Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car tyre stand - Lidl - €14.95

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭working fool

Looks good
    The cup on the top must be for storing the centre caps or the wheel nuts / studs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,685 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Why is this better than just stacking 4 tyres on top of each other?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

NIMAN wrote: »
    Why is this better than just stacking 4 tyres on top of each other?
    The bottom tyres don't get squished and distorted over time in storage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

slimjimmc wrote: »
    The bottom tyres don't get squished and distorted over time in storage.

Jaysus I've never heard of that.

Surely that wouldn't happen over a six month period? I've left wheels sitting for god knows how long and never ever had a problem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 873 ✭✭✭spiggotpaddy

A bit posh. And get about as much use as a breville toaster.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

I'll be buying one, have a use for it straight away and for the price of it, it can stay in the cupboard when it's not needed.

They're also doing car covers, anyone used one of the Lidl ones? Are they breathable or will they just trap moisture? Looks like my 7's going to be in the drive a while, I need to get it under wraps. If they're crap, any recommendations in the not-silly-money category?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,858 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

Nothing a few pieces of 2 x1 wood in between each alloy wheel cant sort out FFS.

Looks good
    The cup on the top must be for storing the centre caps or the wheel nuts / studs

Or for placing your can of "dutch gold"..:pac:

paddy147 wrote: »
    Looks good

Or for placing your can of "dutch gold"..:pac:

Sold !
    Sure I bought a yoke called a biscuit cutter dunno what it does but it was cheap

Sold !
    Sure I bought a yoke called a biscuit cutter dunno what it does but it was cheap

Biscuit Jointer...its used to make slits/cuts into sheets of wood,for joining them together with wooden biscuits (like a wooden dowel).:)

Reduced from 30 euro to 20 euro now too.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

Would a €1.99 sweeping brush not do the same job :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

Surely that wouldn't happen over a six month period? I've left wheels sitting for god knows how long and never ever had a problem?

Generally for tyre storage.
    If you are storing tyres without rims, they should be placed standing, and you should turn them occasionally through the year, to make sure they won't get deformed.

If you are storing tyres on rims, they should be in horizontal position. It is OK to stock one on each other, but you might want move them once every while.
    That kind of stand seems to be the best option.

And yes - believe me - over 6 months tyres stored in wrong way (f.e tyres on rims standing) might get damaged to that extend that you will feel it during driving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

CiniO wrote: »

Generally for tyre storage.
    If you are storing tyres without rims, they should be placed standing, and you should turn them occasionally through the year, to make sure they won't get deformed.

If you are storing tyres on rims, they should be in horizontal position. It is OK to stock one on each other, but you might want move them once every while.
    That kind of stand seems to be the best option.

And yes - believe me - over 6 months tyres stored in wrong way (f.e tyres on rims standing) might get damaged to that extend that you will feel it during driving.
    But they stand on the rim all the time when they are on a car?

Where To wrote: »

A car moves though.

But most people usually move the car almost everyday.
    If you leave your car unmoved for half a year, tyres won't be great after that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

CiniO wrote: »

But most people usually move the car almost everyday.
    If you leave your car unmoved for half a year, tyres won't be great after that.
    I can't see how they'd be any worse than lying on their flat for half a year.

You don't need to see it.
    It's something that's already been discovered.
    Read any article about tyre storage.
    Go to any garage and take a look how they store tyres.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

A bit posh. And get about as much use as a breville toaster.

Does a breville toaster get less use than a different brand :confused:

paddy147 wrote: »
    Sold !

Biscuit Jointer...its used to make slits/cuts into sheets of wood,for joining them together with wooden biscuits (like a wooden dowel).:)

Reduced from 30 euro to 20 euro now too.:D

See !
    I dident even read the box .

I've gotten some really useful stuff too
    Great DIY on a budget

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Does a breville toaster get less use than a different brand :confused:

Generally brevilles are sandwich toasters

See !
    I dident even read the box .

I've gotten some really useful stuff too
    Great DIY on a budget

Cross cut mitre saw for 50 euro?:D

10 meter Cable fish rod kit for 7 euro?:D

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Generally brevilles are sandwich toasters

What planet are you living on then??:P:D

http://www.breville.co.uk/products/toasters.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭Builderfromhell

After reading this it seems it's too much trouble to store tyres at all;

http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tiretech/techpage.jsp?techid=37

I sometimes buy second hand tyres from scrappy's and you can be sure they aren't stored as precisely as these folk recommend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,084 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

They have other car stuff too...

The wipers are good value.

@unkel: Maybe edit the thread title and pop the page link into your OP?

Not your ornery onager

It would make an excellent stand for respraying/refurbing your alloys
    It keeps a gap between each wheel
    Very handy for drying & curing the paint

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Tommyboy40

After reading this it seems it's too much trouble to store tyres at all;

http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tiretech/techpage.jsp?techid=37

I sometimes buy second hand tyres from scrappy's and you can be sure they aren't stored as precisely as these folk recommend

But then I wouldn't trust my safety to 2nd hand tyres.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,073 ✭✭✭✭cena

What are them trolley jacks like

Not Your Ornery Onager

Tommyboy40 wrote: »
    But then I wouldn't trust my safety to 2nd hand tyres.
    Ever buy a used car?

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

hmm...the car jack, I suspect I might end up getting it. Anybody that has seen it and knows if it is small enough to realistically be carried around in the boot? Always hated the small things that come with the cars :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

The trolley jacks are fine for occasional use. If I was going to be working on the car every weekend, it would frustrate me and I'd buy something more professional.

I wouldn't carry it in the boot, they're quite heavy and awkward, especially when - not if - the handle falls off. :)

cena wrote: »
    What are them trolley jacks like
    H3llR4iser wrote: »
    hmm...the car jack, I suspect I might end up getting it. Anybody that has seen it and knows if it is small enough to realistically be carried around in the boot? Always hated the small things that come with the cars :)

IE_68745wk4112_01_b.jpg

I used to carry a similar 2 ton trolley jack when I had a W124 merc, the W124 had a recess at each side of the boot and the jack fitted nicely in there.
    dahamsta wrote: »
    The trolley jacks are fine for occasional use. If I was going to be working on the car every weekend, it would frustrate me and I'd buy something more professional.

I wouldn't carry it in the boot, they're quite heavy and awkward, especially when - not if - the handle falls off. :)

Handle is designed to be removed easily, it won't just fall off when in use. When not in use you remove the handle, especially if you're putting it in the boot of a car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Thatnastyboy

Do yee reckon the jack would be able for a vehicle that weighs in/around 1900kg maybe more,

I know it says 2 ton.. but could it be trusted?

Id usually go for the overkill option but I could do with one and dont feel like paying for a proper 3.5t one right now.

Also Re: the handle falling off - I can vouch for that, one of them broke my fcuking toe last year when the handle fell off. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 263 ✭✭Light Switch

H3llR4iser wrote: »

Car jacks are awesome, iv one in the boot of my van. :)

I'v left a car jacked up 24hours with out any other support and it didnt budge.

Do yee reckon the jack would be able for a vehicle that weighs in/around 1900kg maybe more,

I know it says 2 ton.. but could it be trusted?..........

At most you'll be lifting two wheels off the ground and you'll be otherwise supporting the car if getting under it regardless of the jack so it'll be lovely jubbly.

Not Your Ornery Onager

Do ye reckon the jack would be able for a vehicle that weighs in/around 1900kg maybe more,

I know it says 2 ton.. but could it be trusted?
    I'd say it will work up to the stated load - after that you are taking a chance. If 'maybe more' takes your vehicle weight over 2 ton...

I don't think anyone here is going to tell you to fire ahead.

Edit: someone just did, while I was typing this.

You could look up the TUV report for the jack for more detail. Lidl don't usually sell out of them too fast, so you should have plenty of time to go in, get the info. and do some research before you decide whether to buy or not.

Not your ornery onager

... I said fire ahead as long as the car is otherwise supported if getting under it ;)
    A jack is to lift it off the ground, not to keep it off the ground.

Not a hope of me getting under it unsupported, fot the record, im thinking in terms of a flat tyre roadside situation, The jack that came with it is a telescopic bottle jack that takes hours to wind out and comes up a little short for the desired lift at times..

I have 7t (i think) rated axle stands in the shed so they're always under it when working underneath, luckily enough most work that doesnt require wheel removal can be done without any lifting :D

Id be lifting either one wheel at the front or both at the rear, suppose ill just purchase anyway, itll get use whether i use it for the truck or not.

Cheers lads

.... Mightn't have the extension required to lift a truck, SUV, type yoke though.

Hmm...

You could be right RJ, It needs a good bit of lifting to clear the ground..

It will be worth the money either way, handy piece of kit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 nolo_

did any one buy the car tyre stand? is the cover that's included water proof or breathable?