Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Tax/Insurance checkpoint on private property?

• 30-10-2012 9:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 886 ✭✭✭

I was coming out of the University of Limerick this evening and there was a Garda Tax/Insurance ceckpoint at the gate.
    They were inside the entrance on the University grounds. Are any tickets issued here valid given that any vehice stopped would have been on private property and not necessarily on a public road.

I wasn't stopped or anything but I was just curious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Seanieke

I got stopped before on private grounds, Powerscourt Estate, for being on the phone. Was told by the Guard it's only private grounds if you own it!!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Lads, Public roads are classed as any road that the public have free access to.

Sounds like it applies in both your cases, or else the owners of the private roads asked for a checkpoint?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Stheno wrote: »

If you can get in from outside then it's fair game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

The UL campus is a public place afaik where the public have right of access to and from it. Not the same as private property.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

bazz26 wrote: »
    The UL campus is a public place afaik where the public have right of access to and from it. Not the same as private property.

So is powerscourt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Trhiggy83

serious amount of checkpoints around limerick these days, i have went trough 3 in the last month. Have lived in dublin for the last 4 years and probably only went through a handful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,624 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

Stheno wrote: »

'Access with vehicles' is the key, it doesn't matter whether access is free or if you haver to pay to enter. A car park in a racecourse where people have to pay to park would also be a public place.

coylemj wrote: »
    'Access with vehicles' is the key, it doesn't matter whether access is free or if you haver to pay to enter. A car park in a racecourse where people have to pay to park would also be a public place.

Didn't know that, thanks :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭piston

I got read the riot act and threatened with a fixed penalty notice by a jobsworth PSNI officer in a supermarket carpark earlier this year.

I had committed the heinous crime of reversing out of a parking space before putting on my seatbelt. I kindly pointed out to her that it is perfectly legal to reverse a car without a seat belt, something that was confirmed by her colleague. She wasn't very happy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭triple-M

piston wrote: »
    I got read the riot act and threatened with a fixed penalty notice by a jobsworth PSNI officer in a supermarket carpark earlier this year.

I had committed the heinous crime of reversing out of a parking space before putting on my seatbelt. I kindly pointed out to her that it is perfectly legal to reverse a car without a seat belt, something that was confirmed by her colleague. She wasn't very happy.

is it the same down south regarding reversing without a seatbelt?just curious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

Was curious about this too? Saw a garda hiding in somebodies garden doing a speed check before. Would they need permission for this? Would they need a warrant? Would it depend on whether they had to open a gate to get there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭piston

triple-M wrote: »
    is it the same down south regarding reversing without a seatbelt?just curious

It definitely is. I remember it from doing my test. I am from the south, done my test in the south, but live in a border region and do most of my driving in the north.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭Tefral

Under the Road Traffic Act 1961
    “public place” means any street, road or other place to which the public have access with vehicles whether as of right or by permission and whether subject to or free of charge

They can charge for non display of tax and insurance in places such as UL or Petrol Stations etc under this act.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,908 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

It definitely is. I remember it from doing my test. I am from the south, done my test in the south, but live in a border region and do most of my driving in the north.

Think it goes back to the days before inertia reel belts were commonplace.

You had to adjust the belt to fit you,could be quite restrictive if you tried to turn around

Seven Worlds will Collide

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,310 ✭✭✭mattser

Trhiggy83 wrote: »
    serious amount of checkpoints around limerick these days, i have went trough 3 in the last month. Have lived in dublin for the last 4 years and probably only went through a handful

So what you're saying is...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,953 ✭✭✭granturismo

mattser wrote: »
    So what you're saying is...........

The incidence of garda checkpoints in the Limerick region seems to be higher than the posters previous experience over the last 4 years in the Dublin region. Simples.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,310 ✭✭✭mattser

The incidence of garda checkpoints in the Limerick region seems to be higher than the posters previous experience over the last 4 years in the Dublin region. Simples.

http://b-static.net/vbulletin/images/icons/icon12.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭SilverBell

Think it goes back to the days before inertia reel belts were commonplace.

You had to adjust the belt to fit you,could be quite restrictive if you tried to turn around

That maybe part of it, but the seat belt is only designed to work when going forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Quick question, according to the security personnel in UCD, it's private property but seeing as anyone can drive a car though UCD with no implications does that not make it public property?

Also, if it was private could you technically drive through it without tax/insurance/NCT and be fine to do so? I should point out that I'm fully taxed/insured etc but merely curious....:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,381 ✭✭✭✭Paulw

166man wrote: »
    Quick question, according to the security personnel in UCD, it's private property but seeing as anyone can drive a car though UCD with no implications does that not make it public property?

Also, if it was private could you technically drive through it without tax/insurance/NCT and be fine to do so? I should point out that I'm fully taxed/insured etc but merely curious....:confused:

UCD is private property, however, the roads are open to the public, therefore, the requirement for tax/insurance/NCT exists and you can be prosecuted on UCD grounds by AGS for not having/displaying tax/insurance/NCT.

Simple really.

Paulw wrote: »
    UCD is private property, however, the roads are open to the public, therefore, the requirement for tax/insurance/NCT exists and you can be prosecuted on UCD grounds by AGS for not having/displaying tax/insurance/NCT.

Simple really.

Cheers I had a feeling that's what it was, are the car-parks public or private then seeing as anyone can drive in and park with no implications?

• Administrators Posts: 54,424 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

awec wrote: »
    Public.

If you can freely access it it's public.

Private is things like your own driveway, or your own garage.

I thought that too but according to NCPS folk it's a private car-park as I was clamped there a few weeks ago. Any idea?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

awec wrote: »
    Public.

If you can freely access it it's public.

Private is things like your own driveway, or your own garage.
    Pretty much except to add the need for the distinction between "property" and "space" - ie it would seem private property can be a public space. EG if you were driving through UL and the road disintegrated into a chasm underneath you, I'm pretty sure you would be claiming off UL as it is their private property, their responsibility. But as it is a public space freely accessible, the Gardai are perfectly entitled to operate there.
    I am not a lawyer BTW... just my attempt at common sense
    EDIT -err the whole carpark thing seems a bit of grey area, I'm sure the Gardai are perfectly entitled to operate there, but from the clamping perspective,on entering you are agreeing to NCPS (or whoever) rules for that carpark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Could one argue that because a carpark is controlled by NCPS it means that UCD are not technically giving permission to the public to use it freely (you have to pay for the "invite" so to speak), and therefore it is not public property?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

I think cronin_j wrapped up a lot of these type of questions quite efficiently in post14.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Seanieke

OK, to rightly throw a spanner in the works.. Say you ARE the landowner of the place that the public have access to... Is it your private place but the public have access??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭dilallio

I was asking a Garda about this a few years ago. His understanding was, any place that a member of the public can drive can be used for checkpoints.
    Apartment car parks are also open to them where the apartment complex is not gated. Gated apartment complexes are deemed private even if the gates are open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,624 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

Seanieke wrote: »
    OK, to rightly throw a spanner in the works.. Say you ARE the landowner of the place that the public have access to... Is it your private place but the public have access??

Yes, the two are not incompatible. In this thread the term 'public place' only refers to the definition for the purposes of road traffic laws.

Say you own a field next to a school. The school tells you they are having a sports days and ask you to operate the field as a car park and charge no more than €2 a go, you agree. On the day the field remains your private property but for the purposes of the road traffic laws it is a public place even though you own the field and people have to pay to enter.

As someone has quoted the RTA 1961 definition of a public place, let me point out that that definition was always the one used for driving licence, insurance, dangerous driving etc. but display of tax disc used to be confined to a 'public road'. If the local authority had the responsibility to maintain the road then it was a public road but this meant that technically you couldn't be done for non-display of a tax disc in a shopping centre or any privately owned car park.

Recent legislation has merged the definitions so nowadays you must display a tax disc when in any public place regardless of whether it's privately owned or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

I got read the riot act and threatened with a fixed penalty notice by a jobsworth PSNI officer in a supermarket carpark earlier this ye

She'd have been even less amused had you pointed out that she'd quoted the completely wrong Act as well :D ..unless you had 11 people in the car with you.
    Proclamation of riotous assembly

The Act created a mechanism for certain local officials to make a proclamation ordering the dispersal of any group of more than twelve people who were "unlawfully, riotously, and tumultuously assembled together". If the group failed to disperse within one hour, then anyone remaining gathered was guilty of a felony without benefit of clergy, punishable by death.