Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Saturday 15th September

• 15-09-2012 6:32am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭

Quick write ups today

1.45 Bath

Rebecca Romero 17/2

Denis Coakley's C+D winner has been running very consistently of late, winning one of her last 5 starts and finishing beaten less than 1.75L in the other 4. Although she was beaten nearly 2L on her last start over C+D off this mark, this race seems to have a plethora of front runners which should ensure a very quick gallop which she will relish. I expect another bold showing from this 5 year old mare and if they go off at a frantic pace which I envisage then I think the pace may collapse around her and she should definitely go close to landing this competitive little affair at a nice price.

2.15 Bath

Vestibule 6/1

Eve Johnson Houghton's 2 year old filly has some pieces of very nice form that make me believe her current mark of 68 (plus a 6lb penalty) is well within her sphere of ability. On her 3rd start back in May she was beaten a neck by the now 93 rated Light Up My Life whilst in behind her that day was a subsequent Listed winning filly in Faithfully and the 4th and 5th home are now rated 78 and 93. Further to this, she put in an excellent display behind a horse who I rate quite highly in Sound of Guns who was placed in a Group 2 yesterday with the front 2 drawing 6 lengths clear (2 NTO winners). She was beaten 2.75L off marks of 71 in her two handicap starts to date but I think her taking maiden win by 6L over todays C+D on Monday will do her the world of good and will serve as a hugely important confidence booster. I feel she's more than capable of winning off her current mark and with Amy Scott taking a handy 5lb off I think she could be very difficult to peg back if allowed to dictate from the front.

3.00 Doncaster

Bajan Tryst 25/1

I was extremely taken by Bajan Tryst's victory under Graham Lee when I tipped him up 4 starts back when he looked to score with a lot in hand off a 4lb lower mark after meeting trouble in a race that looks pretty decent. His next start can be excused at The Curragh on unsuitable heavy ground whilst his 2nd last start at Ascot he just didn't go a yard. He showed up a bit better LTO in the Stewards Cup at Goodwood off a 1lb higher mark when finishing beaten 3.25L (he was drawn on the side to be on) and although he didn't scream a NTO winner it was definitely a step in the right direction. I find it very interesting that Graham Lee is back on for the first time since his win 4 starts ago and hopefully it signals a big run is expected by connections. From a middle sit in stall 11, I'm hoping he gets back to form in a big way today after a couple of efforts and I'm still more than convinced he can win off this mark given the authority of his last victory. He was beaten 0.5L 2nd in the race two years ago so hopefully connections have earmarked this event for him since his win at Musselburgh and he puts in a bold showing today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,173 ✭✭✭hucklebuck

Murtagh put Ursa Major up as his charity bet on Morning Line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,998 ✭✭✭Shane732

What do you lads think of Dawn Approach?

I've been slightly disappointed with Cristoforo Colombo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭mr.jingle

Personally don't follow your tips Rossom but I do remember you have a soft spot for a horse called Maarek, just in case you missed it he's running today at the Curragh at 4.30 currently 5/1 2nd fav;)

For what it's worth I fancy a few horses today:
    Hot Bed Curragh 4.00
    Aiken Curragh 6.05
    Lethal Force Doncaster 4.15
    Fattsota Doncaster 5.20
    Melbourne Memories Bath 2.15
    Dancing Primo Bath 3.30
    Small stake Heinz 57

Also i'll have a little Doncaster outsider e/w double!
    Captain Dunne 3.00
    Glory Awaits 4.50

Good luck today, hopefully nice to see some history made around 3.50:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

I think Strong Suit is the bet of the weekend and have backed it accordingly. Will be disappointed (and poor) should he be beat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

UrbanSea wrote: »
    I think Strong Suit is the bet of the weekend and have backed it accordingly. Will be disappointed (and poor) should he be beat

Timeform have Soul top rated in that race

Jim McGrath was having none of the excuses people tried put forward for Strong Suit's run when Lethal Force beat him (and Soul for that matter)

I don't think you can say he wasn't given too much to do. Don't think Soul has done enough over here to suggest he should beat him today but it's the kind of time Frankie would **** me over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭rossom

Rebecca Romero is most definitely the victim of the unluckiest loser/one of the worst rides I have ever seen by Eddie Ahern. He could of easily switched her out wide but he tried to wait for a gap that was never going to appear and she gets beaten by a length when still on the bridle.

I hate Eddie Ahern. Screws up my pick and then goes on to pip Vestibule for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭dchris

PP paying 5 places for the 3pm at Doncaster. Bajan Tryst 25/1 is definitely worth an E/W bet so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭dchris

2 places from 2 Rossom, hope Bajan Tryst can fulfil my E/w treble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

I guess it will be beans & toast for the week.

Absolutely chuffed for Maarek to win his 2nd Group 3. Fantastic performance on ground that I thought was nowhere near soft enough and he is definitely going to be plying his trade in Group 1s next year. Fantastic training performance by David Peter Nagle and he is probably my favourite horse in training.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,173 ✭✭✭hucklebuck

Well today was a complete pox for me.

I wish National Hunt would hurry the fupp up!!

I guess it will be beans & toast for the week.
    I was a depressed man in the bookies. Then I see a horse I've followed for years is running. Down to my last 50 euro, I put ten each way on Beneath at Bath at 20/1. I hope for a place.

3 furlongs out and it looks like I'll get third. One out and he's between horses pushing. At the line he's a length clear. I grab my money and run out of the bookies, thanking the lord for saving my beer week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

I was a depressed man in the bookies. Then I see a horse I've followed for years is running. Down to my last 50 euro, I put ten each way on Beneath at Bath at 20/1. I hope for a place.

3 furlongs out and it looks like I'll get third. One out and he's between horses pushing. At the line he's a length clear. I grab my money and run out of the bookies, thanking the lord for saving my beer week.

Fair play to you.
    I've gone for 3 safeshots(I hope) in a trixie today.
    Rattan listowel
    torpichen "
    finesse ffos las

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭Howjoe1

rossom wrote: »
    Rebecca Romero is most definitely the victim of the unluckiest loser/one of the worst rides I have ever seen by Eddie Ahern. He could of easily switched her out wide but he tried to wait for a gap that was never going to appear and she gets beaten by a length when still on the bridle.

Runs today in the 2.20 Sandown. Might be worth another chance?