 21,000,000

Local soccer club (long story): 3,000,000

Total Giveaway: 72,000,000.

Balance Remaining: 98,000,000
    Pocket Money: 8,000,000, (Cars, Houses, Piss ups etc)

Invest the remaining 90,000,000 in govt savings scheme at 3% pa.
    Less P.R.S.I. @ 4% and D.I.R.T. @30% on the earnings
    Total Net earnings would be 1,782,000 per annum
    Net per month earnings: 148,500. (with the 90,000,000 still in the bank!)

What would ye do with 170,000,000 ?

ACV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,375 ✭✭✭Sin City

Mate who I'm in a syndicate with for the ordinary lotto but not Euromillions: 5,000,000.

ACV

Hookers, beer, and probably just squander the rest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Mine.

100 million: Coke

70 million: Hookers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

I'd take €10k - €20k and take a huge holiday to decide how i'd invest it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭dirtyghettokid

i wouldn't know what to do with that much money. 50 quid is a lot of money to me these days!

i know one thing for sure.... i'd get the **** outta town!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

i wouldn't know what to do with that much money. 50 quid is a lot of money to me these days!

i know one thing for sure.... i'd get the **** outta town!

If buy the town!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Ill but a packet of King crisps.........the luxury ones.
    I think I'll deserve to splash out a bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

Me €170,000,000 (private Jet,nice cars,private chef, butler, nice little yacht, plenty of drugs, wimmin, more wimmin, booze,wimmin,)
    You, them and the rest: Zilch, Zero, Nought,nothing

Its mine I tell you,Mine! Mine! All mine!:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

I'd go into work the next day as if nothing happened and then just get up after 15 minutes and walk out laughing never to be seen again.

After that, holiday to decide what to do with the money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭jblack

I'd take €10k - €20k and take a huge holiday to decide how i'd invest it

Woooah, easy there - you wont have much left if you keep on like that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Always wondered what it would be like to wear an ironed shirt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,288 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

Get new lino for the bathroom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭dirtyghettokid

If buy the town!

haha go on so.. i'd rather a warm tropical island :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

I'd love travelling first class. No slumming it with the rest of you scum. No offence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

GavRedKing wrote: »
    I'd go into work the next day as if nothing happened and then just get up after 15 minutes and walk out laughing never to be seen again.

After that, holiday to decide what to do with the money.
    Just walk out? :confused:
    I'd take a shít on the boss's desk first

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

You'll be like Steve Martin in The Jerk when the Government goes bust and defaults on those savings - hopefully all the people you gave €3 million each remember you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭spoofilyj

I think I could comfortably look after myself and the family for 20 million.

--The the rest I could use to start a foundation for Irish start up companys, get them the needed venture capital to employ people and get the country moving.

--I could sort out some the the cash needed for Childline, St Vincent De Pauls.

--Start or support existing Homeless societies and tryto support our countries most needie. Provide a bed every night for every homeless person and try and deal with the problems that caused their initial homelessness.

--Give a dig out to local clubs in need of cash nationwide.

--Sort out some of the problems with schools and student teacher ratios by starting a bursary that schools could apply too to gain additional teachers and special needs teachers.

--Start an ethical Bank/Insurance company that would be limited in the amount of profit it can make to a percentage of the number of members.
    Significantly undercut premiums and lending interest compared to rivals and get everyone paying reasionable rates for insurance and interest on mortgages.

Probably overstepping the ability of 180 million but a lot of the above might be possible with that amount of money and what good it could do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭marcus2000

Is it possible to remain annoymous with a win of 170mill?? I dont mean in relation to actually collecting the winnings, but more so the lifestyle that comes with it.

Could you stay living safely in your hometown? Would it be best just going public and saying that you are putting 150mill away into a fund/charity....rather than permanently being a target, living with security 24/7??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 330 ✭✭A Country Voice

Skid wrote: »
    You'll be like Steve Martin in The Jerk when the Government goes bust and defaults on those savings - hopefully all the people you gave €3 million each remember you!

If the government ever goes really fully bust we wont need money anymore, shotgun cartridges, bottled water, packets of fags, and petrol/diesel will be the new currency. :D

ACV

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 422 ✭✭BensonSlide

After helping those close to me, I'd use the services of wealth management and private investment agencies to try and increase the sum significantly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,955 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

Cienciano wrote: »
    Just walk out? :confused:
    I'd take a shít on the boss's desk first
    I'd hire a heap of actors and have them battle it out with me in some sort of James Bondesque shoot out before a Blackhawk landed in the yard and a big busomed babe toting a minigun mowed them all out of it and then I'd jump in and we'd fly off never to be see again.

Then I'd build a Death Star.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,294 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

marcus2000 wrote: »
    Is it possible to remain annoymous with a win of 170mill?? I dont mean in relation to actually collecting the winnings, but more so the lifestyle that comes with it.

Could you stay living safely in your hometown? Would it be best just going public and saying that you are putting 150mill away into a fund/charity....rather than permanently being a target, living with security 24/7??

I think it would be very difficult to really enjoy it without raising a few eyebrows. I would probably move to another country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Who cares about anonymity, a more important question is whether 170m would get you the roide?

I'd build a mansion with a solid gold throne in the throne room. If any of my friends annoyed me or made an unfunny joke I'd get my minders to punch them. The money wouldn't change me though. I'd release a single called "I'm still Ciencieno from the Block" to prove I'm still the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭redalan

Dean09 wrote: »
    Ill but a packet of King crisps.........the luxury ones.
    I think I'll deserve to splash out a bit.

Pub Luxury? Or normal Luxury?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Diddy Kong

Well keeping within your own "means" to keep a low profile is quite possible, but once you start parting with your money to family and friends you cannot really control how they announce where the money came from.

For me, keeping a low profile would mean building a modest house and an underground lair and have the majority of the living space underground, people never suspect that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,199 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

I'd buy a ticket for Friday's Euromillions, while my luck is good!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,283 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

VEGAS BABY! But not before buying myself some Rainmans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Diddy Kong wrote: »
    Well keeping within your own "means" to keep a low profile is quite possible, but once you start parting with your money to family and friends you cannot really control how they announce where the money came from.

For me, keeping a low profile would mean building a modest house and an underground lair and have the majority of the living space underground, people never suspect that!

Man cave!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭deisebibo

I would take care of my family and my "few" friends that I could count one one hand. I would buy a tractor and "acquire" a full slurry tank and drive said tractor and slurry tank into the side of my workplace. Since I would be then "vehicleless" I would have Tom Hardy fly down in a Chinook, and rescue me, and then I would buy one of those Audi R8's that he has for myself.

I would buy an apartment with a sh*t hot penthouse overlooking Central Park for myself. I would then fly my private jet to NYC, and lounge around in my penthouse apartment whilst deciding what my next move would be. It would involve world travel, and helping out various charity's. I would buy a ranch in Montana or North Dakota, that I would stay every summer for a while.

I might even buy a bar in NYC and call it "The Roaring Bi**h" (might not get away with that name but I'll try my luck).

I would then buy a teeny tiny island somewhere, which was infested with leprosy/lice/bubonic plague/*insert horribleness here* and put everyone that ever pissed me off on it "a la I'm a celebrity get me out of here" and then install camera's so I could watch them all, because I know they would all hate each other "My sob story is better than yours"

God I have some issues

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Pilotdude5

With money comes power so I will be banning the following things:

Celery
    Jagermeister
    Pay to fly jobs
    Soccer
    Religion
    Carrots
    X-factor
    Vegetarians
    Slow Drivers
    Fast Drivers
    Irish Politicians
    G.A.A.
    Tracksuits
    Rugby
    Fuel Tax
    TV Licence
    That Blasphemy law we have
    Hipsters
    Earl grey Tea

I will introduce:

Abortions for some
    Miniature American flags for others
    Melted Butter at cinemas
    Mandatory Motorway driving lessons
    Universal Broadband access
    Free cats to every household
    Further Human space exploration

Pilotdude5 wrote: »
    With money comes power so I will be banning the following things:

Celery
    Jagermeister
    Pay to fly jobs
    Soccer
    Religion
    Carrots
    X-factor
    Vegetarians
    Slow Drivers
    Fast Drivers
    Irish Politicians
    G.A.A.
    Tracksuits
    Rugby
    Fuel Tax
    TV Licence
    That Blasphemy law we have
    Hipsters
    Earl grey Tea

I will introduce:

Abortions for some
    Miniature American flags for others
    Melted Butter at cinemas
    Mandatory Motorway driving lessons
    Universal Broadband access
    Free cats to every household
    I've never wanted someone to not win the Lotto more in my entire life!! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

I'd spent the next 10 years giving away €150,000,000 of it.
    Disgraceful amount of money to give to one person.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Pilotdude5

I've never wanted someone to not win the Lotto more in my entire life!! :mad:

Ugh you've obviously never had you're appendix removed. The bile you start coughing up before hand tastes very similar!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

I would give every boardsie a cheque for three fiddy and an Atari Jaguar for their ma!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,330 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

I read about Beyonce doing a 30 minute show for some Arab princess for $1 mill

So I reckon I could a handjob while looking at her tits for $5mill

The rest can look after itself

Pilotdude5 wrote: »
    Ugh you've obviously never had you're appendix removed. The bile you start coughing up before hand tastes very similar!
    You are correct. I'm still connected to my appendix, but I'd gladly get rid of it for free Jager! :p

Dodge wrote: »
    I read about Beyonce doing a 30 minute show for some Arab princess for $1 mill

So I reckon I could a handjob while looking at her tits for $5mill

The rest can look after itself
    5m?
    I can get that sorted for you by someone who calls herself Beyonce for €30.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

I'd give about 160 million away. Make a lot of people happy and live very well for the rest of my days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭allibastor

I think if i had that much money i would train to become Batman. They make more money so i could be a billionaire.

Or else i would just cheat on being a superhero and build the Ironman suit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭allibastor

Actually, I think i would use all that money to eb allowed to punch chuck Norris, Once, then use the money to beg his forgivness. It would take all 170m, but it would be worth it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭MaxSteele

I would give most of it away to the needy, sick, dying, starving and those without a roof over they're head. I'd go to South Africa and reinvent the shanty towns and provide sanitation.
    I would become a UN ambassador for children by building orphanages and eliminating slave labour worldwide.

WHOORES AND MORE WHOORES

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Hungrycol

ACV

Siblings, parents, in-laws, mates, all subject to gift tax. Tax man has you by the cahonas. Nothing for it then to keep it all yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

I'd do loads of stupid **** just to piss people off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

I'd buy a nice house for my brother so he wouldn't have to worry about his rent anymore, give him about €20 million so he could live in comfort for the rest of his life. Another €20 million would go to my parents for putting up with me, then a few million to the few relations that aren't total dicks. After that I'd use the remaining monies to do the following:

Buy a small deserted island in a remote and trecherous part of the Pacific ocean, rig it up with cameras and Saw-style horrors and kidnap my father, strand him on the island with just enough basic supplies to last for a week and a gun with one bullet. Let him know true abandonment. Then, about halfway into the week, kidnap my stepmother and throw her out of the plane with a timer-operated parachute, again armed with only a few mergre supplies and a blunt weapon.
    Slowly but surely, I would introduce elements of surprise like wild animals, traps and mind-games until they get to the point where they end up contemplating killing each other. Right when they've lost all hope I'll show up on a monitor, inform them that they've taken their punishment well and that if they can find it by night fall, a helicopter will be waiting in the darkest, dangerous parts of the middle of the island to take them to safety.
    I would then give them each one million to never contact me again and stay out of my life or face being left on the island once more for the rest of their sad, pathetic lives.

Next, massive holiday going all over the world. I'd buy a house in Barcelona, Tokyo and a penthouse in New York then pay Tom Hiddleston to be my naked, poetry reciting butler.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

€1,000,000 in cash into a suitcase and straight to Las Vegas to have one helluva tear up.

Come back a little while later to decide on how the rest of the €169,000,000 or so would be spent.

Some things that are a given:

-New Porsche 991, new Nissan Qashqai
    -New house
    -Plenty of bespoke suits, shirts and shoes, with ties to go with all for every occasion.
    -Plenty of dig outs and pressies for friends and family
    -Siberian Husky puppy
    -Season ticket for Chelsea Football Club
    -Season ticket for Croke Park
    -Season ticket for IRFU and FAI
    -Holiday home in South of France

Invest huge amounts into saving schemes as outlined in the OP (with a nice return on the money) and anything else that tickled my fancy...

Be bliss...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭nbar12

Where To wrote: »
    Who cares about anonymity, a more important question is whether 170m would get you the roide?

I'd buy a load of pix n' mix

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

I'd buy a Dark Knight Rises-style Batmobile (or have one commissioned to be built) and have the Stig teach me how to drive it.
    Then, I'd build a house like this and use a sizable chunk of my fortune preparing for the impending apocolypse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

I'd buy €20 credit. Fecking free calls are gone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭ian87

DazMarz wrote: »
    €1,000,000 in cash into a suitcase and straight to Las Vegas to have one helluva tear up.

Come back a little while later to decide on how the rest of the €169,000,000 or so would be spent.

Some things that are a given:

-New Porsche 991, new Nissan Qashqai
    -New house
    -Plenty of bespoke suits, shirts and shoes, with ties to go with all for every occasion.
    -Plenty of dig outs and pressies for friends and family
    -Siberian Husky puppy
    -Season ticket for Chelsea Football Club
    -Season ticket for Croke Park
    -Season ticket for IRFU and FAI
    -Holiday home in South of France

Invest huge amounts into saving schemes as outlined in the OP (with a nice return on the money) and anything else that tickled my fancy...

Be bliss...

A qashqai? Really?