Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Garda Sergeant can't afford food

• Site Banned Posts: 69 ✭✭greecy_joe

kupus wrote: »
    For what its worth my view is that this is a spin doctored story, and a complete fabrication. Its not as if unions or government employees have lied before.
    Unions putting a sob story into the main media to favor themselves and their members so they can cry the poor mouth.

Its fairly obvious that the numbers dont add up, thanks to the work guys or girls(see im not a hardcore conservative ;) ) have done here adding it up, so something is amiss.

agreed , the whole thing could be a union concocted sob story , intended to stave off criticism of croke park

• Registered Users Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭whatdoicare

That story can't be real! We have a mortgage and bills and put together we get about 30K a year, it's tight but by no means uncomfortable. I've never gone hungry or without internet, tv, heating etc.
    What the hell are they spending 75K on??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,950 ✭✭✭Milk & Honey

I don't think there is any Garda sergeant involved. I think this article depicts an individual who is a composite of a number of different public sector workers so no one individual is identified.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,469 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

If this individual actually exists (which I doubt), probably mortgages on three other 'investment properties'

• Registered Users Posts: 901 ✭✭✭angeline

That story can't be real! We have a mortgage and bills and put together we get about 30K a year, it's tight but by no means uncomfortable. I've never gone hungry or without internet, tv, heating etc.

30K a year means you are on the lower tax band. For people earning around €55 grand and on the higher tax band, a lot of money is eaten up by tax and pension levies, etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,449 ✭✭✭✭pwurple

Good old begrudger ireland.

When you are on low wages you pay feck all tax. When you are a student you live off mammy and daddy.

I have seen some seriously stupid suggestions on this thread. Rent?
    So then he would be liable for paying 42% on the rental income as well as the mortgage and paying rent on the other place. Utter genius. :rolleyes:

We all know people who are splashing out money on sky tv, and crazy high internet costs, and high phone bills, but the reality is that the middle earners are having the squeeze put on.

For the brainaics suggesting the wife works, again, unless she falls into high salary job, it will never cover the childcare costs.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,802 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

greecy_joe wrote: »
    while their are many ways of interpreting this story , one thing is certain , it firmly puts paid to any idea that guards are underpaid in this country

First off, he's a Garda Sergeant, so he will get paid more than the regular Garda. And, do you think that €27k starting off (after 15 months of €202.47 per week) is a good wage for the job that's done? Also, with the knowledge that it goes up to €48k a year (add about 6k for allowences for night/weekend work) after 17 years and won't go any higher after that, is that too excessive? All that being gross by the way, take a good chunk out for all the taxes, it's not a fantastic wage.

I'll agree that the first 10 years it does have a good jump in wages (€27k up to €45k), but over the next 7 years it goes up to €48K and no more increments after that. That's it. Same wage for 13+ years.

I can't get access to the Sergeants pay, but it's obviously a lot more than a regular Garda. And, going by recent figures, there's 13,500 approx members in the force, with 11,000 of Garda rank. So, i don't believe that the Gardai are overpaid, i believe that the ranks above it may be.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

after paying mortgage and health insurance they have about forty three thousand, then they have all the other charges, yes i can she is telling as it is, they have to pay all doctors visits, medical bills outside of medical insurance, they dont get any back to school assistance,

• Registered Users Posts: 836 ✭✭✭uberalles

Someone is telling porky pies?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 64 ✭✭twistedbrains

65,000 a year grrrrrrrrr in public service (army) on poxy 25,000 after all levies and crap but i will feed my wife and kids before i pay my morgage :D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 16,119 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

pwurple wrote: »
    For the brainaics suggesting the wife works, again, unless she falls into high salary job, it will never cover the childcare costs.

Wasn't the kid offered a private college?

And lots of people manage to may childcare costs and have a bit left over. If she was trying but couldn't get a job, that would be a different matter.

• Registered Users Posts: 1 aosdana

According to Dan O'Brien in this report from the Irish Times, the average household income in Ireland in 2011 was €22,168.

The CSO indicates here that the average earnings per week (for working people) in Ireland are less than €700, and have been since the beginning of 2011. That adds up to earnings of less than €36,400 per year.

However difficult the Garda sergeant and his family find it to live on €65k per year, they certainly cannot be considered to live in the "poverty class", silent or otherwise.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Maire2009

goat2 wrote: »
    after paying mortgage and health insurance they have about forty three thousand, then they have all the other charges, yes i can she is telling as it is, they have to pay all doctors visits, medical bills outside of medical insurance, they dont get any back to school assistance,

I have to pay all that out of a wage that comes to €19k a year after tax. Now, I'm single so I manage fine, but there are people in there with kids and they're not entitled to much assistance. One woman had to fight for years to get her son a medical card and he has a form of dwarfism. If they can manage of that wage well Mrs spent above her means over the years and now having it blow up in her face can manage it on that much LEFT OVER after bills.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 342 ✭✭martin46585

Ditch the cornflake days, and take you and yours down to the local topaz station, (in the company car off course, ) and avail of the complimentary freebies......
    Or reign in your spending like everyone else.....cut your cloth and all that.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,330 ✭✭✭earlyevening

goat2 wrote: »

Included in that €528 weekly payment into a Garda Credit Union managed budget account is a €75 payment into the Garda health insurance scheme.This would provide full cover for the couple and their children under 18.Included in the cover is a payment of €35 per GP visit(limited to 50 visits per year).
    https://www.medicalaid.ie/

From the Irish Times article:

At least if I was on social welfare, my [child] would get a grant for college, I would get the interest paid on my mortgage and I would get medical cards. At the moment, I can’t afford to bring my children to the doctor.”

I lifted the above from a post on politics.ie
    More evidence that the whole story is BS. Gardai have excellent medical cover.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

The average industrial wage is apparently 35,000 so that what the majority of people in Ireland live on and get by on, raising a family at the same time. This guy earns twice this and the family are losing money every week despite having a net income of over 4K a month
    How do other people manage?, does everyone in the country need to earn over over 75 K a year to get by?
    According to author Kathy Sheridans post a while ago in the thread on the IT site they get 92 euro a week in child benefit, does that give an idea how many kids they have?
    There's something not right about this story...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

The average industrial wage is apparently 35,000 so that what the majority of people in Ireland live on and get by on, raising a family at the same time. This guy earns twice this and the family are losing money every week despite having a net income of over 4K a month
    How do other people manage?, does everyone in the country need to earn over over 75 K a year to get by?
    According to author Kathy Sheridans post a while ago in the thread on the IT site they get 92 euro a week in child benefit, does that give an idea how many kids they have?
    There's something not right about this story...

2.5 children? :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,330 ✭✭✭earlyevening

There was a similar BS story12 months ago, just before the budget about some fella starving himself and his family in order to pay the mortgage. The facts on that one didnt add up either.

Anyone recall it?

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Also, she says they couldn't afford fees for a 'prestigious' college. What's wrong with a slightly lesser college and the kid working part time to pay the fees?

What I'd like to know is since when are any of the private, fee-paying colleges in Ireland more prestigious than the others? TCD and UCD require just the registration fee paid, same as any IT. Whole thing's a bull****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

There was a similar BS story12 months ago, just before the budget about some fella starving himself and his family in order to pay the mortgage. The facts on that one didnt add up either.

Anyone recall it?

The one where his children had to eat cardboard?

Damm Irish times subscription:mad:

Here's the best link I could find

But the story told by this unemployed man from the town of Tralee in County Kerry looks like it could be a bad Kerry Joke to me. He even followed it up with a telephone interview with the Irish Times - in which he told the story of how his daughter was so hungry – she had eaten cardboard from a cereal box.

BUT – The figures just don’t make sense. Mr MacDomhnaill is either badly advised , not telling the whole story – or should be locked up for child neglect.
    (More likely – its just a fictional letter from someone trying to increase publicity for “debt forgivness” policies )

Found a better link :D

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056369062&page=1

• Registered Users Posts: 51,478 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I have no doubt that the Garda Sergeant and his wife do not exist.
    The newspapers are just trying to generate articles of interest when things are quiet.
    They certainly succeeded with this one.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

Included in that €528 weekly payment into a Garda Credit Union managed budget account is a €75 payment into the Garda health insurance scheme.This would provide full cover for the couple and their children under 18.Included in the cover is a payment of €35 per GP visit(limited to 50 visits per year).
    https://www.medicalaid.ie/

From the Irish Times article:

At least if I was on social welfare, my [child] would get a grant for college, I would get the interest paid on my mortgage and I would get medical cards. At the moment, I can’t afford to bring my children to the doctor.”

I lifted the above from a post on politics.ie
    More evidence that the whole story is BS. Gardai have excellent medical cover.
    they are lucky to have that health cover,getting away lightly, because with vhi people have to pay the gp and specialists visits and the medicine, also what is the limit of income when it come to getting grants for college,
    can someone break down all the expenses, they must pay huge tax, also other charges. i am interested in a breakdown of the sixty five thousand,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭strandroad

The newspapers are just trying to generate articles of interest when things are quiet.

They definitely hammered home the message that a Garda Sergeant brings home €75k and borrows half a mil for the house. We'll see this figure a lot next time a divisive frontline article appears!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

So you think the Times also email Leo Vardakaar pretending to be someone else?

First off, he's a Garda Sergeant, so he will get paid more than the regular Garda. And, do you think that €27k starting off (after 15 months of €202.47 per week) is a good wage for the job that's done? Also, with the knowledge that it goes up to €48k a year (add about 6k for allowences for night/weekend work) after 17 years and won't go any higher after that, is that too excessive? All that being gross by the way, take a good chunk out for all the taxes, it's not a fantastic wage.

I'll agree that the first 10 years it does have a good jump in wages (€27k up to €45k), but over the next 7 years it goes up to €48K and no more increments after that. That's it. Same wage for 13+ years.

I can't get access to the Sergeants pay, but it's obviously a lot more than a regular Garda. And, going by recent figures, there's 13,500 approx members in the force, with 11,000 of Garda rank. So, i don't believe that the Gardai are overpaid, i believe that the ranks above it may be.

i believe all ranks in AGS are overpaid and their pension is redicolously generous , as for tax , we all pay that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Pappa Charlie

There sure are some bitter bitter people on these forums, wouldnt it be great if you could flick a switch and see the poster through your screen, many would turn and run a mile in shame with their cover blown, keyboard warriers and full of ****e. We shout about how great the Irish are but this recession is starting to confirm to me that we're 60% scumbags and begrudgers. Guess which bracket are paying the tax for the other bracket!

is their a point in there somewhere which is relevant to the topic in hand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 787 ✭✭✭Emeraldy Pebbles

What I'd like to know is since when are any of the private, fee-paying colleges in Ireland more prestigious than the others?

Exactly, the private colleges in Ireland are shíte.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,478 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

mhge wrote: »
    They definitely hammered home the message that a Garda Sergeant brings home €75k and borrows half a mil for the house. We'll see this figure a lot next time a divisive frontline article appears!

If he can TAKE HOME 75k he is on some wage ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭strandroad

If he can TAKE HOME 75k he is on some wage ;)

Point taken! Earns, not takes home of course.