Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your (CI) Awards!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭morana

http://www.cyclingireland.ie/Member-Awards/Member-Awards-2012.aspx

Vote for your favourites at the location above.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Where's the "morana for President of the UCI" option?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭emtroche

So here are the nominations for the Cycling Ireland awards.

Best Male Rider
    • Ryan Sherlock (Cycleways CC)
    • Adam Armstrong (Eurocycles)
    • Roger Aiken (Banbridge CC)
    • Paidi O’Brien (Dan Morrissey-Speedy Spokes)
    • Mark Dowling (Dunboyne DID)
    • Cormac Clarke (Newry Wheelers)
    • Liam Corcoran (Castlebar CC)
    • Eddie Dunbar (Kanturk CC)
    • Robin Seymour (Team WORC)

Best Female Rider
    • Melanie Spath (Cycleways CC)
    • Amy Brice (Phoenix CC)
    • Susie Mitchell (Sundrive TC)
    • Sandra Fitzgerald (Garda CC)
    • Catherine Walsh & Fran Meehan
    • Sara Ortiz (Black Rose Racing)

Best Volunteer 2012
    • Martin Grimley (Dromara CC)
    • Damien Long (Orwell)
    • Dany Blondeel (Ards CC)
    • John Malone (Newbridge)
    • Sean McNicholl
    • Noel Clarke (Navan RC)
    • Gabriel Howard (Stamullen)
    • Alice Sherratt (Usher IRC)
    • John Brennan (Castlebar CC)
    • Gillian McDarby (Usher IRC)
    • Dan Curtin (Kanturk CC)

Best Club 2012
    • Ratoath BMX
    • Lakeside Wheelers
    • Errigal CC
    • Cuchulainn CC
    • Carn Wheelers
    • Phoenix CC
    • Inspiration CC
    • Castlebar CC
    • LeisureCycling.ie
    • Swinford CC
    • Orwell Wheelers
    • Limerick CC

Best Leisure Event 2012
    • Cody’s Challenge (Steady CC)
    • Tour of South Derry (Carn Wheelers)
    • Giants Causeway Sportive (Outdoor Recreation NI)
    • Cuan Mhuire Helpinghand Cycle (Deenside Wheelers)
    • The Sean Kelly Tour of Waterford
    • The Leinster Loop

Best Competitive Event
    • An Post Rás
    • An Post Rás na mBna
    • Rás Dhún na nGall
    • National Hill Climb Championships
    • Errigal Youth Tour
    • Phoenix Cyclocross
    • McCann Cup
    • National Youth Championships
    Don't know about the rest of you but i'm seriously unimpressed.

Surely Mark Rohan as world and paralympic champion should at least have been in with a shout? That reeks of discrimination in my eyes.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Threads merged (and title amended slightly;))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭MichealD

That Mark Rohan is not even nominated is ridiculous.

The best competitive event has one road race? Some strange omissions on the leisure events. How were the nominations sought? I know CI members have final say in voting but were they involved in nominations?. I don't remember getting anything about it.

That said fair play to the clubs and and events on the list. All deserving.

Obviously i'm biased but it would have been nice to see the Race Around Ireland nominated.

How many other international cycling events in the country are open to men and women equally?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

no offense to riders/clubs that were shortlisted but theres alot of other names that deserve to have been there, how exactly were they chosen?

Eoin Mullen, his first senior year= 2012 national sprint champion, national team sprint champion, national keirin champion, also new Irish records in all events , not shortlisted!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 519 ✭✭✭fixie fox

no offense to riders/clubs that were shortlisted but theres alot of other names that deserve to have been there, how exactly were they chosen?

Eoin Mullen, his first senior year= 2012 national sprint champion, national team sprint champion, national keirin champion, also new Irish records in all events , not shortlisted!

There's bound to be controversy about anything like that but it's a slick way of doing it.
    The only problem i had is there was no option of giving no vote in any category. For example, I don't know very much about the women cyclists and didn't want to vote, but hadn't that option. First woman on the list (default) got it!

fixie fox wrote: »
    For example, I don't know very much about the women cyclists and didn't want to vote, but hadn't that option. First woman on the list (default) got it!
    Maybe you would have been better off trying to educate yourself about some of the women, who include current World Champions, Paralympic medallists and riders who have dominated the domestic scene this year. Perhaps it would have been better if you had not even voted rather than throwing one of your votes at someone on a completely random basis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

For example, I don't know very much about the women cyclists and didn't want to vote, but hadn't that option. First woman on the list (default) got it!
    You can't go wrong by voting for Melanie. National Road and MTB XC as well as MTB marathon champion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭manwithaplan

I didn't have that problem with the female category but I did with one or two others. For example I didn't do any of the leisure events so just took a punt. I think fixie fox is right and there should be a 'no vote' option.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 519 ✭✭✭fixie fox

Beasty wrote: »
    Maybe you would have been better off trying to educate yourself about some of the women, who include current World Champions, Paralympic medallists and riders who have dominated the domestic scene this year. Perhaps it would have been better if you had not even voted rather than throwing one of your votes at someone on a completely random basis

If that's the attitude then maybe CI should put a notice with it to say that we shouldn't vote unless we are all sufficiently "educated" on all the various aspects of cycling involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭rab!dmonkey

Did you misread his post? He would have done as you recommended and not voted, but the site doesn't allow that.

I was suggesting not voting for any of the categories if he didn't want to familiarise himself with the exploits of the women during the year (which, with probably only the notable exception of Mark Rohan, exceeded the achievements of the men)

I take manwithaplan's point on the leisure event though - there will not be many CI members who are in a position to take a view on all of these events, and many will not have participated in any of them - I formed a view on these based on comments seen here, but I've got to say it's an odd category to invite votes when there are so few nominated events

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

I hope the poll gets a higher turnout than the Children's Referendum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,221 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

If that's the attitude then maybe CI should put a notice with it to say that we shouldn't vote unless we are all sufficiently "educated" on all the various aspects of cycling involved.

Dear Comrade Fixie Fox,

It has come to the attention of our Dear Leader that you have show insufficient enthusiasm for the political process.

Please report to the re-education centre where you will learn respect for the sacrifices of ALL of your comrades.

Best regards,
    Cycling North Korea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭dave2pvd

Best Female Rider
    • Amy Brice (Phoenix CC)

Have to wonder why the lead rider in this pic is missing from the list:

191330_10150424413645471_5681964_o.jpg

dave2pvd wrote: »
    Have to wonder why the lead rider in this pic is missing from the list:
    Perhaps because it's the Best Irish Based female rider(s) category?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭dave2pvd

Perhaps because it's the Best Irish Based female rider(s) category?

Indeed. That could be it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

Just one comment on the poll itself. There should be a blank option in each category. You may not have an opinion in certain categories and someone could get a load of votes by default.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 559 ✭✭✭turbodiesel

Got my vote in for Ratoath BMX in the best club category, hopefully they'll get it.

They have a training day organised tomorrow with Kelvin Blatey who's UK race team Route 55 and Identity bikes has just signed up the clubs youngest rider to race in the UK National series.

http://bmxireland.ie/2012/10/source-route-55-waller/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭wav1

Any update on who got the awards in the various categories at the awards dinner last night?

And the winners are ....

Best Volunteer: Martin Grimley, Dromara CC
    Best Club: Cuchulainn CC
    Best Leisure Event: Sean Kelly Tour of Waterford
    Best Competitive Event: An Post Rás
    Best Female Rider: Melanie Spath, Cycleways CC
    Best Male Rider: Ryan Sherlock, Cycleways CC

Well done to everyone, particularly Mel, Ryan and indeed Cuchulainn CC who have all been known to post in the forum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Hungrycol

Nominations in no particular order... (cough);)
    emtroche wrote: »
    So here are the nominations for the Cycling Ireland awards.

Best Male Rider
    • Ryan Sherlock (Cycleways CC)
    • Adam Armstrong (Eurocycles)
    • Roger Aiken (Banbridge CC)
    • Paidi O’Brien (Dan Morrissey-Speedy Spokes)
    • Mark Dowling (Dunboyne DID)
    • Cormac Clarke (Newry Wheelers)
    • Liam Corcoran (Castlebar CC)
    • Eddie Dunbar (Kanturk CC)
    • Robin Seymour (Team WORC)

Best Female Rider
    • Amy Brice (Phoenix CC)

Best Volunteer 2012
    • Martin Grimley (Dromara CC)
    • Damien Long (Orwell)
    • Dany Blondeel (Ards CC)
    • John Malone (Newbridge)
    • Sean McNicholl
    • Noel Clarke (Navan RC)
    • Gabriel Howard (Stamullen)
    • Alice Sherratt (Usher IRC)
    • John Brennan (Castlebar CC)
    • Gillian McDarby (Usher IRC)
    • Dan Curtin (Kanturk CC)

And the winners are ....

Best Volunteer: Martin Grimley, Dromara CC
    Best Club: Cuchulainn CC
    Best Leisure Event: Sean Kelly Tour of Waterford
    Best Competitive Event: An Post Rás
    Best Female Rider: Melanie Spath, Cycleways CC
    Best Male Rider: Ryan Sherlock, Cycleways CC

Well done to everyone, particularly Mel, Ryan and indeed Cuchulainn CC who have all been known to post in the forum

Congratulations to Martin Grimley. Well deserved. Once again this year he volunteered to go out in the middle of the night to help us with the Race Around Ireland. Not a lot of people would be willing to do that! :)