Off The Ball Official Thread <Mod Note - Post #1, #533, #6651>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,483 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

Very sad. He always comes across as such a nice, decent and respectful man.

For what it's worth, his analysis of the Ireland game was poor both on OTB and with Dunphy.

I love Giles's reminiscences and reflections on the past, and that's how I think he should be utilised as it's pretty clear that he's not really up to analysing games any more.

I havnt read it yet but I wonder how Giles will come out from the Champagne Football book.

He seems to have been part of the circus with his foundation and the links Delaney had to it.

It was probably just a case of a manipulative b@stard like Delaney taking advantage of Giles' decency.

BPKS wrote: »
    I havnt read it yet but I wonder how Giles will come out from the Champagne Football book.

He seems to have been part of the circus with his foundation and the links Delaney had to it.

It was probably just a case of a manipulative b@stard like Delaney taking advantage of Giles' decency.

Haven't read it yet either, but it sounded like when Giles was under the cosh about his involvement, he pleaded the fifth as he felt exposed and was afraid of Delaney suing him if he said anything. Not sure if anything is clearer now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Haven't read it yet either, but it sounded like when Giles was under the cosh about his involvement, he pleaded the fifth as he felt exposed and was afraid of Delaney suing him if he said anything. Not sure if anything is clearer now.

I think John might be sueing Con Martin Jnr.

Or at least I would be if I was him.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,456 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

BPKS wrote: »

He's barely mentioned in it. From memory he might have been friendly with Delaney and he allowed his name to be used for the foundation. I think that's it, certainly nothing bad about him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭generalgerry

Gilroy this morning on the tennis:
    "Justice is done, Djokovic didn't win, Nadal smashed him, I mean look...... fair play. I'm delighted for him. Couldn't happen to nicer Anti Vaxxer / COVID spreader"

I find his contributions are petty and toxic at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,954 ✭✭✭Raoul

"Justice is done, Djokovic didn't win, Nadal smashed him, I mean look...... fair play. I'm delighted for him. Couldn't happen to nicer Anti Vaxxer / COVID spreader"

Totally agree with you here. But then again, he is right about Djokovic. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,995 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

Gilroy is a parody at this stage. Not sure who thought getting him to do the OTB app adverts was a good idea because it sounds like a piss-take with the high pitched voice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,489 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Have you seen Twitter?

Many expressed the exact same sentiments about Djokovic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭Piehead

Have you seen Twitter?

So what? Is Twitter the new barometer or does it just suit you now to endlessly support Ger’s latest literal squeaking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭bossdrum

Have you seen Twitter?

Djokovic organised a tournament and was not breaking any rules of the two countries it took place in. A lot of top players took part voluntarily but yet its Djokovic is taking all abuse for it. Himself and his wife also got the virus.

I'm not hearing the same hate from Ger for soccer players like Ibrahimovic and the 4 Liverpool players that have tested positive recently.
    Poor Ger just can't keep his personal opinions separate from his job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,489 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

bossdrum wrote: »
    Djokovic organised a tournament and was not breaking any rules of the two countries it took place in. A lot of top players took part voluntarily but yet its Djokovic is taking all abuse for it. Himself and his wife also got the virus.

I'm not hearing the same hate from Ger for soccer players like Ibrahimovic and the 4 Liverpool players that have tested positive recently.
    Poor Ger just can't keep his personal opinions separate from his job.

Do you really not understand that Ger's views on Novak are because he has undermined both the message about the severity of the virus (leading to people getting infected) and about vaccinations in general.

He also initially said that he was generally against vaccinations.
    That is why Ger was pleased Nadal had won.

Rio Ferdinand, Gary Neville, Jamie Carragher, Marus Rashford, Jurgen Klopp, Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Gary Lineker, Colm Parkinson, Lebron James, Valentino Rossi amongst others have all expressed personal opinions in on the platforms available to them. That is the world we live in today.
    Ger is simply doing the same thing on the platform he has.

Piehead wrote: »
    So what? Is Twitter the new barometer or does it just suit you now to endlessly support Ger’s latest literal squeaking?

It's generally a window in to how topics are widely viewed.

I'd rather support than b*tch, if doing either on a consistent basis. ;)

Have you seen Twitter? Many expressed the exact same sentiments about Djokovic.

I would see that as more of a vindication of my argument than yours.

They should bin Ger and Richie at this stage, get a couple of fresh faces in.

Do you really not understand that Ger's views on Novak are because he has undermined both the message about the severity of the virus (leading to people getting infected) and about vaccinations in general.

This is the same Ger Gilroy that used to give us chapter and verse on the ills of gambling, and then stopped discussing the topic completely when Paddy Power came on board as a sponsor, right? But listen, you're free to take your virtue signalling from whichever hypocrite you want, don't let me stop you.

Can you explain how all this talking about gambling here isn't virtue signalling at this point?

I genuinely don't recall it being a massive topic on the show outside of Oisín McConville on to discuss his book but at this point this thread reads like people doing the exact same thing OTB staff do except getting really annoyed that they do it on the platform available to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,396 ✭✭✭Higgins5473

Have you seen Twitter?

Twitter produces some of the most hate filled bile viewed by the widest audience on the planet. So, my question to you is, WTF?

I remember when Djokovic contracted the virus himself and Richie took actual pleasure from this news and couldn't contain their chuckling on air. Two of the most pretentious virtue signallers I have ever heard on any medium and this is how they react to somebody contracting the virus. As mentioned here by someone else, much as they try, the mask slips from time to time.

Twitter produces some of the most hate filled bile viewed by the widest audience on the planet. So, my question to you is, WTF?

Do you seriously think that only such people are present on Twitter or that that is all you must follow?

Virtually every public commentator on any sphere expresses their view through that medium.

We all have a choice who we follow or seek out.

Do you seriously think that only such people are present on Twitter

No, but they are present and it doesn't matter what happy rainbow unicorn shelter you seek, there will still be hate filled bile.
    or that that is all you must follow?

I'm not on Twitter, or Facebook etc. It's still in my face everyday as I am online, so I choose not to 'follow' or sign up to any of them. But nice attempt at a dig.
    Virtually every public commentator on any sphere expresses their view through that medium.

No, they don't, that's a complete exaggeration and if you for one second believe what you are reading by commentators is genuinely their own you should probably sign out of all your social media and hand your phone you got for xmas back to dad and ask him to give it back to you at a later stage in life.
    We all have a choice who we follow or seek out.

By the looks of things, you don't 'follow' these guys, you idolise them and can see that they do no wrong, that's weird and naïve.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 Renegadema

Very sad. He always comes across as such a nice, decent and respectful man.

For what it's worth, his analysis of the Ireland game was poor both on OTB and with Dunphy.

I love Giles's reminiscences and reflections on the past, and that's how I think he should be utilised as it's pretty clear that he's not really up to analysing games any more.

He behaves like God came down from heaven and presented the tablet of football knowledge to him and him alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,534 ✭✭✭Chalk McHugh

The John Giles segment each week is by far my favourite radio of the week. I'd be surprised if i missed more than a few since the show started all those years ago. One of the only things i agree with Dunphy on is John Giles being the best football pundit. Bar none. From the past to the present and everything else in between the man is a fountain of football knowledge and is a national treasure.

You need a midfielder who is comfortable taking the ball off the back 4 to play football. You need John Giles, that is pretty much the start and end of Gilesy’s analysis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,534 ✭✭✭Chalk McHugh

Renegadema wrote: »
    You need a midfielder who is comfortable taking the ball off the back 4 to play football. You need John Giles, that is pretty much the start and end of Gilesy’s analysis.

Just turned on todays edition of The Stand to hear what the Don has to say. You keep talking Gilesy and we'll keep listening. Top notch.

Fountain of knowledge without question, and I do love listening to him reminiscing about the old days and some of his broad philosophies on how the game should be played.

However, I do think the modern game has moved on to such an extent that he has been left behind. His analysis of the Ireland-Slovakia game with Gilroy last Friday was very poor.

I'm no expert but I could easily pick holes in a lot of what he was saying and I could see Gilroy feeding him a few soft balls as he was getting a bit confused and bogged down.

Loved some of his favourite XI slots during lockdown and he is the go to man for insight into what happened from a certain era back, but I wouldn't be looking to him for anything more than that.

All that being said, the man is a living legend and was some player.

Fountain of knowledge without question, and I do love listening to him reminiscing about the old days and some of his broad philosophies on how the game should be played.

However, I do think the modern game has moved on to such an extent that he has been left behind. His analysis of the Ireland-Slovakia game with Gilroy last Friday was very poor.

I'm no expert but I could easily pick holes in a lot of what he was saying and I could see Gilroy feeding him a few soft balls as he was getting a bit confused and bogged down.

Loved some of his favourite XI slots during lockdown and he is the go to man for insight into what happened from a certain era back, but I wouldn't be looking to him for anything more than that.

All that being said, the man is a living legend and was some player.

Dunphy voice - Deez guys...deez fools...deez charlatans .. they don’t understand the greatness of a pundit like John Giles.

Is O'Gara pissed up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,994 ✭✭✭✭siblers

Not the biggest fan of Djokovic but a lot of his anti vax stuff was taken out of context. He didn't want to be forced into taking a vaccine without knowing the potential side effects, can't blame him for that.

I can't listen to Gilroy anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Giles on Claire Byrne live about fear of Covid at some point tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,205 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

I would see that as more of a vindication of my argument than yours.

They should bin Ger and Richie at this stage, get a couple of fresh faces in.

Those two are the worst for bringing their personal prejudices into the show. It's why I have way more respect for Joe Molloy and Nathan Murphy who while they might share similar views they don't allow it to impinge on their work.

Yer man Shane Hannon is always very chipper. Fair play to him.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

Why are they giving out about Mick on Sky Sports and not the game and results or lack there of.

Thought we were passed gallant defeats.