Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Alfa 146 timing belt cost

• 02-10-2012 11:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭

2003 Alfa 147 .. 84k miles.. Got belt changed at 60k, presume it's due again at 90 k?
    Shame as I'm only hanging onto it for a while longer... Lots beginning to fail on her.. Might be scrap..
    Any ideas of cost these days?

Title should read 147 ...

What else is wrong with it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Zipppy wrote: »
    2003 Alfa 147 .. 84k miles.. Got belt changed at 60k, presume it's due again at 90 k?
    Shame as I'm only hanging onto it for a while longer... Lots beginning to fail on her.. Might be scrap..
    Any ideas of cost these days?

Title should read 147 ...

The belt should be good for another 10k miles. When did you get it changed at 60k miles?

Timing belt on the t-sparks is about €400 including water-pump and variator.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭Zipppy

RoverJames wrote: »
    What else is wrong with it?

Well need T belt?, needs tyres, gear change got difficult recently, back box could do with a change(all rusted but not leaking) Fan belt screaching a bit at startup (was changed in spring), suspension is recently v noisey (prob roll bat bushes)

I could be lookin at well over 1k for all that ...........on a 03 147 with 84 doesnt seem worth it...mind you I have it 6.5 years so it owes me feck all..have loved it though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭Mr. TTime

In a very similar situation myself. It's a 01 147 (T Spark) which failed the NCT miserably yesterday - suspension (front and rear), axles, wishbones - will get somebody to quote me how much to fix but may be looking at scrap at this stage - 90k miles on her and never gave me a days trouble (well serious trouble - being an Alfa it has its endearing foibles ;)) -

As an aside, anyone know a good Alfa mechanic in Limerick?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,930 ✭✭✭GavMan

The boys on Alfaowner.com have recommended R.S. Auto Shop previously. Can't vouch for them myself.

R.S. Auto Shop (Limerick) Ltd
    Clondrina Ennis rd
    Co. Limerick
    061 - 453616

But on the face of it, the suspension work alone could cost you more than the car is worth itself.

If that turns out to be the case, I'd break for parts/scrap and get another minty 147. They are out there.

Thanks GavMan

Slowly coming to that conclusion myself. Really loved that car too but such is life. Will give RS Auto Shop a shout.

Zippy, best of luck with your machine.

Will update in a few weeks when things develop further.

Mr. TTime wrote: »
    In a very similar situation myself. It's a 01 147 (T Spark) which failed the NCT miserably yesterday - suspension (front and rear), axles, wishbones - will get somebody to quote me how much to fix but may be looking at scrap at this stage - 90k miles on her and never gave me a days trouble (well serious trouble - being an Alfa it has its endearing foibles ;)) -

As an aside, anyone know a good Alfa mechanic in Limerick?

Did it fail on suspension issues?? if so what was stated??

GavMan wrote: »
    The boys on Alfaowner.com have recommended R.S. Auto Shop previously. Can't vouch for them myself.

Clondrina Ennis rd
    Co. Limerick
    061 - 453616

But on the face of it, the suspension work alone could cost you more than the car is worth itself.

If that turns out to be the case, I'd break for parts/scrap and get another minty 147. They are out there.

Another idea would be to park up my / your 147, buy another and use old one for parts :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

Sound advice, I agree. The problem here being that you have a car that while worth nothing on the market, is difficult to match on a driving point of view without spending quite a bit of money. Getting another 147 (or a 156) that's in a better shape and make one out of the good bits from two :)

H3llR4iser wrote: »
    Sound advice, I agree. The problem here being that you have a car that while worth nothing on the market, is difficult to match on a driving point of view without spending quite a bit of money. Getting another 147 (or a 156) that's in a better shape and make one out of the good bits from two :)
    Than again..

Would it not be worth spending say 1500 on my car to have it sorted 100% than spending 2000 on another car and scraping my own :confused:

How long more are you keeping it?

Prob only till summer or so next year.. Daughter is learning to drive in it and once she gets full licence she's on her own :rolleyes:

Oh and it gets little use as I cycle to work, herself has car too and have a motorbike... So really she sits up most of time... Daughter uses it to get to and from evening work nearby...

Well need T belt?, needs tyres, gear change got difficult recently, back box could do with a change(all rusted but not leaking) Fan belt screaching a bit at startup (was changed in spring), suspension is recently v noisey (prob roll bat bushes)

I could be lookin at well over 1k for all that ...........on a 03 147 with 84 doesnt seem worth it...mind you I have it 6.5 years so it owes me feck all..have loved it though
    Prob only till summer or so next year.. Daughter is learning to drive in it and once she gets full licence she's on her own :rolleyes:............ So really she sits up most of time... Daughter uses it to get to and from evening work nearby...

I'd leave the timing belt as it's a 36k mile interval, the gearbox mightn't get any worse quickly and it's likely not a cheap fix (not uncommon on the 147/156)

I'd get decent tyres on it and get the fan belt sorted and get the suspension checked to ensure it's roadworthy and safe.

Back box might only be surface rust.

A few hundred could see you out 'till next Summer :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,718 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

90k is too soon for that Timing belt, especially if its not used much, get any safety related issues fixed and drive her on for a while until you come across that minty replacement. I know 4 or 5 lads who have had Alfas, and all of them operated with a donor car on standby, its the Alfa experience!

The 147 is a lovely driver, although I hired a Giulietta in Italy and was very uninspired with the drive, mind you it was a diesel and had a horrible long geared 6 speed box tuned for economy. Defeats the purpose of an Alfa really

Belt would be due at 36k or every 3 years depending on which comes first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

Than again..

Would it not be worth spending say 1500 on my car to have it sorted 100% than spending 2000 on another car and scraping my own :confused:

Oh definitely, that's the way I'd always go - you know what problems you car has and what it doesn't have, but you can't know what can surface from something you acquire from somebody else. The idea of getting another 147 and making a "frankenalfa" only applies if fixing yours to 100% is not economical.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭the culture of deference

Thats a terrible interval. How can some cars last for 120,000 miles or higher.

Thats 4 TB+Wp (1600 euro) in the same time frame.

The twin spark set up is sh1t, was originally 72k but loads snapped, the fix was to halve the interval. What manufacturer specs belts for 120k miles?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,261 ✭✭✭kenon

Thats a terrible interval. How can some cars last for 120,000 miles or higher.

Thats 4 TB+Wp (1600 euro) in the same time frame.
    They're just covering their arses.

I bought a 156 with 77k on it and it never had a t/b done. (I quickly got it to have it done... :D)

After having it done the mechanic said they're usually good for 50k.

5/6 a side football

Coolmine Sports Centre - Wednesdays - 8pm

PM me for a game

Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭George Dalton

What manufacturer specs belts for 120k miles?

Ford/PSA diesels for one. Plenty of belts have 100k+ (miles) intervals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 815 ✭✭✭jsd1004

I have 68k miles on my belt since last change 98 156 2.0. Wont be doing it till it snaps :) . NCT due january and it will fail on exhaust and few bushings so she will be weighed in then if she makes it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭A-Trak

jsd1004 wrote: »
    I have 68k miles on my belt since last change 98 156 2.0. Wont be doing it till it snaps :)

When it snaps, its not just a case if fitting a new belt though. You're looking at damaged valves and possibly a completely ruined engine with a cost well over a grand to remedy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

What manufacturer specs belts for 120k miles?
    Newer 1.6 tdi octavia has a timing belt interval of 220k km cant go wrong with that. Its not a tradional belt some how changed for longer intervals. I assume vw have same interval but not sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

jsd1004 wrote: »
    I have 68k miles on my belt since last change 98 156 2.0. Wont be doing it till it snaps :) . NCT due january and it will fail on exhaust and few bushings so she will be weighed in then if she makes it.

That's fine as long as you realise that if the timing belt snaps, it will cost you up to and even possibly over €1000 to repair rather then €350 or whatever for just a belt kit change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

If you think it'll be scrap in a year or so then just chance it. I'd still be surprised if it snapped before 50k tbh

Thanks GavMan

Slowly coming to that conclusion myself. Really loved that car too but such is life. Will give RS Auto Shop a shout.

Zippy, best of luck with your machine.

Will update in a few weeks when things develop further.

Ok I'm back guys and it's not good news :(

Got Mike (RS Auto) to give her a quick check and he said the Wishbone and axles need to be replaced as well as some work done on the ECU (airbag light not going off) - all in including work it will come to about a grand. So having checked donedeal and seen similar cars to mine on sale for 1.1k to 1.2k there seems little point in getting the work done.

Anyone have experience with the likes of www.n4cars.ie or similar? Know I will not get a great deal but at least it would be something.

Sounds about average for the age and model of car. The thing you need to realise is that the similar cars for sale for €1000 are going to need similar amounts of work to your own to get them up to scratch. There is a perception out there that you can buy a perfect car for a grand because of "the recession" This is simply not the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,261 ✭✭✭kenon

...as well as some work done on the ECU (airbag light not going off)

I'd bet there is nothing wrong with the ECU. It's nearly always a loose connection to a specific part of the airbag system.

5/6 a side football

Coolmine Sports Centre - Wednesdays - 8pm

PM me for a game

Thread

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

kenon wrote: »
    I'd bet there is nothing wrong with the ECU. It's nearly always a loose connection to a specific part of the airbag system.

I've had this in both my alfas, in one the ecu (think that was what it was called) for the aribags had failed,(it was seperate and specifically for the airbag) and in the other it was the wiring under the passenger seat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Hmmm with Alfas, You can get either cheap, or hassle free! You very rarely get both (often neither ha)! If its cheap (1000quid), its liable to give you some grief down the line, and require careful maintainable, (Flip side is you're getting a lovely car with wayy more standard kit/driving pleasure etc than most other cars for that price). Spend more money and buy an Alfa off an enthusiast who has got all the service stamps and keep it mint, and you should have wayy less hassle.

This is the harsh reality coming from me (proud owner of an Alfa at the minute!), if you just want a cheap replacement for the daughter until next year, get her a cheap jap which will be less hassle/grief!

ok decision time....

tax is out so do I re tax and fix up or get rid...

03 Alfa 147 1.6 84k miles....

issues::::

timimg belt required
    exhaust heat shield required (rattling like mad)
    gearbox 'stiff' to put into 3rd and 5th gears
    suspension squeaking all round (probably wishbones.....geting much worse these days)
    tyres needed all round

How much am I looking at????????

You would be doing well to get away with anything less than €1000.

Yeah Im thinking

timing belt - 400
    gearbox - 100
    tyres - 350
    wishbones - 400
    heatshield - 60
    total 1300+

much more than car is worth....what to do ? :(

If I were you I wouldn't put that kind of money into one. But it is your decision to make.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Yeah Im thinking

timing belt - 400
    gearbox - 100
    tyres - 350
    wishbones - 400
    heatshield - 60
    total 1300+

much more than car is worth....what to do ? :(

I think this could be your answer.

For an extra 400
    Linky
    Full-14711330.jpeg
    Full-14711333.jpeg

Use your old one as spares

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

You could get the parts off ebay or from a scrap yard and get an indy to fit, its a little bit extra work looking up part numbers etc but you'd save a good bit. No getting away with the timing belt, but part worn tyres also would be half the price your looking at, if the car is doing little mileage they would be good enough.

Gearbox may only need new oil and the linkage cleaned.

Yeah Im thinking

gearbox - 100

Not a hope imo.

ok decision time....

tax is out so do I re tax and fix up or get rid...

03 Alfa 147 1.6 84k miles....

issues::::

timimg belt required
    exhaust heat shield required (rattling like mad)
    gearbox 'stiff' to put into 3rd and 5th gears
    suspension squeaking all round (probably wishbones.....geting much worse these days)
    tyres needed all round

How much am I looking at????????

Time to scrap it I'm afraid. You will find a decent replacement if you hold your nerve

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭Maruney

Clondrina Ennis rd
    Co. Limerick
    061 - 453616

I used these guys when I was in Limerick (01 Alfa 156 that I keep mint), 1st time, I got them to replace front wishbones & they didn't bother putting the under tray back on because "one corner has a crack around the bolt" they didn't mention this and I noticed the under tray missing the next day. Got them to put it on and had it on a ramp since, there is definitely no problem with it. They drove the car 40mls also.

2nd time, I got t-belt & water pump done and when collecting the car late in the evening 2 mechanics were drifting around the yard in 2 customers cars. Was obvious they weren't expecting me by their reaction.

Didn't fancy going back after that, no problem with the work (except the under tray & 40mls trip) or bill but the wishbones didn't last more than 4 months that time - but that can be the case on the 156

Time to scrap it I'm afraid. You will find a decent replacement if you hold your nerve

Im thinking the same...

Hold my nerve ?? :confused:

Im thinking the same...

Hold my nerve ?? :confused:

What I mean is, hold on till a good one comes along. Rather than jumping the gun and getting just any old jalopy.

Or you could run it into the ground

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    You could drive it until it expires that's what I am currently doing with my 156. It has squeaky front suspension and a few little things but its still going strong.
    What I mean is, hold on till a good one comes along. Rather than jumping the gun and getting just any old jalopy.

Or you could run it into the ground

thanks guys...

Only issue with this is that NCT expires in feb 13 so that's really expiry date :mad:

Put tax and tyres on it 'till than so and ponder what to do over the coming months, provided it's safe suspension wise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

The fate of so many Alfa's of a certain age when the timing belt fails:(

2012-10-25092737-1.jpg

2012-10-25092748-1.jpg