Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Saturday Night Show - October 20th @ 9:45pm

• 19-10-2012 5:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭

The Big Fella's guests this week are as follows:

Brendan will be joined by Fair City stars Lorna Quinn and Martina Stanley on The Saturday Night Show this weekend.

The pair will exclusively reveal the dramatic road that lies ahead for their Fair City characters Lucy and Dolores.

Godfather of Italian food Antonio Carluccio will also chat to Brendan about his three great loves - food, women and wine.

Has internet pornography destroyed sex for a whole generation? Brendan meets Cindy Gallop founder of website make love not porn dot com.

After a tumultuous week in Irish football, legendary sports broadcaster Bill O'Herlihy gives his views on Republic of Ireland manager Giovanni Trapattoni, Enda Kenny and life after RTÉ.

http://www.rte.ie/ten/2012/1019/saturdaynightshow.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,272 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

I'll be joining the SNS Party (!) late tomorrow...hour-long 'The Thick Of It' special!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Hour long thick of it- boo yeah!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Fair City 'Stars'.

Thats a joke in itself. Nobody in FC could be described as being a star.
    In fairness the actors themselves probably hate that description too.

And "after a tumultuous week in Irish football" another excuse to interview RTÉ's own Bill O'Herlihy (again), because he is obviously the first person anyone thinks of when Irish football is mentioned.

I'm starting to think that anyone working in front of a camera on RTÉ is contract bound to be on standby for free interviews on the LLS and SNS on quiet weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Lapin, I agree with you for the most part. O'Herlihy is supposed to be retired but it appears to me that he has been on RTE more now than before he retired :eek: Miriam had him on her show twice during the summer.

As for the Fair City stars, I don't know if you watch Fair City or not but the 'Crazy Lucy' storyline has been very good over the last few months so I think there will be a good bit of interest in this item.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

MrsD007 wrote: »

I don't know if you watch Fair City or not ...........

I did watch the very first ever episode back in 1989 and caught about 10 minutes of it since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,686 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

He should have got on Brady and Sadlier, would have been a massive bustup, tv gold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,696 ✭✭✭Lisha

am looking forward to the fair city actors, people can love it or hate it but it is one of my guilty pleasures:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

Bill O'Herlihy was a guest on Miriam's Saturday Night Show both this Summer and last.

So that makes three appearances for Bill 'Mr. Saturday Night' O'Herlihy in 15 months. I like him as a presenter, but that is a little much.

Nice to see the quare one from Fair City on, her plotline went on for far too long but I think she played the role very well.

I don't think I will be around tonight but I hope you all enjoy it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Saharahhh

Another reason to go out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,374 ✭✭✭twirlagig

.......As for the Fair City stars, I don't know if you watch Fair City or not but the 'Crazy Lucy' storyline has been very good over the last few months so I think there will be a good bit of interest in this item.

MrsD, I am really looking forward to Dolores & Lucy being on this tonight - I've been glued to the storyline all Summer! Can't wait to see what Lucy is like in 'real-life', so to speak.... :D

Limerick band 'Hermitage Green' will be performing their debut single, 'Golden Rule'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 Tigger08

twirlagig wrote: »
    MrsD, I am really looking forward to Dolores & Lucy being on this tonight - I've been glued to the storyline all Summer! Can't wait to see what Lucy is like in 'real-life', so to speak.... :D

Me fein freisin:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭Go Harvey Go

RTE TEN wrote:
    Brendan will be joined by Fair City stars Lorna Quinn and Martina Stanley on The Saturday Night Show this weekend.

The pair will exclusively reveal the dramatic road that lies ahead for their Fair City characters Lucy and Dolores.

Godfather of Italian food Antonio Carluccio will also chat to Brendan about his three great loves - food, women and wine.

Has internet pornography destroyed sex for a whole generation? Brendan meets Cindy Gallop founder of website make love not porn dot com.

After a tumultuous week in Irish football, legendary sports broadcaster Bill O'Herlihy gives his views on Republic of Ireland manager Giovanni Trapattoni, Enda Kenny and life after RTÉ.
    Limerick band 'Hermitage Green' will be performing their debut single, 'Golden Rule'.

After last week, I can't help but wonder whether or not that's the full list of guests...

• Site Banned Posts: 69 ✭✭greecy_joe

Lapin wrote: »
    Fair City 'Stars'.

Thats a joke in itself. Nobody in FC could be described as being a star.
    In fairness the actors themselves probably hate that description too.

And "after a tumultuous week in Irish football" another excuse to interview RTÉ's own Bill O'Herlihy (again), because he is obviously the first person anyone thinks of when Irish football is mentioned.

I'm starting to think that anyone working in front of a camera on RTÉ is contract bound to be on standby for free interviews on the LLS and SNS on quiet weeks.

brendan o connor hasnt a rashers when it comes to sport or football so it makes perfect sense that he has bill o herlihy on

sure they can have the craic about being from cork which will no doubt be hillarious for all

• Site Banned Posts: 4,066 ✭✭✭Silvio.Dante

Lucy's HOTTTTT!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Jaysus, Lucy looks a lot better in real life.

I like 'Dolores' but why is she wearing an army tent :eek:

Lucy looka brill! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Lucyfer looks hawt!

WTF is Dolly wearing?? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭deelite

Love that scene

That slapping scene was brilliant!

Lucyfer has very white teeth :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

That slapping scene was brilliant!

Brings a whole new use of the phrase "She's a right slapper".........

I cannot look at Dolores in that stupid "dress"

Did Dolores leave a pen in her hair

amdublin wrote: »
    They are way too white though.

The fake tan craze has been replaced with bleached white teeth craze.

I cannot look at Dolores in that stupid "dress"

Has Dolly got bits of sticks in her hair??...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

QI excellent- Thick of it Looking good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Delores is a proper luvvie.

Amazing how plain of a girl Lucyfer is on FC and how glamourous she is tonight.

Dolores dresses better than Martina.

I knew that idiot Wayne would take her back.

Love that ad so heart warming

We had a sick baby item last week too :eek:

Edit: I'm familiar with the work done by the Jack & Jill Foundation and they do fantastic work.

I'm seriously thinking of sending RTE a bill for counselling for the constant tugging of my heartstrings............

I love how easy it is to donate by text now

Could we ever have just one Saturday Night Show without a depressing story??

Or Friday HA..........:(

I'm seriously thinking of sending RTE a bill for counselling for the constant tugging of my heartstrings............
    It has gone beyond a joke at this stage. I can see why Brendan is plugging Jack & Jill, they are struggling to survive since the HSE reduced their funding :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭cofy

or a lls without one of these stories. I did not think that these stories were that regular on the SNS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Gotya

Reality.

We have Liveline 24/7 these days, this is meant to be a Saturday night entertainment show :eek:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭kieraneen14

whatever bout the white teeth she has a lovely little rack on her

BTW - Thanks to all the raving last on the LLS thread last night about 'Breaking Bad', I picked up the first series today on DVD! Hope it's as good as ye all say! :)
    Major day on the couch tomorrow!!:D

After last week, I can't help but wonder whether or not that's the full list of guests...
    Harvey, I have to hand it to you, we do have a surprise guest. You should be working for Psychics Live ;):D

Gotya wrote: »
    Reality.

I'm very familiar with reality but would it be too much to ask RTE to give us just one hour of light entertainment on a Saturday night, along the lines of Jonathan Ross or Graham Norton??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭Go Harvey Go

Is it just me, or was that a very short ad break? :confused:

And without any disrespect whatsoever to this lady, I don't believe that she was billed in that RTE TEN article.

So that's the second episode in a row - at least - where not all the guests have been billed.

Again, I ask - is this deliberate, or was a last-minute booking made? :confused: :rolleyes:

I'm very familiar with reality but would it be too much to ask RTE to give us just one hour of light entertainment on a Saturday night, along the lines of Jonathan Ross or Graham Norton??

Graham Norton is on tv3 tonight at 11.20.

Gotya wrote: »
    Reality.

We all have Reality Gotya at home....It would be nice to laugh at shows that promise you entertainment......

I have reality....and if I want to see more I'll look at the Reality TV shows...

I accept this is how crappy funding is and this is what people are reduced to - I did it myself for long enough for causes close to my heart.....

But I am literally bleeding to death with sad stories on RTE Entertainment shows.........

*Rant*....:(

I'm glad that Brendan pointed out the cost of looking after a child at home with home help or Jack and Jill, versus a child being cared for in hospital. The HSE really need to buck their ideas up.:mad::mad::mad: