Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vita Robbed Question

• 07-10-2012 2:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭

Hey,

So last month my vita got robbed reported it to the Gards but nothing has been done there is cameras outside my apartment the person I taught robbed me said he didn't rob me and I believe him because he added me on Facebook and he just would have been foolish to rob from me.. I also got ps3 robbed and found out my psn account was online the next day.. One of my house mates went home the day that I was onlin.. Anyways I have the serial number and ps vita box etc at my home house, if I gave this info to Gards would they be fit to track it down?

Thanks,
    John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭brian plank

if you talk like you type the guards probably haven't a clue what you're on about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭Zomg Okay

I'm not seeing how adding you on his Facebook profile absolves him of all possibility of being guilty.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,677 Mod ✭✭✭✭F1ngers

Deactivating an account:
    http://us.playstation.com/support/answer/index.htm?a_id=3751

https://twitter.com/AskPlayStation

EDIT: OP, not really a Playstation issue.
    Would you like me to move it to a different forum?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭WarZoneBrother

Zomg Okay wrote: »
    I'm not seeing how adding you on his Facebook profile absolves him of all possibility of being guilty.

It just seems weird, now I know his full name etc. So if the footage of that morning shows him taking it then it clearly was him, why would he want me to know who he is if he did rob me?

@brian plank I was using a phone for this, sorry I forgot the commas...

@F1ngers - yes please if there is a relative forum for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭pah

There is no way the gardaí can "track down" your vita.

pah wrote: »
    There is no way the gardaí can "track down" your vita.
    couldsony though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

couldsony though

Simply put, the Gardai need a warrant to search a premises. Its an awful lot of hoops to jump through, dealing with Sony, dealing with an ISP, applying for the warrant etc...all for a Vita. In reality, I couldn't see them bothering with it. You never know though

EnterNow wrote: »
    Simply put, the Gardai need a warrant to search a premises. Its an awful lot of hoops to jump through, dealing with Sony, dealing with an ISP, applying for the warrant etc...all for a Vita. In reality, I couldn't see them bothering with it. You never know though

It's not just a Vita, it's also a PS3 and 4 Vita titles along with many PS3 games... At least 700-800euro worth of stuff.. When I made my statement they told me they would get a warrant...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭pah

It's not just a Vita, it's also a PS3 and 4 Vita titles along with many PS3 games... At least 700-800euro worth of stuff.. When I made my statement they told me they would get a warrant...

Did you make a statement as in a full statement in the station? Not just a few notes at the time. Where are they going to get a warrant for exactly?

pah wrote: »
    Did you make a statement as in a full statement in the station? Not just a few notes at the time. Where are they going to get a warrant for exactly?

Yep, made full statement.. Called back to station last week, the gard said he would contact me when he found out who it was that took the statement.. Still no call back from either of them.. They where going to get a warrant for the lads house which I had taught robbed me.. I have told them to check the cameras outside my apartment, along with telling the owner of the apartments to check.. If the lad I suspected is pictured leaving without my stuff then it was definately a house mate..

You can't willy nilly get warrants to search the houses of people you think robbed you, they'd need evidence first. That'll come from Sony {electronic serial number maybe?} & the ISP that the Vita has been logged as using while stolen, again info gotten from Sony.

It sounds like a huge amount of messy crap to deal with, but you never know, they might be able to follow it up

EnterNow wrote: »
    You can't willy nilly get warrants to search the houses of people you think robbed you, they'd need evidence first. That'll come from Sony {electronic serial number maybe?} & the ISP that the Vita has been logged as using while stolen, again info gotten from Sony.

It sounds like a huge amount of messy crap to deal with, but you never know, they might be able to follow it up

I told them to look at cameras first, they mentioned warrant to me before I asked about cameras... Yeah I must ring Sony some day, I have since logged in as me on my mates PS3 though... But I know the date which I was logged in and it wasn't actually me ...

Sony won't tell you anything, at least, I'd be surprised if they did...Data Protection Act etc, so they won't be passing out any IP/ISP details of when your Vita was used on such and such date.

Only the Guards have the power to request that info, & then it could potentially be used to support a search warrant application.

Your kinda moving into Legal Advise territory here, so maybe ask the mods to move it to that forum.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,677 Mod ✭✭✭✭F1ngers

Moved from Playstation.

Got a tweet reply from playstation, they replied with:

Please call us at 1-800-345-7669. We may be able to assist. We would need to have law enforcement contact us.

Going to ring them later on today, maybe they will be fit to help...