Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Luggage Jacket invented to circumvent baggage fees

• 29-10-2012 12:52pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 179 ✭✭

Doubt it will be Michael O'Leary's favourite garment of the year but a new bag / jacket has come on the market especially designed for passengers to carry their personal belongings on them, rather than in their baggage:
    Is it a coat? Is it a bag? Actually, It's both! Hand luggage dress and jacket invented to get round costly weight restrictions on flights.

An entrepreneur has found a novel way to get around strict baggage restrictions on airplanes so travellers can take more on board without having to pay extra costs.

Engineer John Power has invented the Jaktogo, a £56 coat which doubles as a suitcase.

The product cleverly transforms from a coat to a bag and allows flyers to carry up to an extra 10kg of hand luggage on board. It is designed to get round tight bag weight restrictions imposed by low-cost airlines like Ryanair.

Take more on board: The Jaktogo transforms from a bag, left, into a coat or dress, right, with extra pockets for taking holiday essentials onto a flight
    It has pockets for gadgets like iPads and cameras as well as space for holiday essentials such as books, clothes and towels. It also comes a dress and a sleeveless poncho for those travelling to hot countries.

As a frequent flyer, Mr Power said he came up with the idea because he was fed up with the extortionate baggage charges on budget airlines. Ryanair charge £15-£50 (depending on whether the flight in in low or high season) for a bag to be checked in as cargo with a weight limit of 15kg. The cost rises to up to £130 if a passenger wants to check in a bag at the airport and they charge an additional fee if a second bag is checked in. They also charge a £20 excess baggage fee if a bag is heavier than 15kg.

They permit 10kg of hand luggage and strictly enforce a rule of only one piece of hand luggage per passenger. Anyone trying to take more than one bag on as hand luggage, or a bag weighing more than 10kg, at the check in gate must pay an extra £50.

'Not the prettiest thing': Inventor John Power admits the dress won't win any style awards but it will come in handy if you don't want to pay for excess baggage on budget flights

But with Mr Power's coat, passengers can squeeze extra clothing and holiday items on board in their pockets at no further cost. They can save money on check in fees and save time on arrival as they won't have to wait to collect a bag from the hold.

Mr Power, 57, lives near Antwerp, Belgium, said: 'Ever since the airlines started restricting luggage allowances and introducing new fees etc it has become more time consuming and expensive to travel so I was struggling to find a way to avoid endless waiting to collect check in luggage, without adding to the already growing price tags of budget airlines.

Carry on: Airlines like Ryanair charge passengers for more than one item of hand luggage or if their bag weighs more than 10kg. The Jaktogo allows people to get around this by adding items to the coat's many pockets
    'I have seen people being left at the airport because of a few kilos extra or being forced to check in their carry on for the same reason. It seemed very unjust to me. I've seen many people trying to beat the system so I decided to look for a solution where you don't look like a complete fool.'

Mr Power admits the coat 'isn't the prettiest item' and he can sometimes get 'some funny looks' when he dons one at the airport but it's worth it to save on baggage fees.

Sales of the jacket, available via their website www.jaktogo.com, were so popular the dress and poncho versions were then made.
    A spokesman for Ryanair said they would not stop someone from wearing a Jaktogo. 'What a passenger wears on a plane we do not have a problem with as long as it is not a security concern,' they said.

Can see this becoming quite a popular item, could take care of few Christmas gifts this year too (until that is, a restriction is placed on the weight of jackets and coats - which should be any day now).

Would you use one? I certainly would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

"I'm sorry sir, if you don't fit into the luggage cage you can't board the flight"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

You'd want to be a frequent flyer to get your moneys worth for that thing, it' works out at about €70. Fúck that, just wear all of your clothes and board the plane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

What a weird ad..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

I've seen people take rakes of tshirts and tops out of their luggage and put them on in the queue, then chuck them back in the bag once through the gate, Ryanair's baggage policies are pretty stupid. Its not like a jacket you're carrying will suddenly make the plane lighter because you wear it instead of having it slung over your bag or in your hand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

krudler wrote: »
    I've seen people take rakes of tshirts and tops out of their luggage and put them on in the queue, then chuck them back in the bag once through the gate, Ryanair's baggage policies are pretty stupid. Its not like a jacket you're carrying will suddenly make the plane lighter because you wear it instead of having it slung over your bag or in your hand.

The policies aren't actually stupid at all - they make Ryanair a fortune!!! :p

Ryanair are great value if you pack light and follow all the rules regarding bag restrictions, arriving on time, etc. Break any of them and you will pay for it.

I don't mind ryainair. Whenever I fly anywhere with them I always book as far as advance as I can as possible and get great deals.

I am glad they are around :)

As forthe jacket/bag.... they will bring in weight restricitions soon enough. They won't allow that to take away profits. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

I wish Ryanair had two queues, for people who know how to travel with them, and the other idiots who buy sh1tloads of stuff in the airport shops then spent ages trying to cram them into their one piece of carry on luggage. other people are what makes flying a nightmare. When I travel I try have little or no change or crap in my pockets that takes ages to fish out of the plastic bins, shoes that dont take ages to lace up, belt off before i go anywhere near the security check etc. Hate those people who put their stuff through the xray then stand at the end of the conveyor belt sorting sh1t out and putting it all back on, fcuking move AWAY from the belt and go to where the nice airport people haev put those big tables and chairs to do that instead of holding up everyone else. ugh, people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭MaxSteele

What a hero ! That uppity bitch at the desk got owned.

Hopefully the days of getting shafted with extortianate fees which can amount to cost more than the actual flight are over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

The policies aren't actually stupid at all - they make Ryanair a fortune!!! :p

Ryanair are great value if you pack light and follow all the rules regarding bag restrictions, arriving on time, etc. Break any of them and you will pay for it.

I don't mind ryainair. Whenever I fly anywhere with them I always book as far as advance as I can as possible and get great deals.

I am glad they are around :)

As forthe jacket/bag.... they will bring in weight restricitions soon enough. They won't allow that to take away profits. :D

They keep changing the rules in the hope of catching people out. Shower of scummers

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

That jacket has been on sale for a couple of years now.

I considered getting one but I hardly ever travel with much luggage so its not worth my while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭daisybelle2008

MaxSteele wrote: »

Hopefully the days of getting shafted with extortianate fees which can amount to cost more than the actual flight are over.

She was just doing her job, he came a across as a bit smug and arrogant, playing up his agenda for his hidden camera. Especially hamming it up for his 'you are telling me I have to wear a coat on board bit'. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Abi wrote: »
    You'd want to be a frequent flyer to get your moneys worth for that thing, it' works out at about €70. Fúck that, just wear all of your clothes and board the plane.

I tried that before but was told Ryanair doesn;t allow passengers to wear boxers on their head while boarding the plane. Bastards! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭Franticfrank

Great idea and about damn time. Things have gone to the dogs and nobody seems to care...the fact that they encourage you to travel without check-in baggage is one thing. Then they force you to put your duty free, laptop and hadbag into your tiny suitcase. They have enough money. They should give a bit of leeway or use common sense. Flying with Ryanair is an ordeal. With most other airlines, I can take my small suitcase and laptop slung over my shoulder. It doesn't make a difference, just makes everyone more frustrated and angry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

Idiots! Now that they've publicized the existence of said jacket, Ryanair will know about it and swiftly bring in new rules to charge for jacket weight or something equally ridiculous :mad:

I don't like Ryanair but when I fly with them, I play by their rules. No point wailing about how they charged you for overweight luggage or an extra bag, because you were told about that and agreed to it in advance.
    But I don't like how they treat their customers in general. Starting a queue for boarding an hour before they actually plan on boarding you, leaving people boxed in like cattle and queuing on stairs for half an hour (this has happened to me in two airports with them), and just generally treating their passengers like an inconvenience instead of the life-blood of their business... That, you can complain about. Their baggage rules? Not so much!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 422 ✭✭BensonSlide

Great idea and about damn time. Things have gone to the dogs and nobody seems to care...the fact that they encourage you to travel without check-in baggage is one thing. Then they force you to put your duty free, laptop and hadbag into your tiny suitcase. They have enough money. They should give a bit of leeway or use common sense. Flying with Ryanair is an ordeal. With most other airlines, I can take my small suitcase and laptop slung over my shoulder. It doesn't make a difference, just makes everyone more frustrated and angry.

You don't have to fly with them.The restrictions on luggage are a result of their lower prices. If you need to bring additional luggage then you pay extra. They have money, but they want more.

This is Capitalism 101 type stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Reminds me of the time I was going through airport security for a Ryanair flight a few years back and the guy in front of me had a suit bag and a large briefcase.

Ryanair security wouldn't allow him through as it was 2 pieces of luggage. So he took out the suit, put it on over his clothes and put the suit bag into his briefcase. They let him through and he put the suit back into it's bag again.

He had no problem getting on with the 2 pieces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

I don't think you quite get the point of Ryanair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Martyn1989

Idiots! Now that they've publicized the existence of said jacket, Ryanair will know about it and swiftly bring in new rules to charge for jacket weight or something equally ridiculous :mad:

I don't like Ryanair but when I fly with them, I play by their rules. No point wailing about how they charged you for overweight luggage or an extra bag, because you were told about that and agreed to it in advance.
    But I don't like how they treat their customers in general. Starting a queue for boarding an hour before they actually plan on boarding you, leaving people boxed in like cattle and queuing on stairs for half an hour (this has happened to me in two airports with them), and just generally treating their passengers like an inconvenience instead of the life-blood of their business... That, you can complain about. Their baggage rules? Not so much!

I've been getting on ryan air flights and as soon as we get on the tarmac everyone sprinted to the plane for these coveted 'emergency exit' seats. It was embaressing tbh, watching adults push eachother as if they were going for a pack of frosties in a primary school yard gushie.
    You don't have to fly with them.The restrictions on luggage are a result of their lower prices. If you need to bring additional luggage then you pay extra. They have money, but they want more.

This is Capitalism 101 type stuff.

Its not capitalism, its business.

Last ryan air flight I was on was a return flight from the Canaries, the screens above check in advertised priorty boarding at a reduced rate, which caused uproar in the queue, especially among a group of 3 families with kids traveling together with mostly young kids (about 15 people total). They were going on and on about 'Ryan Air can't sell that extra stuff anymore, do they realise its a recession, do they think people are stupid?' etc etc etc. Anyway it comes time to board and the priorty queue is longer then the regular, and this group roll up 5 minutes before boarding, and start giving out they'll be last on the plane. They eventually get on the plane and the mothers started asking people to move so the small children could sit together, and people did. Suppose they had no choice being put on the spot, but I find stuff like that really annoying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Hate those people who put their stuff through the xray then stand at the end of the conveyor belt sorting sh1t out and putting it all back on, fcuking move AWAY from the belt and go to where the nice airport people haev put those big tables and chairs to do that instead of holding up everyone else. ugh, people.

Where? They are certainly not in Dublin airport!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

I must have been watching the wrong video, so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭steve9859

I love Ryanair. I play by their rules, and watch all the other muppets getting frustrated and angry, and thereby subsidising my cheap flight by paying all the (completely avoidable) charges! And when I book nice and early to get the flights with no taxes, it is cheap as chips! Hats off to MoL (and no, I'm not trolling....I think it is a great system he has put in place)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

why do people get on there high horse so much when it comes to ryanair?,if you don't like it don't fly with them.I've never had any problems with ryanair,never even been delayed.You get what you pay for and i'm happy enough.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

You'd look pretty stupid wearing it somewhere hot like the canaries, plus Customs would probably think you are a drug smuggler if they gave you a pat down. You know the suspicious lump that passenger had in coat, yeah, was it cocaine, now boss it was some stupid coat and it was his dirty cacks from a week in magaluf!

I've flown a few times with Ryanair and used those spacesaver vaccum bags to shrink down my belongings so they fit instead as Ryanair do allow 10kg carryon it is just the dimensions which are smaller. Borrowing the maids hoover to repack them again in the morning in the hotel was fun! She had no English but when she saw what I was doing she says; ah ze Ryanhair!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 179 ✭✭King Of Wishful Thinking

pmcmahon wrote: »
    why do people get on there high horse so much when it comes to ryanair?,if you don't like it don't fly with them.I've never had any problems with ryanair,never even been delayed.You get what you pay for and i'm happy enough.

Ah come on - if Michael O'Leary owned a bookies, people would have to bring their own pens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 462 ✭✭part time punk

Martyn1989 wrote: »
    They eventually get on the plane and the mothers started asking people to move so the small children could sit together, and people did. Suppose they had no choice being put on the spot, but I find stuff like that really annoying.

Grand next time I'm flying you can sit beside my kids and I'll sit somewhere else. Cheers:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Feathers

Martyn1989 wrote: »
    I've been getting on ryan air flights and as soon as we get on the tarmac everyone sprinted to the plane for these coveted 'emergency exit' seats. It was embaressing tbh, watching adults push eachother as if they were going for a pack of frosties in a primary school yard gushie.

I was on a flight once & the 'Priority Queue' consisted of an OAP who couldn't walk particularly fast & that was about it. The trouble was, the top of the queue was a good 5 minute walk to the plane.

So the guy let her go, waited for 30 seconds & then started with the main queue. So you basically had this woman paying a surchange to be passed out by every able-bodied adult on the way to the plane.
    Grand next time I'm flying you can sit beside my kids and I'll sit somewhere else. Cheers:)

Or you could show up early, if it's important to sit beside your kids? Or choose an airline that gives pre-assigned seating?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

I save a fortune in luggage fees by travveling in jeans and a tshirt and then buying everything I need at my destination. No way are they catching me with their sneaky charges. I then cunningly dump it all in the hotel bins and travvel home unencumbered. Saves me a fortune. I also wear trainers so I can outrun the feckers in the "express" queue once I hit the tarmac.

juan.kerr wrote: »
    I must have been watching the wrong video, so.

Eh no .. no you were watching the right video.

pmcmahon wrote: »

I flew with ryanair for the first time this summer. Never again I tell you.

Automatic price increase if you check a certain flight more than twice on their website. 120 euro for bringing one suitcase. I don't remember paying that with Aer Lingus or any other airline.

Don't even get me started on the tightly cramped, non existent leg room and comfort.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

I flew with ryanair for the first time this summer. Never again I tell you.

Automatic price increase if you check a certain flight more than twice on their website. 120 euro for bringing one suitcase. I don't remember paying that with Aer Lingus or any other airline.

Don't even get me started on the tightly cramped, non existent leg room and comfort.

They clearly layout guidelines on their page when booking,your fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

I wish Ryanair had two queues, for people who know how to travel with them, and the other idiots who buy sh1tloads of stuff in the airport shops then spent ages trying to cram them into their one piece of carry on luggage. other people are what makes flying a nightmare. When I travel I try have little or no change or crap in my pockets that takes ages to fish out of the plastic bins, shoes that dont take ages to lace up, belt off before i go anywhere near the security check etc. Hate those people who put their stuff through the xray then stand at the end of the conveyor belt sorting sh1t out and putting it all back on, fcuking move AWAY from the belt and go to where the nice airport people haev put those big tables and chairs to do that instead of holding up everyone else. ugh, people.

couldn't agree more. was behind some couple in the security queue in stansted a while ago who didn't have enough space in their bag, so the guy had 3 pairs of jeans on, with stuff in the pockets of all of them. the clown didn't start emptying the pockets until he got to the metal detector.
    it's not that hard to be ready for the screens, especially when there's a big crowd and the queues are already moving slowly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

Great, now everyone can get these and there will be no space on the plane for half of the passengers hand luggage, so we can all be delayed while people frantically try to cram their bags somewhere. The hand luggage restrictions were brought in for a reason. 1 person could take up an entire overhead locker with their case, couple of bags of duty free, handbag, overcoat, laptop and other assorted sh1te. An overhead locker should accommodate hand luggage of 2 rows of seats/6 persons, if full. Its not very enjoyable having to put your bag under the seat in front of you or having 1 jammed into your legs from the person in front of or behind you for 3 hrs in an already cramped environment.

99% of people complaining that Ryanair did this or charged me for that are the ones at fault for not familiarising themselves with their rules or disregarding them. I am happy that Ryanair is committed to continually finding new ways to tax stupidity in order to supplement regular flyers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Say what you like about Ryanair but at least they're honest about their utter contempt towards their customers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Martyn1989

Nah stick the wife next to me, is she any use ;)

These kids were filled to the brim with coke, slush puppies, burgers and chips, more coke, magnums, then on the plane parent after parent kept producing bags and bags of toffees and chocolates and all sorts of crap. The kids must have been buzzing on the sugar. At one point towards the end one of the dads went over to the kids and offered the kids more sweets, they all said no 'we've had enough'. Not often you here 6 year olds say that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Smellafish

Reminds me of this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Hate those people who put their stuff through the xray then stand at the end of the conveyor belt sorting sh1t out and putting it all back on, fcuking move AWAY from the belt and go to where the nice airport people haev put those big tables and chairs to do that instead of holding up everyone else. ugh, people.

Don't know how often you fly out of Dublin airport, but it doesn't have the big tables and chairs for people to sort themselves & their belongings out at. Other far better laid out and planned airports do, but dear old Dublin does not. Once you get to the end of the conveyor belt there, that is the end of the road. The heavy traffic corridor where all the shops/restaurants/coffee are located is the next stop. So where else are people supposed to put their shoes back on, belts back on, lap tops back into bags etc etc if they don't want to be knocked down by shoppers or people running to get to their gates? It is poor airport design that is slowing the movement of people down, not just the people themselves imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

eth0 wrote: »
    They keep changing the rules in the hope of catching people out. Shower of scummers

If you read the rules and restrictions on the email that comes with your boarding pass, you won't be caught out.

I travel a fair bit and have never been caught out.

I have saved a fortune over the years flying with Ryanair over Aer Lingus or other airlines.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭steve9859

wyndham wrote: »
    I am happy that Ryanair is committed to continually finding new ways to tax stupidity in order to supplement regular flyers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Ryanair is great, and Michael O Leary is a genius.

Generally, the people who hate Ryanair tend to be people who can't/won't read instructions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Ryanair is great, and Michael O Leary is a genius.

Generally, the people who hate Ryanair tend to be people who can't/won't read instructions.

It is a great business model, but flew low cost carriers overseas and found that you can have a no-frills airline without being cnutish to passengers.

O'Leary is insufferable, all that pulling funny faces and sh*te. Well that's only expected, he came out of Kanturk after all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭mitosis

Your coat has to fit in the measuring box. Daft invention is circumvented.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭Franticfrank

I love Ryanair. I play by their rules, and watch all the other muppets getting frustrated and angry, and thereby subsidising my cheap flight by paying all the (completely avoidable) charges! And when I book nice and early to get the flights with no taxes, it is cheap as chips! Hats off to MoL (and no, I'm not trolling....I think it is a great system he has put in place)

Yeah I know exactly what you mean and I agree fully. I was just pointing out that the system still worked fine 3 or 4 years ago when you could take your carry-on and duty free with you. There was absolutely no reason to change it, apart from greed. I'll happily take the coat if it means I can avoid their charges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭alphabeat

there is a simple solution to this ,
    Dont fly with the c.unts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭cgarrad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,916 ✭✭✭Ormus

You would wear a particular pair of shoes because you can go through airport security quicker with them? That is some dedication!

I often throw my change in the bins, it's easy to fish out if you just tip it all into one corner and then pour it into your hand. Takes me about 1.4 seconds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭james142

Some airlines don't carry extra biscuits on board to safe weight. Believe it or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

This Luggage Jacket sounds very Partridge-esque. It's like Alan and his big plate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

O Leary is probably reading this thread and devising a plan to have these jackets banned.

"In the interest of security and safety of the Aircraft, passengers and crew we now prohibit the carrying of non essential bulky items in jacket pockets. Items permitted include your personal documents, spectacles and mobile phones". :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

Clear your cookies before going back to buy them. And it may have just been a general price increase (the prices of flights change regularly, especially on Mondays) that happened to occur on your third try. But I always clear my internet cookies before booking flights (with any airline) and sometimes it leads to lower prices.

Suitcases are €25 each way for the 15kg and €35 for the 20kg... so I dunno how you ended up with €120! Had you not booked a bag in? Then unfortunately that's your own fault for selecting "No checked luggage" when booking your flight. And Aer Lingus charge for bags too (not as much as Ryanair, but it's still €15-20 each way).

Like I said in my previous post, I don't like the way Ryanair treat their customers, but all of the information about fees, luggage and check-in is given to you when you book your flights, so read it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

Clear your cookies before going back to buy them. And it may have just been a general price increase (the prices of flights change regularly, especially on Mondays) that happened to occur on your third try. But I always clear my internet cookies before booking flights (with any airline) and sometimes it leads to lower prices.

Suitcases are €25 each way for the 15kg and €35 for the 20kg... so I dunno how you ended up with €120! Had you not booked a bag in? Then unfortunately that's your own fault for selecting "No checked luggage" when booking your flight. And Aer Lingus charge for bags too (not as much as Ryanair, but it's still €15-20 each way).

Like I said in my previous post, I don't like the way Ryanair treat their customers, but all of the information about fees, luggage and check-in is given to you when you book your flights, so read it!!

There are now different prices for baggage for different routes and different seasons. For example, Dublin-Faro or Canaries during the summer is going to be more expensive to bring baggage than Dublin-London/Paris, etc, as that route would be mainly used by holiday makers who are going for at least a week and may have children, etc. they will need achecked bag, where someone on a city break for a couple of days or business trip can survive with hand luggage. It is no longer the same price for checked bags across all routes and dates.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Ah come on - if Michael O'Leary owned a bookies, people would have to bring their own pens.

If Michael O'Leary was kicking puppies and kittens down the aisle of his aircraft mid-flight, there'd be people rationalising it.
    Say what you like about Ryanair but at least they're honest about their utter contempt towards their customers.

I don't think they're honest about it at all, just they're more obvious about it.