Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where in the world

• 28-10-2012 10:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭

If you could live anywhere in the world where would it be and what would you do for a living?

Lets assume you have no debts and EUR 500,000 to move and get set up.

Personally it would be Phuket and a beach bar that was well known for great live music.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭luckyfrank

If you could live anywhere in the world where would it be and what would you do for a living?

Personally it would be Phuket and a beach bar that was well known for great live music.
    I hear grozny is nice this time of year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 497 ✭✭akura

Arizona, UFO hunter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

Vineyard in Sardinia

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭Gee Bag

Ballyconnell, Co. Cavan.

The locals worship you like a god who can do no wrong if you have a few pound in the bank (or used to have it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

If money was no object I would love to have a place in NY, went there once and imho its just amazing in every way even just the feel of it just met and exceeded every expectation I had of the place, plus Id get a buy a place back in the nice/normal area I grew up in. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Phuket me hole. Anywhere along the south west coast of Europe please. Oh, and more euros than half a mill.

Pretty hafassed fantasy in fairness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭OnTheCounter

Gee Bag wrote: »
    Ballyconnell, Co. Cavan.

The locals worship you like a god who can do no wrong if you have a few pound in the bank (or used to have it)
    you either have to employ them or put some major sponsorship into the local gaa team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Junior Vice President at Compuglobalhypermeganet

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 298 ✭✭Tony Soprano.

Canada or Cuba.

candy-gal1 wrote: »
    If money was no object I would love to have a place in NY, went there once and imho its just amazing in every way even just the feel of it just met and exceeded every expectation I had of the place, plus Id get a buy a place back in the nice/normal area I grew up in. :)
    not a fairytale money no object nonsense. You have enough to get set up modestly with a home and small business. E500k would just about buy a shoebox apartment in NY. What do you do then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

Iceland or Faroe Islands. Run a small shop and maybe a filling station

Phuket... Phuk that place.

squod wrote: »
    Phuket me hole. Anywhere along the south west coast of Europe please. Oh, and more euros than half a mill.

Pretty hafassed fantasy in fairness
    nothing half assed about it. A good few people could aspire to have E500,000 at some stage and want to start a new life abroad.

There are lots of 'if you won the euromillions' type threads if you want to live in fantasy land.

Why do ye not like Phuket?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

spend 500 grand on coke and hookers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

With me shillelagh under me arm and a twinkle in me eye I'll be off to Tipperary in the morning or failing that Barcelona.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭heavyballs

candy-gal1 wrote: »
    Great to hear that,going in 2 weeks for the first time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭nbar12

Phuket I think I'll do the same

Most Spanish people I have met reckon there are lots of better places to live in Spain than Barcelona.

On page 2 and only 2 replies that have a place and business idea.

C'mon folks ye must have some idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

Vancouver, Canada looks like an amazing place. By the sea, surrounded by mountains, forests and just miles after miles of wilderness.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Neewbie_noob

Singapore, hands down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Most Spanish people I have met reckon there are lots of better places to live in Spain than Barcelona.

On page 2 and only 2 replies that have a place and business idea.

C'mon folks ye must have some idea.

Well thems do be the places where I would live, don't you be there now ruining me dreams like.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

Where I am now, here. If there was somwhere else I wanted to go, I'd go, money or no money. That could change..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

an ice cream van in Los Angeles or a bookshop in London

I would have an amazing gaff in LA or a nice flat over the shop in London

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭massdebater

PC World

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

That island on Lost. I'd be the smoke monster thingy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

PC World
    I've heard it's crap there, waay too pc. Petlands where it's at.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 298 ✭✭Tony Soprano.

Teresa Lowe was a fine half..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Neewbie_noob

PC World

Am I seriously the only one to give this gentleman, a master of jest, the recognition he deserves :mad: