Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Carbon Fibre Accident Damage Question

• 08-11-2012 12:56pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 468 ✭✭

Gents
    Brother came off his full carbon Focus. He bent the front wheel pretty badly.. Well its S-shaped... He says it just needs a wheel but I told him that he would be better to replace the fork as well ... !

Bike fork looks grand to me but then I only ever dealt with steel bikes so I havent a clue what to advise him...

Question is how can you check a carbon fork/frame ..? Is he ok just to replace the front wheel and ride on...?

I know its not much to go on without a picture of the bike but any help/advice would be greatly appreciated..

Thanks Lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,365 ✭✭✭Lusk Doyle

Gents
    Brother came off his full carbon Focus. He bent the front wheel pretty badly.. Well its S-shaped... He says it just needs a wheel but I told him that he would be better to replace the fork as well ... !

Bike fork looks grand to me but then I only ever dealt with steel bikes so I havent a clue what to advise him...

Question is how can you check a carbon fork/frame ..? Is he ok just to replace the front wheel and ride on...?

I know its not much to go on without a picture of the bike but any help/advice would be greatly appreciated..

Thanks Lads

Take it to your local bike shop. You can repair cracked carbon. I have recently ridden a repaired bike that looked like this after the incident:

http://skinnyclimber.blogspot.ie/

As you can also see, it has the post repairs pictures and here's one of me on it to show you I'm not joking:

https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/uploads/attachments/382192/227689.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,971 ✭✭✭fat bloke

Handy to know. -Who did the repair?

fat bloke wrote: »
    Handy to know. -Who did the repair?

Done through Humphries in Finglas. The link is on the page I attached.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

The Humphries shop didn't actually do the repair, rather they knew someone who could do it and directed me to them. If you ring them they can advise if it's an option for you or not.

Raam wrote: »
    The Humphries shop didn't actually do the repair, rather they knew someone who could do it and directed me to them. If you ring them they can advise if it's an option for you or not.

That's why I said done through Humphries.

Lusk Doyle wrote: »
    That's why I said done through Humphries.

Everything's an argument, wha.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭cnz8euq6x7syj2

Derek in Humphries fixed mine too (actually fixed it himself). Rivets had come out of the bottle holder and took a big chunk of the carbon with it too. Did a very good job.

Although wasnt able to fix the latest damage. Case of humpty dumpty and a snapped seat tube due to Aer Lingus made it impossible to fix. Not worth taking the risk most of the time if its a bad break. the last thing you need is it failing when you are tipping along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

Slightly O/T but I have a slight crack in a Zipp 404 - anyone know someone who can/could fix it?

tunney wrote: »

Slightly O/T but I have a slight crack in a Zipp 404 - anyone know someone who can/could fix it?

You could try to get it looked at THROUGH Humphries!

Everything's an argument, wha.

Only when you don't read so good, bro!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,971 ✭✭✭fat bloke

Well anyway, a shop couldn't possibly have done it, I mean it's just an establishment of bricks and mortar and such. But a person working in the shop could have done it, or facilitated it rhubarbrhubarbrhubarb have we beaten this thread to death it? Couple of more kicks to the head maybe?:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭RidleyRider

tunney wrote: »

There are a few places around the country that fix carbon. There's a man (Alan, I think?) in Foranfore in Kerry that does carbon repairs. But I suspect, that's a little out of your way.

I suppose must reputable LBS should have there contacts for carbon repairs though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,532 ✭✭✭Unregistered.

To answer the OP's original question.... You could have it X-ray'd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,176 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

Only when you don't read so good, bro!

Sorry for going off topic OP but are any of you lads going to the Swords CC agm this eve. Gonna miss it. Still strugling to walk with this poxy injury I have. Bloody fed up watching the rubbish spouted on Jerry Springer in the afternoons too:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

To answer the OP's original question.... You could have it X-ray'd.
    My insurance accessor was quoted €700 for that when he suggested it. He now wants to explore other options!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 468 ✭✭VanhireBoys

Thanks a million Lads for your replies - Very much appreciated ! BTW Love the photos Lusk... :cool:

Was on the phone to the brother last night and he is going to get the bike to his LBS for an initial assesment .. I told him not to be riding the bike until this is done at least !

If there is any damage found then he will contact Humpries and get the repairs done through them

Sorry couldnt resist that one ... :D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

This thread illustrates another thing. You regularly hear claims that carbon fibre is "dangerous" and "unrepairable" compared to other materials. Especially from the "steel is real" crowd*. Sure steel(and Ti) generally fails more progressively and you can also repair it. However it's long winded and expensive and not too easy with non lugged frames. Plus I dunno anyone in Ireland who could replace a tube on a steel frame so abroad it would likely have to go. Aluminium frame repair? I'd not trust one anyway. Carbon fibre as a material by comparison is far more amenable to repair. I've even done it myself, though on a fly fishing rod which is far more delicate than a bike frame, is designed to flex constantly in use and my epoxy resin whipped and spliced bodge(without adding fibres) worked fine for a few seasons.

As an aside, one question I've wondered about regarding CF bike frames; do ye find they get more flexible with the miles? I've noted the aforementioned carbon fly rods lose something of their stiffness/power over time, they go soft. Maybe that's down to UV damage though.

*and I say that as a self confessed luddite. :)

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 468 ✭✭VanhireBoys

Wibbs wrote: »
    This thread illustrates another thing. You regularly hear claims that carbon fibre is "dangerous" and "unrepairable" compared to other materials. Especially from the "steel is real" crowd*.

You have me well sussed there Wibbs - Those are the exact words I used when I saw the brothers bike :D

billyhead wrote: »
    Sorry for going off topic OP but are any of you lads going to the Swords CC agm this eve. Gonna miss it. Still strugling to walk with this poxy injury I have. Bloody fed up watching the rubbish spouted on Jerry Springer in the afternoons too:)

Here's the highlights:

- 07 Lapierre said lots but nobody was really paying any attention as they were too busy trying to ignore / avoid Raam and his crusade for marshals for Crossmarnock!

- Beasty got a prize.

- I got a better prize.

The end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 156 ✭✭wotdef

There is supposed to be a guy around Palmerstown that does carbon repairs. Think he is a surf board maker. Will try and find out for deffo for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 156 ✭✭wotdef

Www.roughstuff.ie. It's canoeing paddles he does not surfing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,830 ✭✭✭doozerie

@Wibbs, I was reading a discussion of the pros and cons of various frame materials on a US forum some time back. The consensus seemed to fit with what you are saying - aluminium repair is too tricky, steel repair is certainly doable (locally for them), titanium repair is very expensive (even though still reasonably local for them).

Specifically in relation to carbon fibre, there seem to be some highly regarded people/companies in the US that carry out repairs, but some of the posters had done repairs themselves. In fact, at least one person mentioned that they used a carbon fibre frameset while touring and they brought some carbon fibre patches with them in case they had to repair the frame themselves while travelling. It's an interesting angle on the topic, which basically categorises carbon fibre as being the most practical frame material. I can seem some sense in that, it's easy to dwell on the perceived cons of carbon fibre (photos of shattered carbon frames springs to mind) while completely overlooking the shortcomings of the alternatives.

I've ridden that repaired carbon frame in anger and have hit over 70kph on it and I never felt like it was compromised. It's strong!

It might be for sale if anyone is interested.

Aye, and a bargin at the asking price it is too :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭Tomred13

Hi Tunney
    Try Roughstuff in palmerstown. the dude there fixes loads of carbon wheels, im using a repaired cosmic carbone that split in two places and its perfect.
    Tom