Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mixed Bag Competition - Entries Closed

• 05-11-2012 8:14am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭

Next comp suggestion per Triggers earlier one - mixed bag - but with a twist. How about a listing of all target species & who can complete the list or the most of it by end of season.
    Only edible & vermin species say to keep it sporting.
    If a mod could manage a spreadsheet twud be very visual...
    To add a species must be photo with a date stamp.
    All wannabe contestants must sign up by Friday lunchtime to keep it manageable.
    Dev you up for it???

Entries Closed

Leader Board Week 9

User|Pheasant|Duck|Snipe|Woodcock|Wood Pigeon|Fox|Magpie|Crow|Grey Crow|Grey Squirrel|Mink|Rabbit|...|Total
    Rugerman|2|5|3|3|7|5|4|14|3|0|1|10||57
    Midnightfalcon|2|5|8|3|15|1|2|15|3|0|1|1||56
    Wildfowler94|1|5|0|0|15|5|8|8|3|0|2|2||49
    Jellybaby21|2|5|4|0|15|1|0|2|2|0|0|10||41
    Patdahat|2|5|5|3|0|3|8|10|3|0|0|0||39
    Hunterpajero|2|5|7|3|4|4|2|1|5|0|0|2||35
    Steyrman2|2|5|0|1|15|2|0|4|3|0|0|3||35
    LB1981|2|5|0|1|4|5|0|0|5|0|1|3||26
    SureHowBad|2|4|1|3|8|0|1|4|1|0|0|1||25
    Sonofthegun|2|5|2|0|2|0|0|10|1|0|0|2||24
    TriggerPL|2|1|0|3|0|5|8|1|0|0|0|2||22
    Epointer|2|1|2|3|1|0|8|1|2|0|0|2||22
    Owelfisherman|0|1|0|0|4|0|2|10|1|0|0|2||20
    Cubbyleader|1|0|0|0|15|0|1|1|0|1|0|0||19
    Garyc007|2|2|3|3|0|3|0|2|0|0|0|3||18
    Richiedel123|2|1|0|2|0|5|1|1|2|0|1|0||15
    An truicear tochasach|0|0|0|0|7|0|0|2|0|0|0|4||13
    Terminator2|2|1|4|3|1|0|0|0|0|0|0|0||11
    Browning2010|2|1|0|0|1|5|0|0|0|0|0|0||9
    Cavan duck buster|0|0|0|0|0|0|1|3|2|0|1|2||9
    Pat McGroin|1|0|0|3|0|2|1|0|1|0|0|0||8
    Dev110|1|0|2|1|0|1|0|1|1|0|0|1||8
    Mallards|2|0|3|1|0|0|0|0|0|0|0|0||6
    Nowwerehurlin|1|0|1|4|0|0|0|0|0|0|0|0||6
    Dermot218|0|5|0|0|0|0|0|0|1|0|0|0||6
    Tonytoc11|2|0|0|3|0|0|0|0|0|0|0|0||5
    Ferrete|1|0|0|3|0|0|0|0|0|0|0|0||4
    Ace 86|1|0|0|1|1|0|0|0|0|0|0|0||3
    Boiled-egg|0|0|0|0|1|0|1|0|0|0|0|1||3
    Springer90|2|0|0|0|0|0|0|0|0|0|0|0||2
    Beretta391|0|0|0|0|1|0|0|0|0|0|0|0||1
    Stevegeraghty|0|0|0|0|0|0|0|0|0|0|0|1||1
    Viper123||||||||||||||0
    Browningsporter||||||||||||||0
    Gaveng||||||||||||||0

Quota

Species|Required Amount
    Pheasant |
    |
    Duck |
    |
    Snipe |
    |
    Woodcock |
    |
    Wood Pigeon |
    |
    Fox |
    |
    Crow |
    |
    Magpie |
    |
    Grey Crow |
    |
    Grey Squirrel |
    |
    Mink |
    |
    Rabbit |
    |
    | |
    Total |
    |

Prize Donated By TriggerPl

image.jpg

Mod Note:

Notice to all participants.

It has come to our attention that under compensation funds ran by certain organisations anyone injured while partaking in a competition may find their cover void.

Please be aware of this fact before entering into this competition, and if unsure of your cover or simply do not wish to suffer such loss of coverage please inform me via PM, and your name will be removed from the list of competitors.

Anyone with any question feel free to PM either Ezridax or myself about this. No discussion of this will be permitted on this thread as this does not effect everyone.

Thanks.

Mod Team.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 268 ✭✭owelfisherman

Next comp suggestion per Triggers earlier one - mixed bag - but with a twist. How about a listing of all target species & who can complete the list or the most of it by end of season.
    Dev you up for it???
    Please dont involve deere as ive no rifle..great idea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭tonytoc11

Dev you up for it???

Ya thats an excellent idea

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭dev110

I am up for it anyway.

The list should be made up of birds/vermin that most, if not everyone, can get.

I think instead of just going out and having to get one of each we should set an amount needed to complete that species

Species | Quota
    Pheasant | 2
    Snipe | 3
    Woodcock | 2
    Wood Pigeon | 5
    Duck (any breed) | 3
    Fox | 2
    Grey Crows | 3
    Etc | Etc

I will make up the tables for the quota's needed and what people have gotten so far.

Ye can decide on the number needed for each species, when entries need to be in by, etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

U should To add a species must be photo with a date stamp.
    Dev you up for it???

I'm in ! U should have to put a a4 sheet with date and name beside your quarry !

And I think it fair to exclude deer .

Open it up to any game listed by npws . And male and females where different sex are clearly visible .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭patdahat

this will be good i'm in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭garyc007

il give it a go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭ferrete

Il give it a go 2

I'm going to purpose that we need the following numbers to complete the competition.

It should be a challenge for everyone to complete it. We will have 2 and a half months to complete it so lets make it fairly difficult :D

My proposal:

Species|Required Amount| Reason
    Pheasant|2|Scarce in places
    Duck|5|Seem plentiful enough and all species are included
    Snipe|10|Fun to shoot and many around
    Woodcock|2|
    Wood Pigeon|15|Plentiful
    Fox|5|Help birds for next year
    Crow|15|Plentiful
    Magpie|8|Plentiful
    Grey Crow|5|Numbers need to be reduced as low as possible
    Grey Squirrel|2|
    Mink|3|Numbers need to be reduced. May increase to 5
    Rabbit| 10| Common

Here is a starting point. Decide if you want to increase or decrease certain ones.

The finished quota will be placed up Friday so you can start to fill in the list this weekend.

dev110 wrote: »
    I'm going to purpose that we need the following numbers to complete the competition.

It should be a challenge for everyone to complete it. We will have 2 and a half months to complete it so lets make it fairly difficult :D

My proposal:

Woodcock|2|
    Wood Pigeon|15|Plentiful
    Crow|15|Plentiful
    Magpie|8|Plentiful
    Grey Squirrel|2|

Here is a starting point. Decide if you want to increase or decrease certain ones.

The finished quota will be placed up Friday so you can start to fill in the list this weekend.
    Lads would u not leave it till next sunday give lads a chance to get out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭jellybaby21

I'll give it a go put me in.

Lads would u not leave it till next sunday give lads a chance to get out

Owel, this will be run until the end of January.

Ok please count me in!
    Thanks dev

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭beretta391

yea count me in to..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭sonofthegun

ill give it a go when we starting and is it shotgun only ? or are we also using traps and rifles
    sotg

I say use anything that you have.
    We will start on Saturday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 midnightfalcon

Count me in I'll give it a go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 672 ✭✭✭ace86

I'll throw my hat in the ring see how i get on

My proposal:

Woodcock|2|
    Wood Pigeon|15|Plentiful
    Crow|15|Plentiful
    Magpie|8|Plentiful
    Grey Squirrel|2|

No rabbits dev?

If you want rabbits I can add them to the table.

How many will I put down?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 459 ✭✭richiedel123

Count me in too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭Cavan duck buster

I'm in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭SureHowBad

I'd like to join in. Only thing is no grey squirrels down my side of the country but everything else should be managable!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭nowwerehurlin

Count me in.. but duck And grey squirrels are almost non existent round me! ! Great.craic will be had all the same! !!

I hope most people are the same way as in will find it difficult to complete the list.
    I might add in geese and muntjac :D:D

I'll find it difficult to get duck, woodcock and grey squirrels

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Invincible

I hope most people are the same way as in will find it difficult to complete the list.
    I might add in geese and muntjac :D:D

I'll find it difficult to get duck, woodcock and grey squirrels

Ah dev, you're forgetting the wild boar :)

SureHowBad wrote: »
    I'd like to join in. Only thing is no grey squirrels down my side of the country but everything else should be managable!!:D

I agree with him there no squirrel down our parts either

So it will make it interesting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

Put me down for a brace surrounded by spuds seems your offering, thanks Dev :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭wildfowler94

:DIm in... should manage that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭tonytoc11

Count me in.. but duck And grey squirrels are almost non existent round me! ! Great.craic will be had all the same! !!

sure there's plenty of ducks down here. Get a Foreshore license.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭viper123

I'll give it a go too :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 247 ✭✭rugerman

count me in that wats the prize and also different clubs have only sat sun on phesants would it be fair if say i can only shoot them sat sun and every one else 7 days a week only a queerie anyway also good idea this thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭cubbyleader

I'll give it a go

rugerman wrote: »
    count me in that wats the prize and also different clubs have only sat sun on phesants would it be fair if say i can only shoot them sat sun and every one else 7 days a week only a queerie anyway also good idea this thread

There hasn't been a prize discussed yet tbh.
    Has anyone any ideas?

I'm in the same boat as yourself with only being able to hunt pheasant at the weekends but I will make the most out of the 8-10 weekends to try get pheasants.
    All this is is a bit of fun.

There hasn't been a prize discussed yet tbh.
    Has anyone any ideas?

I'm in the same boat as yourself with only being able to hunt pheasant at the weekends but I will make the most out of the 8-10 weekends to try get pheasants.
    All this is is a bit of fun.
    Case of carts?its unfair for you to pay i think we should all pitch in

I definitely wouldn't be able buy a slab of cartridges. Whatever about two little plaques :D

Lads stop your doing the same as most clubs . Have a couple of plaques and that it .

Who wants to organise the plaques?

Il look after it

Thanks Trigger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭An truicear tochasach

Ah sure, count me in too. Every competition needs someone to be last.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭dermot218

im in guys:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

Now for the spoil sport bit...If your insured with the NARGC you may wish to check out your Fund exclusions.;)

Sounds good lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭hunterpajero

im up for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 977 ✭✭✭mallards

I'm in too. Should have some crows if nothing else!

what you mean photo with a date stamp lik a paper beside it or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

ferrete wrote: »
    what you mean photo with a date stamp lik a paper beside it or what?

Ideally ya but it may prove hard to do so a fair play policy may need to apply where we dont act maggot & be honest that photos aren't a year old.

Put something in the photo 2 like somtin we normally wouldnt ?? Any ideas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 browningsporter

I would like to join in.