Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

the kindness of strangers

• 17-09-2012 5:17pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31

For reasons, to many to mention, I need a diesel car, less that 9 years old, to taxi for a couple of years. Trouble is, max budget is 3 grand, and that is set in stone.As I have a wife,kids and a mortgage,I cannot trust my limited knowledge, so I am going to rely on the kindness of strangers, if they will help.Having read the posts on here (mostly bangernomics) I think that the guys who know, endorse the Peugeot 406,and I agree that it could do the job. if I could get one for my budget. but I am open to any make. Any help appreciated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭tuborg_man

I presume you already have a taxi, (if you don't then you need a car less than 3 years old)
    If you have a taxi and are changing to a new car then you will have to replace when it becomes over 9 years old, b
    You could pick up a 03 406 or citroen c5 for the budget but it wouldn't be in date for to long. Not worth the hassle of fitting the meter etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭Just Jack

tuborg_man wrote: »
    I presume you already have a taxi, (if you don't then you need a car less than 3 years old)
    If you have a taxi and are changing to a new car then you will have to replace when it becomes over 9 years old, b
    You could pick up a 03 406 or citroen c5 for the budget but it wouldn't be in date for to long. Not worth the hassle of fitting the meter etc.

The car only has to be less than 9 years old at date of licensing. He can keep as long as he wants after that as long as it passes inspection.

Just Jack wrote: »
    The car only has to be less than 9 years old at date of licensing. He can keep as long as he wants after that as long as it passes inspection.

Any taxi that has had a license issued after 2009 will need to be less than 9 years old, (my mistake, see mgb's below)
    Taxi's licensed before that date don't need to comply with the 9 year rule.
    http://www.nationaltransport.ie/taxi-and-bus-licensing/taxi/taxi-review-implementation/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,261 ✭✭✭mgbgt1978

Just Jack wrote: »

Only up to 14 years old....see tuborg man's link.
    Also Taxi's between 9 and 14 years old will be Tested every 6 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

Any taxi that has had a license issued after 2009 will need to be less than 9 years old, (my mistake, see mgb's below)
    Taxi's licensed before that date don't need to comply with the 9 year rule.
    http://www.nationaltransport.ie/taxi-and-bus-licensing/taxi/taxi-review-implementation/

Assuming that you aren't actually purchasing a license. If you purchase a license then it needs a 3 year old vehicle to transfer it to, if you buy a vehicle and license then the vehicle must be less than 3 years old, however, the get around ( at the moment, until the loophole is closed ) is to rent the plate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

It's just the same guy posting 406s all the time in the bangeromics thread :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31 Daveddub

colm_mcm wrote: »

I already have the taxi license, I only need to get a couple of years out of the car,as by then I will have a teaching job or its of to Canada or somewhere.
    And no I am not the guy who posts the virtues of the 406, I am genuine and would be happy to consider any model,so please take this seriously. Maybe this would be better in the bangernomics thread. Mods feel free to move

NAh, the guy who posts about 406s in the bangeromics thread has one already

Thread is fine here either way.

Facelift model supposed to be quite a lot better than the older ones

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3854149

Thanks for that,just called.its a ex taxi 317,000klms the guy was honest and advised not suitable,but thanks for the link.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

Just check, either the 406 or 407 hdi is recommended to change the DMF everytime the clutch needs doing. Not in work now, but I thing it might be the 407 1.6HDi. Double check it, cause I will forget to check tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭Tony D

Old Passat estate, Audi A4 estate, Primera, there are loads to choose from tbh. I would no rule out a small engined petrol car either, some can be quite economical if driven right

Passats and A4s carry a premium price though, I don't think you'd get a great one for 3k that's new enough

Facelift model supposed to be quite a lot better than the older ones

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3854149

Car looks great, spoke to owner, the guy seemed evasive,located Waterford.
    Claims NCT only out since last month, and he has not had time to renew. Not a convincing person. should I think about it?

Small engined Jap car that is reliable and cheap to run, for example an Almera Saloon, Primera, Accord.....all of those will go for even. Might cost you a bit more on petrol, but not on extra costs if something goes wrong, for example a turbo on a td car

Steer clear of Lagunas. It will spend more time in the garage, not worth it

I love this one, but at the moment I am driving 2004 Camry with leather seats and toys but its killing me mpg wise, I need minimum 40 miles per gallon.
    Would this even get close?

That car will not do 40mpg around the city

That ones diesel. Had an older v70 auto from work for a while with the same engine and was surprised how good it was on juice.

Dunno about an average 40mpg though. Def not around town anyway

Daveddub wrote: »
    I love this one, but at the moment I am driving 2004 Camry with leather seats and toys but its killing me mpg wise, I need minimum 40 miles per gallon.
    Would this even get close?

Going to see the volvo tomorrow, guy seems genuine straight guy,claims 44 mpg, that would be acceptable,is there any things in particular I should be looking for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭randy hickey

Jaysus, she's the right colour and all!

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3898020

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

It is the right colour alright but the milage is a bit high for putting into taxi use I would think.(Note that i have no experience of taxiing and could be wrong)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,360 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

I already have the taxi license

Is your current licence active and current registered and in use as a taxi?

Will check this one out as well,thanks you are all being very helpful.

That one must be ex taxi. Didn't adublin company have fabias and octavias in yellow? That big skoda sticker must be hiding something

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

For reasons, to many to mention, I need a diesel car, less that 9 years old, to taxi for a couple of years. Trouble is, max budget is 3 grand, and that is set in stone.As I have a wife,kids and a mortgage,I cannot trust my limited knowledge, so I am going to rely on the kindness of strangers, if they will help.Having read the posts on here (mostly bangernomics) I think that the guys who know, endorse the Peugeot 406,and I agree that it could do the job. if I could get one for my budget. but I am open to any make. Any help appreciated

Yep, that'd be me :pac:

However, if you head to the other side of the border, alot of taxis are 406's... I'd recommend one as a taxi, I find mine very comfortable, cheap to run and very hard working. Just google Peugeot 406 psv :)

3098023_c4196f3b.jpg

Google taxi1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭randy hickey

Stand out from the crowd on the rank with this!!

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3816763

He might want to carry passengers though

Google taxi1

Exciting stuff alright. Mine is a more sedate driving style.
    I Have decided against the Volvo, and the Skoda, as I think you are right, the guy who owns Global Taxis did buy a fleet of yellow Skodas that year.I appreciate your advice on them,and the links.thanks again.
    I think I will have to travel to the north or the UK as I have been unable to see anything here within my budget.I have done the VRT estimate on 2003/2004 Peugeot 406 diesel 100,000 miles and returns 400 euro on all the months and versions.

How about this?

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3492634

Assuming its not missing an alloy like, and has recent nct

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

Tony D wrote: »
    Old Passat estate, Audi A4 estate, Primera, there are loads to choose from tbh. I would no rule out a small engined petrol car either, some can be quite economical if driven right

i would love to see a 1.6 primera with 150+km on the clock try and take 4 lads + bags to the airport... and be economical ! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,092 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

OT I know.

I saw a 1988 Corolla taxi in the city yesterday!

Not your ornery onager

Pdfile wrote: »
    i would love to see a 1.6 primera with 150+km on the clock try and take 4 lads + bags to the airport... and be economical ! :pac:

Hilarious. It will be better than the Camry which the OP is currently driving

Do not forget that the budget is 3k. Now that I really think about it, the choice will be more limited, especially when looking for a diesel that will be reliable

How about this?

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3492634

Assuming its not missing an alloy like, and has recent nct

This is a dealer, and the car is not a good one. My Dad went to check it out today, and the dealer would not give an address, but asked to meet in pub car park, explaining that if my dad liked the car, they could go to his house nearby. My dad waited for over an hour for this man, who each time my dad phoned him, promised to be down in ten minutes. when he finally did arrive my dad had a quick look at the car, said was not interested and complained about the forced wait, they apperantly had words, and my Dad who is 69 came home quite upset, I am not happy about this, but my Dad refuses to give me any further information.However lesson learned, never agree to view a car, other that at a premises. It makes it hard for the genuine guys, who are trying to sell a few cars, when dealers like this abuse the buyers.

Saab 9-5 diesel, Not sure what the 2.2 is like, prob not great but sure they do look pretty.
    http://www.gumtree.ie/cp-cars-in-dublin/2004-saab-95-diesel-automatic-nct-04-14-taxed-414905660

Oh and somehow the volvo s60 isn't wide enough to pass the random results that do be in the taxi suitability test for new taxi's
    http://www.psv.ie/regulator/Model_Report_Database_22-10-10_PDF.pdf

Saab 9-5 diesel, Not sure what the 2.2 is like, prob not great but sure they do look pretty.
    http://www.gumtree.ie/cp-cars-in-dublin/2004-saab-95-diesel-automatic-nct-04-14-taxed-414905660

Oh and somehow the volvo s60 isn't wide enough to pass the random results that do be in the taxi suitability test for new taxi's
    http://www.psv.ie/regulator/Model_Report_Database_22-10-10_PDF.pdf

The Volvo fails on either the boot space ( unlikely as I think it exceeds the ( I think it's 420 ) 420 liters required or the fact that you can't fit a folded up wheelchair into it.

Quite a few cars fail on this requirement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭Katunga

What about an Volvo S40 or V 70. Seem to have a good reliability record. Seen a few as taxis

v70 yes
    s40 smaller than an s60 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Does OP already have a plate, printer and meter ?

if not then thats another 1K

or if no license plate then he'll have to buy a new one for €6,500

or a used one but make sure the other persons taxes are all up to date.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Surprised no one has suggested a superb yet.

Only var suitable for taxiing IMO, except for an A6 or an S class of course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

Can't believe no one has suggested one of these yet..

JJJJNR wrote: »
    Can't believe no one has suggested one of these yet..

Just as well, they're too old.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

Stupid law! I'd be delighted to be driven in one of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭I Was VB

Where To wrote: »
    Surprised no one has suggested a superb yet.

Only var suitable for taxiing IMO, except for an A6 or an S class of course.

Well I'm sure if you can find the OP one that fits within his budget of €3k ( not sure if that budget includes fitting meters etc or insurance ) he'll be eternally grateful and you'll get free taxi rides for life of him

I Was VB wrote: »
    A great car my dad had one.
    I want to thank everbody and say that the search is over today I bought this.

http://www.utvdrive.co.uk/car/368558/2004-skoda-octavia-ambiente-se-tdi-dungannon/

genuine miles good clean car 2800 euro VRT @ 16% = 527 total 3327 A little over my budget I know, but I am well pleased.

Special thanks to the Limerick Man for his guide to buying a used car, it was very helpful,again thanks to all. I did appreciate the advice