Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you slice your sandwich lengthwise or diagonally ?

• 07-10-2012 6:31pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 543 ✭✭✭

As the thread title suggests .. which one do you do?
    Personally, I prefer them diagonally. :D

Put your idea of a perfect sangwich in there too :D

Do you slice your sandwiches diagonally or lengthwise? 81 votes

Diagonally
    0%
    Lengthwise
    100%
    CalibosgenieBlistermanWitchieFrank SpencerqzStompboxLariannejos28Tiggerbluto63gamblitisdotsmanchasmCatari JaguarGran HermanoDozen Wicked WordsemzolitaGunmonkeymahamageehad 81 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

I roll them into a ball.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Lengthwise
    Sauve wrote: »
    I roll them into a ball.

Score! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

Lengthwise
    Preference is definitely diagonal, sometimes I don't slice at all though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

Lengthways mostly but If I'm feeling a little cheeky ill go diagonally, usually at weekends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭FANTAPANTS

Lengthwise
    TRIANGLES ALL THE WAY

Lengthwise
    Perfect sandwich:

Nutty doorstep, toasted, with butter, mayo and cold slices of home roasted chicken breast.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Lengthwise
    Diagonally for me.
    Easier to eat I find.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Neewbie_noob

Lengthwise
    Perfect sanbo.

Batch bread, tueky, ham, rashers loads of bbq sauce, salty tayto, smokey bacon tayto, NO BUTTER, put into the sandwich toaster thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

I do both. Depending on my mood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Lengthwise
    I usually cut them into triangles. I somehow think they taste better that way but I suspect it's because they fit easier into my mouth.

Perfect sambo??
    Brown multigrain bread
    fat mayonaise (non of this light shíte)
    mustard
    lettuce
    tomato
    red onion
    avocado
    ham
    chicken
    cheese
    (sometimes toasted).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

I'm glad you asked. They taste better with a diagonal cut. Triangles are more tasty than rectangles. That's science. It's why pizza is so nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 943 ✭✭✭kenyard

Lengthwise
    Shryke wrote: »
    I'm glad you asked. They taste better with a diagonal cut. Triangles are more tasty than rectangles. That's science. It's why pizza is so nice.

its not science. but you are right.
    i dunno why but i always prefer triangles also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 771 ✭✭✭gdavis

are pizzas not round?????!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Yeah triangles are the way to go.

Don't bother trying star shaped ones or fancy hexagon ones.....disaster!

Lengthwise
    Larianne wrote: »
    (non of this light shíte)

Marry ME :D

assuming you're a lady :P

kenyard wrote: »

its not science. but you are right.
    i dunno why but i always prefer triangles also.

Hmm. No, it's definitely science.

gdavis wrote: »
    are pizzas not round?????!!!

Shirley you slice your pizza.

Lengthwise
    Marry ME :D

assuming you're a lady :P

If you're rich, yes.

If you're not, no.

I know a priest who can marry us and all! :D

Lengthwise
    Triangles are a bit fuddy-duddy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

lengthwise mostly but for sausage or rasher sambos I slice em diagonally and add lashes of ketchup. It just works attacking the corners first on those sambos :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,129 ✭✭✭kirving

Neither. I slice them at about 20-30 degrees. It makes them seem bigger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,153 ✭✭✭Shakti

Lengthwise? shirley you mean Widthwise.

Lengthwise
    Neither. I slice them at about 20-30 degrees. It makes them seem bigger.

But they don't stack cleanly.

Lengthwise
    If you're rich, yes.

Damn :(

If you're rich, yes.

Damn :(

Jesus man try lying a bit, you might at least get sex the once. Make sure to use the fanciest Johnny you can, one with bells on. Ribbed bells that vibrate.

I want Larianne to make me a sandwich, and not in a sexist way. It just sounds like she knows whats shes doing!

Lengthwise
    Jesus man try lying a bit, you might at least get sex the once. Make sure to use the fanciest Johnny you can, one with bells on. Ribbed bells that vibrate.

Or if I'm really posh, have my butler put it on for me :D

Lengthwise
    benwavner wrote: »
    I want Larianne to make me a sandwich, and not in a sexist way. It just sounds like she knows whats shes doing!

Forgot to add salt and pepper to that list.

Yes, I make good sandwiches because I'm a shíte cook. It's a matter of survival.

Forgot to add salt and pepper to that list.

Yes, I make good sandwiches because I'm a shíte cook. It's a matter of survival.

Aw you ruined it, I cant hack salt on sambo's. :o

Unless it's a mashed potato sandwich.

Lengthwise
    Aw you ruined it, I cant hack salt on sambo's. :o

Unless it's a mashed potato sandwich.

Tis only a little bit, for the tomatoes.

Ah jaysis, I'l try anything once, or twice, or three times. Not on a chicken one though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

door steps is all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Lengthwise
    These threads are making me regret running out of bread.

Lengthwise
    Ah jaysis, I'l try anything once, or twice, or three times. Not on a chicken one though.

Why not??

There's defo an art to making sandwiches. Lettuce and cheese always on the outside so tomatoes don't make the bread go soggy etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭marshbaboon

I like to leave them as is, makes it quicker and easier to stuff it into my food hole and get the chore of feeding myself out of the way quicker.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭areyawell

Lengthwise
    My wife cuts them into a diagonal for me. Wouldn't know about cooking or making sandwiches, cleaning or anthin like that.

Why not??

There's defo an art to making sandwiches. Lettuce and cheese always on the outside so tomatoes don't make the bread go soggy etc.

yeah, I appreciate a good sandwich. Nothing worse than a soggy sandwich. Well, stale bread...whats the point!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

Lengthways during the week, and diagonally at the weekend. Strange, i know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭maxfresh

Lengthways if i'm feeling common ,diagonally if i'm feelin a bit posh ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭johnayo

Well I wake up in the morning and I jump straight out of bed
    Grab a hold of that luminous jacket and shake that fuzzy head
    I don¹t have time for a fancy breakfast or put muesli in a bowl
    I just head to the stat oil garage for the jumbo breakfast Roll

Two eggs two rasher two sausage two Bacon Two puddins one Black and white
    All placed like a tower on top of each other and then wrapped up good and
    tight
    If you¹re having some tea the milks over there and you¹ll find sugar in the bowl
    Says she Do you want some sauce on that says I, I do in my roll

Well whether you¹re a chippie or a sparkie or a brikie or a team just tarring the road.
    Or a shower of lads coming home from the razz with a crowd or on your own
    If you¹re working up a ladder or peeling pigs bladder or find yourself digging in a hole
    There¹s no sight better than melting butter, from a jumbo breakfast roll

All placed like a tower on top of each other and then wrapped up good and tight
    If you¹re having some tea the milks over there and you¹ll find sugar in the bowl

Well just the other day after me roll and tea, in me gut I got an awful ache
    I went to me Doctor he said that¹s an artery blocker you have every morning at break
    So to change my lifestyle he has me walking five miles and seeing a dietician called Noel
    But I can¹t get from my head the sight of two runny eggs on my Jumbo breakfast roll

All placed like a tower on top of each other and then wraped up good and tight

Well the years have passed on and my life has changed and now I am a different man
    I have lost three stone, I¹m doing a line with a girl and we are both Vegetarian
    My cholesterol is low and my heart is good to go, but in the morning I¹d sell my soul
    To sit in any stat oil fore court and devour a Jumbo breakfast roll

All placed like a tower on top of each other and then wraped up good and tight
    Says she Do you want some sauce on that says I, I do in my roll:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

maxfresh wrote: »
    Lengthways if i'm feeling common ,diagonally if i'm feelin a bit posh ;)

..and there you have it. You are entirely correct Max.

It's all about perception.

One simply doesnt send out square sandwiches, does one! Even though the sandiwch pan is indeed itself square :D

Loada bollix really isint it. So long as it's fresh, and well presented, the cut should be irrelevant.

I dont tend to cut mine at all, two hands, hom nyom :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭123 LC

Lengthwise
    dam i meant to click length ways but clicked diagonally :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

I usually cut them into triangles. I somehow think they taste better that way but I suspect it's because they fit easier into my mouth.

They undoubtedly taste better, but I'm a bit worried you stick half a sandwich in your mouth in one go! :)

Lengthwise
    Giselle wrote: »
    They undoubtedly taste better, but I'm a bit worried you stick half a sandwich in your mouth in one go! :)

Oh, I'm ever so ladylike when I eat sandwiches, don't you worry ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

Diagonal because it gives the illusion of a nicer taste. In the same way that pasta shells taste nicer than penne and tea tastes nicer out of a dark-coloured mug. All in my head of course but dammit it still seems real. :)

Diagonally. Unless it's batch obviously.

Ewwww batch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Depends on the type of sandwich I guess..

Hot sandwich = cut horizontally

Cold sandwich = cut diagonally :D

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

I don't bother cutting them, wastes valuable sandwich eating time

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test