Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Depression, End of Work, Girl trouble

• 08-10-2012 11:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Hi there just looking for an opinion, I reckon I already know the answer but I'd really appreciate if you would take the time to read and offer your opinion. Basically I have quite bad depression; I've been grand for the last few months but its back with a bang now which is down to a number of factors. A big part is I'm coming to the end of contract and there’s no possibility of a new one at work. It was only a short contract anyway and I half knew it wouldn't be renewed. However I really loved the place and got on well with everyone, I was really starting to be happy and I also fell for the girl who sits beside me.

Every week we talked more and more, laughing about everything and anything, and got to know each other very well, we have loads in common and over the months I just liked her more and more. I really wanted to ask her out and to be honest I think she did like me but I don't think I really showed that I might have liked her, I'm terrible like that, and to be honest I've quite a few unresolved family and personal issues and I feel like I'd only be adding complications to someone’s life by having a relationship with them (maybe this is stupid?). Basically I decided I wouldn't go for it.

So also became friends with one of the lads in the office too, good guy, so about two weeks ago he texted me told me he had asked the girl in question out and she said yes. Since than I'm in bits, I'm not annoyed and I shouldn't have expected that something like this wouldn't have happened. I only have a week left in work and I'll be moving back home (job was in another part of the country) and basically I don't wanna loose contact with her but would it now be stepping on boundaries now that she may be with another guy in the office for me to continue to talk to her. Would this be wrong? I presume it would be a big no no to maybe explain how I feel. I know I probably sound like a major contradiction. As I'm leaving and won't be living in the area should I just use this as a way of forgetting her and get over her? Sorry if this all sounds a bit silly. Thanks for reading though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 548 ✭✭✭Roisy7

Aw OP that's awful :( Look there are positives in every situation. At least if you're leaving the job you don't have to talk to the girl anymore or see her with him.

Perhaps keep an acquaintance with her via Facebook or similar but don't hope for too much. She's with someone else now.

This is an opportunity as well as a crisis. You can reskill, travel or do anything now. This was a learning experience for you. There's truth in the old saying "faint heart never won fair lady". Next time you like someone, tell her, because she won't be psychic.

Best of luck in the future OP :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

OP.

I think it's a mixture of finishing the job and missing your 'chance' that got you. The thing is with girls, we never do understand you lads, often even if you spell it out for us. So, next time you feel you're connecting with a girl, what's the worst that can happen by just doing as the other guy did? Nothing at all. I know it's easier said that done, but try not to worry. I'm sure, if you guys connected as well as you feel ye did, she will remain in touch via social networks or the like, although it will be slightly less now that she's with someone else, but there's no reason you two cannot remain friends, and absolutely nothing to say sometime down the line ye won't re-connect and end up in one another's lives again. This may sound silly, but it honestly happens all the time. :-)