Off The Ball Official Thread <Mod Note - Post #1, #533, #6651>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭sleepyman

It said in yesterday's mail that the second captains lads will have a show on RTE 2 after the Ireland V Sweden game & some of the champions league games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭mr_edge_to_you

They should just get Anthony Daly in one night a week. Some craic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭jr22

Last night's OTB was a serious low.

The gulf in class between the new OTB crew and Second Captains is huge at the moment. I listened to the podcast and then flicked on the radio yesterday evening.

Gizzy Lyng. He did a round the world trip, read a couple of f*cking Paolo Coehlo books and reckons he's some sort of GAA mystic/ guru. A new age fecking múinteoir of the highest order, needlessly raping a thesaurus while spouting positive energy style mumbo shaggin' jumbo.

Colm Parkinson is the grown version of the loud and slightly thick fella from secondary school who knows his limitations but is thick enough to ignore them and carry on regardless. Arriving in for the show last Friday with an 'I had a few last night' croaky voice. Drinking! A mad yoke!

Joe Molloy, the (very) poor man's Ken Earley with a dash of Ger Gilroy and a huge helping of Peter Collins style banal blandness.

Put all of the above together and it's a fairly horrendous concoction. Surely there's better out there? I can see the lazy thinking behind these guys being part of the show, but desperately trying to recreate what went before is making this show sh!te at the moment.

Definite new direction needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,748 ✭✭✭Swiper the fox

Actually last night's OTB was a fairly typical one, decent sports news, reportage with a bit of opinion thrown in, interesting feature about Tommy Morrisson, the humour is crap but always has been, I completely agree about Gizzy, I am really starting to dislike him for the reasons you've given.

The show which brought sports media to a new low last night was on RTE 2 television at 10-30 but as this is the radio forum we'll park it there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,355 ✭✭✭✭Cartman78

Actually last night's OTB was a fairly typical one, decent sports news, reportage with a bit of opinion thrown in, interesting feature about Tommy Morrisson, the humour is crap but always has been, I completely agree about Gizzy, I am really starting to dislike him for the reasons you've given.

The show which brought sports media to a new low last night was on RTE 2 television at 10-30 but as this is the radio forum we'll park it there

Ah here...that was out of order...I'll admit Season 3 of the Walking Dead has indeed dipped a bit but it's not that bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭Vunderground

jr22 wrote: »
    Colm Parkinson is the grown version of the loud and slightly thick fella from secondary school who knows his limitations but is thick enough to ignore them and carry on regardless. Arriving in for the show last Friday with an 'I had a few last night' croaky voice. Drinking! A mad yoke!

So true. I got embarrassed listing to him and gave up on OTB.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

I thought having Paul McGrath as the special guest on the OTB roadshow was cool, but getting Kermit D Frog to present it is surely the biggest coup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I was very critical of Gilroy in the past when he was on the weekend sport but from listening to the show for the last few weeks he and his team (even Wooly) have impressed me. It was a massive undertaking for them to fill the shoes of boys who left but I think they've pulled it off, I don't listen to the Second Captains podcast, I like my sport when I come in from work in the evening and turn on the radio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭jr22

I was very critical of Gilroy in the past when he was on the weekend sport but from listening to the show for the last few weeks he and his team (even Wooly) have impressed me. It was a massive undertaking for them to fill the shoes of boys who left but I think they've pulled it off, I don't listen to the Second Captains podcast, I like my sport when I come in from work in the evening and turn on the radio.

I like Gilroy, it's the new team that let things down.

Parkinson and Lyng particularly. Murph, McDevitt and Ken Earley are journalists. Gilroy would be well advised to hire replacements on their journalistic merits rather than feckin' GAA fellas who want the attention.

Gizzy Lyng is an inoffensive múinteoir, sitting on the fence, bores me to death with his mystic horsh!te.

Parkinson trying to be edgy with his Liam Gallagher pretensions, brings nothing to the show.

The other contributors and Gilroy and Cian Murtagh with the sports news makes parts of it listenable but if anyone thinks that this version of OTB comes close to the old version then good luck to them. I think it sucks balls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

http://thescore.thejournal.ie/off-the-ball-seven-days-1100406-Sep2013/?utm_source=facebook_short

The station have today announced that the show will move to a seven-day schedule from Tuesday, meaning the weekend sports shows are to be shelved.

The week night programme will continue to go out between 7 and 10pm while the weekend broadcast is pencilled in for 2pm until 6pm on Saturdays and between 1pm and 6pm each Sunday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,693 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

trebormurf wrote: »
    Think the weekend shows are being brought under the Off the Ball banner.
    Well with the new OTB Indo column, maybe they're building a 'cross-platform media brand'. Or something.
    It's building a brand. Therefore no one individual (ie McDevitt) wont ever be bigger than the show again. They'll not make that mistake again. It's hit them hard.

Newstalk lost 5 of their sports department so in order to fill the gap they have all been doing their
    padd b1975 wrote: »

Well flagged trebormurf: probably won't make much difference to current approach

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭armchair fusilier

padd b1975 wrote: »

How will the OTB JNLR figures be calculated then? Can you really just lump the weekend figures in with the weekday ones even though they are on at different times of the day in an effort to boost the numbers? Or will there be two sets of figures?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 BertMark

How will the OTB JNLR figures be calculated then? Can you really just lump the weekend figures in with the weekday ones even though they are on at different times of the day in an effort to boost the numbers? Or will there be two sets of figures?

Good point. The weekend show does about twice the numbers per show of what the old OTB was doing afaik, so I'd imagine they'll lump it all in together.

Or rather they'll do whatever allows them charge the most advertising on average across the 7 days, which would be the smart thing to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,129 ✭✭✭✭neris

I think otb is starting to get boring and covers the same topics every night for the whole show. Gaa & soccer with a bit of rugby and very little time given to other sports. There doesnt seem to be either the interest or research into other sports that the mcdevitt team had and the presenter and his sidekicks like to stick to sports they know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 noooodles

neris wrote: »
    I think otb is starting to get boring and covers the same topics every night for the whole show. Gaa & soccer with a bit of rugby and very little time given to other sports. There doesnt seem to be either the interest or research into other sports that the mcdevitt team had and the presenter and his sidekicks like to stick to sports they know.
    Very true.
    Always thought of OTB as a 'sports show', not a football/gaa/rugby discussion. Seemed to be a genuine interest in all sports.

Hard to blame the new setup for sticking to what they know in fairness but this inevitably leads to united/arsenal/liverpool/barca in football, munster/leinster in rugby, and whoever is doing well in the championship.
    This gets tedious even if you support one of the above.

Don't listen anymore, used to never miss a show. New presenters come across a bit douchy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Enjoyed the Johnny Sexton interview last night, then Parkinson decided to basically just repeat verbatim what Sexton had said and try and pass it off as "analysis". :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Radio5

noooodles wrote: »
    Very true.
    Always thought of OTB as a 'sports show', not a football/gaa/rugby discussion. Seemed to be a genuine interest in all sports.

Hard to blame the new setup for sticking to what they know in fairness but this inevitably leads to united/arsenal/liverpool/barca in football, munster/leinster in rugby, and whoever is doing well in the championship.
    This gets tedious even if you support one of the above.

Don't listen anymore, used to never miss a show. New presenters come across a bit douchy.

That was the beauty of the old OTB , you could switch on and hear something unexpected. Now its very samey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    Enjoyed the Johnny Sexton interview last night, then Parkinson decided to basically just repeat verbatim what Sexton had said and try and pass it off as "analysis". :rolleyes:
    I couldn't believe Parkinson in the build up to the football final.

He shamelessly admitted to having never heard of the GAA season ticket system.:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

much like murph used to do.

i'm on the fence at the moment. while they don't do as much 'other sports' as before (even earlier in the year), when they do, i think they do them better. when there's a sports story coming out of the US, they get an expert in that sport, unlike before when it was down to US Murph.

at least now we don't get time wasted on some college footballer's made up online dead girlfriend. how that got so much airtime is beyond me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

much like murph used to do.

i'm on the fence at the moment. while they don't do as much 'other sports' as before (even earlier in the year), when they do, i think they do them better. when there's a sports story coming out of the US, they get an expert in that sport, unlike before when it was down to US Murph.

at least now we don't get time wasted on some college footballer's made up online dead girlfriend. how that got so much airtime is beyond me.

I must admit I've never noticed Murph to do it in such blatant fashion, though I will look out for it now.

Sexton said something along the lines of "Yeah, I kinda got the hump when the IRFU's first offer was way off what I thought I was worth. In hindsight, I could have handled the situation better, and I'm sure the IRFU would admit they could have handled it better as well."

Next link after the interview Parkinson said "Well I suppose he probably got angry after the first offer wasn't what he expected and then both sides could have done things better."... No sh*t sherlock...

One positive from my brief time listening last night was that I heard Joe Molloy do a very good, informative interview.

I like US Murph btw... :o :P

Question: Does Sid Lowe still contribute to the show? Or is it Graham Hunter for OTB and Sid for Second Captains?

i'm pretty sure they contribute to both, although graham hunter and ger gilroy seem to have the horn for each other, so he's on that almost every night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Imhof Tank

The presence of Parkinson, more than any other factor, is sinking the show.

Joe broke off from an interview last night when Arsenal scored what sounded like a wonder goal early vs Napoli - said "Wolly, talk us through the goal"

Parkinson just says eh sorry Joe, wasn't watching!

I mean he is in the studio, miked up, monitor in front of him - what exactly was he doing?

What's worse is he got a semi laugh from the others for that contribution. Gas man.

when there's a sports story coming out of the US, they get an expert in that sport, unlike before when it was down to US Murph.

If that's your understanding you could not have been a regular listener to the old, real, show and you don't know what you're talking about

Imhof Tank wrote: »
    If that's your understanding you could not have been a regular listener to the old, real, show and you don't know what you're talking about

i've listened to the show most nights over the past 5 years. US murph is a sports show presenter in SF. he's not an expert in any one sport. since he hasn't been on since march, anyone stateside that's been on the 'new' show has concentrated on one sport, be it basketball, american football or baseball etc. there just hasn't been a jack of all trades.

if you're still hell bent on the 'old, real, show', then i'm sure there's somewhere that will have old podcasts for you. most of us have moved on. what johnny football is doing in his spare time isn't sports news.

i've listened to the show most nights over the past 5 years. US murph is a sports show presenter in SF. he's not an expert in any one sport. since he hasn't been on since march, anyone stateside that's been on the 'new' show has concentrated on one sport, be it basketball, american football or baseball etc. there just hasn't been a jack of all trades.

if you're still hell bent on the 'old, real, show', then i'm sure there's somewhere that will have old podcasts for you. most of us have moved on. what johnny football is doing in his spare time isn't sports news.

In the last 5 years do you not remember US contributors (besides US Murph) on:-

Boxing (specifically George Kimble)
    Golf
    Lance generally
    Balco scandal

if you're still hell bent on the 'old, real, show', then i'm sure there's somewhere that will have old podcasts for you. most of us have moved on. .

I am actually listening to the podcast now!

Some people will happily get their news from the Star, their music from 98FM and generally lap up any old tabloid swill - that's what the new show is in comparison with the real OTB.

Imhof Tank wrote: »
    In the last 5 years do you not remember US contributors (besides US Murph) on:-

Boxing (specifically George Kimble)
    Golf
    Lance generally
    Balco scandal

I don't mean US contributors on those stories alone, i mean the US contributors on US sports. instead of a few minutes talking to US murph every week about the 3 major US sports, we now get ~15mins dedicated to one sport every now and again which is more in depth than what US murph would give. unfortunately, just not as often.
    apologies, should have made that clearer in my original post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭LordAwesome

I listen to the football podcast when I have nothing else to listen to.

The guy they have in the Ken role is poor. He was asked by the host if he watched the Manchester derby or some GAA match and the guy actually turned off the Manchester derby and watch the GAA match. And this is your football guru now?! Ken would never in a million years do that! Get a REAL football man in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭Temaz

noooodles wrote: »
    New presenters come across a bit douchy.

Compared to Mr know it all Ken Early?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 767 ✭✭✭SimonQuinlank

But Ken did/does know it all,at least in regards to football and high-falutin philosophical theories!

Joe Molloy's pretty good on the football show in fairness,but that Parkinson chap is very lucky to be paid for the nonsense he comes out with.