Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Prob done before but St Vincent de Paul and heating help?

• 11-11-2012 10:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14

I've googled but have had various results so wondering if anyone would have A definitive answer.

I am in a bit of a pickle. While travelling during the year, I was diagnosed with severe rheumatoid arthritis and had to come home. Since then its became progressively worse and I am currently immobile. I live with my son who is 3. I get supplementary welfare while I wait for disability. Because I was out of the country I was refused rent supplements and an appealing it.
    So my problem is this. I've been struggling for five months now. Paying rent of 700 a month. Ex gives 300 towards it as maintenance. I owe everyone. Banks, family, friends, provident in order not to lose the roof over the head. I've even sold laptop tv and everything not pinned down. I
    I don't have any oil or coal and I'm frozen. I've asked for an urgent needs payment and was refused as I get fuel supplements of twenty euro. I've asked fuel companies to do a pay by month scheme but you have to have A min of one order paid in full first.

I was going to ask st Vincent de Paul but was told they only do food vouchers now, is this the case? Do I go to them or them to me? Any info would be appreciated, I'm really cold!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭cruais

Could you put this case to your ex and see if he could up his maintenance until you get back on your feet?

Surely he wouldn't want to see his child being cold...?

Contact the VDP and see what they have to say?

Also, I know you say that you owe everyone, but could you mention it to family about your situation, or maybe move home to your parents until you get sorted again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 BoscoLover

Thanks for the reply! I've asked ex who is only on the dole himself and doesn't live near me so I don't think he understands just how cold! I asked him this morning based on your post and he said he hasn't got anything. The minimum oil spend you are required to buy is 250 which is a alot of mone!

I. Live in adapted housing and wouldn't be able to live with my parents, plus they wouldn't be able for all this. I have asked everyone who have all refused. The idea of owing more money would probably add to this stress that I'm under anyway. I'm sick with worry bout the people I owe and dread a knock at the door or my phone ringing. At least if I had help from st Vincent de Paul I wouldn't feel under pressure with them to pay back which I would do once I'm back on track. I'm worried bout asking them though, I don't know how involved will they get, would it seem like a bad thing? Like I'm not coping?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭glennhysen

I'm in a volunteer with the SVP and your local conference should be able to give you other forms of financial assistance other than food vouchers.

Get your local office number from their website www.svp.ie and give them a ring. They will organise for two members to call out to see you and decide what is the best way to assist you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭Equality

The CWO is permitted to pay additional money in respect of unusual heating costs on account of a disability. The fact that you get fuel allowance of 20 euro/week does not prevent you getting this additional payment. You should apply for it and appeal any refusal.

You should make sure that you have applied for council housing, as this will increase your chance of getting rent supplement on appeal. There is no requirement that you have been renting out of your own resources for six months if you are on the council housing list. If the council refuse to put you on their housing list, you should appeal this also. In addition, you should list out your special requirements - downstairs bed/bath...

The maintenance is a problem, as it is likely to reduce the amount of money you are entitled to on supplementary welfare. It would be better to get the ex to buy clothes/food/coal for the child, and draw the full amount of supplementary welfare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭curlzy

Equality wrote: »
    The maintenance is a problem, as it is likely to reduce the amount of money you are entitled to on supplementary welfare. It would be better to get the ex to buy clothes/food/coal for the child, and draw the full amount of supplementary welfare.

This is welfare fraud. Either way, should she do that the welfare will go after the ex through the courts, all single parents are legally obliged to pursue maintenance through the courts. If they don't, SW do it on their behalf so she'll be back to square one.

OP, I wouldn't bother going down the road of trying to defraud the state, you've enough on your plate.

I'll keep everything above board with this because at this point if something could go wrong, it will go wrong. I'm being assessed for housing at the moment but like all things its taking time!

I suppose my main concern was would they help with more than vouchers so thanks that the volunteer who said they would.

I suppose its the shame of it all really and I'm worried I will be perceived as not coping or been able to provide for my son.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭sambuka41

What an awful situation :(

Is there anyone who would buy you an electric heater/ or gas cylinder one?? I've been living for 2 months in a basement apartment without heat,it's been so cold, so I can only imagine how you are with your arthritis on top of that as well.

At least you can put a small amount aside each week for esb bill for electric heat rather than having to get a lump sum up front for oil. You'll also never find yourself without heat if you have a plug in one.
    (either that or I have heard of some petrol stations selling oil at €25 a drum, not sure if that's illegal or anything, but it might keep you going for a bit)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,033 ✭✭✭who_ru

BoscoLover wrote: »
    I've googled but have had various results so wondering if anyone would have A definitive answer.

I am in a bit of a pickle. While travelling during the year, I was diagnosed with severe rheumatoid arthritis and had to come home. Since then its became progressively worse and I am currently immobile. I live with my son who is 3. I get supplementary welfare while I wait for disability. Because I was out of the country I was refused rent supplements and an appealing it.
    So my problem is this. I've been struggling for five months now. Paying rent of 700 a month. Ex gives 300 towards it as maintenance. I owe everyone. Banks, family, friends, provident in order not to lose the roof over the head. I've even sold laptop tv and everything not pinned down. I
    I don't have any oil or coal and I'm frozen. I've asked for an urgent needs payment and was refused as I get fuel supplements of twenty euro. I've asked fuel companies to do a pay by month scheme but you have to have A min of one order paid in full first.

I was going to ask st Vincent de Paul but was told they only do food vouchers now, is this the case? Do I go to them or them to me? Any info would be appreciated, I'm really cold!
    are you in dublin or where?

I have A small heater but won't put one in my room as son is in here and would be afraid but the house needs the heat, starting to mould and the bedding is damp in the morning.

I'm in cork

I'll give them a ring in the morning. Has anyone been through this, do I need anything in particular?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭JuliusCaesar

You must surely be attending/under the care of a rheumatologist - ask to be put in contact with the Medical Social Worker and tell him/her your situation. They'll know how to sort you out.

I do attend the rheumy in cuh but would this even be in their remit? I've never heard of a medical social worker, thanks for that!! I'll google there and see if there is one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,842 ✭✭✭shinikins

Have you spoken to MABS about managing your debts? They may be able to help you with balancing/budgeting to pay outstanding bills. You should look at changing your oil providers, I know for definite that TexOil will sell heating oil at a minimum spend of €150, and you can buy barrels of oil at some heating oil providers if you go to them. TexOil also have a scheme to spread the cost of your home heating oil over the year, which I was looking into myself until recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭sunshiner

is your accommodation very damp, you could get on to threshold about it. They maybe able to give you some information. Also it may be worth going to citizen information theyre very helpful here is a link to the corkcity one
    http://centres.citizensinformation.ie/centre.php?cic=Cork+City+Centre+CIC

i have heard of svp giving a fill of oil to people, i hope it works out for you

I think its damp because I don't have the heat on to be honest. I've given them a ring and an waiting on someone to call me back so say a novena for me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭JuliusCaesar

I do attend the rheumy in cuh but would this even be in their remit? I've never heard of a medical social worker, thanks for that!! I'll google there and see if there is one.

Ring the Medical SW Dept at CUH, tell them you are under Dr X, and that you'd like to ask them if there's any advice they can give you about the heating. Obviously being frozen will impact negatively on your health, so yes it would come under their remit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

I have A small heater but won't put one in my room as son is in here and would be afraid but the house needs the heat, starting to mould and the bedding is damp in the morning.
    I think its damp because I don't have the heat on to be honest.

Not good enough at all

And it's almost like you are blaming yourself :confused:

I don't use my heating 9-10 months a year and never had to deal with damp

Citizen information can help with your rent allowance application.
    They know the system better then you and can make calls on your behalf.

Hopefully you get approved and then get out of that dive!
    700 a month for a damp gaff, your landlord is a crook
    Cork City Centre CIC
    80 South Mall
    Cork City
    Co. Cork

Anybody know how long it takes generally to hear back about when someone is calling to you? Still haven't heard back and an concious of calling and annoying them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭glennhysen

Anybody know how long it takes generally to hear back about when someone is calling to you? Still haven't heard back and an concious of calling and annoying them

The normal proceedure is that the SVP office you contacted will send a letter to your local conference and they will come out to meet you. Usually the local conference meets once a week, so I would guess it would be next week until they visit you (assuming you rang last Tuesday).

Maybe ring the SVP number again and ask them if they know when the local conference meets.

Still havent heard from the SVP. Does any one know where I could get a quick loan. I am so cold here. I have tried to call them and keep getting told, oh they meet this week, but still nothing. I know they are busy. But I am so cold. The temp has dropped too low. Please can anyone help with suggestions? Ive googled but nothing is coming up.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Still havent heard from the SVP. Does any one know where I could get a quick loan. I am so cold here. I have tried to call them and keep getting told, oh they meet this week, but still nothing. I know they are busy. But I am so cold. The temp has dropped too low. Please can anyone help with suggestions? Ive googled but nothing is coming up.

Have you contacted your medical SW dept as well as Vincent de Paul?

I'd imagine you'll hear from Vincent de Paul in the next week.

Could you ask your landlord to fill the oil tank and add it to your rent?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,030 ✭✭✭njs030

Petrol stations sell drums of oil for €25-€30, if you top it up every week and use it sparingly it'll get you through for the time being anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭Nicky30

If you could get a superser and a bottle of gas that would be handy.

SVP gave a friend of mine one. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Do you want to get oil for the central heating or could you get a portable oil radiator and just heat the rooms you are in?

Thanks everyone for replies. I have small electric heaters but they cost a bomb and I cant leave in room with my son or on overnight. When I wake in the morning in particular, Im stiff and unable to move. So I would need the heating oil so that I can time it to come on in the morning.

Thanks for the suggestion to ask the LL. I did say it to her but she said she cant afford it and its not her responsibility.

I have an appointment next month with the medical sw and I am going to get her to help me push my housing application,

Does the oil from the petrol station work? Is that not different to domestic oil?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Daisy M

You need to buy kerosene from a kerosene pump not petrol/diesel. In the meantime buy coal or a timer for your electric heater or set your alarm an hour before you need to get up and switch on the heater at least that way it will be warmer when you have to get up.

I have RA and hard as it sounds going for a walk during the day really helps. What meds are you on?

Ya I didnt think the petrol thing would work, am morto now!

Sorry to hear you have it too, its **** isnt it? Am on Enbrel, lyrica and amyltiptiline to try to get me to sleep. Have a lot of other meds for the stomach cos they are killing me. Im not very sharp when on the amyltriptine and I have had two site infections from the infusions. Im in CUH. Are you in cork? I heard there was a good support group here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭sambuka41

Daisy M wrote: »
    You need to buy kerosene from a kerosene pump not petrol/diesel.

As far as I know there are some stations that have kerosene pumps, where you can fill a drum for about €25 (thats the price in Tullamore though, not sure where you are.)

It might be ok for the meantime while you wait to get sorted with S/W

Sorry to hear you have it too, its **** isnt it? Am on Enbrel, lyrica and amyltiptiline to try to get me to sleep. Have a lot of other meds for the stomach cos they are killing me. Im not very sharp when on the amyltriptine and I have had two site infections from the infusions. Im in CUH. Are you in cork? I heard there was a good support group here?

No need to be morto how can you know something if you have never needed to before.

I am in the west. I used to take plaquenil and methotrexate, I tried salsophine (sp) but it didnt agree with me. I am starting embryl this month.

It sounds as though your medication has not kicked in yet, how long are you on it? Have you been prescribed anti-inflamatories? Stiffness in the morning is terrible. I do a lot of stretches to loosen up before getting out of bed. I also pop on a pair of toner flip flops, the flexability in the soles is great much better for your ridgid joints first thing.

If you are paying back loans stop for now until you get sorted. How much money do you have to live on per week after rent, maybe some of us here can give you money saving tips.

I get 217 a week. I dont get RS. I cant not pay provident 55 per week the knock at my door. I have tried to get them to reduce it, hold off etc and no hope. I pay 700 per month rent but my ex pays 300 of it. So its 50 a week and I use my childrens allowance to pay the balance. I dont pay the loans to the bank any more, I just cant, I feel bad about that. I owe some friends and family members but there is nothing I can do there. I owe and pay 30 off the electric every week. I am in arrears with them, thats a payment plan. I have my house phone, but I get the household benefits for that. There is food which I try to keep cheap but I have to get Tesco to deliver so I am limited to where I shop. I owe my LL for this month rent as I had to pay a friend back what I owed as she showed up with 2 friends of hers at the door. I felt I didnt have a choice. So I am fecked basically.

The heating bill is out of control due to the electric heater. I dont have the money for a superser but I would ask if SVP would give me one when they do call. I dont even know what I am going to do for Christmas, I know my son is young but it would break my heart to have him without at christmas.

I am on the meds about 4 months now. I am slightly better than I was but not by much. They want to change me next month to humira. So hopefully that will work. If the rain isnt too bad tomorrow, I wil pop down to the council and see if there is anything that they can do with my housing application. They never answer the phone. I think I could really get back on track if I could sort out housing. I just posted in the disability board to see if any one has tips on that.

You need to get in contact with mabs now so they can help you getting these people off your back, they can and will help, don't put off doing this the sooner you can the better. Go to social welfare officer and do not leave until he gives you help with your rent. Tell him you have a child at risk and need help now.

Would your ex help out with bringing the shopping home for you that way you could shop around a little.

Take a look at this thread on rollercoater it may help you get food costs down. Mods I hope posting a link is ok as I really feel this lady needs help.
    http://www.rollercoaster.ie/Discussions/tabid/119/ForumThread/141243696/Default.aspx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

OP Maybe you need to look at moving somewhere cheaper to live?
    Also perhaps an electric blanket that you time to come on in the morning, if you are this broke at the moment having the whole house warm in the mornings might just be a luxury you cannot afford.
    Electric heaters are terribly expensive and they need to heat the entire room before you start to feel warm, or you have to be sitting right at it.
    How long would 250 worth of heating oil last you?

I cant afford to move, i would need a months rent and a month in advance before I can move, plus, I am lucky that this house is in someway accessible. 250 was the amount that I put in when I moved here which was approx 5 months ago so it lasts a while. I dont abuse the oil,I was well trained growing up!

The heater is too expensive but I havent any other choice. Even looking at the price of the electric blankets in argos, I could be weeks before I could afford it. I need to start saving.

I have an appointment with Mabs next week. They seem like a good crowd. With any luck, they can really help.

Thats great that you have an appointment next week but start working on the rest of your difficulties today. Go to your gp and ask him about the pain control ladder, it is ok to take meds for the pain you are in while taking the other treatment.
    Go to the nearest local charity shops and explain how difficult things are at the moment, they maybe able to help out with clothing for you and your son and maybe something from santa or heating.

Start asking family and friends for help with shopping and read through the link I sent and indeed that forum it is full of really good practical advice.
    Best of luck, hope your problems get sorted soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 Gremlin2011

www.citizensinformation.ie/en/social_welfare/social_welfare_payments/supplementary_welfare_schemes/diet_and_heating_supplements.html

If you get heating form filled out by your gp and bring it to cwo they will have to give you something as its medically required. I dont know what way they will give you payment, it says on the site its a weekly payment but in my area they pay a onceoff of 300, not sure about Cork.

Best of luck with getting something sorted