Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jockey Eile starting on TG4 Sunday Oct 7th at 8.15pm

• 04-10-2012 11:41am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4

TG4 are starting a new racing series on Sunday Oct 7th at 8.15pm called Jockey Eile.

Hosted by Sean Bán Breathnach and Joe Connolly it follows 20 young hopefuls who set out to get their jockey licences and race in a big race for them at Naas after a few months.

It is a 6 part series going out every Sunday night at the same time and it's sub-titled for those with little Irish.

Kevin Manning, Davy Russell, Barry Geraghty, Conor O'Dwyer, Tony Martin, Gordon Elliott, James Nash, Tucker Geraghty are among the big names also appearing in it at different stages.

Promise many thrills and plenty of spills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭lester76

I applied was mad to give it ago but when the forms came in the post i lost my nerve:( Looking forward to it should be good viewing,seen the add for it there be a few tumbles haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 RacingMad

You Chicken........ you should have gone for it. I hear there is a new series starting filming from January so look out for new pplication form soon i'd say. Who knows........ you might just win it!
    BEst of Luck if you do go for it.

Anyone watch Jockey Eile? Davy Russell and Kevin MAnning, 2 guys who don't ever do a lot of TV seemed to be very very good tonight.
    is Paula Geraghty Barry Geraghty's wife or sister? or no relation at all? just wondering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,961 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

Had it recorded watched it tonight very good viewing,really enjoyed it will tune in for the whole series:D Id love a go on 1 of those mechanical horses:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

She's very pretty. Barry's a lucky man.

lester76 wrote: »
    Had it recorded watched it tonight very good viewing,really enjoyed it will tune in for the whole series:D Id love a go on 1 of those mechanical horses:D

http://www.tg4.ie/en/tg4-player/tg4-player.html?id=1884680280001&title=Jockey%20Eile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

Jsut watched it there. Looks great. It's inspired me to get riding lessons. Would love to try it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 mushy2132

how do you apply for it can you tell me please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,339 ✭✭✭convert

I didn't hear anything about the series, or applications, until the OP posted here. Does anyone know where the series and applications were advertiesed? I didn't see them in the Irish Field or Racing Post, and didn't notice them on the HRI and Turf Club sites.

mushy2132 wrote: »
    how do you apply for it can you tell me please

I seen it in a shop window on a poster they gave a number to txt your details to and all the details came in the post

email tg4 to get a form for next year info@tg4.ie

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭saiint

well im 6ft 4 so i dont think i have any hope of becoming a jockey haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 CrossCountry20

Loving jockey eile hope there will be a series two! That lil blonde one Dawn is a fine thing would"nt mind watching her round a race track!!!!
    Wheres episode 3 on tg4 player?!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

Couldn't get through the first 8 minutes of that garbage.

Watched ep 4 sunday night. Sean Ban calling Nicola rude?!:eek: Best girl jockey out of them. Who was rude was that Linda person did'nt even answer the phone and had the neck of a Jockey's bollix to not even turn up at Conor O'Dwyers. She took the place of some other deserving person. Very hard on Dawn for the 4 episodes they never backed off sure the poor kids confidence must have been ruined. Also another point on Linda funny how 2 weeks in a row the same thing happens on the gallops yet she was'nt in the bottom 3:confused:!!!!! Can you tell me why? Some of the people that got their Licenses I had never seen in the programme?!!!!! Sean Ban also said that they were 'buses' in Tony Martin's & pets in Tuckers a race horse is a race horse try ride one:mad: It'll be interesting to see how it ends I may not tune in now Dawn & Nicola are gone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Is it repeated tonight, missed it on Sunday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭Imhof Tank

Watched ep 4 sunday night. Sean Ban calling Nicola rude?!:eek: Best girl jockey out of them. Who was rude was that Linda person did'nt even answer the phone and had the neck of a Jockey's bollix to not even turn up at Conor O'Dwyers. She took the place of some other deserving person. Very hard on Dawn for the 4 episodes they never backed off sure the poor kids confidence must have been ruined. Also another point on Linda funny how 2 weeks in a row the same thing happens on the gallops yet she was'nt in the bottom 3:confused:!!!!! Can you tell me why? Some of the people that got their Licenses I had never seen in the programme?!!!!! Sean Ban also said that they were 'buses' in Tony Martin's & pets in Tuckers a race horse is a race horse try ride one:mad: It'll be interesting to see how it ends I may not tune in now Dawn & Nicola are gone!

Yeah, whether she was off or not with her attitude, Sean Ban and Joe largely caused it themselves with their build up to her opening her envelope .......... "you'll have passed no bother, your're the best of the lot of them, etc, etc".

Then she gets bad news, who could blame her for having something to say?

Sean Ban and Joe - very precious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭BQQ

Imhof Tank wrote: »
    Yeah, whether she was off or not with her attitude, Sean Ban and Joe largely caused it themselves with their build up to her opening her envelope .......... "you'll have passed no bother, your're the best of the lot of them, etc, etc".

Then she gets bad news, who could blame her for having something to say?

Sean Ban and Joe - very precious

Seriously Lads??

She was rude and I can't say I was surprised.
    She has such a high opinion of herself, I knew as soon as she got any bit of criticism, it would end badly.
    I'd say her brother getting the licence pushed her over the edge as she has a pathological case of sibling rivalry.

Contrast her reaction with Padraig who the lads also thought would pass no problem.

Linda is a separate issue, but certainly she was also rude not to call and say she wasn't going to show up.

BQQ wrote: »
    She has such a high opinion of herself, I knew as soon as she got any bit of criticism, it would end badly.
    I'd say her brother getting the licence pushed her over the edge as she has a pathological case of sibling rivalry.

She may have a high opinion of herself, but Sean Ban and Joe blowing smoke up her ass like that as she was about to open the envelope wouldnt exactly have helped the situation.

You sound like you know her in RL?

Imhof Tank wrote: »
    She may have a high opinion of herself, but Sean Ban and Joe blowing smoke up her ass like that as she was about to open the envelope wouldnt exactly have helped the situation.

You sound like you know her in RL?

No, I don't, thank god. (I was gonna say the same about the guy defending her with his second post)

The lads were full sure she'd pass. They weren't to know what was in the envelope.
    That was no way to react in any case.

She (Nicola)was far superior to the other female jockeys & possibly some of the males. 6 weeks of listening to Bull out of SBB & Joe I would have walked out if I got that letter. Also remember its a reality show and people are put under a lot of preasure so you dont know what went on behind the scenes eithet. Its never black & white. Still dont know who half the people are who got the license as didnt see them in first few eps!Also I was led to believe that once you failed in RACE you didnt get a chance to go back on simulater?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭hollysf

More drama than Dallas! Wonder what did she fail on, she was a good rider and they were sure she got through, she got a right shock when she opened the letter, but that's no excuse for being rude. Felt sorry for Hilary when she got bucked off and the horse ran off, horrible thing to happen to anyone.

hollysf wrote: »
    Felt sorry for Linda when she got bucked off and the horse ran off, horrible thing to happen to anyone.

That makes it sound like she had nothing to do with what happened.

She wasnt anywhere near stong enough and got found out.

Yea that's true, but Linda's horse came up behind hers quite quickly and set him off

I met one of the competitors of the show at Navan the other week a lovely person with such a great personality she said that there is so much that could be added to the 40mins that we are only getting to see a taster of it. They were in the yards two weeks & we only got a glimpse of each one.Also told me Nicola was the most genuine & kind person who did nothing but support her little brother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭Clemon

She (Nicola)was far superior to the other female jockeys & possibly some of the males. 6 weeks of listening to Bull out of SBB & Joe I would have walked out if I got that letter. Also remember its a reality show and people are put under a lot of preasure so you dont know what went on behind the scenes eithet. Its never black & white. Still dont know who half the people are who got the license as didnt see them in first few eps!Also I was led to believe that once you failed in RACE you didnt get a chance to go back on simulater?!
    I met one of the competitors of the show at Navan the other week a lovely person with such a great personality she said that there is so much that could be added to the 40mins that we are only getting to see a taster of it. They were in the yards two weeks & we only got a glimpse of each one.Also told me Nicola was the most genuine & kind person who did nothing but support her little brother.
    Hello Nicola.

Blatantly obvious this poster is Nicola :pac:

Are you still mad over not getting your licence? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭rossom

Clemon wrote: »
    Hello Nicola.

Blatantly obvious this poster is Nicola :pac:

Are you still mad over not getting your licence? :pac:

Last post is a bit suspect alright. Allegedly met someone at Navan a couple of weeks ago yet the posts from Halloween would surely have come after this 'meeting' and it seems very odd to omit that fact initially.

Not sure if its actually Nicola though as on the first page the poster stated they liked what they saw with regards to Dawn (that is unless Nicola plays for the home team)

Listen lads think & say what you want. Im not Nicola wish i could ride like her though. Typical irish mantality anyway why not have something constructive to say instead of picking on one persin im sure your all talented jockeys!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭Clemon

Nicola is good.
    Nicola is great.
    Nicola is everything that we don't hate.

Listen lads believe what you want I am only saying what I believe its my opinion. Im not Nicola & I wish I was if I could ride lile that id be happy! Its typical Irish mentality kick a person when they are down. Im sure your all champion jockeys!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Was the race actually a year ago??? I vaguely remember Unaccompanied winning at odds on in Naas last November and if memory serves me right Davy Russell was doing the whole 'Movember' thing last year too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭finbarrk

Who trained the grey horse that won?

finbarrk wrote: »
    Who trained the grey horse that won?

Dermot Anothony McLoughlin. Race took place on 12th November last year.

Nice to see it end on a high. Great ride by Aine to win the race.

I doubt Conor O'Dwyer will get involved again. Twice people were no-shows at his yard and couldn't be bothered to call and let him know. Or anyone else for that matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 WLPD

Interesting that if you search for jockey Aine Ryan on irishracing you get no records shown. So was the licence issued for this 1 race only.

WLPD wrote: »
    Interesting that if you search for jockey Aine Ryan on irishracing you get no records shown. So was the licence issued for this 1 race only.

Nah it wasn't. I had a look on RP to see if any of them got any more races after this and a few have ridden a couple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,364 ✭✭✭✭dvcireland

WLPD wrote: »
    bump

http://www.goracing.ie/HRI/Racing-Statistics/Jockey-Data/?jid=7163

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭RedSeven7

Anyone know if there will be a second series? Would love to give it a go!

think the 2nd series has been made already

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭RedSeven7

hollysf wrote: »
    think the 2nd series has been made already

oh brilliant, haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 IRSH MAN

how did she get the job ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,931 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Anyone looking at the card for Fairyhouse tomorrow? The 5:50 race is named the TG4 JOCKEY EILE SWEEPSTAKES and has a whopping €1 of prize money going towards the winner. Looking at the jockeys, I take it they're part of the show?

The new series is now back on TG4 Sunday nights

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 IRSH MAN

Bullies have no place on TV

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

A troll is someone who posts controversial, inflammatory, extraneous, or off-topic messages with the primary intent of provoking other users into an emotional response or of otherwise disrupting normal on-topic discussion.

Sensible comments please.