Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rough value of my car to sell

• 20-10-2012 7:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭

Hey lads,

Im looking for an honest estimate from you people in the know of what price I can roughly expect to sell my car for.

Its a BMW 318i
    Blue
    127000 km
    Manual / Petrol
    Cruise control
    Recently serviced
    NCT'd until April 2013
    No log book however
    Slight scrape/dent over rear wheel

Otherwise in pretty good condition.

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭rizzodun

You forgot to add the year :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭barura

Slattsy wrote: »
    Hey lads,

Im looking for an honest estimate from you people in the know of what price I can roughly expect to sell my car for.

Its a BMW 318i
    Blue
    127000 km
    Manual / Petrol
    Cruise control
    Recently serviced
    NCT'd until April 2013
    No log book however
    Slight scrape/dent over rear while

Otherwise in pretty good condition.

Thanks.
    If it's your car, get the book from shannon for 12eur.

Otherwise you ain't going to get anywhere near the price of the car.

Assuming it is yours, of course.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭areyawell

Year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

2003 :o

The most important thing.
    I'll re-edit the op !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

€2750 of a happy camper. Lot less on a trade in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭Matthewjohn

Around €3000,with log book of course.

Cheers lads.
    From DoneDeal there's seems to be some chancers looking for a lot more than that !! I'd be happy with 3k alright. Bought for 5500 almost 2 years ago.

I'll arrange to call Shannon and arrange for a re-issue of the log book.
    This this take long ?

Cheers lads.
    From DoneDeal there's seems to be some chancers looking for a lot more than that !! I'd be happy with 3k alright. Bought for 5500 almost 2 years ago.

I'll arrange to call Shannon and arrange for a re-issue of the log book.
    This this take long ?
    Shouldn't take more than 10 working days, but can't find anything here from motor tax website. You can get the form from here to request a new book, however: http://www.motortax.ie/

barura wrote: »
    Shouldn't take more than 10 working days, but can't find anything here from motor tax website. You can get the form from here to request a new book, however: http://www.motortax.ie/

Thanks for that, really appreciate it.
    Have a good weekend.

Anyone want to buy a BMW??

Thanks for that, really appreciate it.
    Have a good weekend.

Anyone want to buy a BMW??
    Thanks very much! :)

I'd love one but don't have the money... It should sell pretty quick though. Hold out for the price you want and stand behind it. If it has a service history, that is a huge plus as well. That dent may lower the value however... But if it's straight, it should be grand.

Have a good one yourself! And get the logbook before you put it up for sale, nothing more dodgy than a person saying "the logbook is in the post"!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭ian87

Pal of mine sold a 2001 last April which needed O2 sensors and a few other bits done. He still got 2000 for her. I sold a
    00 323ci this time last year that was dog rough for 1900. You will have no problem getting a buyer

There's an awful lot of BMW's on DoneDeal, i'll have to be realistic too if i want to get rid of it, without selling myself myself short.
    Its the first car i'll be selling via donedeal etc as my last car went to my brother :)

Its in for a service this weekend.
    Will look into getting the log book on Moday morning.

Last few services have been in Sligo (Im living in Dublin) because my gf is from Sligo and a friend of the family services it when we're down (save a few €€€)

Can i simply send it down to him and get him to fill out what he's done over the last few services?

There's an awful lot of BMW's on DoneDeal, i'll have to be realistic too if i want to get rid of it, without selling myself myself short.
    Its the first car i'll be selling via donedeal etc as my last car went to my brother :)

Its in for a service this weekend.
    Will look into getting the log book on Moday morning.

Last few services have been in Sligo (Im living in Dublin) because my gf is from Sligo and a friend of the family services it when we're down (save a few €€€)

Can i simply send it down to him and get him to fill out what he's done over the last few services?
    So long as you don't lie, I cannot see anything wrong with doing that retroactively. If you have the receipts that would do you well also.

Def no receipts available, he works from his garage at home so I just give him a few bob.
    There's been no no serious work done on car since i've had it. Biggest issue was a the coolant sensor needed replacing so I wouldnt be codding anyone.

Def no receipts available, he works from his garage at home so I just give him a few bob.
    There's been no no serious work done on car since i've had it. Biggest issue was a the coolant sensor needed replacing so I wouldnt be codding anyone.
    I wasn't implying that. :) I'm just at home on a saturday night so I amn't really in the best of moods, apologies.

Anywho! You have the last service receipts to show the recent work? I'm sure if you explained the situation it would be fine about himself doing the work up in Sligo. I know I wouldn't if everything else checked out.

I wasn't implying that. :) I'm just at home on a saturday night so I amn't really in the best of moods, apologies.

Anywho! You have the last service receipts to show the recent work? I'm sure if you explained the situation it would be fine about himself doing the work up in Sligo. I know I wouldn't if everything else checked out.

Snap!!

No, I've no service receipts whatsoever.

Well if the oil is clean and the gasket isn't leaking it should be okay.

I'm sure there is other fellows here who could suggest something as well.

Be sure to give it a good clean, nothing worse than buying a dirty car.