Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Full moon affect?

• 29-10-2012 6:13am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭

Just woke up screaming from one proper fu!ked up dream.It was really relevant to me and Im still shook up.Just looked out the window and staring back at me was a big,bright full moon.Is this a myth or what?

• Site Banned Posts: 1,856 ✭✭✭paddy kerins

I'll say. Woke up in the woods in the nip not 10 minutes ago. Still trying to wash the taste of blood out of me mouth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

Confirmation bias OP. There's nothing to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,901 ✭✭✭✭ted1

No, its a reality. Some people have s high mercury count in there blood. During a full moon, its pulled in to the head.
    Have you heard the expression, about the mad hatter. This is because they used to use mercury in hat rims and would have the same effect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

This happens me every time there's a full Moon OP.

My mum says its normal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,388 ✭✭✭gbee

The Moon has many effects on Earth not least regulatory, every 28 days we have a new Moon.

The effects of the Moon have been long suspected and studies are not conclusive but generally if a human is experiencing an emotional event, they will get an enhancement at the time of full Moon and Perigee is it's most powerful of all.

Hurricane Sandy is about to smash New York, and is expected to have maximum effect due to the full Moon.

For what it's worth, I too woke up from a personal dream at about the same:eek: time ...............................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

gbee wrote: »
    The Moon has many effects on Earth not least regulatory, every 28 days we have a new Moon.

The effects of the Moon have been long suspected and studies are not conclusive but generally if a human is experiencing an emotional event, they will get an enhancement at the time of full Moon and Perigee is it's most powerful of all.

Hurricane Sandy is about to smash New York, and is expected to have maximum effect due to the full Moon.

For what it's worth, I too woke up from a personal dream at about the same:eek: time ...............................

Me too.Was there a tall woman involved?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Just woke up screaming from one proper fu!ked up dream.It was really relevant to me and Im still shook up.Just looked out the window and staring back at me was a big,bright full moon.Is this a myth or what?

No myth, there was definitely a moon in the sky last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭Sofaspud

Full moons have absolutely no effect on human brain activity or behaviour, other than in people who believe it will experiencing a placebo effect. There's the old argument of the moon affecting the tides but the gravitational pull of the moon on a persons brain would be roughly the same as standing close to a fat person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

5 cats sitting on top and in front of my back wall last night, howling at the moon...including one of my toms. Seriously, it's not only humans which are affected :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Sofaspud wrote: »
    Full moons have absolutely no effect on human brain activity or behaviour, other than in people who believe it will experiencing a placebo effect. There's the old argument of the moon affecting the tides but the gravitational pull of the moon on a persons brain would be roughly the same as standing close to a fat person.

I 've a parent who has lived in a care facility for a long time suffering from a degenerative brain disease , any time a full moon occurs his behaviour changes and he becomes less managable.

So much so , I've commented to his nursing and care staff , there answer was that its quite common for the behaviour dementia,alzheimers and people with a brain disorder to change not in a threatening or very visable way .My parent would be agitated to the point he would want to keep walking and walking around and around where he lived.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Mooning is the new planking/Batmaning etc.

Start updating your profile pics accordingly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,379 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

gbee wrote: »

That's some imagination you have there....must have been the full Moon effect on you :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 jfallon

People have believed for thousands of years that the moon can affect our state of mind and even drive some people crazy. This is were the term lunatic derives!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lunatic#Lunar_hypothesis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭Gileadi

jfallon wrote: »
    People have believed for thousands of years that the moon can affect our state of mind and even drive some people crazy. This is were the term lunatic derives!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lunatic#Lunar_hypothesis

How long did people think the earth was flat for?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

Feck off. I get moody every time I stand beside a fat person, especially if they want somthing. I also love the absolute certainty in that post^. I always worry when people don't leave at least a little room for " maybe?".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 jfallon

Gileadi wrote: »

about three fiddy

It sucks, I can only blood bend on a full moon :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

The effect on heavily pregnant women is well known in medical circles. Statistically more likely to go into labour during a full moon.

My wife was 2 weeks overdue and the night of a full moon we were all told "Full moon tonight guaranteed you will go into labour". Sure enough we did.

Even the medical staff acknowledge something behind it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 558 ✭✭✭OurLadyofKnock

Almost never. Humans have known for thousands and thousands of years the earth was round.

Back to the topic at hand. The moon affects just about every organism on earth from flora to fauna. Everything from genmination to metamorphism cycles. This is hard, well documented and quantified fact.

In humans, lunar cycles have long been connected with women's menstrual cycles. This is where the term 'Mater' derived (sanskrit) and thus became the first unit of measurement. ie: Parameter and so on.

Thus far, it has not been conclusively proven the moon affects neurology - however, it has not been proven it DOES NOT effect human neurology either. This is an important distinction.

On the other hand, there is a colossal body of anecdotal evidence, both historical and cultural to demonstrate there is something to it. Battles in times past were often fought under full moon to "fuel the savagery" of the combatants. Ask any mental health professional and they will tell you the same. Full moons are extra workload even when the patients are unaware of the lunar cycles.

So, just because something hasn't been proven yet, does not mean it is not a real or does not have something to it. I really wish people would understand that for something to exist in reality - it does not have to be peer reviewed by a hundred professors first.

Science cannot prove that our consciouness is contained exclusively within our synapses and neural transmitters. But this does not mean that consciouness is not a fact. It is. Same rule applies to the lunacy idea - there is not enough data to say one way or another, however, most people are aware they experience mood changes within themselves and others during lunar cycles.

The debate is still open with the 'Lunatics' holding most of the cards presentely.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,579 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Is this a myth or what?
    You are wondering if you were affected by the full moon effect ?

At this stage I no longer wonder about the three R's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭previous user

Researchers, have discovered a direct link between the moon causing the ebb and flow and of tides in the sea and the movement of blood vessels and fluids along the brain stem, which they say causes nightmares and dreams.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Full moon every night spinnin around planet AH.

Sometimes 2 of them.

Sometimes about three fiddy of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭9959

Full moon affect?

Absolute tosh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 930 ✭✭✭poeticseraphim

'A 1979 study of 305 women found that approximately one-third of the subjects had lunar period cycles in length, i.e., a mean cycle length of 29.5 days plus or minus 1 day. Almost two-thirds of the subjects started their cycle in the brighter half of the lunar cycle, significantly more than would be expected by random distribution. Another study found a statistically significant number of menstruations occurred around the new moon.'
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Menstrual_cycle
    So that means statistically around a full moon we are more likely to be pmting like crazy....or in an ovulation phase and randy as f**k

Several exogenous influences on the human female's menstrual cycle length have recently been demonstrated. Previously, sexual behavior and pheromonal influences have been described. This report evaluates lunar cyclicity patterns.

A relationship is demonstrated between the onset of menstruation, among women who have 29.5 + 1 day menstrual cycles, and the onset of full moon. Four separate prospectively gathered sets of data are presented from different years and seasons. It is demonstrated that these women tend to menstruate in the full of the moon with a diminishing likelihood of menses onset as distance from full moon increases.

Investigation into the underlying mechanisms by which sexual behavior may affect the neuroendocrine rhythm of women has yielded evidence for a pheromonal influence (McClintock 1983, 1984; Cutler et al. 1984, 1986; Preti et al. 1986). Studies in our laboratories employing extracts of axillary secretions from donor men and donor women were shown to significantly alter the timing and length of menstrual cycles of nulliparous women in a double-blind, placebo-controlled study (Cutler et al. 1986; Preti et al. 1986, 1987). Consequently, there appear to be several exogenous influences which promote lunar type cycle lengths in women.

They is a lambing season.....animals have a breeding season ..a mating season in tune with natural biological forces.
    That the most fertile reproductive cycle has the same length as the lunar cycle, i.e. 29.5 days, is an intriguing biological coincidence. In 1979, we reported that although previous investigators had failed to find a relationship between menses onset and the lunar cycle, their failure derived from the inappropriateness to the methods employed. By selecting the subpopulation of women (approximately 30%) who cycle as often as the moon does, i.e. 29.5+1 day, a significant pattern was revealed. There was an increased likelihood of menstruation onset in the light half of the lunar month. Thus, in a selected population of 312 women, prospective menstrual cycle records maintained during the Autumn of 1977 showed that 69% of the subsample whose menstrual length was 29.5+ 1 day showed menses onset within 7.5 days of the full moon (Cutler 1980a). A year later, Friedmann (1981) replicated this phenomenon, reporting that 65% of a similarly sized population menstruated in the light half of the lunar cycle. In her sample, the split was optimized with a 3 day lag period after the quarter; i.e. the month was bisected 3 days after the first and third quarter.
    The length of a woman's menstrual cycle has long been known to bear some reflection of the underlying endocrine milieu as well as her potential for fertility. Vollman at al. (1968, 1970, 1977) as well as Treloar et al. (1967, 1981) through their extensive prospective studies, have clearly shown that women whose cycles approach the 29.5 day span have the highest likelihood of fertile cycles, while women whose cycles become longer or shorter have a proportionately diminishing incidence of fertile cycles. About 28% of reproductively mature women show a 29.5 + 1 day cycle length

http://www.athenainstitute.com/lunarmpl.html

Science accepts a connection....

Also at certain times of my ...'personnal cycle' i will have the weirdest dreams.....that is normal...they feel different too ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Theres a full moon rising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭Ziphius

Researchers, have discovered a direct link between the moon causing the ebb and flow and of tides in the sea and the movement of blood vessels and fluids along the brain stem, which they say causes nightmares and dreams.

But then surely we should see so called "Lunar effects" occurring twice a day coinciding with the tides rather than once a month coinciding with the full Moon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭deisebibo

mattjack wrote: »
    I 've a parent who has lived in a care facility for a long time suffering from a degenerative brain disease , any time a full moon occurs his behaviour changes and he becomes less managable.

So much so , I've commented to his nursing and care staff , there answer was that its quite common for the behaviour dementia,alzheimers and people with a brain disorder to change not in a threatening or very visable way .My parent would be agitated to the point he would want to keep walking and walking around and around where he lived.

I know of a nurse who works in a pschyiatric hospital, and whenever there is a full moon, they would have extra staff on, to be prepared for the situations described above

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

I believe the moon influences the tides of the mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

I believe the moon is an Illuminati death star.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭previous user

Ziphius wrote: »
    But then surely we should see so called "Lunar effects" occurring twice a day coinciding with the tides rather than once a month coinciding with the full Moon.

actually I just made all that up, could happen though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

The effect on heavily pregnant women is well known in medical circles. Statistically more likely to go into labour during a full moon.

My wife was 2 weeks overdue and the night of a full moon we were all told "Full moon tonight guaranteed you will go into labour". Sure enough we did.
    ****, both of you at the same time? That's bananas.

What statistics are you referring to in the above (hearsay and a sample size of one person do not count)? Anything I've come across suggests that there is no increase in births around the full moon, though there may be correlation between lunar phase and birth rates. Here's one study on the issue.

Pottler wrote: »
    Feck off. I get moody every time I stand beside a fat person, especially if they want somthing. I also love the absolute certainty in that post^. I always worry when people don't leave at least a little room for " maybe?".

I'm a Sagitarius, maybe that makes me a natural skeptic. Or my chakra crystals are out of alignment since Xenu doesn't approve of my Reiki lessons that I'm getting from Tupac who's still secretly alive.

Not everything deserves room for "Maybe", anecdotal evidence isn't evidence. Science hasn't disproven the lunar effect in the same way that it hasn't disproven Homeopathy or the flying spaghetti monster, but it's found the same amount of evidence to prove all of them true.
    If there was evidence of it working I'd have no problem changing my mind about it and admitting I'm wrong, but that's not likely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭nacimroc

deisebibo wrote: »
    I know of a nurse who works in a pschyiatric hospital, and whenever there is a full moon, they would have extra staff on, to be prepared for the situations described above

I know a woman who worked in an old folks home. They would fight to be off the days of the full moon. People in general act differently around this time.

I'm ordinarily the most sceptical person you would find, but there is definitely something to this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

Even the medical staff acknowledge something behind it.

It seems to be to do with the barometric pressure, the same effects is also observed during weather systems like hurricanes. So along the American east coast they are experiencing a hurricane during a full moon, which may have an effect on the amount of women going into labour. An unwelcome effect during a natural disaster I'm sure.

My due date is in two days so on the one hand I'd like the full moon to tip me into labour but on the other hand it might mean there will be more women than usual at the birth centre and I don't want the competition for the birthpool.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/17004080

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,410 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Just thought I'd throw in a little aul' fact or two. Just for the craic like...

There's no physical difference between a full moon and a new moon. The only apparent difference is the amount of sunlight being reflected from varying areas of its surface.

Aside from this, the only measurable variances of the moon when viewed from the earth, are the cycle of apogee/perigee, and libration. Which are unconnected to the monthly orbital cycle.

Could we keep the amusing attempts at linking the moon to behaviour to the above please?

I'm a Sagitarius, maybe that makes me a natural skeptic. Or my chakra crystals are out of alignment since Xenu doesn't approve of my Reiki lessons that I'm getting from Tupac who's still secretly alive.

Not everything deserves room for "Maybe", anecdotal evidence isn't evidence. Science hasn't disproven the lunar effect in the same way that it hasn't disproven Homeopathy or the flying spaghetti monster, but it's found the same amount of evidence to prove all of them true.
    If there was evidence of it working I'd have no problem changing my mind about it and admitting I'm wrong, but that's not likely.
    Best explanation so far. Except for the fact that you left out the Mayans and stuff.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 179 ✭✭King Of Wishful Thinking

You have worms OP.

Google 'Lunar Cycle' & 'Parasites'.

Nite now :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

Well then, smarty pantses, how do ye explain werewolves then eh? Hah. See. Fools.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

For their whole life probably

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

ted1 wrote: »
    No, its a reality. Some people have s high mercury count in there blood. During a full moon, its pulled in to the head.
    Have you heard the expression, about the mad hatter. This is because they used to use mercury in hat rims and would have the same effect.
    Not sure if serious...:confused:
    iguana wrote: »
    It seems to be to do with the barometric pressure, the same effects is also observed during weather systems like hurricanes. So along the American east coast they are experiencing a hurricane during a full moon, which may have an effect on the amount of women going into labour. An unwelcome effect during a natural disaster I'm sure.
    Or stress perhaps? The release of hormones such as cortisol I'd imagine would have a greater effect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

Jimoslimos wrote: »
    Or stress perhaps? The release of hormones such as cortisol I'd imagine would have a greater effect.

Not much to stress about when it comes to full moons though, unless you're really afraid of werewolves. There have been a number of studies done, including the one I linked to, and while nothing is yet conclusive there does appear to be a correlation between low barometric pressure (which occurs for two days either side of a full moon) and spontaneous membrane rupture.

I however am proving as yet, immune.:(

I'm a Sagitarius,
    Are you sure? If you were born in December, but on or before the 17th like me, then you zodiac sign is now Ophiuchus.

Astrology. Gettin' wronger all the time!

Oh, and first in with congratulations to Iguana! And Mr Iguana too, of course.

endacl wrote: »
    Are you sure? If you were born in December, but on or before the 17th like me, then you zodiac sign is now Ophiuchus.

Astrology. Gettin' wronger all the time!

I am an ophiuchus but I think there's something about how the star movements are calculated that make them infallible, and Sagitarrius is SO relevant to me, while everything else is only mostly relevant to me.

Some of the time, or most of the time? Which paper?