Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Someone trying to make profit....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭red sean

give him a ring and offer 500 !!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

terrible...so it is Joe...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 943 ✭✭✭bbsrs

MidlandsM wrote: »
    terrible...so it is Joe...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=biArkwUaURA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

red sean wrote: »
    give him a ring and offer 500 !!

He probably bought it for less.

I dont see the problem with this. If he can make a profit, good luck to him. The polish bit appears to say (according to google translate) that for additional fee, he will take it to poland also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭SilverBell

superfly35 wrote: »
    Hey lads,

I think the ad talk about them self.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/3868619

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3828799

I personnaly wish the second guy will not sell, as I think someone is taking the mick a bit... :(

Just to warn people if they which to go and see it.

Yerra, that goes on all the time, I saw a red merc estate up a few weeks ago for 800. It came back cleaned up and polished a fortnight later at more than double the price.
    Good luck to anyone who can see and opportunity to make a few bob. Supposed to be supporting the entrepreneurial spirit and all that.

And sure what to dealers do? The very same! Its part of the car selling game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭gyppo

When I saw the ad title, I thought it was for this car

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/3895282

Take a close look at the pics!!!

(in fairness though, the car probably cost him 1200/1300 by the time he got it home though..)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭SilverBell

gyppo wrote: »

(in fairness though, the car probably cost him 1200/1300 by the time he got it home though..)
    Ha ! very well spotted!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭mattroche

What a nation of begrudgers we are. If an Irish goes abroad, and makes a sucess of his life, he gets the due credit he deserves. If a foreigner comes to Ireland, and starts a business, the red carpet is rolled out for him. BUT if an Irishman starts a business here, he is in big trouble, if he suceced he is a crook, if he fails, he is no good and no one belong to him were any good either. So a man made a profit on a car, SO WHAT, he is not the S.V.P. Profit is what makes the world around,what is the problem with that. Grow up, and get a life in the real world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭gyppo

mattroche wrote: »
    What a nation of begrudgers we are. If an Irish goes abroad, and makes a sucess of his life, he gets the due credit he deserves. If a foreigner comes to Ireland, and starts a business, the red carpet is rolled out for him. BUT if an Irishman starts a business here, he is in big trouble, if he suceced he is a crook, if he fails, he is no good and no one belong to him were any good either. So a man made a profit on a car, SO WHAT, he is not the S.V.P. Profit is what makes the world around,what is the problem with that. Grow up, and get a life in the real world.

I've no problem with a guy spotting potential profit in a purchase and making a few quid - fair play to them.
    It made me smile though that the guy selling the vanden plas showed his hand - that doesnt make much business sense now, does it??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭gn3dr

True there is no crime against trying to make a profit. I guess the question comes about the crossover between it being a business and a hobby. This forum for example would be one based on the hobby side of things I would say. But you are obviously in the business of selling classic Mercs so you have a different view of things. And I've seen myself that you have bought a few cheap classics yourself on donedeal and readvertised them at higher prices (greater than 3 times the purchase price in one particular case :-) so perhaps you are being a bit biased.

Don't get me wrong, I've once or twice brought a classic in from the UK myself and sold them for a profit but now I think I'm more in the space that someone who restores a car and sells on for a profit is at least adding value but the guy that just buys to sell for a profit is really just driving up the prices for the true enthusiasts. Although given current market conditions the guys that are being unrealistic with prices are being left with the cars because the good times are truly over and people have gotten a bit more sensible about what cars are worth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

gyppo wrote: »

Why did he put that in the advert...? Odd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭shawnee

gn3dr wrote: »
    True there is no crime against trying to make a profit. I guess the question comes about the crossover between it being a business and a hobby. This forum for example would be one based on the hobby side of things I would say. But you are obviously in the business of selling classic Mercs so you have a different view of things. And I've seen myself that you have bought a few cheap classics yourself on donedeal and readvertised them at higher prices (greater than 3 times the purchase price in one particular case :-) so perhaps you are being a bit biased.

Don't get me wrong, I've once or twice brought a classic in from the UK myself and sold them for a profit but now I think I'm more in the space that someone who restores a car and sells on for a profit is at least adding value but the guy that just buys to sell for a profit is really just driving up the prices for the true enthusiasts. Although given current market conditions the guys that are being unrealistic with prices are being left with the cars because the good times are truly over and people have gotten a bit more sensible about what cars are worth.

Some people make a hobby out of buying and selling... don't see a problem in that. Sometimes they lose and sometimes they make a profit. Anyone buying a car in England , going over for it , ferrying it back and paying the duty is surely entitled to a profit. Buying and selling is what makes the economy move and it is now grinding to a halt because people either haven't to money or are not prepared to take a risk. The man that is buying and selling is using spending money on fuel , airline tickets etc, the guy at home on his computer criticizing is not doing a lot for our ailing economy :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Capri

I used to buy 'trade' cars from big dealers, drive and clean them up and sell them on after a year or so. Like you Matt , I put my 'reputation':p behind a car, you buy based on experience, do a little bit of 'tidying' on it that improves it for the next buyer who benefits from it. Anything I sell will be polished and clean, and have info for the next owner regarding parts/service etc that will help them.
    In a lot of cases the original seller may not be up to the simple little things to help sell it, or may have undervalued it in which case fair play to the 'improver' who gets a little for his trouble - but as we know, especially with that 'Taxi beige' SL that's still unsold, moving things on can be a problem :(

Capri, I usually find the added on value is between E400 & E900, between cleaning, some bodywork, a full service, check over for N.C.T., usually a few tyres, brakes, ect. it soon mounts up. Thats apart from the cost of importing it, the V.R.T. N.C.T. and road tax. It is a very rare deal that I would clear over E400 on a car, when you are trying to keep the price under E2750.

Labour of love - You'd get more per hour working in McDonalds :D

Capti, thats for sure, but I would prefer to be handling a BIG MERC than BIG MAC!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

Nothing at all wrong with buying a car, adding value to it, and selling on for a small profit, but buying cheap and re-advertising in the same place is just lazy and opportunist.

Fair game for a slagging IMHO. :D

Nothing at all wrong with buying a car, adding value to it, and selling on for a small profit, but buying cheap and re-advertising in the same place is just lazy and opportunist.

Fair game for a slagging IMHO. :D

Guy may be lazy ... opportunist.. nah... he has about as much chance of getting that price in today's market as Ireland's motorist have of getting vrt removed in the next budget :D:p:eek:

shawnee wrote: »
    Guy may be lazy ... opportunist.. nah... he has about as much chance of getting that price in today's market as Ireland's motorist have of getting vrt removed in the next budget :D:p:eek:

A lot of foreigners seem to think there big €'s to be made on the Irish market - they'd be better buying for the scrap value :p:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭superfly35

I think I raise some interesting comment here.

I have no problem in buying a car doing some work tidy up or whatever it needs and sale it back on after and make some profit.
    It make actually perfect sense.

The lad however did nothing on the car, and try to double the price, I personal think he is a chancer, or an opportunist as you wish.
    I just wanted to warrant people which might be interesting in the "2 pattes" that say I did not think it will bring so much reply.

Also I am a foreigner.

Could a moderator lock this topic please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,107 ✭✭✭hi5

Why did he put that in the advert...? Odd.

To prove he has a receipt, as the NCT now demand one for registration?
    But doesn't it have to be within a certain timeframe?

Saab used to refurbish their old cars back in the 50's AFIR, and Aston Martin and others will refurbish their older models.Of course the BMC/BL range has a lot of Heritage stuff available and Mercedes Classic do similar - http://www.mercedes-benz-classic.com/content/classic/mpc/mpc_classic_website/en/mpc_home/mbc/home/classic/classic_center.html

Fair play to someone who can set up an operation that keeps the older cars alive and if they do a volume operation then the standard of resto will be better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Grimreaper666

I can't blame some sellers for doubling the price when you see the attitude of some so called buyers in this country. I've had some offer me a third of the asking price for some of my cars and to be honest it's an insult to be offered that kind of money for a decent car. That's the main reason I advertise mainly in the UK and other countries now.

That's for sure - was selling my Mother's Lancer 97 with 60k on it for €600, woman phoned and more or less said hold it for her, then as she was 'on her way' asked me to drop to 400 - told her not to bother going any further.:mad:
    The Nigerian was a fairer, cash in hand chap than most Irish I've met :eek:
    AFIC my machines ARE worth money, even tho the market's depressed I'll let them rot rather than give them away:mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 263 ✭✭Light Switch

Capri wrote: »
    That's for sure - was selling my Mother's Lancer 97 with 60k on it for €600, woman phoned and more or less said hold it for her, then as she was 'on her way' asked me to drop to 400 - told her not to bother going any further.:mad:
    The Nigerian was a fairer, cash in hand chap than most Irish I've met :eek:
    AFIC my machines ARE worth money, even tho the market's depressed I'll let them rot rather than give them away:mad::mad:

In fairness, I'v lowballed plenty of people when I'm looking for a car.

Some say No Thanks, Others say NO! but you'll always get the one person who'll come back with a price a good bit less than asking. :)

In fairness, I'v lowballed plenty of people when I'm looking for a car.

Some say No Thanks, Others say NO! but you'll always get the one person who'll come back with a price a good bit less than asking. :)

When someone rings me and offers a lower than asking price , I usually ask them ... are you going to buy and pay for the car by phone ? The usually reply in the negative so I tell them "well I'm not going to sell it over the phone either" Come and see and make your offer ! other than that I consider them "timewasters"