Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland bids to host opening stages of 2014 Giro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Esroh

Beasty wrote: »
    A joint Dublin/Belfast bid has been pulled together

Would be great if they could pull this off

It would be great to get this. Better back off the McQuaids if we want it ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 398 ✭✭Flandria

It might be of interest to ascertain if CI knew of this bid (Shade Tree is Darach MCQuaid) before they released the statement on Friday... Just saying.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Esroh wrote: »
    It would be great to get this. Better back off the McQuaids if we want it ;)
    There's only one McQuaid who's back I'm on, and hopefully he'll be long gone before any decision is taken on this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Esroh

Beasty wrote: »
    There's only one McQuaid who's back I'm on, and hopefully he'll be long gone before any decision is taken on this.

Hopefully a year is not to short a time in Cycling Politics.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭happytramp

Flandria wrote: »
    It might be of interest to ascertain if CI knew of this bid (Shade Tree is Darach MCQuaid) before they released the statement on Friday... Just saying.

Yep. This was reported a few weeks ago. I believe that the plan is....
    Prologue: Belfast
    Stage 1: Belfast to ??????
    Stage 2: Tayto Park to Dublin
    Before a rest day and the mother of all transfers

Seems like a massive hassle to get everything back to Italy. They'll need road and TT bikes flown to and from Ireland so not sure how practical this is. Hopefully I'm wrong though as it would be awesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,573 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

happytramp wrote: »
    Before a rest day and the mother of all transfers

Seems like a massive hassle to get everything back to Italy. They'll need road and TT bikes flown to and from Ireland so not sure how practical this is. Hopefully I'm wrong though as it would be awesome.

no more difficult than starting in denmark

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

You could probably get the equipment brought down to Italy in under a day from Copenhagen, gonna be a bit longer from Ireland because of the sea.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

They transferred overland from Denmark. All the gear, cars, support vehicles, and technical staff drove through the night to get back to Italy. It's a colossal amount of stuff to fly back to Italy in order to make the start of stage 3 (400+ bikes alone). It's likely they'll need two full sets of equipment sending one by boat and then land. While one waits for them at the start of the race in Italy. Not sure it's ever been done before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

A bit of weather or a well-timed strike could wreak havoc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

cool and all as it is would it not be more beneficial trying to promote and resume the tour of ireland (or the an post ras) rather than tack onto one of the big ones?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,469 ✭✭✭TheBlaaMan

They could just run a Prologue on road bikes - reducing some of the logistics. They've done this before..........cant recall what event. Qatar 2012 I think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭letape

I don't know why most of the contributions regarding this are so negative; focusing on political issues, logistical challenges and potentially bad weather!!

We put on a great show for the Tour back in 98, bad weather and Willy Woet besides!

I for one think it would be fantastic and would love to be a spectator. It would also be a great promotion of Ireland; North and South.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

letape wrote: »
    I don't know why most of the contributions regarding this are so negative; focusing on political issues, logistical challenges and potentially bad weather!!

The positive goes without saying I think? You're not going to find too many on here who don't want to see it happen.
    However....there are potential problems with staging it on an island. Just sayin'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭Hmmzis

I hope they get it. Would be great to see the pros here, maybe hitching a wheel on someone when on a recovery ride or warmup.

Just tell them to stay away from Strava :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 paulmcquaid

Not so much in the way of anti McQuaid sentiment here I see. Seeing as how it was a McQuaid who thought of the idea, (over dinner one night in Ranelagh, two years ago), wrote the proposal, travelled to Italy many times, eventually got to meet the owners of the Giro, sold the idea to them, then went through the mammoth task of dealing with the bureaucracy and red tape that goes hand in hand with selling something like this to two governments, eventually selling the idea to everyone, having the logistical people from the Giro over on several reccis. And all this out of his own pocket. You guys keep slagging the McQuaid's there, from your bedrooms.

Oh and 'flandria', CI have known about this project from day one, so quit with the insinuations there if you wouldn't mind.

'beasty', l'm sorry but l couldn't not write something.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Not so much in the way of anti McQuaid sentiment here I see. Seeing as how it was a McQuaid who thought of the idea, (over dinner one night in Ranelagh, two years ago), wrote the proposal, travelled to Italy many times, eventually got to meet the owners of the Giro, sold the idea to them, then went through the mammoth task of dealing with the bureaucracy and red tape that goes hand in hand with selling something like this to two governments, eventually selling the idea to everyone, having the logistical people from the Giro over on several reccis. And all this out of his own pocket. You guys keep slagging the McQuaid's there, from your bedrooms.

Oh and 'flandria', CI have known about this project from day one, so quit with the insinuations there if you wouldn't mind.

Not so much an Anti McQuaid sentiment, more a complete sense of despair with the leadership of the UCI..

On this matter, however, and pretty much everything else the McQuaids have done there is support and admiration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭ugsparky

For "armchair cyclist's" like myself it would be great to see this happening. I have an ambition to see a stage of the TdF in the mountains one day before I forget my own name ... who wouldn't want to see such a prestigious event in their own country ? - look at the feel good factor in LDN over the summer - if this was glamourised by the media and cycling bodies alike then it would surely be a success. It might also remove some of the generalised perception of pro-cycling being just a sport for junkies and help the sport recover from the Armstrong/Doping revelations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,218 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Not so much in the way of anti McQuaid sentiment here I see...You guys keep slagging the McQuaid's there, from your bedrooms.

Ah, the smell of righteous indignation in the morning.

I can't speak for anyone else, but since you appear to be having difficulty following a simple discussion/debate I'll attempt a summary.

Pat McQuaid (and Verbruggen, and the UCI in general) have been recently criticised for failing to deal effectively with the conflict of interest brought about by being responsible for both the promotion and policing of professional cycling, and for attacking the messengers (Kimmage and whistleblowers) rather than dealing effectively with the underlying and deeply entrenched culture of doping in the sport.

I don't recall reading much criticism on here or elsewhere of how the UCI has promoted cycling.

As far as the bedroom taunt is concerned, that's ironic given your rather pre-school reading comprehension skills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭manwithaplan

Not so much in the way of anti McQuaid sentiment here I see.

Everything's cool. The Giro is coming.

Happy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 398 ✭✭Flandria

Paul, if I could interrupt your self-congratulatory backslapping for just one moment to ask wether this idea was pitched to Zomegnan, who was incumbent as Giro Race Director two years ago, or to his successor Michele Acquarone? It seems to me that a Belfast/Dublin partenza might suit Acquarone's aims to globalise Il Giro, but are maybe a temporary substitute for his stated 'dream' of a London start. http://roadcyclinguk.com/news/racing-news/michele-acquarone-interview818.html While I admire your work and dedication in pursuing this, I wonder if the underwhelming response on here (just a few posts) isn't a contributing factor for your comment here, as I'm sure you have noticed the intense debate in current threads that discuss some of the less glamourous aspects of modern professional cycling. One might be forgiven for thinking that some cycling fans at the moment have more of an interest in fixing the sport and discussing it's serious problems than drooling over an opportunity to see a couple of days racing.

Personally, I am concerned that Acquarone seems determined to push the world's greatest stage race down the same insipid route as the TDF. For the last number of years the Giro has been increasingly considered the hardest grand tour to win, especially under Zomegnan's direction, but Acquarone seems to want to dispense with some of the difficult stages that made, for instance, the 2010 edition such epic viewing. The start in Denmark last year produced pretty lifeless sprint stages, as did the previous 'outside' start in the Netherlands but both these trips to Northern Europe produced the pileups and heavy crashes that are a depressing feature of GT first weeks. As a racing fan I would prefer to see a Giro d'Italia that delivers on its traditions and history to produce epic racing and I don't think bringing the race to large cities full of dangerous street furniture for a couple of days will help. Also, teams and riders are not keen on long transfers and in the current climate that might be worth considering, as there are more than enough divisions in the sport already.

With regard to any insinuations you have drawn from my post, it's a shame that the current situation in the sport necessitated my question regarding Cycling Ireland, but I was satisfied with happytramp's prompt and courteous reply. I had obviously missed the original announcement - there's alot to be busy with lately;)

Purely from a racing point of view I won't add to the hearty congratulations you extend to Shade Tree Sports for this bid as I don't think it will add anything to the Giro. I would rather watch the race on the Stelvio or Gavia, provided Acquarone won't replace them with a TTT around the industrial estates of Parma...

No pleasing some, eh?

Ah! so that's what Pat was doing while the pro cycling world collectively shoved a giant needle up it's own arse.

Nero fiddling, Rome burning anyone????

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

@paulmcquaid: Characterising people on boards as bedroom dwelling trolls is deliberately provocative. We expect you to adopt a civil tone in any discussion here and your comments have crossed the line. Please don't do it again.

@Lumen: While I acknowledge you didn't start it, please don't resort to mud slinging.

Thank you.

Mod hat off: It should be perfectly clear that Darrach McQuaid's efforts to bring the Giro to Ireland is an entirely separate issue to Pat McQuaid's leadership of the UCI. It is entirely possible to support one and not support the other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭manwithaplan

It should be perfectly clear that Darrach McQuaid's efforts to bring the Giro to Ireland is an entirely separate issue to Pat McQuaid's leadership of the UCI. It is entirely possible to support one and not support the other.

Of course it is. It was Paul himself that made the connection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭morana

Seeing as flandria mentioned CI i think I should comment

Any major cycling event in any Country needs the support of the National Federation. We were happy to give Darach our support in his bid to bring the Giro. It wont cost you, the members, anything but hopefully you will have a good few days watching some good racing. As mentioned we have known about this for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭el tel

In respect of "And all this out of his own pocket", does that mean that that a McQuaid or the McQuaid in question will not profit from this and it is an entirely altruistic endeavour for the good of the Giro/Ireland/cycling etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭emtroche

Stage 1: Belfast to Bohermeen! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,573 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

emtroche wrote: »
    Stage 1: Belfast to Bohermeen! :D

as long as it comes through donegal .......

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Looks like we'll have a hihg profile bike race to watch here is 2014 :D:D:D

Le départ à Belfast en 2014

Selon nos informations, le départ du Giro 2014 sera donné de Belfast, en Irlande du Nord. Les coureurs devraient ensuite passer par Dublin, en Irlande, avant de rallier l'Italie. Fin octobre, le Belfast Telegraph, qui avait révélé la candidature irlandaise, estimait à 4,7 millions d'euros le coût de l'événement. Il précédera de peu le Grand Départ du Tour de France 2014 à Leeds, dans le Yorkshire. Cette année, le Giro (4-26 mai) partira de Naples.

Lets just hope they don't bring any flegs.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭bcmf

Fantastic news. Book the hotel rooms now

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Those french classes have finally come in use!

Some trek for the lads in cars to Italy from dublin

• Administrators Posts: 54,423 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Yeeooo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 401 ✭✭irishbuzz

RobFowl wrote: »
    Looks like we'll have a hihg profile bike race to watch here is 2014 :D:D:D

Le départ à Belfast en 2014

Selon nos informations, le départ du Giro 2014 sera donné de Belfast, en Irlande du Nord. Les coureurs devraient ensuite passer par Dublin, en Irlande, avant de rallier l'Italie. Fin octobre, le Belfast Telegraph, qui avait révélé la candidature irlandaise, estimait à 4,7 millions d'euros le coût de l'événement. Il précédera de peu le Grand Départ du Tour de France 2014 à Leeds, dans le Yorkshire. Cette année, le Giro (4-26 mai) partira de Naples.

Lets just hope they don't bring any flegs.....

My leaving cert French just won't cut it so Google Translate gives:
    Departure to Belfast in 2014

According to our information, the start of the Giro 2014 will be given in Belfast, Northern Ireland. Runners should then go through Dublin, Ireland, Italy before joining. In late October, the Belfast Telegraph, which revealed the Irish application, an estimated 4.7 million cost of the event. It held just before the start of the Tour de France 2014 in Leeds, Yorkshire. This year's Giro (4-26 May) leave Naples.

Has this been confirmed? The rumor's been doing the rounds for the last while. Is this info new?

Yep is new information, L'equipe say it's a decision thats been made and simply awaiting a press release to announce it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Waitsian

Hmmm - Belfast to Dublin or riding just round parts of Northern Ireland then flying back from Dublin? I wonder will it be 1 or 2 stages? More to the point, from a personal standpoint, wonder if it'll come down round my part of the world - Newry, South Armagh, North Louth? :)

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Ahh Willie Frazier a man who never afraid to speak the truth

(or indeed whatever nonsense comes into his little brain at any given time)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

I was afraid this decision would go the other way considering the chaos there now.

Stormont will have a part in the prologue I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭Carpenter

Sorry Mod can you delete this please I never see the other 1 :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 487 ✭✭drogdub

Carpenter wrote: »
    Sorry Mod can you delete this please I never see the other 1 :o
    Is ok most of us are a little exited

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭irishmotorist

I didn't see this mentioned already here and apologies if I've missed it, but it looks like next year's Giro will start in Ireland, taking in both Dublin and Belfast.

http://thescore.thejournal.ie/giro-ditalia-dublin-800425-Feb2013/

http://www.rte.ie/sport/cycling/2013/0216/368113-2014-giro-ditalia-set-to-start-in-ireland/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭Mcofferon

Yes indeedie,

There's a press conference on Thursday and we can expect a formal announcement then. Fingers crossed :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,872 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

Not really sure this will be all that helpful. What with all the furore over drugs etc all we need is for more 'bloody cyclists' to close down the roads.

Did the TdF coming over here make a noticable difference for the sport?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭trad

Any route yet? Mourne Coast into Newry and over the Long Womans Grave?

Thats my guess.

Leroy42 wrote: »
    Did the TdF coming over here make a noticable difference for the sport?

What sort of 'difference' would you expect it to make?

trad wrote: »
    Any route yet? Mourne Coast into Newry and over the Long Womans Grave?

Rumor has it that it's......

Prologue - Belfast
    Stage 1 - Belfast to ?????
    Stage2 - Tayto park, Ashbourn to ????? (guessing Dublin)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

What's the point of starting these big tours all over the place? Surely it annoys the hell out of the competitors and requires a huge amount of un required travel for a marginal advertising benefit (esp given the terrible reputation pro cycling has and the general anti cycling attitude here)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,872 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

Increase in participation in racing. More money flowing into the sport as sponsors see a potential. Higher profile in the press. Better takeup in young people.

Just for a start!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭wav1

Hope it doesn't affect the Tour of Ulster as its the same weekend I think as the traditional time for the race.Whilst its great to see an event such as the Giro coming I would hate to think that it would affect an event that has been running for so long.Maybe just me being negative.