Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Junior Golf

• 04-11-2012 10:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭

My nephew has been getting into golf for the past year or so. Just started secondary school and the school have a golf team. Thought it be a great way for him to play a lot and get very good so i was saying to him you should enquire. He told me they are only really looking for single figure handicaps :eek:

13 years of age playing off 2, 3, 6, 7 or whatever you're joking me I said. Yep apparently there is loads of them. Couldn't believe it. Something iv never really given thought to as i was never into golf myself at that age.

Tell me this though. With juniors playing in handicap qualifying comps would the CSS be a little higher than normal? Like if there was an U-14 comp on would a par 72 be playing closer to 76 or something. Its the only way i can get my head around these little feckers playing off single figure :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

My nephew has been getting into golf for the past year or so. Just started secondary school and the school have a golf team. Thought it be a great way for him to play a lot and get very good so i was saying to him you should enquire. He told me they are only really looking for single figure handicaps :eek:

13 years of age playing off 2, 3, 6, 7 or whatever you're joking me I said. Yep apparently there is loads of them. Couldn't believe it. Something iv never really given thought to as i was never into golf myself at that age.

Tell me this though. With juniors playing in handicap qualifying comps would the CSS be a little higher than normal? Like if there was an U-14 comp on would a par 72 be playing closer to 76 or something. Its the only way i can get my head around these little feckers playing off single figure :mad:

I doubt it, lots of them little b@stards can outdrive me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭Alrite Chief

Iv often been playing the Tuesday open in Lucan and they throw out a junior with you. They can definitely play but these would be closer to 15 or 16 so i can accept that. 13 though!!! Playing off less than 10. I feel like knocking golf on the head.... seriously!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭neckedit

Iv often been playing the Tuesday open in Lucan and they throw out a junior with you. They can definitely play but these would be closer to 15 or 16 so i can accept that. 13 though!!! Playing off less than 10. I feel like knocking golf on the head.... seriously!!!

My Nephew is nearly 14 and playing off 4 and getting lower. Played him a couple of weeks ago,beat me by 1.......little f**...!! Good to see, plays with little or no fear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

I do notice that the lack of fear can lead these lads to shooting +4 one day and +40 the next though...must drive them crazy.

GreeBo wrote: »
    I do notice that the lack of fear can lead these lads to shooting +4 one day and +40 the next though...must drive them crazy.

fear or lack of it we all have our bad days, and I think, by reading comments on this Forum, the game in general drives us all a little crazy, one day your hovering
    around your handicap maybe a little better, next day 90!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭link_2007

neckedit wrote: »
    fear or lack of it we all have our bad days, and I think, by reading comments on this Forum, the game in general drives us all a little crazy, one day your hovering
    around your handicap maybe a little better, next day 90!

And some of us would be utterly thrilled to shoot 90 :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Better to have lived with fear, than not have lived at all. :P;)

neckedit wrote: »
    My Nephew is nearly 14 and playing off 4 and getting lower. Played him a couple of weeks ago,beat me by 1.......little f**...!! Good to see, plays with little or no fear.
    That is outstanding stuff. I just cannot get over a kid having that ability.

Tell me this though. Does his handicap reflect standard scratch up against kids his own age? Or is he off 4 compared to CSS of 72? Am i making sense?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

I just can't comprehend this. As chief says there is a golf club in the school which is made up of young kids under 14 years of age. You can't join unless you are a single figure golfer.

How can there be so many single figure players in such a small pool in a school. Don't forget there would only be a handful in the school that play golf at all out of the few hundred students yet there are multiple single figure golfers!!!!

Most golf clubs only have a small number of single figure players compared to their numbers even.

How is this possible off adults CSS etc. I can't get my head around it!!!!

Im glad it baffles someone else. The team as far as im aware would consist of kids from all ages i assume. To make it on you would probably need to be competing with the 15-16 year olds.

That is outstanding stuff. I just cannot get over a kid having that ability.

Tell me this though. Does his handicap reflect standard scratch up against kids his own age? Or is he off 4 compared to CSS of 72? Am i making sense?

I can only speak of his situation,he plays in the Senior competitions and competes against adults like ourselves, so his H/C is the same as yours or mins in relation to CSS.

Fair play to him. He has some great years of golf ahead of him with brilliant opportunities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,511 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

They're 14.... There's a million others things that will be driving them crazy at that age :)