Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Red setters

• 21-09-2012 11:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭

Looking at getting a red setter as a family dog and if I could bring him shooting great but obviously a family dog first.

We had a dog and he nipped the young lad 2and half years old he is gone now.

The child obviously isn't as good around dogs anymore he isn't afraid but is clearly nervous. I don't want him to grow up with a fear so I was gonna get another pup soon enough to try and make him settle with dogs again.
    It's been 2 or 3 months since it happened and he genuinely is missing both dogs and still talks about them and wants to bring them walking.

I also think been out in the country you need a dog around the house and yard.
    Also if we get another dog it will definitely be a bitch.

Is it to soon to introduce a new dog ?
    Has anyone any experience with them ?
    How are they with kids ?
    How are they for bringing shooting ?

Thanks guys opinions greatly appreciated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

Looking at getting a red setter as a family dog and if I could bring him shooting great but obviously a family dog first.

The child obviously isn't as good around dogs anymore he isn't afraid but is clearly nervous. I don't want him to grow up with a fear so I was gonna get another pup soon enough to try and make him settle with dogs again.
    It's been 2 or 3 months since it happened and he genuinely is missing both dogs and still talks about them and wants to bring them walking.

How are they with kids ?

I think a gud Labrador is what you need , great with kids and always ready to go hunting .

Red setter are hit and miss ! Going to be linched for this !

And I wouldn trust them round kids , now I've seen red go up with kids never a problem , but also see a red turn on his owner while feeding him .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭Theshooter2012

My advice is get a pup and he will grow with your son and your son will gain trust. Not many people can be afraid of puppies :D . Also if you buy a dog you dont know what the the owner was like before and the dog may be vicious because of it if you buy a pup you can train him and know his personality.

Good luck which ever you choose.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9 Range Shooter

TriggerPL wrote: »
    ................And I wouldn trust them round kids , now I've seen red go up with kids never a problem , but also see a red turn on his owner while feeding him .

One dog turns on it's owner and you brand them all the same :rolleyes:

I've seen lots of & I've had Irish Setters (known as Red) for over 35 years. They are BRILLIANT with kids and great for hunting too.

Labs are BRILLIANT with kids too BTW.

................And I wouldn trust them round kids , now I've seen red go up with kids never a problem , but also see a red turn on his owner while feeding him .

One dog turns on it's owner and you brand them all the same :rolleyes:

I've seen lots of & I've had Irish Setters (known as Red) for over 35 years. They are BRILLIANT with kids and great for hunting too.

Labs are BRILLIANT with kids too BTW.

I did not brand them all the same , try reading the second line of my post !

Moral of story is you should never trust any dog no matter the breed around kids .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

First off,why did the dog nip your kid and what breed was it??
    Usually it will be the smaller breeds like terriers or the like that are the biteist..Big fellahs l that you would expect to be biters worldwide dont make it on the top 20 at all.
    Dogs by and large are very tolerant of kids,especially young ones,but it has to be a two way respect situation.And I say this as somone who has had a dog in his life since I was born.Yes, been bitten by dogs,but it was mostly my own stupid fault,even as a kid when I should have known better.:rolleyes:
    So it is sound advice to get a pup as well.BUT you have to train your child as much as the pup to respect each other.

Red Setters are fine dogs,if you dont mind their scatty goofy nature or retraining them every season. Lab retrivers are also a fine choice as gun dog and companion.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    First off,why did the dog nip your kid and what breed was it??
    Usually it will be the smaller breeds like terriers or the like that are the biteist..Big fellahs l that you would expect to be biters worldwide dont make it on the top 20 at all.
    Dogs by and large are very tolerant of kids,especially young ones,but it has to be a two way respect situation.And I say this as somone who has had a dog in his life since I was born.Yes, been bitten by dogs,but it was mostly my own stupid fault,even as a kid when I should have known better.:rolleyes:
    So it is sound advice to get a pup as well.BUT you have to train your child as much as the pup to respect each other.

Red Setters are fine dogs,if you dont mind their scatty goofy nature or retraining them every season. Lab retrivers are also a fine choice as gun dog and companion.

Ye we were thinking of a lab but I didn't really know they could be used for retrieving.

The dog that bit the young lad was a male doberman

Ye I know what every one is thinking, but before this incident he was a picture perfect dog the three of us always went walking we all use to play together and all very use to one another. The day it happened the young lad was petting the dog and the dog just turned on him grabedhim by the back of the head. I was so shocked with the dog and felt so let down.

I never had a problem with the dog before and he was always trustable. The day it happen I could touch both of them at any stage the child is never left alone with the dog.

Something just changed in his head for a split second that day and he had to pay the ultimate price unfortunately.

The woman thinks I'm mad but that evening I felt I could see the regret in the dogs eyes.

And the young lad still wanted to feed him and rub him.

Kids guys they have some spirit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭jap gt

i have a red setter, great with kids,if dog will mainly be a pet i would try something else first esp with a very small child, red setters can be very jumpy as pups, now a small bit of work will sort that out but if your young man is already nervous i would be looking else where

i have had dealings with a good share of setters never met a cross one but several highly excited dogs that will knock kids while playing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

The dog that bit the young lad was a male doberman

Thats a bit unusual.As despite their fearsome reputations the Doberman is about 40 in the top one hundred biters,well below breeds like labs and golden retrivers.

Ye I know what every one is thinking, but before this incident he was a picture perfect dog the three of us always went walking we all use to play together and all very use to one another. The day it happened the young lad was petting the dog and the dog just turned on him grabedhim by the back of the head. I was so shocked with the dog and felt so let down.

Odd alright,but the bite style is a warning bite,what dogs do with bothersome pups or smaller dogs.Grab by the scruff and shake.
    Still and all not good.:(

The woman thinks I'm mad but that evening I felt I could see the regret in the dogs eyes.

No I would bet you would have,as Dobies are incredibly intelligent dogs and he would have known well that he had done wrong.

And the young lad still wanted to feed him and rub him.

Kids guys they have some spirit

Fact! :cool:

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭staghunter

red setter would be an ideal choice.great family pet and if well breed would make a great working dog.could take a couple of years to work well consistantly.had one for years and was great with kids you could pull and drag out of him and he wouldn't pass a bit of heed.i wouldn't take any heed of pups jumping on kids 90% of pups will, a few clips on the noise wont be long stopping him.go for working strain stay away from show dogs.

The child's head was in his mouth warning bite or not he crossed the line and there was no way back he had to go unfortunately and the Doberman is an incredibly loyal and kind bread I couldn't believe it.

But they do have a reputation for a reason I suppose.

I was looking at the other post on labs and noting but good things been said about them but a lot of people have told me that more bites happen from labs and other breads that are considered family dogs.

Maybe the ratio is bigger or something because they are the classic family dog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭alan86

You could also go for a springer aswell they have a grate nature good family dog easy to train and good all round shooting dog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭dicky82

alan86 wrote: »
    You could also go for a springer aswell they have a grate nature good family dog easy to train and good all round shooting dog.

100% on the springers. we had one for nearly fifteen years. as kids she came everywhere with us. she'd walk us to school and used to wait on the pillar for us to come home. she'd talk to you nearly. we were all gutted when she shuffled off.

The playfulness of the setters isn't an issue I don't think.

I mentioned a springer alright and I got no reply so that's that seemingly

I'll think I'll bring them to look at a few different breads and see how it goes with the young lad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭charlie10

I think a gud Labrador is what you need , great with kids and always ready to go hunting .

And I wouldn trust them round kids , now I've seen red go up with kids never a problem , but also see a red turn on his owner while feeding him .

friend of mine put his hand into dog trailer to put lead on his bitch and she nearly ripped the hand off him no lie .also a setter

A friend of mine trains dog and dog handlers for protection and sniffer dogs etc etc etc

He said that a lot of unprevoced attacks on the family is a possible chance of a serious underlying illness in a dog

Could make sense anyone heard of this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭Vizzy

charlie10 wrote: »
    friend of mine put his hand into dog trailer to put lead on his bitch and she nearly ripped the hand off him no lie .also a setter

While I don't doubt for one second that this happened I think it is unhelpful to point out that a setter (or any other) breed is dangerous because of one or two incidents.
    For instance I have a Golden Retriever.Bit of a fool but a lovely pet.You could pull and drag out of him all day,in fact he would enjoy it.Never ever had a bad experience with him.
    My vet doesn't share my opinion on retrievers however as he has a permanent smile from a biting incident.

Just in relation to setters,we had reds for a few years when I was very young and my father never had problems.
    We then moved on to English setters for many years and they were brilliant with kids,easy(ish) to train and were excellent in the field.
    Brother has 2 English setters and a Gordon and of the three,he swears by the Gordon( he has a daughter with special needs and the dog is like a brother to her).

Just so were straight I was not saying that setter a big no no !
    You really can not trust any dog when it come to your kids .

Labradors are very protective and if you child was in the garden and someone approached him u would see the value of you Labrador .

And you right the lab is the most common family dog and prob the reason why stats are high on biteing ! But what the stats don't tell you is weather these dog are cross bread or not .

Look at done deal it full of lab x with everything but most common is collie and in the last while the labradoole .

Both dog knowing for biting !

Collies are infamous for being the loving pet one day and turning on there owners the next , I've lost count of the amount of collies I've been asked to dispatch ( with a humane piston from our slaughterhouse) .

Springer would be along the same lines as your lab, mayb not as protective but a loving pet all the same

Vizzy wrote: »
    While I don't doubt for one second that this happened I think it is unhelpful to point out that a setter (or any other) breed is dangerous because of one or two incidents.
    For instance I have a Golden Retriever.Bit of a fool but a lovely pet.You could pull and drag out of him all day,in fact he would enjoy it.Never ever had a bad experience with him.
    My vet doesn't share my opinion on retrievers however as he has a permanent smile from a biting incident.

Just in relation to setters,we had reds for a few years when I was very young and my father never had problems.
    We then moved on to English setters for many years and they were brilliant with kids,easy(ish) to train and were excellent in the field.
    Brother has 2 English setters and a Gordon and of the three,he swears by the Gordon( he has a daughter with special needs and the dog is like a brother to her).

well im giving the original poster an incident that happened with a red setter that i know,and im entitled to give my two cents,i think he posted the question here to get straight answers ive nothing against setters but never heard of an incident with any other gun dog as a rule they are placid enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭Vizzy

well im giving the original poster an incident that happened with a red setter that i know,and im entitled to give my two cents,i think he posted the question here to get straight answers ive nothing against setters but never heard of an incident with any other gun dog as a rule they are placid enough

I knew that this would happen !!

I wasn't getting at you or your post charlie.

Unfortunately i have(after 30 years of shooting and about 45 around dogs) seen setters,springers,retrievers,terriers,cockers, biting people.
    I've been nipped meself a few times but the person was nearly always in the wrong.
    My point is simply that all dogs will bite if provoked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

Vizzy wrote: »
    I knew that this would happen !!

I wasn't getting at you or your post charlie.

Unfortunately i have(after 30 years of shooting and about 45 around dogs) seen setters,springers,retrievers,terriers,cockers, biting people.
    I've been nipped meself a few times but the person was nearly always in the wrong.
    My point is simply that all dogs will bite if provoked

Sure you'd bite yourself if provoked :)

Tell us more about that incident Charlie?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 248 ✭✭Dalken

I agree with this, Labs make great family dogs, fab with children, as are springers but a springers working nature is more easily corrupted by having kids play with them.
    My Dad had a Lewelyn Setter once and I wouldn't have thought it much of a 'person dog', didn't really like to be around people as much as the breeds above, that was my experience.

red setter bitch in a trailer lad put his hand in to her to put a lead on her and she locked onto him:(thats it really

Was It a first, any signs of aggression be fore, did he get rid of her etc?

its his fathers dog he took her out, maybe the drive in the box spooked her or just the fact she wasnt use to him,they still have her she is about 4 this lad never went near her again and she never turned on his dad

Maybe he didn't ask her about her feelings or tell her how pretty she was before putting his hand in :D:D

i put my hand in another type of box and got bitten by a bitch too one night so ya i can see where their coming from.:P (hope i dont get banned for that one)

Genuine ans is all I'm looking for and I'm taking everyone in context and I am actually reading what ye guys are saying and I feel I understand ye all.

I like the Gordon setter in fairness they are nice alright she rathers a red doe.

i put my hand in another type of box and got bitten by a bitch too one night so ya i can see where their coming from.:P (hope i dont get banned for that one)

See Clarlie I brought it so far! You had to cross the line! :D

Genuine ans is all I'm looking for and I'm taking everyone in context and I am actually reading what ye guys are saying and I feel I understand ye all.

I like the Gordon setter in fairness they are nice alright she rathers a red doe.

Gordons for sale in Sligo gundog fair this coming Sunday....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭sonofthegun

i have a red setter most placid dog around kids and a good hunting dog
    however all dogs have the potential to bite and nip regardless of breed you have no gaurantee with any animal all you can do is pick what you want and socialise the dog the two litter mates of my lad a vicious i know the lad that has them and they where tied up and ruined from day one my boy was brought home and grew up with my young lad from day one thing about a setter is they mature very slowly compared to say a springer so you wont be doing a whole lot of hunting with em for the first year or two .
    if i can add be very careful where you buy a lab from breed has being ruined in some areas
    sotg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭customrifle

Sorry to hear about dobie nipping your son. Have one myself, 2nd one ive had and always found them placid(and my goddaughter and her little brother would test any dog), the dog could just have been sore where your son rubbed him and it reacted badly. As for the setters, they make a great family pet, we had one growing up. On the hunting side i have a weimaraner and find him great for working(can be headstrong), great with kids, very good guard dog and have great laugh at him and the dobie messing. good luck with whatever you get and hope it works out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭garyc007

id agree on the lab as an all round family/gun dog they would be hard bet.the springer are close too but some can be a bit grumpy shall we say! including my own!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,994 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

How are they with kids ?

You wouldn't trust a red setter around kids?

Are they not one of only two dogs the English Kennel Club recommends to have around kids?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

I've had a red setter for years now, and he's one of the most amiable chaps you could ever meet. Well, once he sees you getting let into the house by someone in the family. Smart, friendly, loyal playful, I'm pretty sure he tried chasing the bullet when my dad took him fake shooting to get used to the gun. He ticks all the boxes, really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭garyc007

Gordons for sale in Sligo gundog fair this coming Sunday....

i nearly forgot about this, anyone going? if you look at the temple house page they have a list of enteries

weimaraner

Thanks for that

Ye we looked at the Weimaraner aswell but I never really heard of people with one or seen many around.
    So bottom line I didn't know anything about them so I just passed them off

garyc007 wrote: »
    i nearly forgot about this, anyone going? if you look at the temple house page they have a list of enteries

im going lad ya going to leave the wallet at home if i can

How are they with kids ?

You wouldn't trust a red setter around kids?

Are they not one of only two dogs the English Kennel Club recommends to have around kids?

Would the ekc take responsibly if I got a setter and in ended up biting a child or adult for that matter , I ffffing think not !

What sort of bubble do people live in , look at any attack on kids by dogs , every person say " they were a loving pet before hand" .

And to the OP a Doberman is the last dog I'd have around a house , I find then highly strung and very aggressive towards strangers , they are natural guards dogs and are use as such for there aggressiveness .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭MacsuibhneR

The OP might want to consider waiting a while until his young lad gets a bit older. His son is 2 and a half and is only now getting into the hard work stage. It is good to have a dog growing up but it will be hard work with both a young child and a pup. Springers and setters, if you follow all the usual precautions, are generally good with children but until properly trained will jump and play and this can be a bit much with a young child who is only himself getting steady on his feet.

We always had dogs including a springer and she was great with my son when he was both a baby and a toddler. The springer was old but was very good with him and infinitely patient, however you still had to be careful as she would have sent him flying when she went off and he was getting used to being on his feet. The springer died when my son was three and I waited until my young lad was almost 5 before getting another dog (a golden retriever). At that stage he was old enough to listen to what I was saying about how to treat the dog properly and let it know who is boss. Just small things like having him bring the food to the dog and making her sit and wait for it and all the usual stuff. It was good for him and the dog (which is really now his dog) and they have a great bond.

Any breed can bite and any breed can be good with children, if treated properly, but it is taking on a fair lot with a young child and an energetic pup, which you will want in a gundog, and the other half may not be too keen at this stage, especially if the dog will be kept inside and needs house trained. When the lad gets a wee bit older it makes a big difference and will be a far better experience for him. Anyway that's my two cents worth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Always had GWP's around the house when I was a kid ( first was a GWP / Griffon cross ) without exception extremely friendly inquisitive dogs. They only downside was that they'd get a bit excited when they see you first thing in the morning but that didn't amount to much more than jumping up and down around you.

Would the ekc take responsibly if I got a setter and in ended up biting a child or adult for that matter , I ffffing think not !

What sort of bubble do people live in , look at any attack on kids by dogs , every person say " they were a loving pet before hand" .

And to the OP a Doberman is the last dog I'd have around a house , I find then highly strung and very aggressive towards strangers , they are natural guards dogs and are use as such for there aggressiveness .

Have you ever owned a doberman. have you been around many
    The OP might want to consider waiting a while until his young lad gets a bit older. His son is 2 and a half and is only now getting into the hard work stage. It is good to have a dog growing up but it will be hard work with both a young child and a pup. Springers and setters, if you follow all the usual precautions, are generally good with children but until properly trained will jump and play and this can be a bit much with a young child who is only himself getting steady on his feet.

We always had dogs including a springer and she was great with my son when he was both a baby and a toddler. The springer was old but was very good with him and infinitely patient, however you still had to be careful as she would have sent him flying when she went off and he was getting used to being on his feet. The springer died when my son was three and I waited until my young lad was almost 5 before getting another dog (a golden retriever). At that stage he was old enough to listen to what I was saying about how to treat the dog properly and let it know who is boss. Just small things like having him bring the food to the dog and making her sit and wait for it and all the usual stuff. It was good for him and the dog (which is really now his dog) and they have a great bond.

Any breed can bite and any breed can be good with children, if treated properly, but it is taking on a fair lot with a young child and an energetic pup, which you will want in a gundog, and the other half may not be too keen at this stage, especially if the dog will be kept inside and needs house trained. When the lad gets a wee bit older it makes a big difference and will be a far better experience for him. Anyway that's my two cents worth.

It can't be a bit much alright your right but he loves dogs in fairness and I don't want that to change with the length of time he is away from them as I say I can see small changes in him already. Your making sense alright the dog will be house trained but won't live indoors out doors mainly I don't mind an energetic dog but your right it could go either way with the young lad to be fair your right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭customrifle

Sorry not goin to take away from OP, but triggerPL the dobie as a breed are known as the clown dog because they are a big playful fool. But they are very smart and can be trained to be a good guard dog. Its all about how a dog no more than a person is raised and socialised. My wifes shih tzu is more likely to nip you than a well socialised/balanced "dangerous breed". OP if you would like to see how the weimaraners are working or as a pet in general your more than welcome to visit

Great thank you very much I might actually take you up on that to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭dicky82

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/dogs/3952824

might make up your mind. . .

There lovely pups to be fair are they as hairy as other red setters or do they just have to grow into there hair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭snipey

i have a Gordon setter and a couple of English setters and i reckon i never saw a more gentle dog as the Gordon,i have him around a child,The red setters your looking at are beautiful dogs and the hair will grow as they get older.