Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Decisions, Decisions...

• 20-10-2012 9:09pm
    Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭

I've been without a car for some time but I'm ready to go out and buy now - but I'm just not sure what my best option is. Basically I want to keep the cost absolutely as low as possible, get something older, but hopefully decent nick - which will be a Lot of car for fairly small money.

My prerequisites are as follows: I want something small, cool, fun with a small-ish engine 2.0L Max - preferably smaller if possible. Needs to be reasonably quick - I've always had powerful cars - I'm not looking for superfast but I can't drive anything slow or boring, I need something with a bit of poke - and be fun to drive. I've had civic's etc in the past so I want something more refined and comfy this time. Hopefully leather seats and a nice interior etc - I want something with a bit of luxury for a change. Oh, I want all this for about 4k and hopefully a lot less if possible.

My overall preference is basically a Cooper S - but there are actually very few of them around with the right spec - and they range between 5-7k usually. I'm looking at one which if I could get for 5k it would be ideal, but I'm just not sure I want to spend that money -- there are other cars which might do just fine for an auful lot less money.... And I'm kinda after the best deal possible really.

Another thought was an Audi TT. There are a few around for 3-4k and if I could get a good one its a Lot of car for the money. 225bhp version is a beast too. Just not sure if it's risky buying a car 10/12 year old car. I'm so sick of cars breaking and costing me fortunes. Can't risk bad unrelibility. But are they risky/bad at this age/price?

There are lots of BMW's around, hard to ignore but it's not ideal really. Then again I did see a lovely 318i coupe, brilliant spec etc for 2k which would be hard to ignore as it's so cheap - I would seriously consider a good deal... I would also consider an old Golf GTi but again only if it was cheap and good spec.

Any thoughts on any of the above? What would you get if you were me? Any tips of advice appreciayed.
    Cheers
    Z

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3755353

that specific car is sold, but from a fanbois point of view its perfect (if a little felt) :P

1.8 190bhp, leather, all electrics etc etc, looks the part, very reliable... asking 2.5k ish for similar cars

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Merch

that doesnt seem half bad for the money, assuming it was all good and not hiding some horrible problem, 55k though?
    Maybe there is hope for me, if similar are going for that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

A 318i would be lifeless if you're comparing it with a 225hp TT. 325/330ci's are dirt cheap, and at least have some decent bit of power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭Chuck_Norris

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3929114

That was posted in another thread earlier. Granted, it's a 2.2. But you'd probably get it for less than asking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Luxury - Check
    Different - Check
    Bit of poke - Check

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/3914917

You could easily knock a grand off the price too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

BX 19 wrote: »
    Luxury - Check
    Different - Check
    Bit of poke - Check

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/3914917

You could easily knock a grand off the price too.

/\ - ahhhhh jebus ...... what kind of a message would you give out showing up in a oul lairy yoke like that...........:pac:

Zas, would a st focus do the job? Well well under budget......

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3593287

just an example, but you could get a well better and tastier example as cheap as this if not cheaper.

View2-12774280.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

MidlandsM wrote: »
    /\ - ahhhhh jebus ...... what kind of a message would you give out showing up in a oul lairy yoke like that...........:pac:

The message that you're not afraid to step out of the safe zone of Mini's, TT's, Celicas etc. ;)

BTW what happened to the 911 Zascar? Twas a bit of a long haul trying to get one IIRC.

I am not a sheep :D

I think there a great thing to drive, there big big car but the acceleration is something silly in them. Drove a bog standard 2.3t (150ish hp if I remember) and even that was fun to drive (was awful fun with the turbo going in 3rd gear)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,122 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

What happened to your 911? Sold it? Gave you trouble?

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Just sold the 911. Very glad to see the back of it. Broke my heart and cost me a fortune - hence the bangernomics decision.

Really liking the TT idea more - this for example is a lot of car for under 4k

MM thanks the Focus is something I had not considered but deffinitely worth thinking about. Great cars.

Zascar wrote: »
    Just sold the 911. Very glad to see the back of it. Broke my heart and cost me a fortune - hence the bangernomics decision.

Really liking the TT idea more - this for example is a lot of car for under 4k

MM thanks the Focus is something I had not considered but deffinitely worth thinking about. Great cars.

no probs, before you plunge for a TT, pm galwayTT here, he's got lots of advice on them on what to look out for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

T5 Volvo C70? Gorgeous car.

View2-14344107.jpeg

Only 1600 quid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

BX 19 wrote: »
    T5 Volvo C70? Gorgeous car.

View2-14344107.jpeg

Only 1600 quid.

Was looking at that last nigth, some yoke for the money pending a mechanical inspection, if my situation changed and i had to downgrade i would jump on this car unless i was forced to go coal burner :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

no probs, before you plunge for a TT, pm galwayTT here, he's got lots of advice on them on what to look out for.

LoL, I wish I was that smart......whilst I'm on my 3rd, I'd defer to the likes of George Dalton who fixes VAG's for specifics, but in general I'd say this..:

1. There are lots of TT's out there, so don't rush in.
    2. And....by dint of 1, there's loads of ropey ones........you'd be surprised how many are not maintained, or poorly maintained. If it looks like a dog, or a bodge, then away.
    3. Even at low prices, one or two repairs could v quickly be not-small, and push your spend up further than you ever thought you would. As an ex-911 owner myself, I feel your pain, but repairs on TT's are at least widely available. For good or ill, it's still a Golf derivative, so lots of people know their way around that 1.8T engine at this stage.
    4. Things to look for: the usual things, service history, timing belt history, on Quattro's, Haldex service history. Not having them doesn't rule them out completely, but you'll have to budget to do them, instead, so factor that into the price.
    5. Electrics. Ah yes......airbag lights, ESP and ABS issues, dashpod issues (swinging needles on petrol gauge and/or temp gauge as well). Dashpod is curable; post it off to BBA-Reman, and it comes back done. 15 minutes to take out/put in. ESP sensors can go awry, but you'll need to get codes read to determine if so, and which one (there are several different versions of the sensors).
    6. Throttle bodies can stick, and a clean with carb cleaner may work, or you're looking at changing it.
    7. Vacuum pipes can lead to odd/erratic idle issues. Again, all simple enough, but it's just a thing on the To Do list...
    8. There have been several recalls over the years, including for rear suspension (corrosion), so might be worth checking.
    9. Radio HU can go pear shaped. Just dump it and buy a modern Sony/Kenwood/Pioneer one.
    10. Clunks and rattles are the usual bushes/shocks you'd expect in any 10+ yr old car, and not the end of the world to fix.
    11. Window/door regulators give some trouble sometimes. Check if the windows drop when you open the doors. They are notorious for going out of sync.
    12. There have been coil pack issues with them as well. But there again, there's coilpack issues with anything built in the last 10 years imho........

There, off my head. I like TT's, always have. They're not perfect, and sometimes infuriating. But a 225bhp 1.8t is still a nice drive, and the interior is great - ahead of most Porsches by a country mile if we're being honest.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

galwaytt wrote: »
    LoL, I wish I was that smart......whilst I'm on my 3rd, I'd defer to the likes of George Dalton who fixes VAG's for specifics, but in general I'd say this..:

2. And....by dint of 1, there's loads of ropey ones........you'd be surprised how many are not maintained, or poorly maintained. If it looks like a dog, or a bodge, then away.
    3. Even at low prices, one or two repairs could v quickly be not-small, and push your spend up further than you ever thought you would. As an ex-911 owner myself, I feel your pain, but repairs on TT's are at least widely available. For good or ill, it's still a Golf derivative, so lots of people know their way around that 1.8T engine at this stage.
    4. Things to look for: the usual things, service history, timing belt history, on Quattro's, Haldex service history. Not having them doesn't rule them out completely, but you'll have to budget to do them, instead, so factor that into the price.
    5. Electrics. Ah yes......airbag lights, ESP and ABS issues, dashpod issues (swinging needles on petrol gauge and/or temp gauge as well). Dashpod is curable; post it off to BBA-Reman, and it comes back done. 15 minutes to take out/put in. ESP sensors can go awry, but you'll need to get codes read to determine if so, and which one (there are several different versions of the sensors).
    6. Throttle bodies can stick, and a clean with carb cleaner may work, or you're looking at changing it.
    7. Vacuum pipes can lead to odd/erratic idle issues. Again, all simple enough, but it's just a thing on the To Do list...
    8. There have been several recalls over the years, including for rear suspension (corrosion), so might be worth checking.
    9. Radio HU can go pear shaped. Just dump it and buy a modern Sony/Kenwood/Pioneer one.
    10. Clunks and rattles are the usual bushes/shocks you'd expect in any 10+ yr old car, and not the end of the world to fix.
    11. Window/door regulators give some trouble sometimes. Check if the windows drop when you open the doors. They are notorious for going out of sync.
    12. There have been coil pack issues with them as well. But there again, there's coilpack issues with anything built in the last 10 years imho........

There, off my head. I like TT's, always have. They're not perfect, and sometimes infuriating. But a 225bhp 1.8t is still a nice drive, and the interior is great - ahead of most Porsches by a country mile if we're being honest.

That's actually an excellent post, very insightful and I'm not even the one who's thinking of buying one! :)

galwaytt wrote: »

ahhhhh now GTT, you were being modest! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

166man wrote: »
    That's actually an excellent post, very insightful and I'm not even the one who's thinking of buying one! :)

...ah go on, go on, go on, go on, go on, go on, go on, go on, etc :D:D
    ahhhhh now GTT, you were being modest! :D

aw, Gee, shucks........ :o

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

So Zas,

the shortlist......

A TT
    An S3
    A Focus ST
    A mini SCharged
    A mad old saab

let me fire this into the mix, a 2007 current model Mx-5 ,low miles, 1 owner, a tad over budget, folding metal hardtop - perfect for the urban life, secure, safe, and drop top at the push of a button, its a mazda so it'll not give you any hassles.

View2-14233135.jpeg

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3897285

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭mitosis

So Zas,

the shortlist......

A TT
    An S3
    A Focus ST
    A mini SCharged
    A mad old saab

A bunch of girly cars and one manly old Saab ;)

The Volvo above is your man.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Thanks lads this is really helpful. MM yes I had thought of an MX-5 - and although I know they are fantastic drivers cars, they are simply too hairdresser for me - not that I'd really care but my mates would have a field day slagging me hahaha. I'm pushing the line already with a Cooper S and even a TT would raise some eyebrows.

The TT is certainly winning right now. Ticks all my boxes: It's small, looks great, fun to drive, cool, comfy and refined, cheap, small-ish engine, and with 225 horsies & 4 wheel drive for about 4k its the winner at the moment.

GTT thanks for that great post, a lot to think about there. You are right there are loads of them around at the moment: http://cars.donedeal.ie/find/cars/for-sale/Ireland/?filter%28make%29=Audi&filter%28max_mileage%29=90000&filter%28max_price%29=5000&filter%28max_year%29=Max+Year&filter%28mileage_metric%29=Miles&filter%28min_mileage%29=Min+Miles&filter%28min_price%29=Min+Price&filter%28min_year%29=Min+Year&filter%28model%29=TT - finding a good one is the problem. It's annoying that I'm carless at the moment too so even going to visit a bunch of these is tricky. I'm going to get a PPI done on any car before I buy it - but even trying to chose which ones to go and see is hard!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

Saab 9-5 Aero?

Full-14981775.jpeg

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4050643

I know this might be a bigger yoke than you were looking for but they're worth having a look at .
    Plenty of poke, bags of room, nothing much to go wrong except for the dreaded oil sludge buildup in the sump which isn't really that much of a problem aslong as you know what you are looking for.

They are lovely cars Remmy I'm just not sure I'm a Saab man. Bit big for what I'm looking for and more of a cruiser than a little nippy car. I do mostly short journeys and want something fun rather than a tourer.

Re the mpg of the TT - a quick look on Fuelly: http://www.fuelly.com/car/audi/tt%20quattro says these cars get mid 20's to early 30's mpg - that's pretty dam impressive for a 225bhp car! GalwayTT do you think that is accurate?

Thanks for all that advice lads, I'm fairly set on a TT now but finding a good one in my budget is more difficult than I thought. Quick question, how much of a difference is there between the 180bhp and the 225bhp versions? Is the 180 a lot slower in comparison? There does not seem to be much of a price premium for the 225 but they are more hard to come by, and even 1999 models with high mileage and no service history are trying for 5k which is a bit much. Trying to find an original, low mileage, post 2000 model with a service history is driving me nuts right now... I almost wish I could pay someone to just go and find the perfect car for me haha!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Thanks for all that advice lads, I'm fairly set on a TT now but finding a good one in my budget is more difficult than I thought. Quick question, how much of a difference is there between the 180bhp and the 225bhp versions? Is the 180 a lot slower in comparison? There does not seem to be much of a price premium for the 225 but they are more hard to come by, and even 1999 models with high mileage and no service history are trying for 5k which is a bit much. Trying to find an original, low mileage, post 2000 model with a service history is driving me nuts right now... I almost wish I could pay someone to just go and find the perfect car for me haha!

I've never driven a TT but I would imagine the difference between the 180 and 225 in a relatively light and small car would be massive. I have driven other VAG 1.8T's though and if going for one do yourself a favour and insist on a quattro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭Enigma IE

How about one of these?

Small, powerful, leather and rock solid. Never had one, always wanted one. I hear the back end slides out quite a bit, supposed to be a hoot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,126 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Idbatterim wrote: »

That yoke is the equivalent of a 1-series beemer, a car for people whos primary concern is the badge..

Idbatterim wrote: »

Ahh jaysus would ya come out of it...

Enigma IE wrote: »
    How about one of these?

Small, powerful, leather and rock solid. Never had one, always wanted one. I hear the back end slides out quite a bit, supposed to be a hoot.

I would consider an S2000 - I used to have an Ep3 Civic Type R, had it for 5 years and loved it. Thing is a Good S2000 is out of my budget - not many around. Only two seats however and the other thing is it's very like the Civic apart from the rwd and no roof. Kinda fancy something difference. Saying that if I could get a nice one for under 5k I would give it serious thought...

At some stage i plan on owning an Evo 7-8-9 and ofc a MK2 Focus RS, but in what order hmmz :p

Just thought i would share my wild ramblings :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭Enigma IE

I would consider an S2000 - I used to have an Ep3 Civic Type R, had it for 5 years and loved it. Thing is a Good S2000 is out of my budget - not many around. Only two seats however and the other thing is it's very like the Civic apart from the rwd and no roof. Kinda fancy something difference. Saying that if I could get a nice one for under 5k I would give it serious thought...

Getting an S2000 really depends on your situation. If you have kids or need to carry anything other than a mate, it's completely impractical. That said, there are very few S2000's on the road, good ones will cost you, but don't under-estimate the driving experience you could get. No harm in test driving one just to get a feel for how the ride and handling. It may make you stretch the budget, all things considered.

I had an EP3 Type-R myself for a number of years myself, I was seriously tempted to go for the S2000 but went practical instead! Anyway good luck with the choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

i know it'll be thrown straight out the door but....http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4024453 ?

Not at that price anyway, also it's a really really dull looking car in comparison to say an ST170/S2000/anything else in your budget really :pac:

no way that price but go in low! a clean s2k is out of budget anyway so theres no point in mentioning it really. dont think its any more dull looking than a mk1 st either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

I think that's quite possibly one of the ugliest cars around today

shup :D i dont like it much either but i like the colour on it. thought id throw it in anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

What's that you say?

07-08-03-mitsuoka-orochi.jpg

2003-Rover-City-Rover-2.jpg

ssangyong-actyon.jpg

So lads, here she is!

2012-11-01%2009.41.30.jpg

She's a bit dirty but you get the point! :D 2001, 225bhp Quattro. 79k on the clock, full service history. Totally original and almost immaculate. I'm delighted. It's a beautiful car and just a really lovely place to be. Heated leather seats, Bose stereo system, cruise control, lots of little toys and the quality of the build inside is fantastic. Love the little touches like you control the airflow by rotating the polished aluminium rings around the heater vents - all the knobs and switches are quality. Seats are fantastic and a nice big chunky leather steering wheel makes all the difference. I've never driven a 4wd or turbo car properly before (just a few little spins in mates cars etc) but I'm loving it. She pulls like a train and corners like nothing I've driven before. Plus, on the run home from the west last night I was getting almost 40mpg! I'm very happy - considering I paid less than 4.5k it's a serious amount of car for the money. 1.8 so tax is not too bad and I got insurance for €400!!

Thanks for all your help and advice choosing!
    Z

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭gonzo1

Nice Motor! Best of Luck with her:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Very nice Z - well done dude! :)

Nice car, give interior pics :)

Well wear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Get it remapped! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

They look great in black, happy motoring :)