Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Honeymoon?

• 10-10-2012 12:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭

Hi folks,

Just wondering would a ski resort (thinking Austria) be a decent place to go on Honeymoon in January after a Christmas wedding?

Herself has a heart condition, so I don't think she will be allowed to ski... Although I wouldn't mind trying my hand at it, I don't want to be gone half the week leaving her behind in a hotel someplace.

Basically I'm asking is a ski resort any good if you are not skiiing? :) We'd be looking for a bit of craic and a nice hotel with the potential of a day trip maybe...?

Am I barking up the wrong bush?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,445 ✭✭✭bovril

Zell am See is very nice. The town is small enough but very scenic. There is a lovely Spa resort halfway between Zell am See and Kaprun which would be something for your wife or you both to use. It's called Tauern Spa. You can get a bus from the town centre.

You can get some really nice hotels on the lake there (which is frozen in the winter and you can walk on). The Grand is the one on the lake, Tirolerhof is another nice one. It's on the train line so you could visit Salzburg. You both could take a visit to Kaprun and get a walking pass up to the top of the Glacier for the views.

I met a older couple last year when I was over in ZaS and she didn't ski and she said there was lots to do. If you are skiing though you could be missing a good part of the day so it may not be ideal for a honeymoon. It would be up to yourselves. You always have the option of doing half day lessons or skiing every second day etc although doing this you might not progress as quickly.

I'm sure there are other resorts around but Zell am See is one I have been to and can recommend. Any other questions give me a shout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,140 ✭✭✭olaola

Kitzbuhel is very nice, and I'd say some of the fancier Swiss resorts would be lovely too.

But.

Are you SURE the missus wants to go on ski honeymoon and let you off out on the pistes while she wanders around the village? (Note, none of these villages are very big)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭Beef

Thanks for that, a lot to consider.
    The Grand is the one on the lake
    This place looks amazing bovril - exactly the winter wonderland type thing she's after.
    Are you SURE the missus wants to go on ski honeymoon and let you off out on the pistes while she wanders around the village? (Note, none of these villages are very big)

No sorry - what I meant was I don't want to head off skiiing on my own all day, that's the reason I was wondering if there was enough in these towns to do away from the piste and maybe head off for a day trip or two? From your comments it seems that there may not be enough to fill a week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭De_man

Beef wrote: »
    Thanks for that, a lot to consider.
    The Grand is the one on the lake
    This place looks amazing bovril - exactly the winter wonderland type thing she's after.

No sorry - what I meant was I don't want to head off skiiing on my own all day, that's the reason I was wondering if there was enough in these towns to do away from the piste and maybe head off for a day trip or two? From your comments it seems that there may not be enough to fill a week?

The grand hotel is excellent, trust me don't go on a ski holiday for a honeymoon!, don't ask for trouble :) we had a christmas wedding went to vietnam came back, huge snow fall in chamonix i took off for a few days and i'm still hearing about it. Don't do it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,208 ✭✭✭Fattes

BeefThe Grand in Zell em Zee is spot on for this type of thing, with a day trip to Salzburg thrown in for day trips.

Zell is not hte prettiest of towns outside of the hotel though.

Switzerland; Saas Fee; Choco box picture postcard village with plenty of off hill activites and day trips to Interlaken, Zermatt and Brig easily done.

The Glaciel Express in Switzerland travels from St Morits to Zermatt takes 8-10 hours passing through some of Europes best scenery you can hop on and off and spend nights in various villages.

Enjoy!