Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

NFL Week 8

• 25-10-2012 5:28am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

It's week 8 and the fecking season needs to slow down :eek:.

Thursday 25 October 2012

Buccaneers @ Vikings 01.20 GMT(From 01:00hrs on Sky Sports 1)

Sunday 28 October 2012

18.00hrs GMT

Colts @ Titans

Panthers @ Bears

Chargers @ Browns

Falcons @ Eagles

Redskins @ Steelers

Patriots @ Rams (From 16.30hrs on Sky Sports 2 )

Jaguars @ Packers

Dolphins @ Jets

Seahawks @ Lions

Oakland Raiders @ Chiefs 21:05hrs GMT

Giants @ Cowboys 21:25hrs GMT (From 20.30hrs on Sky Sports 2)

Saints @ Broncos 01:20hrs GMT (From 12.10am on Channel 4)

Monday 29 October 2012

49ers @ Cardinals 01:30 GMT (From 01.30hrs on BBC red button)

(Bills, Bengals, Ravens and Texans are all on a bye week)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Our clock goes back this Sunday, so all* the game times need to be adjusted by one hour, i.e. Sunday's early games begin at 5 P.M. our time.

*Excluding tonight's game, of course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

Pherekydes wrote: »
    Our clock goes back this Sunday, so all* the game times need to be adjusted by one hour, i.e. Sunday's early games begin at 5 P.M. our time.

That's handy, it will be good to get to bead before midnight on Sunday!

Here's hoping the Packers do the biz against the Jaguars (which they should)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,818 ✭✭✭Bateman

From reading a lot of previews, Saints @ Broncos seems to be the game of the weekend, at least for pure entertainment value anyway.

I am going to Jets-Dolphins and from what I've seen this season, there'll be a fair bit of gargle taken as it could be ugly and low-scoring, a 13-10 to the Jets or something like that is what I'm expecting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,317 ✭✭✭HigginsJ

Bateman wrote: »
    From reading a lot of previews, Saints @ Broncos seems to be the game of the weekend, at least for pure entertainment value anyway.

I am going to Jets-Dolphins and from what I've seen this season, there'll be a fair bit of gargle taken as it could be ugly and low-scoring, a 13-10 to the Jets or something like that is what I'm expecting.

Biased view here but Giants -@ Cowgirls will be a cracker as always. If Giants can win it and go to 6-2 it will make it very difficult for the Cowgirls to do anything this year. Jerry Jones to end the year as head coach i'd imagine!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

Wow, the Chargers at 5PM on a sunday. The sky is falling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

Ye I'd say Broncos NO will be a shoot out, hopefully we don't need anymore 4th quarter heroics, don't think the ticker can take it!

Monday off so shud be a great night of football.

HigginsJ wrote: »
    Biased view here but Giants -@ Cowgirls will be a cracker as always. If Giants can win it and go to 6-2 it will make it very difficult for the Cowgirls to do anything this year. Jerry Jones to end the year as head coach i'd imagine!!

The one criticism you might have of the Giants this season is that they've almost been sleepwalking through games, playing within themselves, switching it on and off like a tap, and while it can get you through some games, it won't get you through certain other games.

This game means infinitely more to the Cowboys than it does to the Giants, so it's the sort of game that the Giants would be vulnerable on. Home team, big crowd, you would have to think Dallas will bring a certain intensity to the game that the Giants might not be able to match. And because Eli is so ice-cold, there probably isn't even much talk of revenge for the opening day loss within the Giants camp.

While it's madness to suggest that the Giants aren't a better team than the Cowboys, I think they'll be turned over on the road here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭baddebt

Bateman wrote: »
    The one criticism you might have of the Giants this season is that they've almost been sleepwalking through games, playing within themselves, switching it on and off like a tap, and while it can get you through some games, it won't get you through certain other games.

This game means infinitely more to the Cowboys than it does to the Giants, so it's the sort of game that the Giants would be vulnerable on. Home team, big crowd, you would have to think Dallas will bring a certain intensity to the game that the Giants might not be able to match. And because Eli is so ice-cold, there probably isn't even much talk of revenge for the opening day loss within the Giants camp.

While it's madness to suggest that the Giants aren't a better team than the Cowboys, I think they'll be turned over on the road here.

Home team , big crowd ............didn't do much for the Cowboys versus the Bears .

and thats the thing about the cowboys , you just don't know what your gonna get , could beat the Giants , but also could get Mauled by the Giants ,
    will be interesting game ,
    considering the bears where on bye last week , I watched the Giants-- redskins game , great match .. this week wil be no different

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Ye I'd say Broncos NO will be a shoot out, hopefully we don't need anymore 4th quarter heroics, don't think the ticker can take it!

Monday off so shud be a great night of football.

I think the Broncos should win this handily enough. The Saints running game is poor, which makes the DEs jobs a hell of a lot easier. And Peyton will have some fun against their D, particularly as he'll have memories of last time he played NO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Bucs stellar run D comes against AP. it'll be interesting to see if they can contain him.

Buccaneers are very much an incomplete team butte Vikings don't really have the weapons to take advantage of their weaknesses (ie Ponder isn't a real deep threat, and they only really have Harvin). I think the game will come down to whether or not the Bucs can prevent Ponder linking up with Harvin. If they start getting stretched by the passing game then they haven't a hope of containing AP (eg. RG III and Alfred Morris earlier this season).

Josh Freeman has turned a corner in the last couple of weeks. He's irritatingly inaccurate but he seems to have his confidence back. If himself and Doug Martin can continue to perform against the Vikes D then they should get a good few points on the board. Maybe well see a big day for Mike Williams or even Dallas Clark.

So for tonight I'm going to guess a close game, but the Vikes will lose at home for the first time this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

davyjose wrote: »

I think the Broncos should win this handily enough. The Saints running game is poor, which makes the DEs jobs a hell of a lot easier. And Peyton will have some fun against their D, particularly as he'll have memories of last time he played NO.

Yeah hopefully Porter can snatch one off drew this time round! I'm quietly confident but I just couldn't use the word handy against NO offense. If we can play a full 60 minutes of football and not turn the ball over then it might start to creep into my vocabulary!

GO BRONCOS!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

It's Sproles I'm worried about. ****er always seemed to go off against us when he was in San Diego.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 figgysmalls

Heres hoping the Chargers can turn things around against the Browns. Rivers really needs to get his act together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Many staying up for tonights game? I'm looking forward to getting a proper look at this seasons Vikings. I haven't really seen much of them at all so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

Yeah I'll wait up for it aswell, haven't watched a full Vikes game either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Pherekydes wrote: »

Well spotted, totally forgot about that.

Heres hoping the Chargers can turn things around against the Browns. Rivers really needs to get his act together.

In all fairness, most SEC teams would give the Browns a game so Chargers winning against them doesn't tell a great deal..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Paully D wrote: »
    Many staying up for tonights game? I'm looking forward to getting a proper look at this seasons Vikings. I haven't really seen much of them at all so far.

Haven't seen any of the Vikings myself. Not staying up though, few days holiday so I'm off to the Pats game in London. Haven't been to a Pats for few years now so it's long overdue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,836 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Staying up myself, looking forward to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

spiralism wrote: »
    In all fairness, most SEC teams would give the Browns a game so Chargers winning against them doesn't tell a great deal..

Hope you're joking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

At least I won't be talking to myself this week :pac:

davyjose wrote: »
    Hope you're joking.

im exaggerating just slightly yes but you get my point :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Looking forward to this. Vikings haven't had many prime time games since Favre went.

Should be a bit of a revenge angle to this one. Vikings lost last year in week 2 to the Bucs in a game they dominated, on the back of a terrible game changing call by the officials. That unfortunately went on to define the season, with the Vikings losing games they should've won all year.

A lot of tonight will depend on Freeman. The Vikes weakness is still the secondary, although it's improved this year. Jackson is a worry as he has always been capable of huge recieving games. Cook does tend to match up well with taller recievers, so that will be interesting. If Freeman can move the ball at ease like he can when he's on his game, then the Bucs can make a real game of this. Otherwise I can see the Vikings winning a tad comfortably. The Bucs run D had been very good, but they haven't come against an AP yet. Ponder looks to have been piss poor the last couple of weeks (a couple of the Int's were tbf), but a lot of that was due to the way the game was playing out, where he didn't have to air it out to get the win. Hopefully he can get in sync with Simpson who will probably be one on one as the Bucs stack the box to stop AP and the Harvin screens.

Harvin has been ridiculous. His KR's are on Hester's level, and he constantly makes big gains off screens and short passes. I've never seen someone make the first man miss with such regularity. He is also a beast in the backfield, and i'm fairly sure he'd make a top 10 RB if he couldn't catch.Great to see him consistently put together the ability he's shown in flashes each year.

Already dreading work in the morning!

Every single week that I can stay up for TNF I always fall asleep either before kick off or very early into the game, and on weeks I can't stay up for it I find myself unable to sleep at all. Same thing is happening this week :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭Moist Bread

Only started watching this season and I'm already hooked. Still need a team to root for though. Vikings to win tonight?

Da'Quan Bowers active tonight for the Bucs. If he can get fit and start producing up to his potential he'll be a massive boost for the Bucs pass rush. Wouldn't expect much tonight though.

marky1905 wrote: »
    mercan football SUCKS!!! END OF STORY!!!

Oh I didn't realise. Better stop watching it so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,445 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Oh I didn't realise. Better stop watching it so.
    Never even heard of mercan football before!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 61 ✭✭marky1905

iits all a mercan baby!!!

marky1905 wrote: »
    mercan football SUCKS!!! END OF STORY!!!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 5,042 Mod ✭✭✭✭GoldFour4

Only started watching this season and I'm already hooked. Still need a team to root for though. Vikings to win tonight?

That's who I'd fancy anyway. They're both very fun to watch though so should be a good one :)

I'm on an extra long long weekend so hoping to catch all of this :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭Danger_dave1

god peterson is awesome ...

Both teams start badly on offense. Ponder and Freeman are both very average.

GWAN MARTIN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

god doug martin is awesome ...

Buying low on him in LTTP is turning out very nicely for me.

A 3rd down conversion, finally.

Bucs are starting to roll now.

Delighted for Lorig. One of our most underrated players this season

Just keep giving Peterson the ball

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭deise_boi

This crowd is going to get Very sour if the Vikes don't start pulling the finger out!

That is definitely the worst start to a passing part of the offense I've ever saw :pac: At least Ponder got a completion.

Ah FFS. This is getting ridiculous

Two really good running backs on display. AP on a different level obviously. Entertaining.

Paully D wrote: »
    Every single week that I can stay up for TNF I always fall asleep either before kick off or very early into the game, and on weeks I can't stay up for it I find myself unable to sleep at all. Same thing is happening this week :mad:

Obscene money line bet on the Vikings and slightly more Thursday night booze than normal, I am worst ranked in TNF sleep defence but need to make some plays tonight :(

Harvin, starts the drive and finishes it. Somehow you knew it would be him that woke the place up

Martin is looking fantastic. He was even in the goal-line set when the Bucs were on the 1 so they want him even more involved than he was before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭deise_boi

Great catch for the TD! Caps off a really nice drive by the Bucs. Martins on fire tonight!

Doug Martin is on fire!!!

Note to self: draft Martin next year. The Bucs have took their time to get going this season but they have a great balance on offense now.

Wowwow. 203 yards for Martin and there's still nearly ten minutes left in the 3rd.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 5,042 Mod ✭✭✭✭GoldFour4

There was always going to be a sack there ! Serious atmosphere in the crowd now !!!