Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ploughing Feedback/Thoughts/Complaints

• 27-09-2012 4:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 544 ✭✭✭

I know ders one already, about going, but thought id separate this one, merge if you feel the need to, but would love someone from NPA to read this. .

went Wed
    travelled green route from Naas, carpark 22, sailed straight in, and straight out. landed at 9:30, left at 5. i know this wasnt the case for most people

last year went with wife, this year, wife and parents in-law, first timers.

thoughts/feedback/complaints. well we mostly had the same ideas:

1, the land used seemed to be poor, water just sitting land, and never soaked away, and while no rain today, id say it was just as bad. . . tracks again are good, only for them ahe. . . . but very few stalls catered for off the track if u know what i mean, ,, gone is the day where everyone has bark down.

2, the layout seemed not as square as last year.. .. or as good, back tracking, some places like the vintage area was a no go area as the muck was unreal. and as for the ploughing, last year, it was right next to the event, but this year, well the bit we could see was a tractor ride away. father in law was disappointed.

3, on leaving no tractors were available to bring us to the car-park, thank god my father in law suggested to keep walking or we would still be there. we were fine, it was the in-laws that could have done with the lift out to the car. tractors were probably towing cars. . . . . i saw a lot of car-parks that should have never been one, hills etc. .. . no car would get out .. . . even a mini hill would hold all cars back. .

4, very little maps, i know i know, in the journal week before, but in the rain it would be handy to have a map at every 2-3 rows.

5, lastly, and this is a real complaint, and im sure ye all seen it. .
    NPA catering for a teenage festival. under-age drinking, p-ssing in public, splashing muck galore, while it may see grand and good to laugh at Irelands 10% brain deads, its not until your wife or mother in-law gets hit with muck. these kids were covered head to tow in muck and it didnt bother them. . . were the same ones who had no clothes on, . .. or tried there best to wear as little as possible. . . . . Ill probably go next year but id prefer that type of scenery to be at oxygen or electric picnic .. . . somewhere i wouldn't be.
    they also seemed to have all been bused in, no parents etc. .. . i just wonder what idiot bus driver let them back on bus. it was bad at the catering section down by the vintage, drinking tent down there also.

fix only the teenage problem and ill be happy as Larry. . .

good day out besides. more stands the merrier. but feel in 5-6 yrs time no machinery/farm stuff will be there, as i know big, and i mean full time farmers wont go any more around here because of the last point at least. . and im sure if the business isnt been done, they wont come with their stands.

NBF

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭Conor556

I agree with you on 5, Even though im only just going on 18 but I dont go to get pissed! I go to c some of the machinery and of course or the biros. Another complaint would be the knackers selling fireworks they completley piss me off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 aonsceal

To put it simply this year was the worse organised championship so far. The site was shocking with minor access roads and the teenage bus day trippers seem to be getting progressively worse every year. Alot of standholders were nt please with the whole thing after paying their euros but impression that they left me is the npa dont give a ****e once they have the euros in the pocket.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,213 ✭✭✭daenerysstormborn3

5, lastly, and this is a real complaint, and im sure ye all seen it. .
    NPA catering for a teenage festival. under-age drinking, p-ssing in public, splashing muck galore, while it may see grand and good to laugh at Irelands 10% brain deads, its not until your wife or mother in-law gets hit with muck. these kids were covered head to tow in muck and it didnt bother them. . . were the same ones who had no clothes on, . .. or tried there best to wear as little as possible. . . . . Ill probably go next year but id prefer that type of scenery to be at oxygen or electric picnic .. . . somewhere i wouldn't be.
    they also seemed to have all been bused in, no parents etc. .. . i just wonder what idiot bus driver let them back on bus. it was bad at the catering section down by the vintage, drinking tent down there also.

Just on this point. The "idiot bus drivers" are probably the same idiot bus drivers who thought it was acceptable to allow young people alight their buses and use resident's gardens as toilets along one of the main routes to the NPC. Unfortunately, it wasn't just young people who decided to act in this manner, I had men and women of all ages in my garden, under trees etc. relieving themselves. I live right beside a hotel, which was well signposted on approach, where they could have easily availed of the facilities. I don't care how long your journey is, this behaviour is absolutely disgusting and there's no need for people to behave like animals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭Treble20

The whole thing was a mess this year and the NPA got it badly wrong picking this venue. This event could go downhill if the organisers don't get their act together,the behaviour of teenagers at it was a disgrace,young girls barely dressed with young lads rolling around in mud and upsetting other patrons at the event. I'm a big fan of the ploughing festival but this year was a disaster,let's hope the mistakes are corrected for future events.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭Treble20

Just on this point. The "idiot bus drivers" are probably the same idiot bus drivers who thought it was acceptable to allow young people alight their buses and use resident's gardens as toilets along one of the main routes to the NPC. Unfortunately, it wasn't just young people who decided to act in this manner, I had men and women of all ages in my garden, under trees etc. relieving themselves. I live right beside a hotel, which was well signposted on approach, where they could have easily availed of the facilities. I don't care how long your journey is, this behaviour is absolutely disgusting and there's no need for people to behave like animals.
    Out of order. I was bursting myself for a toilet stuck in traffic but held out till I reached the venue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭cjpm

We went on Wednesday.

The traffic system on the blue route was a total fiasco!!
    The morning wasn't too bad, only because we left at 5.15 for a 105 mile trip. Had to use the N25 as the other routes were too far away. Didn't get parked until 8.15

Got back to the car at 17.10. Travelled about 100 yards in the first hour. About a mile in the next two hours. The 104 miles home then took a further 3 hours!!! Home for 23.10.

So sorry that we went at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

it is normally a four hour drive from our place, many of the people around here are saying it is a hard place to get to, also too much of a traffic jam, roads not able to take the traffic, it is enough to be four hours in the car going and not seven, and getting out all tired from the waiting and frustrated, and having to do seven hours home, so it is fouteen hours in the car instead of eight and just six hours in the event as people have to be back on road to get home at some hour,
    biggest complaint,
    off the beaten track, place not prepared for volume of traffic,
    while it would be fairer to the whole country to have it centred so there would be equal driving for furthest away and a place where there is a motorway passing close by,
    people are lagging the following day, due to too long cramped in cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭Grass Hopper

Went Tuesday and wednesday leaving from north Kerry
    Tuesday
    Left home at 5.20am and walked it the gates at 12.30 pm
    resorted to leaving at 3.30 to avoid traffic and was home in under 3 hrs soaked and seriously pissed off.
    Left Wednesday morning at 3.30am and was there for 6.30 am so happy but leaving the grounds at 8pm meant I didnt get home til 1.30 am :mad:

All I'd like to know is how the hell did the NRA and the Gardai allow this event to take place in a funnel???.
    The brown envelopes must have been flying :rolleyes:

I thought the site held up well considering the weather but witnessing 2 men go to blows on the main road in an instance of road rage summed up this mess for me.
    Pitch dark and 7 lanes of traffic charging out a 20 ft gate uphill in a soft field with no stewarts directing flow shows a complete disrespect for the paying customer and total incompetence.

I have a sneaky suspicion that the NPA will be made pull up their socks if this event is to be held off the beaten track again.

We spent €80 over 2 days on admission and to be honest I cant see myself doing it again.
    The highlight of the farming calender ruined by poor planning and arrogance :rolleyes:.

I think its time Anna May took to the rocking chair

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

Tuesday
    resorted to leaving at 3.30 to avoid traffic and was home in under 3 hrs soaked and seriously pissed off.
    Left Wednesday morning at 3.30am and was there for 6.30 am so happy but leaving the grounds at 8pm meant I didnt get home til 1.30 am :mad:

All I'd like to know is how the hell did the NRA and the Gardai allow this event to take place in a funnel???.

I thought the site held up well considering the weather but witnessing 2 men go to blows on the main road in an instance of road rage summed up this mess for me.
    Pitch dark and 7 lanes of traffic charging out a 20 ft gate uphill in a soft field with no stewarts directing flow shows a complete disrespect for the paying customer and total incompetence.

I have a sneaky suspicion that the NPA will be made pull up their socks if this event is to be held off the beaten track again.

We spent €80 over 2 days on admission and to be honest I cant see myself doing it again.
    The highlight of the farming calender ruined by poor planning and arrogance :rolleyes:.

the nra or gardai have nothing to do with where it goes or with site location, npa are to blame so please get that right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Why didn't they keep it in Cardenton, Athy? I've been to a lot of ploughing championships and I always thought this was the best location. The only downside with Athy, was dangerous congestion when exiting on the motorway itself. I saw a few close ones.
    Well, lets hope lesson was well learned this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭fastrac

The fact that no venue was announced for next year says it all. Most of us would be the target audience for the event. Imagine how people with no interest feel stuck in traffic for three days.

By the way I second the rocking chair proposal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

I wasnt one bit happy to see all the lads selling siphoning tubes for any tom dick or harry to nick a bit of diesel

as for the teenagers, are you going to implement a dress code for the ploughing now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭leoch

i third the rocking chair proposal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Chances are if the spring show starts back up it will tak away alot of the teenagers and no loss either.
    Dump the funfairs, tat shops, toy shops and limit the bars too for that matter and it would bring the event back to more what it should be.

There seems to be a mentality that bigger and more people is what it's about rather than the quality of the event and trade stands. The ploughing is like any other event, if they loose sight of the purpose of the event then it will suffer.

Bigger, bigger, bigger isn't the key. Have a quality event and the farming community will support it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭PatQfarmer

Traffic management was a disaster on and off the site.
    In fairness to the Gardai, they didn't choose the site, that's down to the NPA.
    The NPA were also responsible for getting people off the site in the evening and they abandoned this responsibility totally! There were crashes, fights and hours of frustration getting out of some car-parks.
    Even worse, there was no shuttle to the outer car-parks. I walked 40 mins over mud and deep ruts to the Orange car park and I'm young(it's all relative:D) and fit. The number of older folk that I had to guide and help through some of the worst patches! Some of theses people took 2 hours to find their car! I gave out to the one NPA shirt I met and he said the inner car parks were "too mucky to bring the tractor and trailer over"!!!
    It was a disaster from start to finish. Unless they up their game big-time, it will fade like the Spring Show did...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

aonsceal wrote: »
    To put it simply this year was the worse organised championship so far. The site was shocking with minor access roads and the teenage bus day trippers seem to be getting progressively worse every year. Alot of standholders were nt please with the whole thing after paying their euros but impression that they left me is Anna May doesn't give a ****e once they have the euros in the pocket.

Fixed that for ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

PatQfarmer wrote: »
    It was a disaster from start to finish. Unless they up their game big-time, it will fade like the Spring Show did...

Pride comes and all that.....

Went yesterday. We're around 40 kms from the venue as the crow flies and we went more or less as the crow flies. We used the ferry came in from Tramore side and were 2 ferry loads from the Ferry when we got to Passage at 8.30am so about 30 mins to get on Ferry. We got a phone call from one of the neighbours that he had turned back at the toll bridge just as we left the house yesterday and was going for ferry. We were parked up in the venue at 10.00am feeling quite pleased with ourselves. The event was enjoyable without the problems with teenagers others had earlier in week.

We left at around 4 and were driving out of the carpark @ 4.30 ater the tae. Got home at just after 6.30. We thought to ourselves not too bad only 4 hours in the car. It was only after I thought about it 4 hours for a 100km round trip. The rest of you that travelled big distances are frankly mad. It's a disgrace. That trip in free flowing traffic for me would normally be around half an hour. An hour to cover the last 20 miles into a ploughing is more than enough and as much as anyone should be asked to do. I often went much further to a ploughing in the same sort of time.

BTW I was quoted a figure of €2000 for a 15mX30m stand as being the going rate for the ploughing plus €660 for elec and water. You could bring your own genny but it had to be certed by the NPA spark @ €550 a pop. The patrons and the exhibitors deserve better than a venue in a location like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

I have only one complaint, and it's also the reason I didn't attend the ploughing this year. The location is too far away, down in a corner of the country. There could have been record attendance this year if it was in a more accessible location closer to the middle of the country and near a motorway. Louth, Waterford, and Kerry I have heard as prospects next year, I won't travel to them for much the same reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

I'm one of the lucky ones who lives in Enniscorthy so the site is roughly 25 mins drive.Bizzare that 99% of the traffic was sent down the N25,we travelled along the N30 with almost zero traffic until 2 miles from the site.It was a fair trek from the new car park but thanks to 4wd we managed to get nearer (god help the few who had cars left where we parked)

The road network in the area isn't suitable for such volumes of traffic plus people stopping in bizzare places didn't help.Plenty of signs up yet some drivers still looked bemused.

Exhibitors said spending was way down among visitors & I'd say quite a few won't be back next year-no recession prices from organisors for exhibitors/traders.It's a massive outlay to pitch a stand then to see very little revenue in return.

If the ploughing is to be held in Wexford next year,I'd prefer to see it near Gorey or just North of Enniscorthy,easier access & motorway/national roads pretty much to to the gates of any proposed site.

As an aside,I know a lot of the lads doing security & they told me that the amount of people climbing fences to avoid paying was farcical-it wasn't teenagers only,most of the offenders were adults.One woman tried to blag her way in using last years pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

zerks wrote: »
    As an aside,I know a lot of the lads doing security & they told me that the amount of people climbing fences to avoid paying was farcical-it wasn't teenagers only,most of the offenders were adults.One woman tried to blag her way in using last years pass.

arrived yesterday with my parents around 2.00ish and got in for free

no one at the gate charging admission:confused:

wanted to see the ploughing itself but the access to it was a river of muck:( so didn't bother....and the tailback home took well over an hour to get out of

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

fryup wrote: »
    arrived yesterday with my parents around 2.00ish and got in for free

no one at the gate charging admission:confused:

wanted to see the ploughing itself but the access to it was a river of muck:( so didn't bother....and the tailback home took well over an hour to get out of

It seemed as if they stopped charging for the afternoon.I still can't understand the logic of pushing virtually all the traffic from Leinster onto the N25,as I said,there was virtually no traffic on the N30 so for anyone who preplanned to go that way it was plain sailing.
    The roads around the site are used for rallying so if they are deemed challenging enough for that then who in their right mind though they'd be suitable for the influx of 65,000+ vehicles?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 cowbox

I have been going to the ploughing for yrs now and I would have to say that site in New Ross has been one of the worst ever.Was down for the 3 days and was glad to get home in the end. The site was like a bog wet and soggy. The poor lads that had to plough they must of went down to there belly...There was no proper roads going into it all little backs roads twists and turns compared to Athy last yr you flew in and flew out and near the motorway.
    Another things as said before the ploughing was always about the machinery along with the actual ploughing. But now there seems to be more retail non agri stuff creeping in with only a tiny section with machinery.
    I hope to god the organisers haven't picked that site again or i'd say very lillte turn up. I reckon the ploughing needs to be more central somewhere were there is good road infustructure and good decent land. And it would make sense the more central the less people will have to travel. God help the poor people that trecked from the north or the west they would have to be driving for miles.
    I think next years ploughing and subsequent events should be in the following counties: Kildare Laois Carlow Offaly or Killkeny and maybe Meath..
    Anyway thats my rant over!!:D
    O another thing €20 in or they having a joke ...€15 would have been more than enough..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Yep I agree. The Agri side of things seem to be sidelined to allow more retail and other elements. They seem to be more interested in getting big numbers rather than having a quality farming event. The npa shouldn't forget which side their bread is buttered on. Spoke to several fellow Agri people and they also said it has got too big and busy. You can't get Around to all the stands you want. The likes of tullamore etc will become more popular for genuine Agri people. I will not head down to it if it's in the same site or some remote spot with poor access.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭20silkcut

In fairness I can't see anything wrong with the young ones wearing half nothing that is welcome in my book.
    Yes they could cut out the teenage boys and knackers etc. I saw two young lads beating the head off each other at one stage nasty stuff. Those guys selling the diesel sucking tubes were scandalous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 Ant Venom

RAIN RAIN RAIN RRRRRAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIINNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 Ant Venom

Teens do work hard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

Tuesday

Why didn't you just sleep in the car Tuesday night besides driving all the way home to Kerry?

Did Christy Moore ever write a song about the ploughin? And if not, why not............

Anyone see the two clowns in the green van on the N25 on Tuesday with 5 or 6 apes of young fellas in the back hanging out the side door roaring at people in cars as they were passing? If you are stupid enough to carry passengers in a van at least keep them locked into it with their gobs shut :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,656 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Wasn't at this years. Pity to hear the site was so inaccesible.
    Also agree re the school tours element. That has really crept in in recent years and I find it really off putting. Kids plastered in muck and throwing themselves around. No thanks :(

I have only one complaint, and it's also the reason I didn't attend the ploughing this year. The location is too far away, down in a corner of the country. There could have been record attendance this year if it was in a more accessible location closer to the middle of the country and near a motorway. Louth, Waterford, and Kerry I have heard as prospects next year, I won't travel to them for much the same reason.

Kerry? Ah seriously like, if you think Wexford has poor access.... Ever been through Adare on a friday evening, except it would be ten times worse!
    Is there even much/any tillage down that side?
    It needs to be on the M9/7/8/4 corridor as it's most accessible and where the best farmland broadly is too.

mfitzy wrote: »
    Kerry? Ah seriously like, if you think Wexford has poor access.... Ever been through Adare on a friday evening, except it would be ten times worse!
    It needs to be on the M9/7/8/4 corridor as it's most accessible and where the best farmland broadly is too.
    Great tillage land around Ardfert where the ploughing was held in 1984. I am not saying it should be held there again, I am only answering your question.

The way the ploughing is now there's more to it than just ploughing. Fair enough, for the matches they need ground for ploughing but that's the height of it. I heard an idea, could have been on here, to rotate it through the four provinces year by year, I think that's a good idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Tigerandahalf

We went on the Thursday. Initially we were going to go on Tuesday but once we knew the weather was bad we held off. Glad we did. With all the traffic problems, rain and the usual big crowds on a Tues. We had no problem with traffic. Was surprised. Took us 3 and a half hours each way. We only stayed for 4 hours, had enough in that time. Went around a few stalls, saw the ploughing and a few cattle. Most enjoyable part was listening to and watching the suckler demonstration. Thought entry fee was dear enough. 15 for OAP is a lot. 20 for adult. Didnt seem to be family passes. Wasnt displayed anyway. Got a burger. It was 6 euro. The rest of the lads didnt eat, waited til after.
    I bought a programme for 5 eur. It was useless full of crap ads and no info or interviews with farmers. The map at back of it was hard to find and only gave stand numbers. Had no idea where things were but I guess that is part of the day, walk around and browse things.
    Funny hearing people say the ground was bad. Ye must be on very good lad. Maybe it had dried out by the Thurs but the soil looked good.
    I enjoyed it but not sure if I would go every year or be able to. Last time was about 10 years ago in Meath or Dublin I think.

Great tillage land around Ardfert where the ploughing was held in 1984. I am not saying it should be held there again, I am only answering your question.

Thanks, I didn't know that really. Take it Ardfert is in north Kerry. Knew there were little bits of s barley of course but didn't think there'd be enough to hold the ploughing in one big site but then what do I know! The road access would be brutal though.

The way the ploughing is now there's more to it than just ploughing. Fair enough, for the matches they need ground for ploughing but that's the height of it. I heard an idea, could have been on here, to rotate it through the four provinces year by year, I think that's a good idea.

Need good dry land for the stands and the car parks though. That's less likely in Connacht or Ulster. It needs to be held where the heart of farming is and that is Leinster or Munster. That's just my opinion of course!

We went on the Thursday. Initially we were going to go on Tuesday but once we knew the weather was bad we held off. Glad we did. With all the traffic problems, rain and the usual big crowds on a Tues. We had no problem with traffic. Was surprised. Took us 3 and a half hours each way. We only stayed for 4 hours, had enough in that time. Went around a few stalls, saw the ploughing and a few cattle. Most enjoyable part was listening to and watching the suckler demonstration. Thought entry fee was dear enough. 15 for OAP is a lot. 20 for adult. Didnt seem to be family passes. Wasnt displayed anyway. Got a burger. It was 6 euro. The rest of the lads didnt eat, waited til after.
    I bought a programme for 5 eur. It was useless full of crap ads and no info or interviews with farmers. The map at back of it was hard to find and only gave stand numbers. Had no idea where things were but I guess that is part of the day, walk around and browse things.
    Funny hearing people say the ground was bad. Ye must be on very good lad. Maybe it had dried out by the Thurs but the soil looked good.
    I enjoyed it but not sure if I would go every year or be able to. Last time was about 10 years ago in Meath or Dublin I think.
    I go every year 2 things I never do 1. buy a program 2. buy food
    I take my own food and eat it before going in and after coming out. There is also free food available in the supermarket stands enough to keep you going while you are in there. One problem though in the super value stand they were holding out plates of meat I think not sure as I stayed well clear. Every Tom Dick and Harry were dipping their hands in the plate some that more than likely urinated without washing their hands after :eek: I don't like consuming other peoples urine. I only take food if it is served with gloved hands ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

mfitzy wrote: »

there are pockets of super tillage land in Kerry, cant think where they have their eyes on in Killarney though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

I take my own food and eat it before going in and after coming out. There is also free food available in the supermarket stands enough to keep you going while you are in there. One problem though in the super value stand they were holding out plates of meat I think not sure as I stayed well clear. Every Tom Dick and Harry were dipping their hands in the plate some that more than likely urinated without washing their hands after :eek: I don't like consuming other peoples urine. I only take food if it is served with gloved hands ;)
    The Cavan man speaks again :D:D:D

You're too posh for the Ploughing ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

moy83 wrote: »
    The Cavan man speaks again :D:D:D

That's not a proper Cavan man... no mention of cadging a lift with some sucker neighbour :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Manoffeeling

A cute man by bringing your own food. Do you bring home your urine for the roses???? :P

bbam wrote: »
    That's not a proper Cavan man... no mention of cadging a lift with some sucker neighbour :D
    No all the neighbours have copped on to me now I had to jump on the back of a lorry heading south :D

A cute man by bringing your own food. Do you bring home your urine for the roses???? :P
    No I washed your car with it before I left, did you notice your seat a bit soggy your window was partly open :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 zymar

was enjoyable event,no complaints really, went on thursday left home 6.30 parked at 9.50 3hours 20 mins from clare was not bad.stay overnight waterford city. 2 hours 30 mins from site to waterford. did'nt really mind. i think its better to move to different locations even if that means most traffic coming the same way.talk to some exhibitors who say thursday was best day for business ,on tuesday and wednesday people taking shelter at trade stands from constant rain.dont know why more people dont stay overnight 6/7/8 hours stuck in car in a day can easily cause stress, anger etc .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭The Nutty M

Got what looks to be a generic email generated by Anne Marie.

Just a note to confirm receipt of your email.
    I can appreciate all of your comments and understand what you are saying.
    As a national association we are under huge pressure to move the championships around the country giving each region an opportunity to gain from the event.
    Our board is made up of members from every county in Ireland.
    I will certainly present your thoughts to our members and give your comments consideration.

Anna Marie McHugh
    Press Office
    National Ploughing Association
    Tel: [059] 8625125
    Fax: [059] 8625172
    Mob: 087-4193965
    Email: annamarie@npa.ie
    www.npa.ie
    www.facebook.com/NationalPloughingChampionship
    www.twitter.com/npaie

Had sent off an email to info@npa.ie on Thursday night about the idiotic decision to have it down there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭maidhc

It was my first time in about 4 years going to the ploughing, and I won't be back. Machinery and cattle stands seemed notable by their absence and have been superceeded by tents selling tat. It has been going downhill since John Deere abandoned it, but I was getting bored by lunchtime this year.

Was lucky to go on Thursday, so the weather was good. Traffic was heavy going out, but such is life.

My biggest complaint would again be the Oxegen element. Get the event back to basics, change the pricing structure so smaller suppiers/engineering companies will come, and Del Boys will stay away. Stop catering for the lowest common denominator and make it less attractive to non-farmers.

I know I may be considered a bit elitist, but horses for courses, but there is no reason the ploughing should be more appealingto some than Dundrum Town Centre in the last week of Sept.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

A pal of mine was telling me Friday traffic was mad also, as the traffic was two way at the site and no gardai to be seen. He wasn't too worried though as he got 300,000 in orders and it will keep his twelve Irish manufacturing jobs going for a while.

On another note someone was commenting on the price of burgers and chips, 6000 for a van on the site

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

On another note someone was commenting on the price of burgers and chips, 6000 for a van on the site

I had heard €5000 and it all had to be through one company who have the contract.

Was travelling back on the N11 Friday night and was amazed at how lorries were going back after disassembling and reloading their gear.