Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Me and my mate are gona m make our own diesel fuel from cheap source

• 05-11-2012 2:02pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭

Me and my mate are gonna make our own diesel fuel from cheap source cheaper than even bio fuel.
    We estimate less than 50 cent a liter is the price to make it
    Cheaper motoring here we come :D

We are gonna copy this video below home brew solution from the USA where they take scrap plastic material what you find in the rubbish bins or from other scrap sources and turn it into diesel fuel
    All you need is a big container sealed up able to take pressures not that high a few PSI and boil the plastic to about 400F .

What exits in due course is diesel oil

One kilo of plastic makes about 1 liter of diesel fuel

Originally plastic was made from oil .Putting it into heated unit with pressure breaks the chemical bonds and it turns back in to oil .

Viola :D

Diesel car will work very well on this type of diesel oil its claimed by many sources

It seems that diesel engines can even run on crude oil if its sweet crude oil . Sweet crude oil doesn't mean the taste its means that it means the oil is sorta brown in color and flows and looks like lubricating oil you get for car engine .
    Non sweet crude it the thick black gooye stuff often full of sulfur and contains more tar than sweet oil . Sweet oil is nearly refined so less cost to refine and so sweet crude oil prices are higher than no sweet crude oil

Anyway the oil plastic makes is more like Sweet crude oil and diesel engines it seems can run this stuff no problems .
    Anyway its not that hard to heat the oil that comes from plastic slowly in a barrel get all the diesel fuels to float to the top and skim that off .
    Then use the thicker stuff to burn in the home heating furnace which can burn any old crude oil,
    Here the video keep you posted how we get on

Easy way to make your own diesel from plastic waste

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fbNou1lXBck&feature=related

Derry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭RustyNut

Heat, pressure, fuel, Hope you are not doing this in a shed near me. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭Dartz

The taxman will still want his pound of flesh.....

Otherwise, good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭ARGINITE

derry wrote: »
    All you need is a big container sealed up able to take pressures not that high a few PSI and boil the plastic to about 400F.

Very hot molten plastic kept under pressure kept in any old container, sure what could go wrong!

Make sure you record the resulting explosion for YouTube.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Already being done on an industrial scale in Portlaoise.

Brilliant idea though.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

I can see no fault with this plan.

Oh, from a another users posting last year.
    In relation to the taxes on fuel:
    - First you add a fixed excise to the basic fuel price. For petrol, this is €0.57622 per litre.
    - You then add VAT @ 21% of the basic + excise amount to give the total price per litre.

So, in essence (pun intended), all basic taxes on petrol per litre amount to €0.6972262. The excise amount stays the same no matter how much the pre-tax price is, whereas the VAT naturally increases as the pre-tax price does.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,486 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

zerks wrote: »
    Already being done on an industrial scale in Portlaoise.

Brilliant idea though.

And not working very well...

It's very hard to do and after several years of effort, the guys in Portlaoise still aren't making money off it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,837 ✭✭✭Markcheese

MarkR wrote: »

Why would you add Vat if your not selling it.... You make, you use it (you owe excise duty)

On another note try it out first on an old style diesel not a modern common rail or dci style engine...old style diesel ( slow ones that sound like a tractor) were designed to run on any old crap

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

On another note presume you need the right mix of clean sorted plastics ?? Is there a bye product/ left over sludge. ? What do you do with it ...

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭Bandara

Lol

Where to even start .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,529 ✭✭✭recyclebin

It's all about the chemistry.

Just watch Breaking Bad to see how it go wrong.

Replace the Mexicans with the IRA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭sf80

Have you factored in the cost of heating the vessel? I suggest you use petrol.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭derry

Dartz wrote: »
    The taxman will still want his pound of flesh.....

Otherwise, good luck.

Well he has to know and find me and then he got to prove it and as i am part of the sovereignty solution I can show in any fake court they make there is nothing in the Irish constitution to allow such a thing as tax man sheriff or otherwise but thats another debate so that guy can take a hike

MarkR wrote:

In relation to the taxes on fuel:
    - First you add a fixed excise to the basic fuel price. For petrol, this is €0.57622 per litre.
    - You then add VAT @ 21% of the basic + excise amount to give the total price per litre.

So, in essence (pun intended), all basic taxes on petrol per litre amount to €0.6972262. The excise amount stays the same no matter how much the pre-tax price is, whereas the VAT naturally increases as the pre-tax price does.

Thanks for the encouragement
    We ant gonna sell the stuff we just putting it in our tanks
    Well we ant gonna go that complex extortion route but interesting info for those who want to give money away to Mafia system to not have problems. Then they will hit you with more regulations than you cant throw a ball at that will make it cheaper to buy the stuff. If you buy and use only EU MAFIA approved equipment and yada yada and license etc ..... we will stop you is the trap you fall into but be my quest try it .The old rule in Eire is ask permission and agree to even pay tax it will always be reply no . ;)
    ARGINITE wrote:
    derry wrote:
    Originally Posted by derry View Post
    All you need is a big container sealed up able to take pressures not that high a few PSI and boil the plastic to about 400F.
    Very hot molten plastic kept under pressure kept in any old container, sure what could go wrong!

Make sure you record the resulting explosion for YouTube.

Well my mates in sticks ville with old metal barn shed so that not a issue for us . Might put sticky gooo on the inside of the shed but not much other risks. Were not going for the very high pressure solution which uses less power but is more risky to go bang.Also were only going for a few gallon at a time so the fire the biggest risk would be small and empty metal sheds don't burn very well.
    sf80 wrote:
    Have you factored in the cost of heating the vessel? I suggest you use petrol.

yes we factored in the energy at first we will just use ESB as it isn't that much power needed . Its easier to maintain the steady state 400F with thermostatically controlled heating element similar to kettles or cookers . Later we will look at diesel run solution using the 10kw diesel generator that's on site but its marginal we estimate less than 20% of the fuel equivalent will be needed to make the batches . The extra running costs wear and tear might make the electric generator more expensive than ESB .We estimate its costing 50 cents a kilowatt using the generator per hour all costs included using normal diesel .the less costly Diesel we will make might reduce it to less than 20cents a kilowatt and that more than ESB charges . It will be suck and see . However if you want to do feel free to throw petrol at the problem its your fire not mine .
    Markcheese wrote:
    On another note presume you need the right mix of clean sorted plastics ?? Is there a bye product/ left over sludge. ? What do you do with it ...

Well its better to find cleanest plastic so when dumpster diving or skip diving chose your skip well. If there is some sludge left well dust to dust is the rule put the modified plastic into plastic bag and return the offending plastic to its owner from the the skip you found it in .That skip will find it way to the Portlaoise plant who can covert the stubborn types of plastics into oil so every body lives happy ever after accept the mafia income for the gombeen men in king Georges Royal Oireachtas in Leinster House

Derry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Well I hope it works out for you, make sure to keep us informed. :)

Got a bit lost with the rant and raving bit... But what's 400f in real money ( centigrade) , even at low pressure you're gonna need a serious vessel to withstand pressure AND temperature for a long time... Does the temperature have to be fairly constant ( assume temp affects the pressure)... Can you get a thermostatically controlled burner ?? (old central heating burner or is that a bit big ? )

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

Amount of KG of plastic required per Litre of "fuel"?

Why not do the Biodiesel thing? I cant imagine this fluid will be very nice on fuel pumps, injectors etc. How is it lubricity vs Diesel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Markcheese wrote: »
    Got a bit lost with the rant and raving bit... But what's 400f in real money ( centigrade) , even at low pressure you're gonna need a serious vessel to withstand pressure AND temperature for a long time... Does the temperature have to be fairly constant ( assume temp affects the pressure)... Can you get a thermostatically controlled burner ?? (old central heating burner or is that a bit big ? )

It's about 175/180. Not sure exactly. Not too hot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

This is gonna be great!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭bmstuff

This venture will only fail unless you can grab one of these :-)

000004581820080116170630.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

3rnxvw.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭randy hickey

Coming soon to a farm near you....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭HellFireClub

One kilo of plastic makes about 1 liter of diesel fuel

Little lesson for you in this area from my thermodynamics module in college:

1 LT of water has a mass of 1KG at standard atmospheric pressure and temperature...

Diesel has a specific gravity of 0.82 - 0.95, meaning that 1LT volume of diesel fuel weighs approximately 0.82KG - 0.95KG.

http://wiki.answers.com/Q/What_is_the_specific_gravity_of_diesel_fuel

For 1KG of plastic to convert into 1 Litre of diesel fuel, first of all, the laws of physics would have to be broken, because unless your plastic has the same specific gravity as water (and if that were true, it would be water and not plastic!), 1K of plastic cannot equal 1LT of Diesel!

Also, your "plastic" would need to be 82%-95% diesel, for this to work, and I'm looking at a plastic Ballygowan bottle here and it doesn't look to me like it smells, feels, tastes, anything like Diesel!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

your "plastic" would need to be 82%-95% diesel, for this to work, and I'm looking at a plastic Ballygowan bottle here and it doesn't look to me like it smells, feels, tastes, anything like Diesel!

Exactly. There just isn't enough oil in plastic to make this economically viable. It it was, someone would be doing it on a large scale and making money from it. So although your melting a huge amount of plastic, your getting so little return.

As regards the finished product, its going to be rough on your engines. BioFuels normally need a complete refit on hosing. VW won't allow BioDiesel in the 2.5l Toureg block. Even on 50/50 it was too hard on the pipes and leaving residue.

If it sounds to good to be true it normally is.

Edit: Just watched the video. Thats not diesel. You'd need to refine it again, and probably again to actually use it. You'd need to remove most of the impurities to even think about getting a semi clean burn. Sure look at the color of it to start!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭randy hickey

Little lesson for you in this area from my thermodynamics module in college:

1 KG of water has a mass of 1KG at standard atmospheric pressure and temperature...

Diesel has a specific gravity of 0.82 - 0.95, meaning that 1LT volume of diesel fuel weighs approximately 0.82KG - 0.95KG.

http://wiki.answers.com/Q/What_is_the_specific_gravity_of_diesel_fuel

For 1KG of plastic to convert into 1 Litre of diesel fuel, first of all, the laws of physics would have to be broken, because unless your plastic has the same specific gravity as water (and if that were true, it would be water and not plastic!), 1K of plastic cannot equal 1LT of Diesel!

Also, your "plastic" would need to be 82%-95% diesel, for this to work, and I'm looking at a plastic Ballygowan bottle here and it doesn't look to me like it smells, feels, tastes, anything like Diesel!

HFC, maybe the laws of physics don't apply to Freemen as, apparently, the laws of the land don't either!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭HellFireClub

ironclaw wrote: »
    Exactly. There just isn't enough oil in plastic to make this economically viable. It it was, someone would be doing it on a large scale and making money from it. So although your melting a huge amount of plastic, your getting so little return.

As regards the finished product, its going to be rough on your engines. BioFuels normally need a complete refit on hosing. VW won't allow BioDiesel in the 2.5l Toureg block. Even on 50/50 it was too hard on the pipes and leaving residue.

If it sounds to good to be true it normally is.

Edit: Just watched the video. Thats not diesel. You'd need to refine it again, and probably again to actually use it. You'd need to remove most of the impurities to even think about getting a semi clean burn. Sure look at the color of it to start!

Which costs you... You guessed it, DIESEL!!! Or plastic, or whatever! This is such a woodenheaded scheme I'm surprised the thread is still open!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

BOOM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

Fair play OP, go for it but as somebody else pointed out better get a 1990 vw jetta pacific 1.6 diesel to make sure it works. Some car though it could plow thru a ****yard wall and still drive to dublin

Jetta3.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭Terrontress

You can get hydrogen out of water and run a car on it. However, the energy required to generate it would be greater than the energy obtained from the hydrogen.

I expect that this venture might be the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭Mikros

What your talking about is pyrolysis conversion - basically breaking down the long chain polymers in plastic into smaller chains through heat and pressure. But I think your underestimating how difficult the set-up will be and how much plastic you will actually need to produce viable amounts of diesel.

Also there are a lot of different plastics out there and they are not all the same. The yield you will get depends on the type of plastic and some plastics (e.g. PVC) also will release hydrochloric acid during the conversion which will have to be recovered or it will damage your equipment and whatever engine you put the end product into.

The "fuel" you end up will depend on the type of plastic you feed in but in most cases will be in a crude state and require further refining. I can't imagine long term use of unrefined diesel would be good for any engine, but would be a disaster in any sort of modern diesel. The fumes from any DIY process will be noticeable and probably environmentally damaging. You also have the residual char to dispose of and the natural gas produced (hint: think explosions)

What you are thinking of doing can definitely be done (to an extent), but if it was really cost effective you have to wonder why it is not being done on a large scale considering the amount of waste plastic produced?

Looking forward to the pictures.

You can get hydrogen out of water and run a car on it. However, the energy required to generate it would be greater than the energy obtained from the hydrogen.

I expect that this venture might be the same.

Not strictly true. Depends on what energy source you use to break down the water. If you could use renewables, on a large scale, it's technically free.

The major problem with hydrogen is transport and delivery. It's just too volatile. The person who solves it however is the next Middle East in terms of wealth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

Another problem with this 'scheme' (apart from the potential law-breaking and the fact that the Physics is wrong as already mentioned) is that modern diesels require the diesel to be in an extremely refined state. The number of cars that could possibly run on this is practically nil, as no common rail car will take it, and Volkswagen's PD engines won't either. That realistically only leaves yokes before 2000 that could run on it, so basically only cars 13 years old, or more could safely operate on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Move this to AH!

Seriously though, full marks for initiative lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

It would appear that 'freemen' have the same disregard for the laws of science as they do the law of the land.

Another problem with this 'scheme' (apart from the potential law-breaking and the fact that the Physics is wrong as already mentioned) is that modern diesels require the diesel to be in an extremely refined state. The number of cars that could possibly run on this is practically nil, as no common rail car will take it, and Volkswagen's PD engines won't either. That realistically only leaves yokes before 2000 that could run on it, so basically only cars 13 years old, or more could safely operate on it.

And any decent diesel that old will cost a bit in road tax ( for the privilege of driving a 13 year old car)
    It'd be easier and probably cleaner and safer to just make bio-diesel out of vegetable oil..

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Ronnie Beck

Where To wrote: »
    It would appear that 'freemen' have the same disregard for the laws of science as they do the law of the land.

Where have they disregarded the laws of science. Can you scientists back up your claims.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

Markcheese wrote: »
    And any decent diesel that old will cost a bit in road tax ( for the privilege of driving a 13 year old car)
    It'd be easier and probably cleaner and safer to just make bio-diesel out of vegetable oil..

Whats even easier than that is just running diesels straight on Veg oil! Some of the PD and CR ones will run on blends too.

But if we want to flaunt Mineral Oil Tax then just run Kerosene with Veg Oil Blended for lubricity, makes Green Diesel seem pricey... :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

Where To wrote: »
    They are NOT CONTRACTING to converse with the laws of thermodynamics!

Are we just having a general Freeman bash, or is Derry a Freeman? Ah, king Georges royal oireachtas. I see. Presumably the capital investment needed for this is coming from the money saved on car insurance and tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

fake court = real jail

This waste plastic to fuel - YouTubefilm shows a unit that one could have in a kitchen easy peasy

PLASTIC to OIL
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wJeg7aKYa0Y&feature=g-vrec

This short YouTube video sorta explain in Korean English (some new form of double dutch that is very funny ) how to make larger more commercial amounts that make more refined oil products

waste plastic to fuel - YouTube
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WuheRvqEIM0&feature=related

The issue of 1 kilo makes one liter is easy to figure
    One kg or 1000 grams of plastic will make ~850 grams oil (or one liter ) and 150 grams of waste will be made mostly flammable gases that are very good for returning back to furnace to drive the heating so saving energy ( or just burnt off as waste gas) and some minor sludge such as plastics that are very heat resistant and stubborn to break down ( plastic which larger more complicated plant can use to make fuel )

The issue of the Bio fuel versus plastic fuels is more complex.There can be more issues with what is called parrafin wax with the first run or plastic conversion into oil . There can be gains as the fuel plastic reformed fuel will contain more heavy complex molecular than bio fuels and these will supply like diesel fuels do better lubrication than the bio fuels .For most all pre 2000 diesel engine non common rail me and my mate figure the first run batch will be ok for us as my car is non turbo 93 2liter Toyato Carina 250,000 kilometers and his is 1997 Toyota Camary 2.2 turbo 200,000 kilometers . So the risks for us are not great if the plastic generated fuel were to be trouble some as we both got other newer smaller petrol cars (rarely used ) to get over the humps .Bio fuel is similar to Plastic made fuels there is a energy equation to factor in the collection of the fuels will require energy to go scavenge the fuels .The energy inputs for city dweller to collect bio fuels from restaurant or plastics from skips will be similar.In big cities you don't have to go so far.For Country dwellers there is often not enough restaurants and hotels within reasonable distance to justify the fuel outlay to collect the fuel but often more plastic available within shorter distances. My mate figures We probably will eventually do ~20% bio mixed in with our plastic made fuels and latter refine the fuels further to extract the petrol's to reduce fuel costs for the petrol run cars . He figures that the petrol fuels are often too much work .There isn't a lot of petrol in plastic fuels so at best it can help the fuel reduction of 20% for the petrol car.
    Also it requires adding ethanol alcohol to the fuel to raise octanes as the refined petrol will be similar to the video below called refining gasoline.It will be low octane type petrol . That means buy 80% fuel from garage fuel pumps and add 20% home brew to the tank due to lack of petrol from plastic fuel batches . Also he expects later we will also do WMO Waste machine oil refining ( a bit more complex to do a video supplied below ) to extract other diesel fuels there. Then mix the three fuels together . The making of the The plastics fuels does not on average supply that much petrol fuels. If you use the off gassing running back to furnace help run the furnace which is standard practice (it can supply as much as 50% of the heat needed another video supplied " My newly constructed fuel making still in operation ") .The petrol,s fuel types as small light molecules vapor first and continuously through the heating process can be collected if people want and then further refined .

Most people are not aware that most pre 2000 cars will run on sweet crude ois no refining needed Non Sweet crude oil is the thick black gooey stuff full of sulfurs and tars. Large power stations and Big ships with ~25000 hp and more engines can and do run using this fuel with no refining .Sweet crude is thin brown stuff more like honey . Diesel Cars without common rail will often happily run on this stuff no refining needed( in summer winter is waxing issues to be solved ). The fuels will contain small amounts of petrol's and kerosene and heavy bunker oil and lubrication oil but is mostly diesel . (Even diesel fuel from the fore courts pump diesel has these contaminants in it but in lower amounts in mainland Europe where refinery quality is demanding but there is more higher amounts of these containment in third world and Ireland diesel fuel where oil refinery's can get away with more crappy fuels). The quicker flash point of the lighter fuels like petrol is cancelled out to some extent with the more heavy bunker oils and lubricating oils with their slower flash points . The median fuel for the car engine will be diesel fuel .There will be some drop in MPG and possibly some increase in smoke emissions for no catalytic convertor cars from the old times.The catalytic reactor for newer will have to work a tad harder to burn the more heavier fuel types still burning as they eject into the exhaust stack .If its still too smoky usually the solution is add some normal diesel (color blind again ) with a tad of petrol to sort that issue out .(Hint) Before a NCT switch to normal fuel for few tanks go for long runs to blow out any accumulated soot and add those cleaning chemicals to clean out fuel lines etc .Even if like me you don't do NCT (I get mechanic to check it out annually so its not a death trap ) and they the blue guys so far never do me for that or the lack of car tax . Its still a good idea just before every each oil change to do that to keep sludge build up and soot build ups to minimum . Replacing a CAT even second hand one will reduce the benefits for cheaper fuel so we recon every 5000 kilometer we will run 3 tanks on normal diesel( color blind again) with small amounts of petrol and Dimethyl ether in it to help keep the burn rate clean and blow out any accumulated soot. As we often spend large amounts of time in the car stationary engines ticking over to keep us warm we don't want to poison ourself's with fumes so we still like to keep the CAT in working order . The CAT should sort out any toxin issues from the fuel once the cat is hot . On average we recon we will reduce fuel costs by about ~50% .Yes there will be times when it better than that but but other times worse than that depending the batches and types of plastics and the distances required to find he fuel feed stocks . Collecting the tree fuels WMO ,plastics and bio fuels will reduce the scavenging distances and fuel requirements.As we often travel large distances each week and will have to get on occasions regular pump fuels when far away from home we figure the average fuel tank will contain on average 20% regular forecourt pump fuels reducing our average .Other probably will do better than that ~50% figure if they do more complex more efficient methods to get the fuel extracted from the plastic and only use that fuel saving might be as high as ~75%

distilling gasoline (petrol)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fY6stOum0wM

" My newly constructed fuel making still in operation "
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jYdP6kEtvds&feature=related

Derry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭Bandara

This waste plastic to fuel - YouTubefilm shows a unit that one could have in a kitchen easy peasy

PLASTIC to OIL
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wJeg7aKYa0Y&feature=g-vrec

This short YouTube video sorta explain in Korean English (some new form of double dutch that is very funny ) how to make larger more commercial amounts that make more refined oil products

waste plastic to fuel - YouTube
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WuheRvqEIM0&feature=related

The issue of 1 kilo makes one liter is easy to figure
    One kg or 1000 grams of plastic will make ~850 grams oil (or one liter ) and 150 grams of waste will be made mostly flammable gases that are very good for returning back to furnace to drive the heating so saving energy ( or just burnt off as waste gas) and some minor sludge such as plastics that are very heat resistant and stubborn to break down ( plastic which larger more complicated plant can use to make fuel )

Derry

You are aware that Youtube isnt exactly the gospel of science?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

OP - give it a lash.
    If you don't then you will always be wondering if you could.

If you do, it might be successful, it might not be, but at least you tried.

Hammertime wrote: »
    You are aware that Youtube isnt exactly the gospel of science?

Yeah and neither is Boards .Were all just joe six packs here .The you tubes show others joes around the world doing what often the the old timers in ireland did years ago.However there is determined attempt to stop us joes from fighting back paying crazy high taxes to the provisional government run buy gombeen men who want thier pound of flesh.So the video are only put there as examples of fellow humans who fight back .You do need to do your research to verify the truth .Thats the nature of life .If fuel was cheap with no tax no real need to do this activity .As fuel could hit €200 a barrel if the WW3 kicks off with Russia and the USA over the USA attacks on the Russian allies the Iran peoples who will fight against the NWO controlled USA . That war would cause fuel shortages for sure it offers possible solutions to joes who could not afford to pay the €5 euros a liter while the war rages on .The preppers like me and my mate got our one year of food supplies stashed away in case .So apart from crazy high fuel prices were getting prepared for the no fuel in garage forecourt times just in case

Sorry there is extra just now added to that previous post with new videos as well did not expect people to be up on Saturday morning looking the Boards

Derry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

what day is this war starting?
    I want to fill up the car with petrol before it kicks . off.

stoneill wrote: »
    OP - give it a lash.
    If you don't then you will always be wondering if you could.

If you do, it might be successful, it might not be, but at least you tried.

Yep me and my mate recon €200 to make the first plastic fuel distiller basic primitive stuff .
    If after a year it works and as paid for itself then we will look to make more complex versions.
    Later maybe after three years we might look to make distillation crackers units that can distill out the fuels so that it can drive more fancy engines like common rail engines .
    The problem with refining fuel is it takes energy to refine fuel
    The basics are simple enough put the mix in a big barrel like a kettle and heat it up to where the lighter petrol's fuels will evaporate. .The lighter petrol will evaporate and rise to top and you collect them with cooling the vapor and skimming the top of the oil material to scoop out the petrol's
    After that you apply more heat and the next group of lighter materials the kerosene's and paraffin vapor off. It ten takes a lot more energy to remove the diesel from the very heavy molecules like bunker oil and lucubrating oils .That fuel mix remaining f you don't refine it will resemble most third world fuels where refineries don't have to make fuels to such high specs as mainland Europe. For example in Europe the limits for sulfur is 50PPM .In third world often the limits are more than 5000PPM ( that's often why the air in third world cities is so acidic and crappy )
    Plastic derived fuel looks like there is no major sulfer issue to deal with as getting sulfer out of oil is hard work and complex probably too complex for most guys at home brew plants

Here is example third world guy making the fuel much more primitive systems .I estimate equipmetn costs at €10 euros max .He doesn't seem to been trained or forewarned of the toxic nature of the fuel made from plastics making solution so he isn't wearing suitable safety equipment .

it does show the basics though but the lingo is theirs so info is missing
    Basics are lots of primitive barrels boiling away the stuff to make oil .Ethiopian operation resembles some estates in Dublin limerick etc where the locals smelt down iron and lead they find rob from the local region.
    They probably already doing the plastic fuel lig there No fleas on those guys ;)

how long before on henry street all you hear is bacco bacco goo go juice go go juice

Ethiopian_man_converting_plastic_shopping_bags_to_oil
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jYdP6kEtvds&feature=related

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,449 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Im pretty sure this has been said before but wont customs bend you over a barrel for this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

If it's so easy why are oil companies spending billions drilling instead of just melting all the old plastic ? Or even just one of them?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

While I commend your enterprise, I worry that you don't seem to understand the composition of the substances you will use as raw materials for your diesel plant.

The nasties produced by heating plastics are those already listed plus, unless you can verify the provenance of the plastics, quite possibly hydro-cyanic acid. The reason diesel-from-plastic production plants are expensive is because the builders need to factor in safety measures for unforeseen events and substances that you cannot possibly incorporate into your "pressure cooker in a shed" version.

Please don't build your prototype near me.

"Gardai are today investigating an explosion at a metal shed in Sticksville, Co Bogger,

According to a spokesman for the Sticksville emergency services, they believe this was a cottage industry that went very wrong.

'They were obviously producing life-size plastic sculptures, either for the sex industry or as works of art' said Sgt. Clueless O'Looney at the scene. 'Inside there are the remains of two such figures stuck to the metal roof. They are very realistic looking, and according to the Fire Chief are very heavy, which is making their removal from the roof very difficult. We can't use acetylene torches as that might result in further fires and explosions so we are using angle-grinders.'

For RTE News from Sticksville, Co. Bogger, this is Morbidly O'Bserving returning you to the studio
    "

I am just a tad suspicious. A lot of your spelling is American and the possibility of "copy and paste" from loony US web-sites occurs to me, fleetingly. That of course is not the case, sure it's not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

There are so many issues with a setup like this and fixing them would cost you far more than any savings you'd be making.

For one, melted "plastic" isn't crude oil and whatever you remove from it won't be diesel. Not all "plastics" are just a mixture of hydrocarbons and the contents of that melted mixture will be poison both to you and any engine unless you purify it.

The diesel you get at the pump is composed mostly of short chain hydrocarbons (C10-C15) and to a lesser degree polynuclear aromatic hydrocarbons. That's a relatively clean composition that burns well and most importantly flows well and lubricates the engine. There's the added bonus that it isn't hugely toxic to humans.

The monomers of a "plastic" however could be any number of compounds:
    Polypropylene
    Styrene
    PVC
    Polyethylene terephthalate (PET)
    ABS
    Polyacrylonitrile (Most abundant component of acrylic)

Unless you avoid anything that isn't ethylene, propylene, styrene or similar, you're going to end up seriously endangering yourself. Any polymer with acrylonitrile in it is going to release hydrogen cyanide when melted. Hydrogen cyanide boils just above room temperature in to a colourless gas that can kill you in less than a minute. It binds to and inhibits a key component in your mitochondria (Which produce energy in every cell of your body).

That's not to mention that the plastic and vessel you'll be using most likely won't be perfectly clean and the even huger problem that all plastics contain additives. If they were all organic additives, that wouldn't be such a huge issue but they also may contain inorganic compounds which may or may not poison you and/or damage your engine.

That said, if you stick to safe plastics, take the proper safety precautions and design the process well you might be able to get something that an old diesel engine might run on. Either way, have a quick read of what you're getting in to chemistry-wise first otherwise you're going to endanger yourself and everyone around you and end up with a terrible fuel to boot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

The you tubes show others joes around the world doing what often the the old timers in ireland did years ago.However there is determined attempt to stop us joes from fighting back paying crazy high taxes to the provisional government run buy gombeen men who want thier pound of flesh.So the video are only put there as examples of fellow humans who fight back .You do need to do your research to verify the truth .Thats the nature of life .If fuel was cheap with no tax no real need to do this activity .As fuel could hit €200 a barrel if the WW3 kicks off with Russia and the USA over the USA attacks on the Russian allies the Iran peoples who will fight against the NWO controlled USA . That war would cause fuel shortages for sure it offers possible solutions to joes who could not afford to pay the €5 euros a liter while the war rages on .The preppers like me and my mate got our one year of food supplies stashed away in case .So apart from crazy high fuel prices were getting prepared for the no fuel in garage forecourt times just in case
    Right......

There's one small problem with all that. Where are you going to get plastic when the NWO start getting a bit bored and feel like starting WW3? If crude oil becomes expensive, so will plastic.

mathepac wrote: »
    While I commend your enterprise, I worry that you don't seem to understand the composition of the substances you will use as raw materials for your diesel plant.

The nasties produced by heating plastics are those already listed plus, unless you can verify the provenance of the plastics, quite possibly hydro-cyanic acid. The reason diesel-from-plastic production plants are expensive is because the builders need to factor in safety measures for unforeseen events and substances that you cannot possibly incorporate into your "pressure cooker in a shed" version.

Please don't build your prototype near me.

"Gardai are today investigating an explosion at a metal shed in Sticksville, Co Bogger,

According to a spokesman for the Sticksville emergency services, they believe this was a cottage industry that went very wrong.

'They were obviously producing life-size plastic sculptures, either for the sex industry or as works of art' said Sgt. Clueless O'Looney at the scene. 'Inside there are the remains of two such figures stuck to the metal roof. They are very realistic looking, and according to the Fire Chief are very heavy, which is making their removal from the roof very difficult. We can't use acetylene torches as that might result in further fires and explosions so we are using angle-grinders.'

For RTE News from Sticksville, Co. Bogger, this is Morbidly O'Bserving returning you to the studio
    "

I am just a tad suspicious. A lot of your spelling is American and the possibility of "copy and paste" from loony US web-sites occurs to me, fleetingly. That of course is not the case, sure it's not?

I must ask my mate if that his other mate from the plastics industry probably put his laid off money into the lucrative plastics projects the local Chinese were talking about.The Asians tend to be big into these plastics stuff.Thats why even if you don't pay you bin tax they will always collect your plastic and paper stuff for free .They sell it to Asia where it all gets recycled .In few years I expect the the Irish plastic bins to have padlocks on them to stop bin bandits .That will probably result in the entire bin with plastic being robbed .They were robbing the plastic only bins for the fly like a kite fumes it makes .They head banger steal the bin throw out the plastic and paper set fire to it and stand over it to get a hit .It seems the other bins are not as good for the fumes they make so its only the plastic and paper bins that get robbed for that activity .
    Anyway the American spelling is my word setting as i go on many international and especially EU countries that do mostly American English for forums where we discuss many complex subjects which rarely get aired in Ireland.
    There are in Germany some steam train enthusiasts I know on forums who saved some steam trains from the scrap yard .They use the boilers for making good moonshine .We lost one of them and his locomotive a few years back his train blew up and took out the big moonshine making shed and sent him to the big steam train grave yard in the sky RIP.
    you never really know who your neighbor is and what his hobby or work is .
    My other south african mate his work mate a south African friend had the mothers house in Jo Berg South Africa badly damaged when the next door neighbors house blew up. The next door neighbor worked as sub contractor for the mining industry setting explosives .
    To save money on storage cost he stored some one ton of the explosives in the garage of house . One day for some unknown reason the house blew to kingdom come and the house servant got killed and ~20 plus houses in the estate were wrecked badly and 100 were damaged in some serious way .
    The same mate was in Jo berg when the local chemical factory which stored insecticides caught fire in the late afternoon . When insecticides catch fire they mutate into nerve gas .The nerve gas cloud dropped down on thousand of houses and killed and injured many in that part of Jo Berg including onto my mate on the afternoon .He didn't know about the local fire and found a dead guy on the roadside .He called the ambulance service but with he fire issues they were said they were too busy .They said to my mate take the body to the morgue so he popped the body into a work van and took the body to the morgue . Later that night he got very sick. He had to go to the the hospital for few days .There he was brought up to speed on the local fires nerve gas toxic effect on him. He then figured the dead guy had walked close to the fire and got extra poison and shortly after had died from the poison. For proof of the chemicals bad effect in court of law he figured retrieve the body back. So he went back to the morgue found the dead guy on ice and had a private autopsy done . Then the South African state came and confiscated all autopsy results and the body and the and did a whitewash job to cover up the entire fire incident Thats what south Africa will do for the big chemical industry from a big EU outfit .
    That same EU chemical company that regularly has accident all over the world and injures and kills thousands each year all over the planet .
    Its really hard to prove with the big bucks the chemical industry has that they can poison thousands and yet have it all covered up . The entire fire brigade was crippled for life and the chemical company didn't compensate them either .The local cops though got new BMW cars for free.
    That same EU outfit and similar big chemical outfits with very nasty chemicals are is in several locations in Ireland .Any day they can have accidents that might kill thousands in Ireland if the right conditions exist .
    I worked down Dublin Docks for a few years when it was working docks . I lost track of the amount of times we had to clear out for chemical spills on the yard when toxic fumes were detected or made from spills .That wasn't anything as bad as the larger amounts of chemicals they had there in the past. A lot of big chemical spills were just buried locally. Many have now have worked into the soil over decades . However the majority of the chemicals aare still leaching out to send nasty chemicals into the region.
    I heard from a railway workers in CIE there is lots of hidden chemicals spills all over the track system from the good old days just waiting to create a new problem when they leach out .
    The ESB tech I know wont even discuss it much as there is transformers with very nasty chemicals with spills and leaking all over the gaff ever since the first ESB started out. The ESB workers know just how nasty those chemicals are but they got to work with it so why bother to talk about it .
    I think where am in stickville I cant hurt you but you might be surprised who next to you can .Right now mabey they are hurting you with chemical spills or toxic manufacturing.

Derry

//General Nonsense

Can I ask what your formal education is? Have you background checked any of this 'science' with personal reasoning or testing? You have a very narrow minded view of theromdynaics and chemical process's. I'd imagine if this was a viable technology, someone would have produced some serious research on it (I'm talking thesis or PhD standard)

From working in the States, ALOT of people there seem to host microblogs or post videos of apparently miraculous science bending techniques. Alot of it is either borderline dangerous, complete nonsense or costs more than its actually worth. Another problem with great old america is they don't have the same practises when it comes to plastic production or recycling. I can't say for sure, but I would imagine European plastic has more recycling it etc which will probably hamper your attempts.

From reading some of the responses here, its fairly obvious that a few people here do actually know what they are talking about. At least two strike me as potentially Mechanical or Chemical Engineers, reading from my personal standpoint as an Electronic Engineer.

What your doing is not impossible, but its far more advance than a 20 gallon drum and some copper tubing.