Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Air Rifles

• 13-10-2012 10:19am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26

Hi all

Over the past few weeks ive decided im going to get an Air Rifle pcp type. I phoned around a few Gun dealers who had little or no air rifles and i repeatedly got the impression that they were trying to talk me out of purchasing one.

So i suppose im asking if anyone here knows a dealer with a selection?, i do know what model im after but of course id like to get a feel of it. Im after the Air Arms s410 or s510 new or second hand.

And why the lack of interest in Air Rifles in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭rsole1

Hi all

Over the past few weeks ive decided im going to get an Air Rifle pcp type. I phoned around a few Gun dealers who had little or no air rifles and i repeatedly got the impression that they were trying to talk me out of purchasing one.

So i suppose im asking if anyone here knows a dealer with a selection?, i do know what model im after but of course id like to get a feel of it. Im after the Air Arms s410 or s510 new or second hand.

Lakelands has a few Daystate air rifles, they're pricey enough. One puts out 60ft/lbs in .22 so plenty of power.

Lack of interest in air rifles is the €80 and need for a licence - in UK no licence required for 12ft/lbs and under.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭dev110

What you could do is ring some of the Northern dealers.
    I'm fairly sure Tannyoky in Newry usually have a good selection of air rifles.

The only difference is after you get your license is you will have to apply to the DOJ for an import license. These are free and easily done.

I think it is definitely an option to be considered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭German pointer

Aim & Swing in Mountnugent is suppose to have good selection of air rifles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 Audioslave82

Thanks for the information lads. Phoned Griffin Hawe today re Air Arms s410 said he could get me one no problem, standard no scope mounts strap etc for..... €845 :eek: . I was planning on spending €1000 for the whole set up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭Lullymore24

Thanks for the information lads. Phoned Griffin Hawe today re Air Arms s410 said he could get me one no problem, standard no scope mounts strap etc for..... €845 :eek: . I was planning on spending €1000 for the whole set up.

And you have to buy a Gun Cabinet to meet security standards for "secure accommodation 2009"

That's why a .22lr CZ would be a Cheaper buy, and Most Honest Dealers would Tell you that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 genuineirl

I had the same problem. I wanted air rifle aa or daystate but nobody in Eire have anything nice in reasonable price. To much hassle and time to import from UK and prices!!! Thats why I got .17HMR and I'm more than happy whit.
    Realy better is get rimfire rifle - more power for the same price, the same licence, and when you go plinking don't have to recharge air tank every couple shots and carry charging pump.
    Yes the bullets are more expensive but not much in .22lr, and the noise is bigger but...
    Decision is up to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭daithi55

my freind has one of these setups and he got it a good price
    cant remember but il be chatting to him later
    it included divers bottle and all that craic and i think spare magazines its was second hand but great condition
    a lad emigrating was selling it
    if ya hold out you will get one eventually but heading into a gun shop and looking for one ya will end up with prices like you have been quoted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭KE_MAN

Hi all

Lack of interest by Irish Dealers in Air Rifles / Hunting is driven by Firearms Licence Laws here in the ROI. Hence Irish Dealers are not interested and dont know anything about them. You will have to look to Northern Irleand or UK. In the UK i can recommend Blackpool Air Rifles www.airgunbuyer.com The are one of the best and very competitive. Here in Ireland i can recommend Tannyoky (Newry) Cecil & Gavin McClure T: 028 3831 8308 www.tannyokyguns.co.uk or Norman Harpur, Fermanagh www.normanharpur.com

You will need to apply for a Licence at www.garda.ie It will take about one month to get gun licence and a week to get Importation Permit. This is got from Depatment of Justice. All the above delares in N.I. / UK will help you with paperwork. It is quite straighforward and no hassle getting import permit. Caveat Emptor - dont believe or listen to Irish Dealers when it comes to Air Rifles !

Good choice of gun too. If you need any further information let me know and i will try to help you. Up the Airgunners - Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭KE_MAN

Does the €845 include the Buddy Bottle ? If yes, is it a 3Ltr or 7Ltr bottle ? This sounds very competitive if it includes the bottle. Griffin Hawe have supplied a few PCP Air Rifles in the past to Air Gun enthusiasts.

KE MAN thanks for the reply, No i dont think it did include the buddy bottle. As for the license, i have the form and ive spoken to the garda and theyve indicated that there should be no problem with my application. My only grey areas are as mentioned above and 2 permissions..which im working on very hard. Diffucult when youre not from the area.

Checked youre link for Blackpool Air Rifles, It says they do not export Telescopic sights over 4 magnification
    Bipods
    Silencers
    Pellets with guns ( We have to ship pellets separately )
    Airguns over 12ft/lb ( 16 joules)

I was hopeing for more than 12ft/lb, scope and silencer

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 268 ✭✭owelfisherman

KE MAN thanks for the reply, No i dont think it did include the buddy bottle. As for the license, i have the form and ive spoken to the garda and theyve indicated that there should be no problem with my application. My only grey areas are as mentioned above and 2 permissions..which im working on very hard. Diffucult when youre not from the area.

Checked youre link for Blackpool Air Rifles, It says they do not export Telescopic sights over 4 magnification
    Bipods
    Silencers
    Pellets with guns ( We have to ship pellets separately )
    Airguns over 12ft/lb ( 16 joules)

I was hopeing for more than 12ft/lb, scope and silencer
    Wolverine 303 is the best on going full stop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

Licence is the reason all right , I've a cz .17 hmr full package 8 - 32 x 50 hawk scope , mod and by pod for 800 if it interested you in mint condition

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭extremetaz

Aim & Swing in Mountnugent is suppose to have good selection of air rifles

Someone on here posted in another thread that Ian's stock of air rifles has dwindled considerable - most likely on account of all the recommendations he's be getting on here.

Haven't been up with him in a good while now so I can't either confirm or deny this - so likely best to give him a bell and see what he has there at hand before heading up.

Pure gent to deal with though - couldn't recommend him highly enough.

Ill give Ian a ring, thanks.

Just to update, i spent all of yesterday driving around knocking doors seeking permission. Its very hard to keep going after numerous rejections.I must have knocked 50 doors before i got my first yes, it was 100 acres of stubble fields. Then once i had that i mentioned his name to the following houses and got another 50-60 acres. So thats my 2 permissions thats required and im still going to press on in search of more.

I did come across a guy that seemed dead sound and he told me that he once gave a guy permission to shoot, and a few times he'd see starngers in the fields shooting and approach them to get off it, their reply was "aw were sorry we seen someone else shooting it the other day and thought you didnt mind" and as a result he finds it easier to say no to anyone seeking permission. It unfortunate that nice shooting land like that is lost because some eejits dont have the little bit of common sense and respect to ask permission.