Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off The Ball Official Thread <Mod Note - Post #1, #533, #6651>

• Registered Users Posts: 3,804 ✭✭✭Did you smash it

Faugheen wrote: »
    Why is it embarrassing?

They've had Jack Chambers on already. I think it's high time the leader of the country was put to task on issues impacting on sport here. Whether its funding for professional leagues and grassroots or encouraging participation in the first place.

As Joe pointed out, there are tonnes upon tonnes of journalists that can ask him about housing, health and all the other issues. Sport is criminally underfunded in this country with so many organisations basically having to fight amongst each other for a small pool of funding.

You might think its embarrassing but until you are actively involved in sport in this country you won't realise just how disgraceful it is.. 19 million for greyhound racing and 3 million for the GAA which is a cash cow in itself. It's an absolute joke and like I said earlier it's about time someone took the government to task on this.

You are quite correct. Be interesting to see if anything changes in the next decade or we just go forward as a third world sporting infrastructure country where the government sees sport as a good revenue raiser and that’s all.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,519 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Nudge, tip, gentle reminder, don’t respond starting with a patronising “look...” and then proceed to tell the person what their political interests or persuasions are, because 1. it’s none of your business and 2. Mícheál Martin as head of state has bizarrely made his way on to a sports radio programme which is odd, as I’ve pointed out we have a highly paid minister which her job description is “sport” and she is not there. That is odd. This is my point, I initially expressed my total lack of respect for the man which is why I avoid him so, why is he on a sports radio programme, and if it’s explaining Covid and future sporting events why isn’t our sports minister doing it? That is her job.

The FFG fan club is in already anyway, I’ll get a ban, or a warning soon enough.

Tip. If you don't want to discuss something, stay the F out of the discussion on it. ;)

But sure, it'll be the mods fault when they decide to scrub this nonsense.

• Registered Users Posts: 254 ✭✭nialler1978

Tip. If you don't want to discuss something, stay the F out of the discussion on it. ;)

But sure, it'll be the mods fault when they decide to scrub this nonsense.

My political interests have nothing to do with anything. I’m asking why our “chief” head of state is on a radio programme discussing sport instead of our minister for sport, who to be honest I can’t recall hearing from about sport in a very long time.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

My political interests have nothing to do with anything. I’m asking why our “chief” head of state is on a radio programme discussing sport instead of our minister for sport, who to be honest I can’t recall hearing from about sport in a very long time.

If you bothered to read posts, I told you they had Jack Chambers on already on OTBAM a few weeks ago.

The Taoiseach is never taken to task on sport in this country. It's about time he was.

Why should he be on a sports radio programme to talk about it? Is sport above him?

The FFG fan club is in already anyway, I’ll get a ban, or a warning soon enough.

Yep, a hardcore FFG mod will jump in and tell me to move this to the politics forum and hand me a warning, but I’m not on that for a reason,

I couldn't do anything if I wanted to — I'm not sure what the point you're making is?

A Taoiseach shouldn't go on a sports' programme because sport is somehow beneath his office? Is that it? He's questioned on all portfolios, I'm not clear on what it is about sport that's different.

Anyone have any thoughts on the Micheal Martin interview from Tuesday evening?

A key part of the interview was the announcement that Irish primary school students spend the 4th fewest amount of hours in PE classes amongst countries in Europe.
    At first I thought Joe came across as naïve in pushing him so hard to commit to more PE activities in primary schools within 5 years but as it went on I figured it wasn't a bad approach to get the highest politician in the country to commit to something which on the face of it should be a no brainer. Micheal's hesitancy showed just how difficult it can be to implement something as he alluded to having to train people, get the curriculum set up for this and so on and so on. There's an awful lot that goes on between taking something being an idea and it actually happening with a lot of stakeholders along the way who can influence it. Martin obviously has been at this game too long to promise something he knows might not happen and didn't disclose just who or what exactly would be the stumbling block to this happening.

Quite a scoop for OTB to get the Taoiseach in for a 30 minute interview as it was and I thought he came across as being interested and aware of the significance of sport in todays society and explained the logic behind not having kids training while they still go to school even if many people wouldn't agree with it.

Enjoyed the piece and can't see why some posters would have any issue with the leader of the country tackling such an important issue.

I'm a a primary teacher by training and did extensive research and a lengthy thesis on the matter a few years back.

What I concluded in my research is:

1. Facilities in primary schools are hopelessly inadequate - lots of schools have no proper hall or access to a field

2. The curriculum is already jam packed and something has to give elsewhere if we are to find more room for PE.

3. Teachers are poorly trained in PE - or were trained at a time when we weren't facing the crisis in movement we are now - and those that are successfully teaching the subject are bringing their expertise from sports experience elsewhere rather than teacher training

4. Children are lacking basic fundamental movement skills that previous generations innately learned through play. Opportunities for outdoor play and learning these movement skills have been drastically cut for the current generation for numerous reasons.

5. The explicit teaching of fundamental movement skills needs to be done from an early age and taught by properly trained teachers. Without mastering basic movement skills, children have no hope of enjoying, mastering or engaging meaningfully with sports.

6. Specialist PE teachers need to be introduced to primary schools and the teaching of PE removed from the classroom teacher. This is done in countries with much more successful PE programmes that Ireland and works well.

The main stumbling block to all of the above - and most likely what MM is alluding to - is the unions. They will fight back against the idea of specialisation as it erodes the role of the generalist class teacher and would open the door for specialisation in other curricular areas.

All of the research shows that we are crisis point with regard to the Physical Education of children - lots of kids these days don't know how to kick, run, climb, jump etc - and the issue needs to be dealt with sooner rather than later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 riewomann

Really enjoyed the MM interview.

What I don't understand is how there are so many different contributors to this show?! Are they all doing it for free as exposure? Someone said their audience is 50k, is radio advertising really that lucrative?

It can get confusing as usually I have no idea who is talking.

As has been previously said the main presenter plays it a bit too carefully so as not to offend. I know everyone has to be careful these days so as not to get caught off side, but this lad really stays inside his own half!

Definitely not risking becoming a victim of cancel culture :D

I think the quiz could be really good if they cooled it with the fake banter, some great questions, but some god awful "ribbing".

• Registered Users Posts: 450 ✭✭gluppers

Jaysus, they wouldn't shut up about McIlroy the other evening

Phillipe Auclair a fairly pointless contributor on the Benzema scandal. Needed a contributor who was willing to speak more freely and quickly. Getting blood out of a stone.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,376 ✭✭✭cmac2009

Máire Treasa Ní Cheallaigh and George Hamilton on the paper review. Skip.

Serious deterioration of this section over the last while.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,306 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Must say I thought Hamilton was good the last time he was on

• Registered Users Posts: 15,306 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Must say I thought Hamilton was good the last time he was on

Although I admit I’m biased being a big fan of his Hamilton Scores on lyric

Picking their team of the season on the Saturday show. lawro didn’t get the brief unfortunately.

Robertson was his left back of the season

• Registered Users Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Jayesdiem

cmac2009 wrote: »
    Máire Treasa Ní Cheallaigh and George Hamilton on the paper review. Skip.

Serious deterioration of this section over the last while.

Ni Cheallaigh is as woke as they come. Thanks for the warning, I’ll avoid.

• Registered Users Posts: 150 ✭✭deise man

Dead right. She's a right dose to listen to. An hour of a preachy lecture? No thanks!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,824 ✭✭✭deisedude

Picking their team of the season on the Saturday show. lawro didn’t get the brief unfortunately.

Robertson was his left back of the season

He clearly had no preparation done. I genuinely think Robertson was the only left back he could think of when asked.

Pretty sure he called Ederson "Edinson"
    Couldn't think of Reece James' name and took ages to try and think of Johhny Evans as his second Centre back

And criminally picked Lingard as the supporting forward player to Kane!

deisedude wrote: »
    He clearly had no preparation done. I genuinely think Robertson was the only left back he could think of when asked.

Pretty sure he called Ederson "Edinson"
    Couldn't think of Reece James' name and took ages to try and think of Johhny Evans as his second Centre back

And criminally picked Lingard as the supporting forward player to Kane!

Did he pick Bruno?

I dont think so

Not a man to think on the hoof then. Duggan kept going to him first on the bit I heard. A clever host would back off him and go to the other contributors first once he’d heard his uncertainty.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,955 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

Jayesdiem wrote: »
    Ni Cheallaigh is as woke as they come. Thanks for the warning, I’ll avoid.
    She has given herself a ridiculous level of self importance been someone doing her medicine exams during covid

• Registered Users Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Jayesdiem

She has given herself a ridiculous level of self importance been someone doing her medicine exams during covid

I assume that’s what she’d have been banging on about yet again in this paper review rather than actually talking about sport.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,412 ✭✭✭shockframe

I do enjoy the Sunday papers section but thankfully that wasn't uploaded to Youtube this week.

Has come across very bad during Covid.

In support of lockdown when she isn't affected but almost insulting the many thousands that have.

Her reputation has surely been damaged the last 12 months.

They really have left the segment go stale. Really feels like going through the motions most weeks especially when Joe isn't hosting

• Registered Users Posts: 1,412 ✭✭✭shockframe

They really have left the segment go stale. Really feels like going through the motions most weeks especially when Joe isn't hosting

Part of the problem at times is the guest who is on it.

A few weeks back Louise Galvin and Daniel McDonnell were on but Galvin wasn't great when it came to soccer and Daniel Mcdonnell was not particularly strong when it came to GAA. Same thing with Michael Verney on matters Soccer.

George Hamilton and Tommy Martin were excellent a while back as they covered a majority of sports quite well. It also helps when you have broad Sports heads like Kieran Cunningham or Kieran Shannon on.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,145 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

They're also limited by what's in the papers too. Yesterday there wasn't anything that caught my attention.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

Was it Maire who was interviewing the Tyrone player on Eir bringing up the comments about looking slim and fit?

Just googled her to see what she looked like and of course one of the first images is a selfie in medical gear...hate people like that who just put things up just so get praise from people.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

I actually find it very impressive how Maire Treasa lives rent-free in so many people's heads.

I honestly don't see any issue with anything she does. She's grand, but anytime her name is mentioned there's a swarm ready to have a go at her.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,955 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

I actually find it very impressive how Maire Treasa lives rent-free in so many people's heads.

I honestly don't see any issue with anything she does. She's grand, but anytime her name is mentioned there's a swarm ready to have a go at her.
    I'd no issue with her pre covid, in the last year she's become insufferable.

shockframe wrote: »
    In support of lockdown when she isn't affected but almost insulting the many thousands that have.
    Medical students are famously unaffected by Covid.

• Registered Users Posts: 254 ✭✭nialler1978

Most people go on about the annoying covid phrases that have popped up over the last 15 months "hold firm", "stay safe" and all that waffle. For me its the repeated overuse of this "living rent free in head" saying thats come about and you read on every second post on boards if someone disagrees with someone, its the stock reply, usually delivered smugly and as if its the first time been used. I don't know who maire treasa ni cheallaigh is by the way, before i get accused of her "living rent free in my head".