Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

making feeding easier

• 26-09-2012 8:50am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭

With the winter fast approaching and the 1st of the cattle being housed soon I have started thinking about ways to make the feeding routine easier. This is something that i plan to do every year but have only made a few changes over the last few years. so have been trying to find ways to make it easier.

When the main stock of calves are gone we leave the cows in. Cows are on silage by night and out in beet or kale by day. we have a 4 bay feeding passage and put out 2/3 bales at a time which is enough for 2 days. throwing it in with the digger at the moment but having to shake out the bales to get it even across the feed rail (not good for the fittings and bearings) then use the back actor to push in the silage on the second day, but still end up doing a good bit of piking to even it out. Tried putting in 4 bales (one for each bay) but was getting a lot of waste and spoilage. 2 days worth of feed seems the best. Was rolling out the straw bales along the passage last year and its was good and even so i'm going tot see if i can use the loader to unroll the silage along the passage this year.

had looked at maybe getting a bale chopper but would need to use the loader to fill it everyday and a few lads have warned me about leaving the bale in one over night as they tend to cut shear bolts when stating up if a silage bale has been in them overnight. also if I end up needing more than 1 bale a day then i'm feeding half or 1/4 a bale with it. and that seems like being a bit of a pain. have been toying with the idea of getting a second hand diet feeder and putting enough silage into it for the cows for 2 days. feed passage runs alongside an old shed and is narrow enough. would it still be worth my while to try and get a narrow one. I'd like to be able to come back from work in the evening and have the silage feed in a few mins and let the cows in. the extra time every second day filling it would probably be the same as it takes to throw them in now.

any suggestions or ideas welcome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

yellow50HX wrote: »
    With the winter fast approaching and the 1st of the cattle being housed soon I have started thinking about ways to make the feeding routine easier. This is something that i plan to do every year but have only made a few changes over the last few years. so have been trying to find ways to make it easier.

When the main stock of calves are gone we leave the cows in. Cows are on silage by night and out in beet or kale by day. we have a 4 bay feeding passage and put out 2/3 bales at a time which is enough for 2 days. throwing it in with the digger at the moment but having to shake out the bales to get it even across the feed rail (not good for the fittings and bearings) then use the back actor to push in the silage on the second day, but still end up doing a good bit of piking to even it out. Tried putting in 4 bales (one for each bay) but was getting a lot of waste and spoilage. 2 days worth of feed seems the best. Was rolling out the straw bales along the passage last year and its was good and even so i'm going tot see if i can use the loader to unroll the silage along the passage this year.

had looked at maybe getting a bale chopper but would need to use the loader to fill it everyday and a few lads have warned me about leaving the bale in one over night as they tend to cut shear bolts when stating up if a silage bale has been in them overnight. also if I end up needing more than 1 bale a day then i'm feeding half or 1/4 a bale with it. and that seems like being a bit of a pain. have been toying with the idea of getting a second hand diet feeder and putting enough silage into it for the cows for 2 days. feed passage runs alongside an old shed and is narrow enough. would it still be worth my while to try and get a narrow one. I'd like to be able to come back from work in the evening and have the silage feed in a few mins and let the cows in. the extra time every second day filling it would probably be the same as it takes to throw them in now.

Unless it's a bale feeder you'll have a lot of difficulty getting bales through it. That said two suckler farmers in my area have bought secondhand in the past couple of years. Both would have around 40 cows and be finishing all of their own stock. The guy who has one for the past 2 years would never go back. Much better performance and lower meal costs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Unless it's a bale feeder you'll have a lot of difficulty getting bales through it. That said two suckler farmers in my area have bought secondhand in the past couple of years. Both would have around 40 cows and be finishing all of their own stock. The guy who has one for the past 2 years would never go back. Much better performance and lower meal costs.

Interested in this for sucklers too - What are they mixing with the silage?

Any figures available on how performance is improved or costs lowered?

Most people around here are moving away from feeding meal to sucklers anyway - its cheaper to get a good body condition score on a cow while on grass and then just maintain her while she is housed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭49801

hustler do a bale feeder that has a bale spike in the chasis so you dont have to get out of the tractor once you have the silage wrap and nett off.
    http://www.hustlerequipment.co.nz/sl-350 not sure who does them in IRL.

That said I'd be slow be spending money on equipment. Its just an added cost and something to go wrong during the winter. Assuming u are using a grab on the digger already.

I do think you should make is a tyre silage pusher simular to the clip below. Most people use scrap truck tyres and mount/pick up with is what is convienant for the equip they already have. We're on pit silage here and when I eventually make one it will turn a 20min job of pushing in with the tractor and sheargrab a 5min one.

Are your bales chopped? If not something you should consider when making silage next year. Bales will come apart much easier!

We also find enough feed for 2days is the optimum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 315 ✭✭Black Smoke

reilig wrote: »
    Interested in this for sucklers too - What are they mixing with the silage?

Any figures available on how performance is improved or costs lowered?

Most people around here are moving away from feeding meal to sucklers anyway - its cheaper to get a good body condition score on a cow while on grass and then just maintain her while she is housed.

Amen to that. Have the cows on after grass with a few weeks now. Nothing responds to grass like a dried off cow. They are putting on flesh, by the hour. Had planned to house first week Nov, and restrict silage plus a bit of meal. I doubt the meal will be needed though. They will go in needing to lose condition, not gain or even maintain.

Simple solution http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TtzWzq2usMs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭grazeaway

49801 wrote: »
    hustler do a bale feeder that has a bale spike in the chasis so you dont have to get out of the tractor once you have the silage wrap and nett off.

That said I'd be slow be spending money on equipment. Its just an added cost and something to go wrong during the winter. Assuming u are using a grab on the digger already.

I do think you should make is a tyre silage pusher simular to the clip below. Most people use scrap truck tyres and mount/pick up with is what is convienant for the equip they already have. We're on pit silage here and when I eventually make one it will turn a 20min job of pushing in with the tractor and sheargrab a 5min one.

Are your bales chopped? If not something you should consider when making silage next year. Bales will come apart much easier!

have looked at these before, got one in on demo and it was brillant to use just a rope on the tractor to clip on and off. but its designed for unrolling hay bales in fileds. tried it 1st with straw along the feed passage and worked a dream, then tried it on good silage with a chopped bale and it was ok, a bit stop start to get it even so you end up riding the clutch a bit. then tried in on a wet unchopped silage bale (new grass) and pure disaster. talking the lad from the dealer and he aggred. its ok if you doing haylage or good dry silage, ideally with chopped bales. he said that they have had loads of enquires but only a few sales

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

yeah, bales are chopped, soemtimes though end up with too much falling off at one time, so put a long single spike onto the pike. had and old shear grab on it but took off the blade so just use the pike side now.

the tyre pusher is a great idea have tought about it alright really need to get the finger out and actully try making one this year. would proabably neet to use an old tractor tyre and make the frame heavyier as soem of the lumps of bales are heavy enough, teh small tyre ones are proably fine for pushing in after a diet feeder or grab

Amen to that. Have the cows on after grass with a few weeks now. Nothing responds to grass like a dried off cow. They are putting on flesh, by the hour. Had planned to house first week Nov, and restrict silage plus a bit of meal. I doubt the meal will be needed though. They will go in needing to lose condition, not gain or even maintain.

yeah no need to feed meal to sucklers if you have good silage. also use a mixture of straw and beet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 aonsceal

Have you considered changing the barriers to o donovans cowpow barrier. Have seen them in operation in a good few farming enterprises when correctly specced for the shed they eliminate pushing in of silage. Just fill the feed passage and leave the cows feed away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

if you want make work make bales if you want an easy life make a pit.10 minutes to feed 80 cows last year and then push it in with one of those silage wheels every second day-pikes are only for leaning on or knackers;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

yeah no need to feed meal to sucklers if you have good silage. also use a mixture of straw and beet.
    do people really feed meal to sucklers? anything low on bcs was weaned last week and left on good grass, the only ones getting meal here are the culls. we have never fed it and hope we dont have to cows going in.

aonsceal wrote: »
    Have you considered changing the barriers to o donovans cowpow barrier. Have seen them in operation in a good few farming enterprises when correctly specced for the shed they eliminate pushing in of silage. Just fill the feed passage and leave the cows feed away.

saw those barriers just after we had put in a new shed. we have a mass concrete stud wall under the barriers so changing them out now is not really an option. would probably have had closer look at them if i had seen them before the shed was gone up.

as for the silage type have looked at putting in a slab but the amount of bales we do wooulnt justify it at the present (ground works, concrete, plus effulant tank plus grab). There is very little waste in teh bales we have and if we every get a good summer again i can make a lot of hay to reduce the amout of silage needed. if we had more cattle it would proably make sense to put one in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

No point in complicating the system all you need is a way to break up the bale of silage. I have seen one lad use a bridgeway but not very sucessful, another lad uses a grab the best however is a 4 prong loader (shortish tines) pike drive into side of bale take into shed in your case start at last pen

With bale up in the air cut from round centre all the way down and underneat and back up otherside now back in tractor and shake loader bale will start to break up ( works for choped bales) reverse along spreading bale at end leave rest of silage and plastic in heap you should be able to keep fairly close top barrier with a bit of practice. Repeat with other bales afterwards collect netting and plastic.

Would work well with a tyre to push in

If you have good quality silage bales it should last 3-4 along feed face if not broken up, and you should be able to just push in bales to each pen

No point in complicating the system all you need is a way to break up the bale of silage. I have seen one lad use a bridgeway but not very sucessful, another lad uses a grab the best however is a 4 prong loader (shortish tines) pike drive into side of bale take into shed in your case start at last pen

With bale up in the air cut from round centre all the way down and underneat and back up otherside now back in tractor and shake loader bale will start to break up ( works for choped bales) reverse along spreading bale at end leave rest of silage and plastic in heap you should be able to keep fairly close top barrier with a bit of practice. Repeat with other bales afterwards collect netting and plastic.

Would work well with a tyre to push in

actually beign doing this for a few years now, put on a single long pin to the pike as i was finding that most of the bale would fall off as soon as i had the netting off or at the 1st shake. I would then need the drop the remaining part of the bale and use the pike to drag back the lump of silage to spead it out. also i doubt it good in the long run for pins and bearings to be shaking 3/4s of a ton on a loader.
    If you have good quality silage bales it should last 3-4 along feed face if not broken up, and you should be able to just push in bales to each pen

OP, is looking for more efficient and faster method of puching silage into the barrier.
    I'd say, a lot of lads, myself included, will be more in need of a method, of keeping the silage, away from the barrier, given the scarcity:eek:

OP, is looking for more efficient and faster method of puching silage into the barrier.
    I'd say, a lot of lads, myself included, will be more in need of a method, of keeping the silage, away from the barrier, given the scarcity:eek:

yeah, last few weeks been ok, hope to have a good authum so that cattle can stay out longer, and for a mild winter so that they can get out earlier next spring. dont really need a repaet of a few years back when we had to feed until april as there was no early grass after the snow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭PatQfarmer

Saw that Shear Grab at Ploughing. Looks a great weapon, takes off plastic and netting, cuts bale in half to drop in front of feed barrier.
    Users say does a bale a minute, without ever getting down from the cab!
    Costs €3500 incl vat. If only I had money...

yeah, last few weeks been ok, hope to have a good authum so that cattle can stay out longer, and for a mild winter so that they can get out earlier next spring. dont really need a repaet of a few years back when we had to feed until april as there was no early grass after the snow.

Just wondering how many times you get in/out of the cab when feeding?

:D:D

actually beign doing this for a few years now, put on a single long pin to the pike as i was finding that most of the bale would fall off as soon as i had the netting off or at the 1st shake. I would then need the drop the remaining part of the bale and use the pike to drag back the lump of silage to spead it out. also i doubt it good in the long run for pins and bearings to be shaking 3/4s of a ton on a loader.

In farming everything recieves wear and tear (especially my back). TBH I would be slow spending thousands on complicating a system. However if you have good quality silage you should be able to put an unbroken bale in front of each pen and let them eat away or even put a bale between pen s as well let them eat it back half way and then just push over bale with a fork following evening sweep it in with tractor.

Part of your problem is that the cows are getting fresh green feed every day ( tops and kale) so are choosey about there feed. I do not know when you cut you silage but if silage is good quality I cannot understand how they are fussy about it after two days. Even with a diet feeder you will have issues as the silage will be well broken up and starting to go off after 10-12 hours, because of this if any silage is not eaten by morning they will not finish it that evening/night.

I presume because they are on kale/tops that you are autaum calving as otherwise you must have fat cows at calving.

:D:D

I had the vet out there a few weeks ago, doing a few things.
    I said to him, if I put the cows in the crush, would there be any chance you could pull every second tooth in each cow?
    Why he says ............. looking at me in sheer horror:eek::eek:
    Yearra, I says I'm a bit slack in silage, and I thought it might slow them down eating it.
    I have to say, the look on his face, was worth the call out fee:D:D

I had the vet out there a few weeks ago, doing a few things.
    I said to him, if I put the cows in the crush, would there be any chance you could pull every second tooth in each cow?
    Why he says ............. looking at me in sheer horror:eek::eek:
    Yearra, I says I'm a bit slack in silage, and I thought it might slow them down eating it.
    I have to say, the look on his face, was worth the call out fee:D:D

brillant..
    i can imigaine the talk back in clinic was good..... hope the vet has a sense of houmour

In farming everything recieves wear and tear (especially my back). TBH I would be slow spending thousands on complicating a system. However if you have good quality silage you should be able to put an unbroken bale in front of each pen and let them eat away or even put a bale between pen s as well let them eat it back half way and then just push over bale with a fork following evening sweep it in with tractor.

Part of your problem is that the cows are getting fresh green feed every day ( tops and kale) so are choosey about there feed. I do not know when you cut you silage but if silage is good quality I cannot understand how they are fussy about it after two days. Even with a diet feeder you will have issues as the silage will be well broken up and starting to go off after 10-12 hours, because of this if any silage is not eaten by morning they will not finish it that evening/night.

I presume because they are on kale/tops that you are autaum calving as otherwise you must have fat cows at calving.

Nope spring calvers, they have good condition but not fat, found that the cows used to get lazy if we left them inside all winter. The walk from the feild to the yard seems to suit them and reduces the amount of slurry i need to store & spead. depending on numbers but between 6 repalcements, 5 young weanlings and 35 cows used about 1 bale of silage a day (replacemnts and weanling are inside all the time and get to the silage when the cows are out). usually put in 2 bales at a time accross 4 bays. have found that if i leave half a bale infront of each barrier then have problems with bullying as they try to get to the silage. Feed passage it tight as it is next to another shed so cant drive straight in from the front.

the tanco bale grabs do look the bis but again might wait for the 2nd market, expensive bit of kit.

Just wondering how many times you get in/out of the cab when feeding?

open gates, off
    start digger, on
    pick up 1st bale drive to feed passage, on
    cut off plastic, remove net, off
    shake out silage, on
    take off plastic from pike, off
    drag back silage (if needed), on
    Get second bale, on
    cut off plastic, remove net, off
    shake out silage, on
    take off plastic from pike, off
    drag back silage (if needed), on
    Dump plastic and netting in containers, off
    Park digger, on
    Even out silage with pike, off
    Finsh, off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭F.D

I really think the cheapest option is feeding Chopped bales, i got some 2 yrs ago chopped with a 17 knife baler, it made a huge difference it wasnt as fine as pit silage but the bale fell apart as soon as the net was off, we would put in one bale per day open it at one end of the feed passage and just shove up the remainder with the loader up the other spans, i know you still have to get up and down a few times, for the nett and wrap but we never had to fork it

Lads, as we are on the subject, how do ye open the bale if feeding into a round feeder?
    I stick tractor fork into side of bale, slice the plastic from top to bottom and across other side, peel it back and then lift the bale over the feeder (trying to avoid being trampled by hungry stock!). Tilt it down a bit, climb on feeder and slice netting, which usually gets stuck under a massive lump of silage!
    I have to be doing this wrong. Is there an easier way, without fencing off the feed area and placing the bale on fresh ground then moving the feeder?:(

F.D wrote: »
    I really think the cheapest option is feeding Chopped bales, i got some 2 yrs ago chopped with a 17 knife baler, it made a huge difference it wasnt as fine as pit silage but the bale fell apart as soon as the net was off, we would put in one bale per day open it at one end of the feed passage and just shove up the remainder with the loader up the other spans, i know you still have to get up and down a few times, for the nett and wrap but we never had to fork it

yeah we use all chopped bales, great job and less plastic and netting. still end up with too much coming off in one go

PatQfarmer wrote: »
    Lads, as we are on the subject, how do ye open the bale if feeding into a round feeder?
    I stick tractor fork into side of bale, slice the plastic from top to bottom and across other side, peel it back and then lift the bale over the feeder (trying to avoid being trampled by hungry stock!). Tilt it down a bit, climb on feeder and slice netting, which usually gets stuck under a massive lump of silage!
    I have to be doing this wrong. Is there an easier way, without fencing off the feed area and placing the bale on fresh ground then moving the feeder?:(

use longer spikes on the bales. had the same problem. the bale gets shook about a bit (brinin gthem up the road to the field and this loosens it. noticed that the pikes were tilting back and the bale falling farward and it was just the plastic and nett holdign it together, and when i cut them the bales fells in. Welded in a bushing into the pike over the lower pins and put on a single long pin, holds the bale longer and keeps it intact while i cut the net. (cut from the front back tot he tractor as near to the bottom of teh bale, (takes too long to unwind with the cows around you).

if you have a single spike ont eh loader put on two long ones, stops the bales from rolling

(cut from the front back tot he tractor as near to the bottom of teh bale, (takes too long to unwind with the cows around you).

if you have a single spike ont eh loader put on two long ones, stops the bales from rolling

Longer spikes sound right. You're right about the bale shaking and tilting.
    Knew I was cutting the netting wrong! Underneath from front towards tractor from now on. Thanks a mil:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

i dont get the problem here,but as i see it the cows are not getting enough during the day so when they are all coming in at night they are hungry and the op wants to make sure that they all get feed space and silage but he wants to cut out sprong work, give the animals silage in a rack out in the field and you wont have to sprong just open the bale a leave it in front of barrier for who ever is hungry when they come in.

leg wax wrote: »
    i dont get the problem here,but as i see it the cows are not getting enough during the day so when they are all coming in at night they are hungry and the op wants to make sure that they all get feed space and silage but he wants to cut out sprong work, give the animals silage in a rack out in the field and you wont have to sprong just open the bale a leave it in front of barrier for who ever is hungry when they come in.

Being a farmer, and sprong shy, are mutually exclusive attributes, in my humble experience:o

I dont think it hunger, i think they just want silage and all go at the same time. when they go in all you see it silage flying in the air. come back in a hour and they have all settled down. will have cleaned out the silage right to the floor by the morning and i just push in teh rest for two. dotn really want to be taking bales out into the field all winter, takes too long, cuts up the field and besides its easier to left them in in teh evening as they come down teh passge when they hear me in the yard.
    its more the gettign the silage in and havign it good and even in a easier way that wont cost a fortune that i'm looking

the tanco bale grabs do look the bis but again might wait for the 2nd market, expensive bit of kit.

Those type machines do look good but I reakon you'd want to be feeding more than 10 bales at a time to make the spend worthwhile.

When we used to feed bales in the centre passage we'd cut the plastic off as many as possible before getting in the tractor. Land the bales in out of reach of the cattle. Once they were all in take the nets off and then hoop back into tractor and push them closer to the barrier. Always found it more successful to unwind the net than having to cut but the knife will still be needed from time to time.
    But we never had to shake them out like yellow50hx really as there was plenty demand.

Misshaped bales were a problem though as you could not take the plastic off without them falling to bits so had to get in/out of tractor for every bale. Complete pain in the ass.

I dont think it hunger, i think they just want silage and all go at the same time. when they go in all you see it silage flying in the air. come back in a hour and they have all settled down. will have cleaned out the silage right to the floor by the morning and i just push in teh rest for two. dotn really want to be taking bales out into the field all winter, takes too long, cuts up the field and besides its easier to left them in in teh evening as they come down teh passge when they hear me in the yard.
    its more the gettign the silage in and havign it good and even in a easier way that wont cost a fortune that i'm looking
    do you not have to go out into the field every day to shift a strip wire? how do you get down to the field walk,its faster on a tractor even with a bale on it,hey keep sprongin it will keep you fit:rolleyes:.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

spronging, never heard it called that before.

do you not have to go out into the field every day to shift a strip wire? how do you get down to the field walk,its faster on a tractor even with a bale on it,hey keep sprongin it will keep you fit:rolleyes:.

Yeah, stroll over with dogs lets me have a better look at the cows too espically if one is away from the others. If I was feeding them out in he fields why would I need a shed? I'd hate to see what a field of beet would look like after 4 months of driving a Tractor around it. I kinda need the exercise anyway :D

1chippy wrote: »
    if it does not have a engine on it around here i dont use it :D,no horses under the bonet here only 1 little ass:D:D

1chippy wrote: »

I know how you feel the first time I heard someone talking about a four prong gripe/grape/greap:confused: I was looking around to see where the camera was. I was certain he was taking the p**s. I'd say myself and legwax are the only sprongers on this thread, bit of a Waterford thing.

Yeah, stroll over with dogs lets me have a better look at the cows too espically if one is away from the others. If I was feeding them out in he fields why would I need a shed? I'd hate to see what a field of beet would look like after 4 months of driving a Tractor around it. I kinda need the exercise anyway :D
    but you are feeding them out in the field kale and beet? your one of the first lads i have heard that then brings them in to feed silage,you have time to stroll with the dogs but takes too long to bring out a bale:confused:

I agree with OP here this is not a craggy field or a big square of ground. The ground after beet tops or kale will cut up very fast also if you are in and out with a tractor you will have a right good track from going over same ground also you will not be able to till ground until april after outwintering. A nice walk in the morning or evening is no harm everything has not got to be done from a tractor ( that is why half of us are overweight).

If I was the OP I would put a full bale in front of each pen let them eat it back the first night push it over the second night and then put what is left in front of one pen or maybe two amd split a bale the third night between two pens. One hungry night will do them no harm it is the breaking up of bale that makes them go off as weel as quality of silage.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

OP why don't you put the bales out on the kale/beet on their ends? Along a fence in a line, you roll a ring feeder along as they are fed. Cut the plastic off, un-wind the net and drop the ring feeder over it. When the bale is finished gather up the plastic that was underneath the bale and move the feeder on to the next bale.

If the weather is bad you can still bring the cows in at night.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

blue5000 wrote: »
    OP why don't you put the bales out on the kale/beet on their ends? Along a fence in a line, you roll a ring feeder along as they are fed. Cut the plastic off, un-wind the net and drop the ring feeder over it. When the bale is finished gather up the plastic that was underneath the bale and move the feeder on to the next bale.

Jayzus lads, how would he cope in proper west Clare lands. Untravelable half the year every year. Untravelable all the year this year. As for growing and grazing kale not a chance.
    You need to keep the sprong beside the bed around here . Fork in our lingo -:)

blue5000 wrote: »

The weather is bad most years.:D

Have seen a lad doing that in England where he puts the wrapped bales out in the field as the kale grows, might try that next year if I put in kale. Not an option with beet. Always a hell of a lot easier to check cows near calving when they are in the shed. Nothing worse then walking around a field in the lashing wind and rain at 1 in the morning trying to get a cow back to yard, or trying to pull a calf by torch light by a ditch.

Neighbour has his cows out all winter but he has tillage too and the cows have the run of about 40 acres of stubble so it's easier for him to feed them with a round feeder.

I agree with OP here this is not a craggy field or a big square of ground. The ground after beet tops or kale will cut up very fast also if you are in and out with a tractor you will have a right good track from going over same ground also you will not be able to till ground until april after outwintering. A nice walk in the morning or evening is no harm everything has not got to be done from a tractor ( that is why half of us are overweight).

If I was the OP I would put a full bale in front of each pen let them eat it back the first night push it over the second night and then put what is left in front of one pen or maybe two amd split a bale the third night between two pens. One hungry night will do them no harm it is the breaking up of bale that makes them go off as weel as quality of silage.

Might try putting a bale in half and put it in front of each pen when the cows come in and see how that works.