Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lar Corbett marked out of games?

• 24-10-2012 7:03pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭

In last weekends papers there were excerpts from Lar Corbett's book, again he was going on about being marked out of it unfairly in 2011 hurling final. He claims he knew he wouldn't be allowed play in 2012 semi so that's why he tried to stop Tommy Walsh play.

Surely Henry and Joe Canning come up against backs who try mark them out of it/try stop them scoring etc but you hear nothing from those guys only from Corbett. Henry got 12pts in drawn Final, Galway management said they'd have to counteract his impact in replay, no problem there, that's only natural. Kilkenny would have same idea for Joe Canning.

Every talented forward in the country will be marked hard by backs, it's up to the forwards to find a way to score anyway and the greats ones do.

What's up with Corbett? Should he quit whining and get on with it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭Jarjohn

Corbett was a good player at times and probably had 3 good years out of 10. Publishing a book now.....some joke. Obviously trying to promote book by stirring things a bit but its one I definitely wont be buying. I can think of many current players whose career I would love to read about. Men who got on with things whether going good or bad and never complained or whinged. Pains me to think how many trees have been wasted to publish it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 locked

corbett was always a lad for the breaking ball,, shying out of the physical stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,101 ✭✭✭randd1

Lar is dead fu**ing right.

How dare Jackie Tyrrell not allow him to waltz through and score goals.

How dare Tyrrell dominate Him to such an extent that he was held scoreless in an AI.

How dare Tyrrell intill such a fear* in a forward that the forward is reduced to being afriad to mark him.

Have to say I like Lar, but he looks like a whinger on that one.

*(Interesting side-note on that "fear of Jackie" mentality from Lar. Brian Corcoran won the battle well against Noel Hickey in the 2004 AI. The Rock barely lost the battle to Comerford in 06. The next time Hickey and the Rock faced those opponents they ran straight to them to mark them, and dominated them as they had a score to settle and were going to redeem themselves no matter what. The champion mentality, not cowering away from the fight.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 786 ✭✭✭TheNap

Anybody else hear there was a huge fraca in the Tipperary dressing room at half time v Kilkenny. Apparently Corbett and a member of management nearly came to blows over the way Corbett was told to play. He told them theres no point of him being out there if thats what you want him to do and refused to go out for the second half. Other senior members of the team had words with him and convinced him to go back out. Hence him arriving back out late to the field

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭cormac halpin

TheNap wrote: »
    Anybody else hear there was a huge fraca in the Tipperary dressing room at half time v Kilkenny. Apparently Corbett and a member of management nearly came to blows over the way Corbett was told to play. He told them theres no point of him being out there if thats what you want him to do and refused to go out for the second half. Other senior members of the team had words with him and convinced him to go back out. Hence him arriving back out late to the field
    I heard he was meant to have placed a bet on himself not to score in the Munster Final this year. He denies this as you would.

Must be a rumour i've never seen a betting market in the GAA for someone not to score

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭cormac halpin

Must be a rumour i've never seen a betting market in the GAA for someone not to score
    Its in his boooooooooooooooooook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Lar is making a fool of himself tbh, I wouldnt necessarily ridicule him for bringing out a book, plenty of others have done the same while still playing, and infact when he signed the agreement to pen it he was infact retired, but this rubbish about Tyrell is a farce, Eoin Kelly has had to deal with that shi*e for over a decade and I have yet to hear him complain.

The row at halftime is a myth I have spoken to people that were present and they have assured me that it was a very happy dressingroom, which is actually almost as worrying that no one could see past the false score and recognise we were getting our arses handed to us.

The bet on the Munster Final is another urban legend, no bookie was even taking such a bet and if they were and got cleaned we would have heard about it, it was a throw away comment by Tomas Mulcahy on the Sunday Game which he has since apologised for, talking to members of the panel and some of Lar's Thurles team-mates their theory is he was so dissilusioned after 2011 and so low on confidence that he resorted to the tripe we have witnessed on the field of play since.

Lar has always been a very funny fish and has many issues - the old chestnet that Larry never played county minor for Tipp and Nicky English plucked him from obscurity is another tall tale, the truth being that Lar 'retired' when he was 16 and only returned for a minor final when he was 18, which he duly won single handedly.

I for one certainly wont be parting with any hard earned cash to hear he's ramblings, I'll wait for a true Tipperary great like Kelly or Cummins to publish.

Lar is making a fool of himself tbh, I wouldnt necessarily ridicule him for bringing out a book, plenty of others have done the same while still playing, and infact when he signed the agreement to pen it he was infact retired, but this rubbish about Tyrell is a farce, Eoin Kelly has had to deal with that shi*e for over a decade and I have yet to hear him complain.

The row at halftime is a myth I have spoken to people that were present and they have assured me that it was a very happy dressingroom, which is actually almost as worrying that no one could see past the false score and recognise we were getting our arses handed to us.

The bet on the Munster Final is another urban legend, no bookie was even taking such a bet and if they were and got cleaned we would have heard about it, it was a throw away comment by Tomas Mulcahy on the Sunday Game which he has since apologised for, talking to members of the panel and some of Lar's Thurles team-mates their theory is he was so dissilusioned after 2011 and so low on confidence that he resorted to the tripe we have witnessed on the field of play since.

Lar has always been a very funny fish and has many issues - the old chestnet that Larry never played county minor for Tipp and Nicky English plucked him from obscurity is another tall tale, the truth being that Lar 'retired' when he was 16 and only returned for a minor final when he was 18, which he duly won single handedly.

I for one certainly wont be parting with any hard earned cash to hear he's ramblings, I'll wait for a true Tipperary great like Kelly or Cummins to publish.

Seems like a strange fella alright. I thought being involved with his club would of given him a big lift but judging by his last performance it just seems his heart isnt in it anymore. Sad really, is there any other player in history who has scored 3 goals in an AI Final and 4 goals in a MF.

Seems like a strange fella alright. I thought being involved with his club would of given him a big lift but judging by his last performance it just seems his heart isnt in it anymore.

tbh he has never truley 'delivered' for Sars, considering he's undoubted natural talent, he has always really had problems with management, really only Nicky English and Liam Sheedy were ever able to handle him, the hope in Tipp is that with two thirds of the Sheedy team back in place we will see the 2010 version of Lar. Not conviced myself, Eamon O'Shea may very well decide he's simply not worth the hassle and cut him adrift, that said Lar and Eamon had a very very good working relationship between 2008-2010.

Do you see Lar coming back ? And just on a side note will Kelly be back next year ? Easily one of the greatest forwards i've seen but has struggled the last few years with injuries and the increased emphasis on speed in inter county hurling

The entire Tipp panel has been disbanded, all last years members have received a letter informing them they are droped, some of them got a bit of a shock as they didnt realise that everyone was getting them :D

40 players are been called for one to one 'interviews' in the coming days/weeks and and initial panel will be drawn up form these meetings, the letter also highlighted to the players how they let themselves down last year and that behaviour wont be tolerated anymore, they were also reminded of teh priviliged position they had and of what it means to play for Tipp. I personally love the approach been taken and hopefully we will never see a repeat of last August again.

Re. Kelly personally, I'm not sure tbh, I think he still has a role, I would like to see him tried FF, the day of a big FF is not as pertinent as it once was, that said there is no doubt he looked very weary legged this year and last, perhaps the new management who encourage alot more one on one tailored training will see him rediscover the old magic.

Sounds like a master stroke by the management to be fair to them. They have a strong U21 team and an AI winning minor team from last year so its not like they dont have the players to drop certain lads from their panel next year.

Like every manager the ain is the get the team greater than the sum of its parts. It could be easier without Corbett involved. Although im not sure if he is liked personally by the members on the Tipp panel so couldnt speculate whether is would help team morale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭hardybuck

The entire Tipp panel has been disbanded, all last years members have received a letter informing them they are droped, some of them got a bit of a shock as they didnt realise that everyone was getting them :D

40 players are been called for one to one 'interviews' in the coming days/weeks and and initial panel will be drawn up form these meetings, the letter also highlighted to the players how they let themselves down last year and that behaviour wont be tolerated anymore, they were also reminded of teh priviliged position they had and of what it means to play for Tipp.

A bit extreme in my opinion. We're talking about ordinary lads offering their time here. I don't think too many people would be impressed to receive a letter in the door telling you that you were dropped off your team, that you let yourself down, and that if you were interested in playing again you'd need to come in for an interview!

I'm sure most of the panel put a huge effort in last year, probably placing a strain on their professional and personal lives. They won a Munster Championship and we looking fine until having a blip against Kilkenny - not the end of the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,004 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

hardybuck wrote: »
    I don't think too many people would be impressed to receive a letter in the door telling you that you were dropped off your team, that you let yourself down, and that if you were interested in playing again you'd need to come in for an interview!

True, not too many would be happy with that, and most people would simply walk away. But they aren't looking for "too many people". They are looking for people willing to give a pretty much inhuman commitment to a cause. Lads like that are rare, but they are the only lads who can win All Irelands. Tipp played very complacently this year, and a lot of their players didn't behave like inter-county hurlers on the pitch or, if rumours are to be believed (and this letter indicates they are), off it. If a player thinks he is above going into an interview for his position on that team, then it's just as well the management find that out now, so they can bring in someone with the other attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭hardybuck

True, not too many would be happy with that, and most people would simply walk away. But they aren't looking for "too many people". They are looking for people willing to give a pretty much inhuman commitment to a cause. Lads like that are rare, but they are the only lads who can win All Irelands. Tipp played very complacently this year, and a lot of their players didn't behave like inter-county hurlers on the pitch or, if rumours are to be believed (and this letter indicates they are), off it. If a player thinks he is above going into an interview for his position on that team, then it's just as well the management find that out now, so they can bring in someone with the other attitude.

Fair comment on the point about these lads being a rare breed in terms of commitment, but I still feel the approach is disrespectful. O'Shea was part of a successful management team when Sheedy was on the scene and nothing like this was considered - yet they did fine. Realistically, if players like Padraig Maher, Brendan Cummins, Noel McGrath etc. tell them to feck off the whole thing implodes.

They could have gone about this differently, and agree a set of rules and expectations at the start of the year to those who were selected for the panel. If players step out of line after that then they haven't much room to complain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,004 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Fair comment on the point about these lads being a rare breed in terms of commitment, but I still feel the approach is disrespectful. O'Shea was part of a successful management team when Sheedy was on the scene and nothing like this was considered - yet they did fine. Realistically, if players like Padraig Maher, Brendan Cummins, Noel McGrath etc. tell them to feck off the whole thing implodes.

They could have gone about this differently, and agree a set of rules and expectations at the start of the year to those who were selected for the panel. If players step out of line after that then they haven't much room to complain.
    Yeah but it seems to amount to the same thing, except this looks like more of a statement of intent. Someone like Cummins is not going to tell them to feck off, since he is about as committed as they get. If he leaves it will be because he feels it's time, no other reason (he stayed on while sitting on the bench watching Babs make a farce of the whole thing!).

Some of the other players need a kick in the ar$e, and this seems to be O'Shea's way of letting them know it'll be on the way in short order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭shawnee

I have read several autobiographies by Hurlers and have enjoyed many of them. Usually the bit in the newspaper is the best. What was written in the indo last week was childish rubbish. Lar will certainly never make it with this book and what a time to publish it. Who from Tipp would want to read it ??? They are feckin trying to forget what went on ? Good hurlers don't generally become bad hurlers overnight. Lar may come good again , here's hoping he doesn't start on Sunday against Kilmallock. :D;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 tomasdubh

What amused me about Lar's obsession with Jackie Tyrrell, was his description, in the newspaper extract, of his experience in the 2011 All-Ireland. He complained that Jackie was hasseling him evenwhen the ball was at the far end of the pitch, pulling and dragging etc. Goodness knows what he says could be true, even the most diehard Kilkenny follower knows that Jackie is no angel. But Lar made no mention of what was happening when the ball did come his way. As far as I remember it, he hardly got a touch of the ball at all. I don't remember Tyrrell conceding a lot of frees either, so Jackie must have been doing someting right.

tomasdubh wrote: »
    What amused me about Lar's obsession with Jackie Tyrrell, was his description, in the newspaper extract, of his experience in the 2011 All-Ireland. He complained that Jackie was hasseling him evenwhen the ball was at the far end of the pitch, pulling and dragging etc. Goodness knows what he says could be true, even the most diehard Kilkenny follower knows that Jackie is no angel. But Lar made no mention of what was happening when the ball did come his way. As far as I remember it, he hardly got a touch of the ball at all. I don't remember Tyrrell conceding a lot of frees either, so Jackie must have been doing someting right.

Lar seems to have an obsession with Jackie Tyrell. Rory Jacob on the other hand roasted him in 2011 and Tyrell was taken off. Now why in gods name could Lar not take a leaf out of his book? Yes Kilkenny rough you up but compared to what Christy Ring, Eddie Keher or Jimmy Doyle had to endure in their day its nothing. In fact one of the Tipperary hurlers allegedly said to Ring after scoring a goal once that 'I dont know what else to do other then shoot you' :D
    I like to see fairness in sport as much as anyone but fact is we have referees and umpires who are not proactive enough. Brian Gavins performance in 2011 was totally shambolic and Diarmuid Kirwan made gaping errors in 2009.

In terms of Gavin, when you haven't the cop on to send off a man who made a strike and caught you - the referee - by mistake, right in the face then what use are you?

Fact is while Lar was getting ready to go on air in Montrose tonight, Henry Shefflin picked up his 11th allstar and 9th hurler of the year award across town (9 if you include Texaco, GPA and GAA allstars) to go with his 9th Celtic Cross.
    Henry probably hasnt even opened the Microsoft Word file to write his Autobiography yet.

Lar struck me as a kind of guy who suffers the odd bad day on a more personal level. He was talking about having learning difficulties etc tonight so maybe its something he should address. If you arent fully developed as a person then how can you develop as a hurler?

I do wish him well in the future whatever he does but as a fan i hope he can offer one last sting in the tail

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭ohyesthefinest

Ill watch this on the player now? Was there long gone when he came on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

The funny thing about Lar he blew more cold than hot, without Kelly to feed him the ball and win dirty ball he struggles. Actually without Kelly Tipp struggle fullstop.
    Lar has disgraced himself and looks a little unhinged as well. Tipp were made a laughing stock of, they need to move on without this guy ASAP.

buck65 wrote: »
    The funny thing about Lar he blew more cold than hot, without Kelly to feed him the ball and win dirty ball he struggles. Actually without Kelly Tipp struggle fullstop.
    Lar has disgraced himself and looks a little unhinged as well. Tipp were made a laughing stock of, they need to move on without this guy ASAP.

To be honest, Patrick Bonner Maher aside we have no one at present to win the dirty ball. Poor Eoin Kelly's legs looked stiff last year. The training regime for some of the younger players let alone the older players was insane.

IMO the training regime should be adjusted to less intense from when a player hits his peak years on.

Im not in favour of Lars book ill admit. I think the timing couldnt be worse but Lars counter argument could be that money was on the table and in times of recession it was too much to turn down.

Lar is probably a little bit strongheaded but unhinged is too strong a description. If Eamon O'Shea decides Lar Corbett deserves another chance next year then to be honest i wont even question O'Shea's decision. He knows best. My belief is that Lar done what he was told in the semi final. People who say he should have done his own thing are only looking for excuses to crib about him imo. I was bitterly disappointed though in what i perceived to be clear lack of effort in this years county final.

Lars battle is more mental then physical. He can really star for Tipp next year if he puts his mind to it. Granted he will be 32 but Eddie Brennan and DJ Carey played huge roles for Kilkenny over the last decade in all ireland wins and both were same age.

'If', though is the big big question

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭Morte

tomasdubh wrote: »
    An Moltoir's analysis was that Tyrell hardly touched the ball either. Tyrell was obviously very good in the final but it was exaggerated as little ball went into them as Kilkenny were so dominant out the field.

A bit extreme in my opinion. We're talking about ordinary lads offering their time here. I don't think too many people would be impressed to receive a letter in the door telling you that you were dropped off your team, that you let yourself down, and that if you were interested in playing again you'd need to come in for an interview!

I'm sure most of the panel put a huge effort in last year, probably placing a strain on their professional and personal lives. They won a Munster Championship and we looking fine until having a blip against Kilkenny - not the end of the world.

Ah I think Premierstone was being sarcastic with the first paragraph somehow :) I would expect most of last years personnel to be called up. We may even see the likes of Pat Kerwick getting a try out on top of the few of last years u21s and maybe one or two of last years minors now overage.

In terms of personnel it wont be drastic unless O'Shea feels they cant offer any more but that will be after we've seen them play. Everyone will get a fair crack of the whip.

O'Shea is a reasonable and fair man. He is a people person. The players give him glowing references.

I spoke to one of our more established legends the other night and he told me that ..."there is only one man for the Tipperary job, Eamon O'Shea!"

1-1 from Lar today and thats just what im aware he scored from twitter updates. Thats more like it Larry fair play

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

1-1 from Lar today and thats just what im aware he scored from twitter updates. Thats more like it Larry fair play

I was listening to the match and he sounded dangerous whenever he got the ball. Which wasn't all that often, but he could have had another goal only for an amazing hook apparently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭brandon_flowers

Lar is only a slimmer/slightly faster version of Dan Shanahan.

Dan Shanahan was a lethal forward in his day in fairness. Yes there was a cash cow to be milked and Dan like Lar milked it good and proper. It was detrimental to Waterford amongst other things but i firmly believe we the supporters create the product.
    Very few in Tipperary for example didnt enjoy the 'Lar outside' song when it first appeared but the same people are tearing him down now.

Its a different world we live in to when Jimmy Doyle, Eddie Keher etc; were the main men. Were in an age of more advertising and exposure so the argument that they would have shyed from exposure has no real backbone as hurling wasnt televised as much apart from one Sunday in September.

Lar wasnt just a household name in Tipperary after 2010 but greater Ireland and naturally a man who gives his time training and playing for nothing is going to cash in while the opportunity is there so i cant blame him. Its his inability to draw the line that may be a concern.

I would hope Lar has the sense to knuckle down though and rebuild his reputation on the field where he obtained it.

Brian Cody is a genius the way he can keep the likes of Shefflin etc and even himself focused and the way other counties have gone off the rails have exposed this.