Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

HEC: Leinster V Exeter, 3.40pm 13/10/2012 RDS

• 12-10-2012 11:43am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

Slightly belated preview... by Total Legend
    Heineken Cup action returns to the RDS this weekend as Leinster set out on what they hope will be the first stage in a 9-game journey ending less than a mile from its starting point, with an unprecedented three in a row at the Aviva Stadium on May 18th.

For Exeter Chiefs, this is a beginning of a very different sort. Promoted to the Premiership only two years , to qualify for the Heineken so soon was a massive achievement and they will be hoping to make a positive first impression.

Looking at the respective team sheets, the result would appear to be a foregone conclusion; while Leinster can call on international regulars and Lions stars, the Exeter lineup has a much more unfamiliar feel to it. Many Irish fans will recognise the names of Whitten, Steenson and Hayes; Whitten took the brave decision to leave a career on the fringes of the Ulster team and it appears to be paying off for him, while Hayes and Steenson have been plying their trade under the dimmer lights of second-tier English rugby before Exeter's promotion.

Leinster's selection is as much a product of their lengthy injury list as it is of Joe Schmidt's tactics. Regular first-choice players Rob Kearney and Gordon D'Arcy have just missed out on a return while Sean O'Brien, Dominic Rya, Rhys Ruddock, Eoin O'Malley, Dave Kearney and Luke Fitzgerald remain on the long-term absence list.

All this means that Ian Madigan continues his apprenticeship at full-back; he will have learned a lot from his costly mistake against Munster last week but he showed flashes of attacking abilities that could see him develop into a genuine option at 15. Andrew Conway has recovered from the stinger he picked up last week while both O'Driscoll and Nacewa have also put knocks behind them. At 12, Fergus McFadden will be keen to build on his strong showing last week and stake a claim to D'Arcy's jersey.

Up front, Cian Healy and Leo Cullen return from injury; Devin Toner could be considered unlucky to lose out but perhaps the organisational ability of Cullen coupled with the grunt provided by Browne gives a good balance to the second row. Certainly, Exeter have a big pack and will look to win the collisions up front, so the fitness of Kevin McLoughlin is an added bonus in that regard. Or is it? The presence of two back-row forwards on the bench in Jordi Murphy and Leo Auva'a, at the expense of a third back, might indicate that the management are worried about McLaughlin's ability to last 80 minutes.

Player-watch
    Exeter: Luke Arscott at full-back is an exciting runner with ball in hand so Sexton and Madigan need to avoid kicking to him in too much space.
    Leinster: Richardt Strauss announced his eligibility for the Ireland team with a stunning display at the Aviva last week, he'll look to build on that and force his way into Declan Kidney's reckoning.

Prediction
    Paddy Power are quoting Leinster as 17-point favourites and in truth, it's hard to see one area of the game in which Exeter are going to come out on top. The weather forecast is for a dry, bright afternoon which will suit the team with the better skill-set and that has to be the Champions. A lot will depend on how well Schmidt has been able to manage the various injuries he's had but if this Leinster side put three tries on Munster last week, they should be looking for a bonus-point tomorrow.

HERE WE GO AGAIN! by MollyJh

Leinster open their defence of the Heineken Cup tomorrow at home to Exeter Chiefs, a side that has surprised many in it's performance in the Aviva Premiership.

Leinster are off the back of a win against old rivals Munster, one which threatened to derail their Heineken ambitions before it even began with Kevin McLoughlin, Isa Nacewa, Brian O'Driscoll and Andrew Conway all leaving the pitch early through injury. With doubts over the availability of Rob Kearney and Gordon D'Arcy along with the long term absence of Sean O'Brien Leinster fans had a nervous wait this week to see if even Cian Healy, Leo Cullen and Isaac Boss would be available.

Thankfully those 3 players returned to full fitness and the injuries to those players who left the field last week against Munster were not serious enough to keep them out of the squad. Still though Leinster have to make do without D'Arcy and Kearney and the back line has been reshuffled to reflect that.

On the other hand Exeter Chiefs are off the back of a big win against reigning AP champions Harlequins, having won at home by a handsome score of 42-28. While not much is known about the new boys to the HEC that result alone should be enough to have us all sit up and take notice. A side that are physically big and strong they seem to have little trouble finding the tryline being the second highest try scorers in the AP. Lest we deceive ourselves into thinking that "it's just the Premiership" it's worth pointing out that they have scored 4 more tries than Leinster in as many games. And conceded 7 less. This is not a team to be taken lightly.

Leinster have gone with the usual suspects in the front row and the return of Cian Healy will be a massive boost against a side like Exeter. A fine scrummager, his work in the loose will most likely prove vital to Leinsters chances. In the second row Cullen is partnered by Damien Browne. Again this is a move that reflects the fact that we need power against this side and Browne will provide the grunt work we are used to seeing from him. McLaughlin, Jennings and Heaslip make up a back row that, despite the absence of Sean O'Brien, is still a fine unit.

Reddan partners Sexton in the half backs, and the centre partnership from last week remains. McFadden will be looking to put in another impressive display to try and convince Joe Schmidt that he belongs in that jersey. The back 3 of Nacewa, Conway and Madigan also returns from last week. One must assume that Nacewa is going to 11, rather than his favoured full back spot, in order to ensure that Leinster are as defensively sound as possible. Madigan will be looking to build on what was a reasonably good performance last week while leaving out the bloopers like the one that led to the first Munster try.

On the bench Schmidt has opted for 6 forwards and 2 backs, most likely due to the demands of the A team who play Leeds Carnegie at 7pm. But with the likes of Cronin, van der Merwe and Toner to call on as well as a fit again Boss it's a bench that looks a lot stronger than the one we saw last week.

A tough game awaits Leinster, but if we want to be contenders again this year it's a game we have to win. Personally I'd take a 1 point win at this stage, but a statement of intent wouldn't go astray either. And of course no injuries. It's upon us again. The greatest competition in rugby union. Let's hope this season brings us all the drama and excitement of last. I can't wait!
    LEINSTER:|EXETER CHIEFS:
    |
    15: Ian Madigan|15. Luke Arscott
    14: Andrew Conway|14. Ian Whitten
    13: Brian O'Driscoll|13. Phil Dollman
    12: Fergus McFadden|12. Jason Shoemark
    11: Isa Nacewa|11. Matt Jess
    10: Jonathan Sexton|10. Gareth Steenson
    9: Eoin Reddan|9. Haydn Thomas
    |
    1: Cian Healy|1. Brett Sturgess
    2: Richardt Strauss|2. Simon Alcott
    3: Mike Ross|3. Carl Rimmer
    4: Leo Cullen CAPTAIN|4. Tom Hayes CAPTAIN
    5: Damian Browne|5. James Hanks
    6: Kevin McLaughlin|6. Tom Johnson
    7: Shane Jennings|7. James Scaysbrook
    8: Jamie Heaslip|8. Richard Baxter
    |
    16: Sean Cronin|16. Chris Whitehead
    17: Heinke van der Merwe |17. Chris Budgen
    18: Jamie Hagan|18. Ben Moon
    19: Devin Toner|19. Aly Muldowney
    20: Leo Auva'a|20. Dean Mumm
    21: Jordi Murphy|21. Will Chudley
    22: Isaac Boss|22. Ignacio Mieres
    23: Fionn Carr|23. Sireli Naqelevuki

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Anyone been watching much of Exeter this season? Haven't seen any AP myself so not overly sure what to expect. I believe it's big ball carriers in the backs as much as the forwards and so this could be a bruiser?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 881 ✭✭✭ray jay

Great match preview, I'm feeling really hyped up for the match now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

molloyjh wrote: »
    Anyone been watching much of Exeter this season? Haven't seen any AP myself so not overly sure what to expect. I believe it's big ball carriers in the backs as much as the forwards and so this could be a bruiser?

Same here - heard lots, haven't seen anything. They look like a bunch of big lads from 1 to 15. I wouldn't want them running at us all day... Hopefully we can test their defences instead...

Great to see Locky fit for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

Has anyone watched a lot of Exeter this year. Where has Whitten been playing, he would have originally be a centre but seemed to be used as a utility back in his last year with Ulster and is on the wing for this game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

Has anyone watched a lot of Exeter this year. Where has Whitten been playing, he would have originally be a centre but seemed to be used as a utility back in his last year with Ulster and is on the wing for this game

From what I've seen he's been on the wing most of the time, think he's started every game so far for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭Heroditas

Steenson and not Meires at 10? Interesting.
    Also, Naqelevuki on the bench as well?
    Trying to contain us for as long as possible and then bring those two on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,080 ✭✭✭hallelujajordan

They've beaten Harlequins, Saracens and Sale Sharks at home already this year, scoring 95 points across the three games ..

Is anyone else worried about the lack of cover for the backs on the replacements bench . . Who moves into 12/13 if McFadden/O'Driscoll get injured ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭Heroditas

Is anyone else worried about the lack of cover for the backs on the replacements bench . . Who moves into 12/13 if McFadden/O'Driscoll get injured ?

Sexton or Nacewa can both play at 12 if McFadden is injured.
    McFadden can move to 13 if BOD is injured.
    But yes, it still is a bit worrying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭totallegend

Heineken Cup action returns to the RDS this weekend as Leinster set out on what they hope will be the first stage in a 9-game journey ending less than a mile from its starting point, with an unprecedented three in a row at the Aviva Stadium on May 18th.

For Exeter Chiefs, this is a beginning of a very different sort. Promoted to the Premiership only two years , to qualify for the Heineken so soon was a massive achievement and they will be hoping to make a positive first impression.

Looking at the respective team sheets, the result would appear to be a foregone conclusion; while Leinster can call on international regulars and Lions stars, the Exeter lineup has a much more unfamiliar feel to it. Many Irish fans will recognise the names of Whitten, Steenson and Hayes; Whitten took the brave decision to leave a career on the fringes of the Ulster team and it appears to be paying off for him, while Hayes and Steenson have been plying their trade under the dimmer lights of second-tier English rugby before Exeter's promotion.

Leinster's selection is as much a product of their lengthy injury list as it is of Joe Schmidt's tactics. Regular first-choice players Rob Kearney and Gordon D'Arcy have just missed out on a return while Sean O'Brien, Dominic Rya, Rhys Ruddock, Eoin O'Malley, Dave Kearney and Luke Fitzgerald remain on the long-term absence list.

All this means that Ian Madigan continues his apprenticeship at full-back; he will have learned a lot from his costly mistake against Munster last week but he showed flashes of attacking abilities that could see him develop into a genuine option at 15. Andrew Conway has recovered from the stinger he picked up last week while both O'Driscoll and Nacewa have also put knocks behind them. At 12, Fergus McFadden will be keen to build on his strong showing last week and stake a claim to D'Arcy's jersey.

Up front, Cian Healy and Leo Cullen return from injury; Devin Toner could be considered unlucky to lose out but perhaps the organisational ability of Cullen coupled with the grunt provided by Browne gives a good balance to the second row. Certainly, Exeter have a big pack and will look to win the collisions up front, so the fitness of Kevin McLoughlin is an added bonus in that regard. Or is it? The presence of two back-row forwards on the bench in Jordi Murphy and Leo Auva'a, at the expense of a third back, might indicate that the management are worried about McLaughlin's ability to last 80 minutes.

Player-watch
    Exeter: Luke Arscott at full-back is an exciting runner with ball in hand so Sexton and Madigan need to avoid kicking to him in too much space.
    Leinster: Richardt Strauss announced his eligibility for the Ireland team with a stunning display at the Aviva last week, he'll look to build on that and force his way into Declan Kidney's reckoning.

Prediction
    Paddy Power are quoting Leinster as 17-point favourites and in truth, it's hard to see one area of the game in which Exeter are going to come out on top. The weather forecast is for a dry, bright afternoon which will suit the team with the better skill-set and that has to be the Champions. A lot will depend on how well Schmidt has been able to manage the various injuries he's had but if this Leinster side put three tries on Munster last week, they should be looking for a bonus-point tomorrow.

Ok so....

HERE WE GO AGAIN!

Leinster open their defence of the Heineken Cup tomorrow at home to Exeter Chiefs, a side that has surprised many in it's performance in the Aviva Premiership.

Leinster are off the back of a win against old rivals Munster, one which threatened to derail their Heineken ambitions before it even began with Kevin McLoughlin, Isa Nacewa, Brian O'Driscoll and Andrew Conway all leaving the pitch early through injury. With doubts over the availability of Rob Kearney and Gordon D'Arcy along with the long term absence of Sean O'Brien Leinster fans had a nervous wait this week to see if even Cian Healy, Leo Cullen and Isaac Boss would be available.

Thankfully those 3 players returned to full fitness and the injuries to those players who left the field last week against Munster were not serious enough to keep them out of the squad. Still though Leinster have to make do without D'Arcy and Kearney and the back line has been reshuffled to reflect that.

On the other hand Exeter Chiefs are off the back of a big win against reigning AP champions Harlequins, having won at home by a handsome score of 42-28. While not much is known about the new boys to the HEC that result alone should be enough to have us all sit up and take notice. A side that are physically big and strong they seem to have little trouble finding the tryline being the second highest try scorers in the AP. Lest we deceive ourselves into thinking that "it's just the Premiership" it's worth pointing out that they have scored 4 more tries than Leinster in as many games. And conceded 7 less. This is not a team to be taken lightly.

Leinster have gone with the usual suspects in the front row and the return of Cian Healy will be a massive boost against a side like Exeter. A fine scrummager, his work in the loose will most likely prove vital to Leinsters chances. In the second row Cullen is partnered by Damien Browne. Again this is a move that reflects the fact that we need power against this side and Browne will provide the grunt work we are used to seeing from him. McLaughlin, Jennings and Heaslip make up a back row that, despite the absence of Sean O'Brien, is still a fine unit.

Reddan partners Sexton in the half backs, and the centre partnership from last week remains. McFadden will be looking to put in another impressive display to try and convince Joe Schmidt that he belongs in that jersey. The back 3 of Nacewa, Conway and Madigan also returns from last week. One must assume that Nacewa is going to 11, rather than his favoured full back spot, in order to ensure that Leinster are as defensively sound as possible. Madigan will be looking to build on what was a reasonably good performance last week while leaving out the bloopers like the one that led to the first Munster try.

On the bench Schmidt has opted for 6 forwards and 2 backs, most likely due to the demands of the A team who play Leeds Carnegie at 7pm. But with the likes of Cronin, van der Merwe and Toner to call on as well as a fit again Boss it's a bench that looks a lot stronger than the one we saw last week.

A tough game awaits Leinster, but if we want to be contenders again this year it's a game we have to win. Personally I'd take a 1 point win at this stage, but a statement of intent wouldn't go astray either. And of course no injuries. It's upon us again. The greatest competition in rugby union. Let's hope this season brings us all the drama and excitement of last. I can't wait!
    LEINSTER:|EXETER CHIEFS:
    |
    15: Ian Madigan|15. Luke Arscott
    14: Andrew Conway|14. Ian Whitten
    13: Brian O'Driscoll|13. Phil Dollman
    12: Fergus McFadden|12. Jason Shoemark
    11: Isa Nacewa|11. Matt Jess
    10: Jonathan Sexton|10. Gareth Steenson
    9: Eoin Reddan|9. Haydn Thomas
    |
    1: Cian Healy|1. Brett Sturgess
    2: Richardt Strauss|2. Simon Alcott
    3: Mike Ross|3. Carl Rimmer
    4: Leo Cullen CAPTAIN|4. Tom Hayes CAPTAIN
    5: Damian Browne|5. James Hanks
    6: Kevin McLaughlin|6. Tom Johnson
    7: Shane Jennings|7. James Scaysbrook
    8: Jamie Heaslip|8. Richard Baxter
    |
    16: Sean Cronin|16. Chris Whitehead
    17: Heinke van der Merwe |17. Chris Budgen
    18: Jamie Hagan|18. Ben Moon
    19: Devin Toner|19. Aly Muldowney
    20: Leo Auva'a|20. Dean Mumm
    21: Jordi Murphy|21. Will Chudley
    22: Isaac Boss|22. Ignacio Mieres
    23: Fionn Carr|23. Sireli Naqelevuki

My bad.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

Amazing cross-post

Ok so....
    HERE WE GO AGAIN!

My bad.....
    If you hadn't spent the extra minute putting in jazzy colours and formatting, yours would have gone up first...

[/CENTER]
    If you hadn't spent the extra minute putting in jazzy colours and formatting, yours would have gone up first...

It's all about presentation!

The actual delay was my finger hovering over the "u" a couple of times in an amazing display of muscle memory over brains! :D

You're like an awkard couple.... Want me to move both previews into the 1st post?

.ak wrote: »
    You're like an awkard couple.... Want me to move both previews into the 1st post?

Well if I'm the one worried about the colours and the presentation then....ah hang on a second! :o

I don't mind mine being left where it s tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

Preview....
    Preview....

You two took your sweet ass time didn't yous :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,968 ✭✭✭✭phog

I've been serioulsy impressed with Exeter but I doubt they can have any hope of overcoming Leinster in their back yard and will equally struggle on the corresponding fixture in January. BP win for Leinster.

You two took your sweet ass time didn't yous :D

Sorry JSB, can you criticise the post and not the poster please.

.ak, ban his ass!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

Happy with that team, should be enough for a win at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

am surprised Nacewa isnt at 15. I've a feeling tomorrow Conway is going to announce himself at HC level with a brace of trys.

Leinster by 14.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,257 ✭✭✭Hagz

bamboozle wrote: »
    I've a feeling tomorrow Conway is going to announce himself at HC level with a brace of trys.

Jeez I hope you're right! It's great to see him involved.

bamboozle wrote: »
    am surprised Nacewa isnt at 15. I've a feeling tomorrow Conway is going to announce himself at HC level with a brace of trys.

Leinster by 14.

Isa at 15 would mean Carr at 11.

I'd love to see Conway have a stormer but I would be a lot more cautious in my prediction. Leinster by 8 with 3 tries.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭almighty1

Cian Healys 100th game for Leinster. Already a legend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭Cpt_Blackbeard

Interesting to see that Toner has been relegated to the bench. I think that Leinster with Cullen might be in a similar position to England with Borthwick a couple of years ago; Cullen is only starting because he's captain. It would have made sense to make someone like Heaslip club captain at the start of the season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,153 ✭✭✭Glass Prison 1214

Interesting to see that Toner has been relegated to the bench. I think that Leinster with Cullen might be in a similar position to England with Borthwick a couple of years ago; Cullen is only starting because he's captain. It would have made sense to make someone like Heaslip club captain at the start of the season.

i reckon joe still sees cullen as first choice this season, because if he didn't he would have been smart enough to hand the captaincy over to heaslip IMO

Toner is always a great bench option. But I agree he should be a near starter at this point...

I think Leinster are a long way from settling on their first choice partnership in the second row. Leo Cullen gets a bit of a kicking here but if you ask any of the Leinster fans, they'll tell you he's there on playing merit and not because he has a (C) beside his name.

I don't know much about Exeter but a lot of the chatter here is that they are limited enough but have a big strong pack; Browne brings a lot more bulk and power to the table than Toner does so he's probably there to counter that but I'd expect Toner to get 20-30 minutes at least and probably to start in Llanelli.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

.ak wrote: »
    Toner is always a great bench option. But I agree he should be a near starter at this point...

Can only assume they want to get as much beef into the pack as possible to combat Exeter's size, Jennings isn't a real heavyweight in that regard (although he's had a great season) and neither is Toner. Maybe he didn't want to have both of them in the same pack, although it is a shame. Hopefully he'll start the majority of the pool matches.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Toner's problem is that realistically he's competing with Cullen as they both ideally need more of a bruiser beside them in the row.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 881 ✭✭✭ray jay

i reckon joe still sees cullen as first choice this season, because if he didn't he would have been smart enough to hand the captaincy over to heaslip IMO
    The problem with making Heaslip the captain is the amount of time he'll be unavailable due to internationals or pre-season training running late. Ideally you'd want a first choice forward who will be available year-round, but I can't think of anyone who fits the bill who has shown the ability to be captain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Hersheys

Isa maybe? Guaranteed starter.

Hersheys wrote: »

Strauss? McLaughlin? (Although I know Strauss can be called up now)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭cormacjones

Toner's problem is that he's clearly not up to it. Seems like he's a top bloke and a good Rabo player but he's never going to be a consistent starter for Leinster in the HC.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭jamiedav2011

Horses for courses selection. Leo has been great so far this year too.

Toner's problem is that he's clearly not up to it. Seems like he's a top bloke and a good Rabo player but he's never going to be a consistent starter for Leinster in the HC.

Have to laugh at that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Hersheys

Fireball07 wrote: »

When SOB comes back will McL still be guaranteed his spot?

I would say so...he was getting picked last season in the big games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,153 ✭✭✭Glass Prison 1214

thats very unfair, he has been solid in the heineken cup for a few seasons now, he mightn't be world class but he is certainly good enough to start in the HEC

Have to laugh at that.

You think Toner is up to it?

I certainly do, and he's proven it.

3 starts in the 2011/12 HC. Don't think he started in the knockouts (stand to be corrected)

2 starts in 2010/2011

You really think he's up to Leinster HC standard?

3 starts in the 2011/12 HC. Don't think he started in the knockouts (stand to be corrected)

2 starts in 2010/2011

I think Ryan only started once in the HC before last season...and he was voted Munster's player of the season, and secured an Irish starting spot too.

I think Toner is a very good player. He's come on a lot in the last year or two. (Still don't think he's as good as Ryan though :D)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

2 starts in 2010/2011

In fairness, if you're not sure if he has started knock out games last season (he didn't; Thorn had arrived), it suggests you may not have watched a huge amount of him over the past year. Toner has probably been one of Leinster's most consistent performers over the past year alongside Healy, Sexton and Kearney.

He is well up to this level and has the performances to back it up in the HEC.

Watch the Glasgow, Bath, Sarries and Wasps games and tell me he isnt up to HEC standard.

Methinks you see this beanpole of a guy with a babyface and automatically think that. Lot of people don't actually see how good Toner is at times for Leinster, and he and Browne are excellent opposites to partner Leo.

Dev's also had some crackers in Thomond, one in particular, which is more than can be said of a lot of second rows.

Plus, why would he be starting in the HEC if he's not HEC standard?!

GerM wrote: »
    In fairness, if you're not sure if he has started knock out games last season (he didn't; Thorn had arrived), it suggests you may not have watched a huge amount of him over the past year. Toner has probably been one of Leinster's most consistent performers over the past year alongside Healy, Sexton and Kearney.

He is well up to this level and has the performances to back it up in the HEC.

I'm sure I watched as many games as your good self, just wasn't 100% if he had started a knockout game.

Second row has consistently been highlighted as a weak point for Leinster. One of the reasons is that Toner hasn't been as good as we all want him to be. I think people, myself included, really want him to succeed because of how effective a 6" 10/11 second row could be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

Second row has consistently been highlighted as a weak point for Leinster. One of the reasons is that Toner hasn't been as good as we all want him to be. I think people, myself included, really want him to succeed because of how effective a 6" 10/11 second row could be.

Ithink people expect him to be an all action player when he has never been that sort of player. He was Leinster's best player against Bath last season. He totally outshone Gray when he faced him too. He won MOTM in his first HEC start. He destroyed Wasps in the season Leinster first won the HEC.

He has been as good as I hoped he would be. For me, he was close to Leinster player of the year last season.

Fireball07 wrote: »

Locky will be playing 6 and SOB will be 7. Jenno is the one who will lose out.

As for Toner, he is def up to it. There are different kinds of second row players. Browne is our only really grunt work kind of guy. And we need him tomorrow. Cullen is a crafty beggar. We'll need that too. Dev has the line out ability with great hands too. He's worked hard on his carrying and has really developed there in the last season or so.

I can't believe people still think Joes selections show who is the best XV. They show who are the best XV for the job he wants them to do. That job changes for different games.

I can't believe people still think Joes selections show who is the best XV. They show who are the best XV for the job he wants them to do. That job changes for different games.[/QUOTE]

But Toner is never selected for the really crucial games (semis/finals). That should tell you something.

For the last two campaigns, Toner was behind Nathan Hines and Brad Thorn, two of the most effective locks of the last few years; to suggest he's not up to it just because he couldn't edge out these two guys is ridiculous, they were unbelievable assets to Leinster.

This team selection for tomorrow is not a set-in-stone first-choice XV. Joe Schmidt has never operated that way since he arrived.

Somewhere, Cpt_Blackbeard is laughing his ass off that this has gone on for two or three pages. Utterly ridiculous and a lot of people displaying a lot of ignorance about rugby.

Look, for the last two campaigns, Toner was behind Nathan Hines and Brad Thorn, two of the most effective locks of the last few years. This team selection for tomorrow is not a set-in-stone first-choice XV. Joe Schmidt has never operated that way since he arrived.

I don't see what's so complicated about it.

What an utterly condescending post. I was just giving my opinion on a player, this is a forum after all, and others gave theirs back. Everyone else managed to be civil. You didn't.