Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trapping foxes in a estate

• 15-09-2012 9:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭

Lads can it be done or is it illegal
    This morning I found teeth marks beside my ferrets enclosure and I know it's a fox seen him few nights ago on the wall and when I come home from work( work shift work mostly nights till 3am) I do see at least 4-5 foxes big lads aswell
    I'm not losing my ferrets over it and I just wondering is it legal to trap them in a house estate
    Thanks for all replies
    Atb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Perfectly legal - its the same as operating a Larsen trap.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 268 ✭✭owelfisherman

Lads can it be done or is it illegal
    This morning I found teeth marks beside my ferrets enclosure and I know it's a fox seen him few nights ago on the wall and when I come home from work( work shift work mostly nights till 3am) I do see at least 4-5 foxes big lads aswell
    I'm not losing my ferrets over it and I just wondering is it legal to trap them in a house estate
    Thanks for all replies
    Atb

I know a perso with poultry in dublin and he traps them in the back garden .hes in a housing estate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Grand now where can I pick up a trap for them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭blindside88

http://www.activehuntingireland.ie/standard-fox-trap-.html

Might be what your after, local gun shop should be able to get you one otherwise

http://www.activehuntingireland.ie/standard-fox-trap-.html

Might be what your after, local gun shop should be able to get you one otherwise
    Not my local gun club he's fcukin useless at everything
    But il look on that site
    Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

Lad I will lend ya a trap !

TriggerPL wrote: »
    Didn't know ya had traps trig
    Sound il get it off ya when I come down ferretin with the hawk
    Prob next weekend if your interested

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

TriggerPL wrote: »
    Didn't know ya had traps trig
    Sound il get it off ya when I come down ferretin with the hawk
    Prob next weekend if your interested

Sounds like a plan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 335 ✭✭Constab2

Try this link just a couple of weeks ago bought one it is the very same as on sale here,BUT half the price delivered
    http://www.ebay.ie/itm/Large-Live-Humane-Animal-Trap-Dog-Skunk-FOX-Raccoon-Opossum-36-5-8-Cage-/380474294837?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item5896090235
    Go figure ?

Constab2 wrote: »
    Try this link just a couple of weeks ago bought one it is the very same as on sale here,BUT half the price delivered
    http://www.ebay.ie/itm/Large-Live-Humane-Animal-Trap-Dog-Skunk-FOX-Raccoon-Opossum-36-5-8-Cage-/380474294837?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item5896090235
    Go figure ?
    Thats v good value

It is, when I saw it I was dubious until I received it, very good & sturdy it would madden you the prices we are quoted here,outside of taxes and such 100% mark up is not justified in my opinion.Basically two for the price of one no brainer.

Constab2 wrote: »
    Thats v good value

It is, when I saw it I was dubious until I received it, very good & sturdy it would madden you the prices we are quoted here,outside of taxes and such 100% mark up is not justified in my opinion.Basically two for the price of one no brainer.
    How much was it all together?

€79.52 exactly well worth it

brahma wrote: »
    Thats not the same trap. The fox trap lkpoultry in nearly double the size of the one from america and much stronger. This trap is pretty much the same size as the one from america and guess what? its much cheaper here....
    http://www.lkpoultry.ie/products/Pine-Martin%2CMink%2CCat-Trap.html

and looks much stronger!

Not trying to get into an argument here, your example albeit a good price is not for foxes & is smaller than the link I provided,horses for courses if you will.Its about choice for 'Fox Traps', there is an alternative to paying double the price for the trap as far as the weight issue the trapped fox is the counterweight surely.I have this trap it went out this morning with bait while on a stalk .Just an alternative thanks for the input though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭Eddie B

If you are using a trap in a built up area you should keep it covered and be discrete when dispatching your fox, maybe wait till nightfall or transport the cage and dispatch away from the nosy neighbor's!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭ssl

In between bins at the side of your house could be a good spot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭arse..biscuits

A fox killed my ducks last Sunday, I ordered a trap from MacEoin on Monday, got it on Wednesday, the fox was dead on Thursday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,061 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

A fox killed my ducks last Sunday, I ordered a trap from MacEoin on Monday, got it on Wednesday, the fox was dead on Thursday

Friday I'm in love.

Maceoin
    165 euro for fox trap
    That not a bit much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭arse..biscuits

Maceoin
    165 euro for fox trap
    That not a bit much?

Maybe. I had a quick look and didnt see anything cheaper. It's a good quality cage and looks like it will last forever. It paid for itself already when I caught that evil ginger devil

Maceoin
    165 euro for fox trap
    That not a bit much?

Maybe. I had a quick look and didnt see anything cheaper. It's a good quality cage and looks like it will last forever. It paid for itself already when I caught that evil ginger devil
    Ah here now
    I know we all have issues with gingers and think they are the devils but no need to trap them
    Trap foxes not gingers!