Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cycling the Dublin marathon route???

• 23-10-2012 9:58am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 846 ✭✭✭

does anyone know where i'd get info on cycling the Dublin City marathon route on Sun Oct 28th??just heard it on the radio and can't find anything on it..thank a mil x:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭n-dawg

This should maybe be in the athletics forum... But the map is on the website: http://dublinmarathon.ie/map-2012.pdf

I notice you mention that you would like to cycle it on the Sunday, that's completely fine but if you meant to say the race day I would strongly discourage you from doing it. There will be several official bikes on the route with the lead Irish men, women etc but they know what there doing and stay out of the way of the runners. As someone who has done the race it can be really frustrating when people who shouldn't be there are cycling the route getting in peoples way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭Glencarraig

If you are up near the elite men/women you will be asked to leave the course, there are designated bike riders with the groups to keep the likes of you and me away. You could be accused of pacemaking and if you persist, you will eventually get hauled off the course by the gardai. If you are back with the joe soaps you are only a nuisance given the number of people on the road, footpaths are no good either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭Peterx

http://dublinmarathon.ie/rules.html

PACING OF ATHLETES
    Race judges may disqualify athletes who are paced by person or persons on bicycles on the race route.

- Essentially bicycles are discouraged, especially those on the route as they can be a nuisance to tired runners.
    - And more importantly if you wish to spectate, the marathon is NOT on the Sunday - I'm not sure from your OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭dubmess

I think you're referring to this:

http://www.cmrf.org/sponsorshipPage/show/1180

I think the jist of it that you sponsor the main guy €42 and then tag along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 846 ✭✭✭tantipie

dubmess wrote: »
    I think you're referring to this:

http://www.cmrf.org/sponsorshipPage/show/1180

I think the jist of it that you sponsor the main guy €42 and then tag along.
    thanks a mil..this is what i was referring to..no way would i join in on race day:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭emtroche

I've done it 4 times on the bike supporting our club member Noel Collier who has cerebral palsy and rides a tricycle. A guard tried to pull me from the bike one year much to the bemusement of all the spectators! I looked back and the look of absolute disgust on their faces was priceless! :D

Its great craic i have to say, riding around the city on closed roads but cycling unofficially is a big no no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 bullethead

Heard about this on the ray darcy show today but he never went into any detail about it . Nice idea and it is on the sat. before..........roll on monday and best of luck to my fellow runners:)

bullethead wrote: »
    Heard about this on the ray darcy show today but he never went into any detail about it . Nice idea and it is on the sat. before..........roll on monday and best of luck to my fellow runners:)

It's on the Sunday, check my link above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

I heard about this the other day, and yes, it was on the sunday, the day before the marathon, not the day of it.

Who ever was promoting it, seemed to be aiming it at someone who was maybe interested in running it next year, so that they could see the course and see what the distance was like.

irish-stew wrote: »
    I heard about this the other day, and yes, it was on the sunday, the day before the marathon, not the day of it.

Who ever was promoting it, seemed to be aiming it at someone who was maybe interested in running it next year, so that they could see the course and see what the distance was like.

It's a charity cycle, to raise money for Our Lady's Children's hospital in Crumlin. He's been doing it for the last 4 years. 42km, the guy is hoping to raise €42,000. Not looking likely as it hasn't been promoted very well, even people who've heard about it don't know what it's about. Shame.