Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Munich For A Weekend

• 11-10-2012 2:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭

Hey guys,

Booked Munich for the October Bank Holiday weekend. 4 of us. All male. 24-28.

Just wondering if anyone has any suggestions of things to do there. Going to try to get the Munich Vs Leverkusen game although we're told tickets are hard to come by.

Any advice/suggestions would be appreciated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,921 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

you wont get tickets for the soccer from the club as everythings sold out from before the euros in the summer when the fixture list was announced!
    Try viagogo and you might pick up something there at less than a terrible cost.

for pub and club action you can checkout my answer on this thread earlier today:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056777926

otherwise most people like yourselves on a weekend away just checkout the various pubs and beerhalls downtown.
    You could do a day trip to Nurembourg or Regensburg if you want to do sightseeing, but theres enough to do in Munich with palaces and whatnot to save you spending an hour or 2 on a train to somewhere else.

Actually, now that I think of it one of the best things you can do is one of the bike tours and Id recommend mikes bike tours who only employ jolly native speakers. Its good craic, you'll visit a beergarden or 2 and you'll see every corner of the city without breaking a sweat and learn a little background and history of the place.

was thinking, for a group of lads maybe a trip to the BMW world would be interesting? Its free in and you get to see the latest BMW technology and cars.
    27showroom.600.jpg
    Right beside it is the bmw museum. If you want a plant tour you would have to do it on the Monday if you have time as its not available at the weekend.
    Its up by the olympic park so you can go up the tower there and wander about in general toward the stadium which aside from hosting the olympics also hosted the world cup final in 1974 two years later.

Of course Mercedes didnt want to be left too far behind so they built their own fancy building which is also worth a visit. Theres various historic Mercedes cars and racing cars and in the corner a couple of million euro Maybachs too oogle at.
    3937123008_2.jpg

in both the bmw welt and the mercedes fourm theres a coffeshop/ bar, and in the olympic park theres a beergarden in the main square in case you need to wet your lips.

And maybe another blokey thing to do is the beer museum which is downtown 5min from the main square Marienplatz. Could tell you about it but I'm sure its pretty interesting.

Some might suggest the technical museum "Deutsches Museum" as a place to go. I'd think about it carefully as it really is good but its bloody massive so will literally take over your day if you intend to visit. If the weather is desperate then possibly go there, but otherwise it might be too much for a group of lads away for the weekend.
    The highlight for me is a reconstruction of a coal mine with mine shafts you walk through and all the mining equipment ancient and modern. Also good is the lightening demonstration where they blast a model village (and a willing volunteer) with a million volt arc of electricity!

Actually, if ye are into history then the city museum could be a visit. They have a permanent exhibition on the cities contribution to the rise of Naziism. On sunday its free in so might be an option. Theres stuff on display such as the race detection kit, a small wooden box with a selection of eyballs and hair samples so you can figure if someone is proper Ayrian or not. Its mostly in german but from the Artefacts you can still gleam how utterly immersed the city was in the Nazi system.
    The museum cafe has a nice beergarden in the courtyard and a selection of beers from the districts that you wont get anywhere else, and theres plenty of other good watering holes nearby, der Pschorr being particular good for food and beer from the wooden barrel (no gas or pipes so far smoother than normal draught) .

If I think of anything else particular suitable for a group of lads I'll add it later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,311 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Is this information still relevant today, as I'll be heading over on a similar trip in three weeks time, so would appreciate any information that can be updated. Especially into what clubs are open/active on a Sunday night.

yep, and if you are landing on the weekend of 25th of November then you'll have the christmas markets (plural, a mere 22 of them) in full flow.

regarding sunday night, it is normally dead as a dodo in Munich. I'll see if I can find anything thats on, and post back if I have success.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,494 ✭✭✭harr

Not sure if still the same but went as a couple a number of years ago during the summer...the beer gardens are fantastic for a Saturday and Sunday evening but we found the city centre to be very quiet after say 9pm ...now I am sure there are livelier parts of the city but walking around city centre especially on a Sunday night the place was dead..in fact to get a late drink we found to very nice Irish pubs ..we wouldn't normally seek out Irish pubs on holidays but no choice in this instance..as I said we went as a couple so maybe someone else who went with a group might be able to point you to the livelier areas ...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,311 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

regarding sunday night, it is normally dead as a dodo in Munich. I'll see if I can find anything thats on, and post back if I have success.
    A review from the link helimachopter provided backs up that it's dead on a Sunday night
    Sunday night. 10 pm. Post atomic war scenario. Two of us and no one else, besides the lady at the tobacco shop at the entrance. I guess it wasn't the right day..

Thanks for the heads up guys.

Any more suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

Kultfabrik is now scaled back, but indeed I made the same mistake once of heading down on a Sunday night. Well, I wanted to go to the irish pub there to ask about something, but it along with pretty much everything else was shut down. Very eery considering how mental it is (was) on a Friday and Saturday night.

Munich is a funny place, kindof reminds me of Belfast. The centre is VERY retail orientated, so you have to head to where the bars are.
    So down by Platzl and south of Marienplatz where hofbrauhaus is. Or over to the area south of Sendlinger tor where theres heaps of interesting bars, or up in Schwabing in and around Münchner freiheit.

But for clubs, they really are a weekend thing. Which makes sense as really who is in the position to go on the lash till the wee hours on a weekday night, and then multiply that by 100s if not actually 1000s of people which you'd need to fill the various clubs in the city.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Was in Munich for a stag so only there Fri/Sat, Kultfabrik was pretty rocking on those nights, but given in doesnt get going til after 1am.. having to get up for work at 7am or so wouldnt be pleasant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

It's grim, but Dachau Concentration Camp is a real education. Harrowing.

The camp is located in the suburbs. It was built in plain sight and not hidden away in a forest.

Football is another good idea.... either Bayern or 1860 Munich

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Mr rebel

Even Berlin is a dead as a dodo on Sunday nights, so I'd avoid that night if looking for a good pub/club night out in Germany.