Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards.ie Longest/Heaviest Pheasant Competition

• 01-11-2012 3:40pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭

I think we should have try a competition between the members of Boards to see who got the longest/heaviest pheasant from today.

What do ye think?
    If people want to go ahead with it I'm sure we could rattle up something for the winner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

dev110 wrote: »
    I think we should have try a competition between the members of Boards to see who got the longest/heaviest pheasant from today.

What do ye think?
    If people want to go ahead with it I'm sure we could rattle up something for the winner.

Dunno Dev. That pheasant of yours is fairly fecking long!! Could be sown up :D
    Closing date should be Sunday/ Monday to give all lads a chance...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭dev110

Good idea EP
    We could close it Sunday evening at 6pm. It will give lads a chance that didn't get to go out today.

I was looking at getting two little plaques one for the longest and one for the heaviest. Should be cheap enough.

My lad is 36" from beak to end of tail. Didn't weigh him yet though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

Good idea EP
    We could close it Sunday evening at 6pm. It will give lads a chance that didn't get to go out today.

I was looking at getting two little plaques one for the longest and one for the heaviest. Should be cheap enough.

My lad is 36" from beak to end of tail. Didn't weigh him yet though.

Do reeves phesents count ? Haha great idea Dev and Monday would give us all a chance

I'll let ye bash out the rules.
    I think if we close the competition on Sunday it will be the fairest as some people will be working Monday and won't get a chance to get out.

Actually Midnight Sunday would be the best. It will give people a chance to post up what they got. I'll close the thread Sunday at midnight and whoever has the longest/heaviest will get the plaques.

I'll also get another mod to keep an eye on the thread just in case I decide to delete entries that are bigger than mine :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭tonytoc11

How would it proven though? A pic next to the scales and a pic next 2 the tape?

We could post up pics but is there any need?
    We could just take the posters word on it. It is only a bit of fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

TriggerPL wrote: »

Do reeves phesents count ? Haha great idea Dev and Monday would give us all a chance
    I was thinkin a peacock myself
    That's a big pheasant isn't it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭beretta391

i think you be easy beat if ya dont get any more birds over 36 lol

I have the plaques ordered for the comp so hopefully we get a few in for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭Stevegeraghty

Man, I'm headin to cork for the weekend to visit the inlaws so I won't get out :(
    I'll try get out before work and run the dog over 20 acres or so and see what happens

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭charlie10

heading out in morning with this in mind:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 295 ✭✭Shoot2kill

One of the lads just sent me a pic of the longest bird at their comp tonight, 52" bird.......... SOME wopper of a bird!!

Shoot2kill wrote: »
    One of the lads just sent me a pic of the longest bird at their comp tonight, 52" bird.......... SOME wopper of a bird!!

New rule - comp only open to current boardsies!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭nowwerehurlin

Count me in ! .. Will weigh and measure my fella in the morning :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

I think ya should do a mixed game bag that way a pic can be put up and there no fibbing going on !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭Stevegeraghty

No birds for me this morn :(
    Saw 2 but one was a runner and I had no shot on the other

Flushed a fox the size of the springer, he must have eaten all the other foxes as he's the only one I've seen in a while

I think ya should do a mixed game bag that way a pic can be put up and there no fibbing going on !

I think we will leave it the way it is for now and see how it works out.
    There is nothing stopping us running another comp later on over a week and see who gets the best bag and work out a points system for all the game birds.

How would that sound?

• Competition will close on Sunday 4th at midnight
    • Open to current Boardies only
    • One bird per user but can be changed if a better one is shot before deadline.
      The previous entry will be deleted as a result.
    • Pictures are not necessary but would help

Do ye want to place any restrictions on the users eligible?
    Say 10 posts are needed before being able to enter? Or that they have to be registered before the 1st of November?

This is my entry for now ;)

Overall Length: 35.5"
    Weight: 1.19 kg

IMAG0224r.jpg

IMAG0226r.jpg

IMAG0227resize.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭garyc007

beretta391 wrote: »
    i think you be easy beat if ya dont get any more birds over 36 lol

i think i have one here to beat it!

ah id of shot some snipe and woodcock and more duck yesterday if i knew thered b a mixed game bag!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭garyc007

heres my entry, just short of 36.5 length and 1.207 weight
    (had to attach the imaages)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 248 ✭✭Dalken

Im sick of these competitions I never win them, same lad wins our competition in the GC year after year. He also happens to be secretary of the club and the man whose land the majority of the birds are released onto..I think he brings the same cock every year, just goes home and pops it back in the freezer until he wants it again in 12 months.

I came home to measure the one I got yesterday & he was gone. Rang the aul fella & he says oh ya I swung by for 1 & he was a grand fella. Skinned & all!! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 widgeon78

Ha ha you may go try get another one epointer and hide the next one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭Vizzy

I came home to measure the one I got yesterday & he was gone. Rang the aul fella & he says oh ya I swung by for 1 & he was a grand fella. Skinned & all!! :rolleyes:

Are ya sure you didn't rob him on the aul fella yesterday for the photo ?

My fella was 35" and 1.5kg bang on .. Id say the reason he was so heavy might have something to do with all the lead i put in him !! :-)

Vizzy wrote: »
    Are ya sure you didn't rob him on the aul fella yesterday for the photo ?

If Dev had suggested the comp before hand maybe :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭wildfowler94

My entry, 35 3/4 inches And weight 2lbs10. no picture but have gun club papers to prove.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 649 ✭✭✭steyrman2

Out at 2.30 today shot a cracker back home for 4 put 2 other cocks up
    cock is 42.5 inches long he weighted 3.20 lb or 1.415 kg i put the pic of his spur to give a idea he was a old bird

8C530C9F-A115-4929-AD43-BC095F9293DF-1884-0000027B8BB1FAC6.jpg

Thought I was doing well today! 38"

Close the comp now! Steryman - hats off my friend
    It would be a sin not to stuff him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭beretta391

steyrman2 wrote: »
    Out at 2.30 today shot a cracker back home for 4 put 2 other cocks up
    cock is 42.5 inches long he weighted 3.20 lb or 1.415 kg i put the pic of his spur to give a idea he was a old bird

great bird steyrman2,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 649 ✭✭✭steyrman2

8C530C9F-A115-4929-AD43-BC095F9293DF-1884-0000027B8BB1FAC6.jpg

Thought I was doing well today! 38"

Close the comp now! Steryman - hats off my friend
    It would be a sin not to stuff him!

Hi EPointer i went to the gunclub last night with a bird just over 38" inches and one of the lads had one just over 40 " but told me were he had seen a bigger one that got up wild i went out to the same area today dog done his bit and i done mine but i did stop my lab before he picked him up i rang a guy in gorey to price it 160 euro so i will get him stuffed

So for we have Steyrman2 with the longest tail and Nowwerehurlin with the heaviest bird.

They could be hard bet but we still have two more days.

/sets alarm clock :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 268 ✭✭owelfisherman

So for we have Steyrman2 with the longest tail and Nowwerehurlin with the heaviest bird.
    Prize for the smallest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭cookimonster

Have to get into this competition mind set, the only thing I measure them for is the roasting tray and cooking time........ Nice birds lads, well done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 248 ✭✭Dalken

Have to get into this competition mind set, the only thing I measure them for is the roasting tray and cooking time........ Nice birds lads, well done.

Same here. Pan fried snipe breast wrapped in streaky bacon on brie and ciabatta for dinner tonight, washed down with a nice Bordeux of course. I know this is totally irrelvent to this thread just thought I'd indulge myself.:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Tackleberry.

I've one for 37" shot opening day no weight but won the local clubs longest tail so happy with that, well done to Styerman on the 38" a nice bird don't think that will be beaten, looking on our club plaque going back many years 39" birds won it most times, 37" was the smallest to ever win it so I was lucky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭jellybaby21

Got this lad today,I know he's not good enough at 38'' but a nice bird.I didnt get a weight on him.
    DSCF2331.jpg

This lad from last year would have done the job as he was over 42''.If I remember he was 42 3/4''
    088.jpg

Competition is now CLOSED

Congratulations to Steyrman2 for the longest bird & Nowwerehurlin for the heaviest bird.

Plaques haven't arrived yet but once they do I'll send them off to ye guys.

Delighted lads.! Great bit of craic was had here . We most definitely have to make it a yearly comp !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

42.5 inches.not sure if pic uploaded.would have been a stuffworthy bird only for the chunk on the back of the neck missing (>:()
    cheers sami)

I have started a new thread here:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056799045 for the mixed bag competition

The plaques arrived today.

IMAG0230.jpg

PM's sent to Steyrman2 & Nowwerehurlin

I think i speak for all involved here when i say a massive thanks to dev110 for organising the competition and prizes. Its great to have such sound mods afilliated to our forum !

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,696 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Dalken wrote: »
    Same here. Pan fried snipe breast wrapped in streaky bacon on brie and ciabatta for dinner tonight, washed down with a nice Bordeux of course. I know this is totally irrelvent to this thread just thought I'd indulge myself.:P

Nom, nom, nom.................................

tumblr_m81db4AuuX1qb51sq.png
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo