Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Classic Matches

• 26-09-2012 9:28pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,631 ✭✭✭

As a diversion, here is a chance to reminisce about any great matches you have seen down the years. Can be at any level of the game, but give a bit of detail about why it sticks in the memory. I'll start the ball rolling

1) France vs Australia, 1987 RWC.

One of the best RWC games ever, and certainly sticks in my memory. Was only a kid then, but the lead changed several times, and when Blanco scored the winning try, the whole family (and the hosts who kindly let us watch it on their TV) went delirious.

2) Auckland v Canterbury, 1985 Ranfurly Shield.

The best Ranfurly Shield game ever, 52000 fans packed into lancaster park, in those days mostly standing only. My first live game. Legends on both teams, including Wayne Smith & Robbie Deans on the red 'n blacks. Fantastic start from Auckland, amazing comeback from Canterbury, not quite enough, and the Shield changed hands. A young Andrew Mehrtens can be seen jumping for joy when Bruce Deans scores in the corner early in the second half. Can't find highlights on youtube, damn it.

3) NZ v Aussie, Sydney 2000. Not an original choice, but that was a great game of rugby, in the days when NZ v Aussie could go either way (more often in favour of Aussie :( ) The unbelievable start from NZ, the incredible comeback from Aussie, and the last minute try from Lomu. The game a week or so later was also a classic, featuring an amazing set-piece AB try, but will be mostly remembered for John Eales kicking the winning penalty.

4) Sydenham U7s v Belfast U7s

Last, but not least, my first game of rugby. From memory, I got "Tackler of the Day".

I imagine Ire v Eng at the Croker must be up there for Irish fans, but there has to be other great matches ye can recall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

From an Irish perspective, the Grand Slam match stands out, unbelievable finish.

And of course, Leinster-Northampton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭harvester of sorrow

The second Lions test 2009.
    "The battle of Pretoria"...one of the most physical games i've ever seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,942 ✭✭✭✭phog

Munster v Wasps, Lansdowne Rd, best game in the H/cup and Munster lost

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,100 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Sorry Swiwi, but I think any such list has to include this gem:

Having watched it again more recently, the first half wasn't quite as one-sided as I remembered and France could consider themselves quite unlucky to go 24-10 down. However, that second half is just phenomenal - absolutely everything went right for France. Its even better with the French commentary!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Munster vs Clermont at Thomond Park in the HEC pool stages of 08/09 was a great game.

IIRC Munster had 10% possession in the second half and were getting beaten pillar to post by Clermont, albeit except on the scoreboard. In the last few minutes, Brock James missed a drop goal attempt from under the posts (not the last time he would do that!) which could have sealed it. Munster somehow got down the field and Horan squeezed in under Mario Ledesma in the corner to get Munster ahead. Then to top it all off, Niall Ronan chipped over a Georgian prop's head, outran him and dotted down in the last minute.

Munster got a bonus point, Clermont left with nothing. I was stunned!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

Jesus at least 20 spring to mind.
    I'll mention one slightly less obvious one.

Ireland v England 1993 ( geoghegans great try in the left corner, elwood world class with the boot) after years of abject failure, an outstanding performance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,631 ✭✭✭Swiwi

Podge_irl wrote: »
    Sorry Swiwi, but I think any such list has to include this gem:

Having watched it again more recently, the first half wasn't quite as one-sided as I remembered and France could consider themselves quite unlucky to go 24-10 down. However, that second half is just phenomenal - absolutely everything went right for France. Its even better with the French commentary!

Yeah, I thought about this one. Even though NZ lost it is one of the classic matches, no question. I didn't get to watch it live, though. Had uni exam the next morning, and game was 2am or similar NZ-time. Went to sleep to the sound of cheers (Lomu's 2 first-half tries) and awoke to my radio-alarm playing sombre organ music. There was a surreal feeling at the residence breakfast table.

Actually, an interesting piece of trivia is that I remember some bloke had placed $50 at the NZ TAB on NZ losing to France by 12 points. He was getting crazy odds of course. When Wilson scored his consolation try & it was converted, he ended up winning $50,000 or something like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

Toulouse V Munster HC 2000

The second Lions test 2009.
    "The battle of Pretoria"...one of the most physical games i've ever seen.

In terms of Lions tests, the test where David Campese literally gifted a try to the Lions (Ieuen Evans from memory - his name should go on one of those American spelling bee competitions, I'm sure I've got it wrong) is a classic. Once again, all the household was jumping for joy!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qOCN4dkyvp4

Classic commentary. And it all started with an English fly-half taking a drop-goal...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭shuffol

Wales vs Fiji, WC 2007

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭totallegend

Leinster v Toulouse, 2011

Wales v New Zealand, Rwc 2003

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 Caxton

Munster’s victory over the All Blacks 1979 in Thomond Park puts David & Goliath to shame. It’s difficult to understand the enormity of the victory in this age of professionalism. The impact on Munster and Irish rugby should not be underestimated and the fact that they held the All Blacks scoreless was in itself a magnificent achievement.

Yes I was there and I’ve got the programme and ticket stub to prove it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

A few years back RTE or Setanta went through a phase of showing really old Ireland matches from the 70's and 80's. Was absolutely fascinating to watch, completely different style of rugby and so much more chaotic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Ireland Aus RWC 91

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Leinster v Clermont in the HEC QF in 2010. The RDS has never been more alive and it was a very dramatic game that went right down to the wire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Tomtom364

Fiji vs Japan - RWC 07

really tightly fought game, iirc went on to 89 minutes! both sides trying despreatly to get one last score and not let the ball go dead. It was incredible stuff to watch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,684 ✭✭✭JustinDee

Australia v New Zealand 1991 RWC and of course, the earlier mentioned Bledisloe match in 2000. Not forgetting the Toutai game the following year in Stadium Australia. I was at the Bledisloe Cup game in 1999 when 107,000 attended. Quite a memorable occasion.

The Irish Grand Slam match v Wales is the best Irish match of any level I can recall. Never before has an atmosphere or result been matched in Irish rugby and I have never been that close to bursting a blood vessel at a game. The French game from that year and then this year v NZ in the second test.
    Was stuck listening to the Leinster v Northants Heineken Cup game two years ago on radio in car as was on way back from working at Sevens but that was an amazing result and has to be up there too. Even better than the other Leinster wins and the two Munster ERC wins.

Another code I know, but I highly recommend a State of Origin decider. Un-effing-believable, though depressing these days to watch for the past 7 series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,072 ✭✭✭leakyboots

Fireball07 wrote: »
    Toulouse V Munster HC 2000

Was at that. My father, who was at the famous '78 game against the All Blacks and countless other Munster matches before and after, reckoned it was their greatest ever game. That Toulouse team, in that heat. My first away trip, fond memories :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,072 ✭✭✭leakyboots

That Wales v Fiji game from the World Cup a few years back was a bit of a classic, not in the all-time sense, but one of those ones you'd sit down to watch again and be entertained.

From a Munster perspective, The Miracle Match v Gloucester or the game against Sale where Barry Murphy scores and Chabal gets taught a lesson are ones I've watched a few times.

The game against the All Blacks for the opening of the new Thomond was amazing, shame we didn't get the result. Was at that too, unreal atmosphere

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

When did they change the kick-off from a placed kick to a drop kick?

Save time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Toulouse vs Leinster 2006.

Obviously the GS decider against Wales is right up there too. Not sure why but I had utter faith that day. I'll never forget some stranger beside me unable to watch as Wales took the lead 5 minutes from the end. I grabbed him and turned him towards the big screen and told him ROG would nail a DG for us. I'd never had a bloke tell me he loved me before....

Clermont vs Leinster last season was a serious heart-stopper, similar to Leinster vs Toulouse the previous year.

Leinster - Toulouse in 2011 was the best and highest quality non-international I've ever seen. The sheer pace the game was played at was phenomenal.

I don't know if the 2006 game has just been built up in my memory, but was that not a faster game overall? 2011 was a real heavy-weight bout that was seriously impressive, but I just remember 2006 being a bit more manic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭tbm

CatFromHue wrote: »
    Leinster v Clermont in the HEC QF in 2010. The RDS has never been more alive and it was a very dramatic game that went right down to the wire.

yeah, that was great. considering the amount of points james left behind it was real squeaky bum stuff at the end. jaysus but we're due a thumping off clermont!

Teferi wrote: »
    A few years back RTE or Setanta went through a phase of showing really old Ireland matches from the 70's and 80's. Was absolutely fascinating to watch, completely different style of rugby and so much more chaotic.

"Unstructured" in modern parlance. I agree, watching the old games reminds me of U5s rugby - everyone swarming round the ball like bees to a hive, before it emerges and someone charges off downfield, until the whole thing repeats itself. Any of those old teams would be slaughtered in a modern game.

JustinDee wrote: »
    Australia v New Zealand 1991 RWC and of course, the earlier mentioned Bledisloe match in 2000. Not forgetting the Toutai game the following year in Stadium Australia. I was at the Bledisloe Cup game in 1999 when 107,000 attended. Quite a memorable occasion.

The Irish Grand Slam match v Wales is the best Irish match of any level I can recall. Never before has an atmosphere or result been matched in Irish rugby and I have never been that close to bursting a blood vessel at a game. The French game from that year and then this year v NZ in the second test.
    Was stuck listening to the Leinster v Northants Heineken Cup game two years ago on radio in car as was on way back from working at Sevens but that was an amazing result and has to be up there too. Even better than the other Leinster wins and the two Munster ERC wins.

Another code I know, but I highly recommend a State of Origin decider. Un-effing-believable, though depressing these days to watch for the past 7 series.

I dunno that that '91 game was a classic. NZ was full of over-the-hill players, and it was more the David Campese show, defeat was more of a relief than a surprise, and the game was quite flat.

The 2001 game was another classic, I agree. From memory NZ was slightly the better side, but had an absolute shambles of a lineout. Everytime we got a penalty we would kick for touch, and promptly lose the lineout. Given it was Eales' last game, it was Karma that Toutai would break Cribb's flimsy tackle and score the winning try. Eales had huge respect in NZ, and no-one begrudged him the glorious send-off, a truly wonderful player.

Not sure exactly when, but I do remember the kickers used to get a little bucket of sand to make a tee. Changing to the modern version was definitely a good idea, save the little dog the Aussies tried that took the tee anywhere except to the kicker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭totallegend

molloyjh wrote: »

I don't know if the 2006 game has just been built up in my memory, but was that not a faster game overall? 2011 was a real heavy-weight bout that was seriously impressive, but I just remember 2006 being a bit more manic.

Maybe but the 2006 game was over with 20 minutes to go whereas 2011 was edge of the seat stuff right to the end. Then again 2006 had two of the best Leinster tries ever (BOD and especially Hickie's). Hmmm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,997 ✭✭✭Grimebox

I wasn't even born, let along interested in Rugby for your first two mentions
    CatFromHue wrote: »

That's the first game to came to mind. It was such a back and forth game. The highlights don't really do it justice. The atmosphere at the RDS was insane. I can't wait for Cleremont in the upcoming HC

Many of the classic matches selected seem to be HC fixtures, so I sincerely hope some form of top-level European club competition continues. I certainly enjoyed Munster's final winning effort v Toulouse, although was gutted Howlett's try was (probably correctly) disallowed for a forward pass from Tipoki, and of course Leinster's amazing final comeback win was great too. Didn't see some of the earlier classics (pre-2007), but it appears there have been a few.

The 2011 game was better rugby from better teams imo. The intensity was greater and there was a proper forwards battle rather then a competition to see who could get the ball out to the backs quickest. The 2006 games was certainly manic and thoroughly enjoyable, definitely a classic, but the controlled aggression and pace with which all 30 players played the game in 2011 makes it the far better game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭Bassfish

I think Ireland v Australia in RWC 2011 will be considered a classic game for many decades to come!

The 2011 game was better rugby from better teams imo. The intensity was greater and there was a proper forwards battle rather then a competition to see who could get the ball out to the backs quickest. The 2006 games was certainly manic and thoroughly enjoyable, definitely a classic, but the controlled aggression and pace with which all 30 players played the game in 2011 makes it the far better game.

Yeah that's probably fair all right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,619 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

I don't think its the best, but one of the best not mentioned was probably Leinster v Clermont last season in the Semi.

I don't think my heart stopped going 90 at any point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

Bassfish wrote: »
    I think Ireland v Australia in RWC 2011 will be considered a classic game for many decades to come!

Classic result, perhaps. For any neutral, it was fairly mundane.

I'd agree with Munster vs Toulouse 2000, Munster vs Wasps 2004, Leinster vs Toulouse 2011 (the most intense and highest quality club/provincial game I've ever attended), Leinster vs Clermont 2012 (for sheer body on the line physicality...the first 30 minutes were absolute warfare), Ireland vs France 2009, Ulster vs Stade Francais 1999, Lions vs SA 2nd test 2009 (which would have been higher if it wasn't for severe defensive lapses throughout leading to tries).

GerM wrote: »
    Classic result, perhaps. For any neutral, it was fairly mundane.

I'd agree with Munster vs Toulouse 2000, Munster vs Wasps 2004, Leinster vs Toulouse 2011 (the most intense and highest quality club/provincial game I've ever attended), Leinster vs Clermont 2012 (for sheer body on the line physicality...the first 30 minutes were absolute warfare), Ireland vs France 2009, Ulster vs Stade Francais 1999, Lions vs SA 2nd test 2009 (which would have been higher if it wasn't for severe defensive lapses throughout leading to tries).

Re RWC Aus v Ire, I agree entirely that the result was more classic than the actual game.

The first Lions test 2001 was also pretty good - Jason Robinson's early try where he went round the Aussie winger, and from memory BOD was on fire. Really, the Lions should have won that series, but the constant sniping from the English toffs Healy & whatshisface didn't help, I imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

Two words, Un-Real....

Needed 4 tries and a winning margin of 27 points, hard to beat the miracle match in 2003

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yFIXp_CsnYQ

Swiwi wrote: »
    The first Lions test 2001 was also pretty good - Jason Robinson's early try where he went round the Aussie winger, and from memory BOD was on fire. Really, the Lions should have won that series, but the constant sniping from the English toffs Healy & whatshisface didn't help, I imagine.
    There was actually another humdinger on that tour when Brumbies played midweek Lions. It followed Matt Dawson's moaning and whingeing in the press about the tour party, dynamics etc. A real up and down game which Dawson, who had fluffed three kicks earlier in game, stood up and kicked a three-pointer to win. It was also when Maggot (Healey) scored two tries and avoided a slap from Justin Harrison.
    The third test in the series was a great game and in his first season with the Walls, saw what Andrew Walker could do on a rugby field if he put his mind to it. Game went right down to the last lineout which Aussie won on Lions ball and put to sleep any threat of losing out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

France v NZ in 2007 world cup - i dont think i'd have been happier had Ireland beaten NZ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭Gracelessly Tom

Gotta be the '06 Toulouse v Leinster game. The atmosphere in and around the stadium was unreal, and the result was so unexpected. Plus the way the team played that day was exceptional. Hickies try and the way the local fans clapped us (supporters) out of the stadium will live long in my memory.

The 2011 game was intense but Leinster were not massive underdogs and with the home advantage were favourites.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

bamboozle wrote: »
    France v NZ in 2007 world cup - i dont think i'd have been happier had Ireland beaten NZ.

Probably the best atmosphere I've ever seen around a stadium. Delighted to be there as a neutral otherwise I would have had a nervous breakdown.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

My Personal Favourites:

Australia v France 1987 (World Cup)
    Ireland v Australia 1991 (World Cup)
    New Zealand v Ireland 1995 (World Cup)
    South Africa v New Zealand 1995 (World Cup)
    Australia v England 2003 (World Cup)
    Bath v Leinster 2006 (HEC) - The Leinster Miracle Match
    Toulouse v Leinster 2006 (HEC)
    Wales v Ireland 2009 (6 Nations)
    Leinster v Clermont 2010 (HEC)
    Australia v Ireland 2011 (World Cup)
    Leinster v Toulouse 2011 (HEC)
    Leinster v Northampton 2011 (HEC)
    Clermont v Leinster 2012 (HEC)
    Leinster v Ospreys 2012 (Pro12 Final)

GerM wrote: »
    Probably the best atmosphere I've ever seen around a stadium. Delighted to be there as a neutral otherwise I would have had a nervous breakdown.

Neutral? Ah, come on, you were cheering for France! I doubt there were (m)any people outside of NZ who weren't supporting the French. And rightly so, underdogs and all that. If it had been Aussie or SA or definitely England I would have been doing the same. Would have probably cheered for the Celtic nations or Argentina, and definitely the PIs though.

My French mate had got us tickets for the final, and while we contemplated selling them on once the dream of a NZ v France final was gone, we did endure the SA v Eng match which wasn't too bad live, although I imagine dreary on TV.

JustinDee wrote: »
    There was actually another humdinger on that tour when Brumbies played midweek Lions. It followed Matt Dawson's moaning and whingeing in the press about the tour party, dynamics etc. A real up and down game which Dawson, who had fluffed three kicks earlier in game, stood up and kicked a three-pointer to win. It was also when Maggot (Healey) scored two tries and avoided a slap from Justin Harrison.
    The third test in the series was a great game and in his first season with the Walls, saw what Andrew Walker could do on a rugby field if he put his mind to it. Game went right down to the last lineout which Aussie won on Lions ball and put to sleep any threat of losing out.

I enjoyed the whole series TBH. It was ironic that Harrison made the vital lineout steal, given the comments from Healy or Dawson, can't remember which one now.