Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Broombridge station robbery

• 25-10-2012 11:49am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭

Just posting a word of warning for anyone getting trains stopping at Broombridge. I was on the 5.45 train to Maynooth yesterday evening when a group of lads robbed a phone off a young woman when the train pulled up at the station.

Make sure you don’t leave your handbags on the ground or have any gadgets on display. And if possible try and stand as far back from the doors as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭SandyRamp

Same happened today on the M3 Parkway train, the driver announced as we were approaching to hide/hang onto personal belongings as there was a gang of lads waiting on the train to pull up!

Scumbags.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

SandyRamp wrote: »
    Same happened today on the M3 Parkway train, the driver announced as we were approaching to hide/hang onto personal belongings as there was a gang of lads waiting on the train to pull up!

Scumbags.
    Why bother stopping there at all if this is happening? Surely IE have a duty of care to their customers which includes protecting them from this type of attack?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

That's when you go batsh1t crazy and start pummelling people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭vektarman

This reminds me of the time my sister had her handbag stolen on the train as it approached Connolly station (she got on at Ashtown), the train was stopped at a red signal when a gang of lads got on, pre-automatic door days, and proceeded along the carraige with large bin liners and told everyone to dump their handbags and wallets into the bag, I should point out it was an early morning train and there were more robbers than passengers so nobody was going to act the hero. Sounds like we're nearly back to those days again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

I've seen this at Broombridge as well, a few months ago. The train stopped and the doors opened, and two young lads who'd been travelling on the train grabbed a man's briefcase and phone, and ran. It all happened so quickly that they were long gone before anyone had time to react.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭Hungerford

SandyRamp wrote: »

It's a shame that IÉ haven't adopted Tranlink's policy of operating random 'ghost trains' full of police officers. That might discourage them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭ANXIOUS

whiterob81 wrote: »
    Just posting a word of warning for anyone getting trains stopping at Broombridge. I was on the 5.45 train to Maynooth yesterday evening when a group of lads robbed a phone off a young woman when the train pulled up at the station.

Make sure you don’t leave your handbags on the ground or have any gadgets on display. And if possible try and stand as far back from the doors as possible.

Yeah I was in that carriage as well. I called the gardai and reported it to ie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭Terrontress

ANXIOUS wrote: »

Yeah I was in that carriage as well. I called the gardai and reported it to ie.

Who was it wrote in to the Metro? The woman herself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭ANXIOUS

I'm not sure, I didn't read the metro.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

foggy_lad wrote: »
    Why bother stopping there at all if this is happening? Surely IE have a duty of care to their customers which includes protecting them from this type of attack?

Don't stop at the last stop of the line?

There's only so much irish rail would be able to do. Luas constantly have scrolling messages on their displays warning people to hang onto their stuff. In this case for Irish rail, people need to stop lounging around the doors. I think its a bit much for Irish rail to tell some people to cop on though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭thomasj

Something has to be done! The last time local authorities took action security wise was when Irish rail threatened to close the station. Action involved the local gardai.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

There's only so much irish rail would be able to do. Luas constantly have scrolling messages on their displays warning people to hang onto their stuff. In this case for Irish rail, people need to stop lounging around the doors. I think its a bit much for Irish rail to tell some people to cop on though.

Do you work for Irish Rail because like with their attitude you seem to blame the customers/passengers for this instead of the company which has failed to protect it's passengers. for many people the door areas are the only part of the train they ever see because of the overcrowding on peak time services, where else would you have them "lounge around"?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

foggy_lad wrote: »

Do you work for Irish Rail because like with their attitude you seem to blame the customers/passengers for this instead of the company which has failed to protect it's passengers. for many people the door areas are the only part of the train they ever see because of the overcrowding on peak time services, where else would you have them "lounge around"?

No. Ive lived in Dublin all my life and seen people walk around clueless as to how they be easy pickings and that's exactly what happened there.

Edit:
    Also you've seen how I've talked about Irish rail here before. Why are you going for such a petty knee jerk reaction?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭dowlingm

Door loungers (or door donkeys) should GTFO of the doorways to allow people to comfortably enter and leave the carriage.

Foggy is right though - there's a difference between comporting yourself to prevent random theft and IE simply accepting the fact that one of its halts is lawless and drivers are not, apparently, empowered/encouraged to continue through the halt if they consider conditions unsafe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭thomasj

dowlingm wrote: »
    Door loungers (or door donkeys) should GTFO of the doorways to allow people to comfortably enter and leave the carriage.

My sister witnessed this when heading home a couple of days ago but she was on a packed rush hour train so people in her case hadnt got ruch room to move.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭whiterob81

Actually, that was me as well. I just thought it was no harm letting as many people know as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭whiterob81

The train was so wedged that people had no option but to stand at the door.
    Also, they grabbed the phone out of her pocket not out of her hand so I don't
    she's in anyway to blame for this.

I don't agree with people who say the station needs to be shut down. More people seem to get on and off there than at Navan Road Parkway. The guards need to do something about the anti social behaviour there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 Jamontoast

Irish rail have a duty of care to their passengers, if the garda can not address the problem, the train shouldn't stop there, alternatively, employ security guards with regards to blaming passengers for being mugged, what sort of nonsense is this ? That kind of , oh sure what can we do attitude has a lot to do with why this country is in such a mess, it is not unreasonable to expect to be able to commute to work without being mugged
    on public transport surely ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭roughneck

Trains stop there most of the time for the indusrial estate ,outside working hours it is crazy with the amount of hassle going on , cabra has a good bus sevice into town , they should call a stop to trains stopping there after 8 -9 pm because its just little feckers in gangs waiting to jump on and rob ya , by the way these little robbing f*uckers are not always from that area as they have discovered how to use their legs and now will commute city wide , god love em ,