Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone miss out on the Rapha Winter Hat

• 14-09-2012 2:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 926 ✭✭✭

Hi
    I missed the Theblaaman's order of the Rapha winter hat.Looks like he did a great job,Lots of orders.Just wondering would there be 2 more people interested that missed out, 3 people for free shipping,I am in the Kerry area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,917 ✭✭✭✭GT_TDI_150

codie wrote: »
    Hi
    I missed the Theblaaman's order of the Rapha winter hat.Looks like he did a great job,Lots of orders.Just wondering would there be 2 more people interested that missed out, 3 people for free shipping,I am in the Kerry area.
    Any lonk to what they are like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭barrabus

I did and will buy - dublin based

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭t'bear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,971 ✭✭✭fat bloke

Hmm tempted

Did the other lads get theirs? Any verdicts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 926 ✭✭✭codie

fat bloke wrote: »
    Hmm tempted

Did the other lads get theirs? Any verdicts?

Ya seem they are pretty happy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭Surinam

I'd write you a review but it's still too mild out to wear them under the helmet! Preliminary impressions are that they're very well made and look nicer than I expected. I wouldn't pay anything over €40 for them mind, good thing we got a reduction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭triggermortis

I'd be interested as I moved apartment at the time of the original order and had no internet for a while. I need something warm for my winter commute in Zurich...

Might come in handy in that part of Europe alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭monkeypants

I'd be interested in one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

load of bollocks lads you can buy a top of the range merino wool beanie from chainreaction for 19euro got one last week, first rate and delivery was fairly quick for CR.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭Qualitymark

load of bollocks lads you can buy a top of the range merino wool beanie from chainreaction for 19euro got one last week, first rate and delivery was fairly quick for CR.;)

But it doesn't have the cute little peak!

yes it does ;)i'll try to get the link for ya.
    http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/SearchResults.aspx?Search=endura+merino+skip+beanie

sorry got the price wrong but its every bit if not better than the rapha

Price is right; €19 (and a penny back to you). But only black. Hm. I like the red Rapha one, tres stylish, though perhaps not tres girly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,794 ✭✭✭C3PO

Good for you! I got the Rapha hat on the last order and it's a lovely piece of kit but as the fella says "you'se pays your money and gets your choice"!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

I got the Rapha hat off someone on here last year and it is an awesome piece of kit. Wore it all last winter and it had repeated washes and loks and feels exactly as it did on the first day. Costly, but quality. The beanie above looks decent, but doesn't have the same ear covering or back of the head coverage (from what I can make out).

sorry bud but it covers the neck/ ears .front of head excellent piece of kit and as it's merino it will last for years keeps your head nice and warm without overheating , bet my left testical it will outdo your rapha ;)

The Rapha hat cost us 32 and has very good reviews, it seems super snug to me so far although I need to test it over the winter properly. I'm not sure why you're so opposed to buying Rapha given that the one you link to is hardly much of a saving @ 25.

ah not opposed at all but it's just a name thing aint it be honest :D:D
    if anyone ever steals your rapha at least you now know where you can buy a hat equally as good, and you dont have to get 20 or more guys to buy it just to get a few bob off ;)
    btw i'm not trying to be a smart ass about this the rapha gear is good but it's not the only gear out there thats every bit as good thats all i'm saying.;)

Not a brand thing in my case since I had never heard of Rapha until I saw that thread - then I saw all the good reviews and decided to go with it. So many people wanted to order it that I concluded the company must have a very good reputation. It also can't be a brand thing because the Rapha logo is practically invisible on the hat itself, the only way you can see it is to hold it up to a light/direct sunlight and look closely!!

Looking at the prices of their goods generally, however, I can't see myself buying anything else off them unless there was a big discount. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,532 ✭✭✭Unregistered.

Hoe many do we need to get them at 32?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,794 ✭✭✭C3PO

yes it does ;)i'll try to get the link for ya.
    http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/SearchResults.aspx?Search=endura+merino+skip+beanie

sorry got the price wrong but its every bit if not better than the rapha
    .... bet my left testical it will outdo your rapha ;)
    btw i'm not trying to be a smart ass about this the rapha gear is good but it's not the only gear out there thats every bit as good thats all i'm saying.;)

Yeh right ..... hard to believe that you can have a "chip on your shoulder" over a bloody hat but there you go!!

C3PO wrote: »
    Yeh right ..... hard to believe that you can have a "chip on your shoulder" over a bloody hat but there you go!!
    why would you think that read the posts again i'm just saying , ah whats the point in explaining :D:D

Lads think this has totally got out of hand.Just wanted a few to join in on the order to save on shipping.Delighted for Feck sake lads that he is the proud owner of the best hat ever made that he bought from CRC.
    . Think I will go solo as the above mentioned has totally made a boll.... of the thread . €15 won't break me .Moderators can you please close this thread as its been totally derailed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭kildare75

id love to get involved.

codie wrote: »
    Lads think this has totally got out of hand.Just wanted a few to join in on the order to save on shipping.Delighted for Feck sake lads that he is the proud owner of the best hat ever made that he bought from CRC.
    . Think I will go solo as the above mentioned has totally made a boll.... of the thread . €15 won't break me .Moderators can you please close this thread as its been totally derailed.
    now now codie take it easy i'm entitled to make a comment and i havent been nasty in any way on this thread so please dont make me out to be a bollocks.

Man I think you need to chill a little.No where in the thread has anyone been nasty and nobody has made you out to be a boll....
    Please correct me if I am wrong .
    I'm sure your hat is brilliant and I am delighted for you that you think you got such value for money.As they say You can't beat good value.
    Have you ever owned or tried a Rapha Winter Hat?I presume you have since you are able to compare hats and share your knowledge with us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭CardinalJ

We're. talking. about. hats. HATS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭coastwatch

I'm interested in one if there's an order going.

Btw, funniest thread in a long time, some things really are best discussed over a few pints ;)

CardinalJ wrote: »
    We're. talking. about. hats. HATS.

Hats are important. My grandmother once spent the week's housekeeping on this hat:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/61713504@N07/7991215250/in/photostream

I reckon I could wear this cycling, no problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,013 ✭✭✭Ole Rodrigo

You can't go out without your woolies on ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

Hats are important. My grandmother once spent the week's housekeeping on this hat:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/61713504@N07/7991215250/in/photostream

I reckon I could wear this cycling, no problem.

Sexy. Is grandad still on the scene?

RT66 wrote: »
    Sexy. Is grandad still on the scene?

Alas no. He died in 1916, she died in 1917.

Craic, lads?

Any interest in this? I'm thinking of getting one and wondering if there is anybody who wants in on a second group order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Muckers

I missed out on the last order too. I'm interested if your putting in a bulk order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭Sikpupi

Guys... don't jump down my neck on this... but €40 for a hat!!!

Am new to cycling and agree with teh maxim that 'you get what you pay for' but a Hat at the same price as a Bid Short / Shirt etc - can someone explain to me why the 'old guard' are so 'pro' this hat - especially seeing how many went with the last order.!!

If I have to find €40 I will.... just have tell the wife that I'm cooking instead of the tradional friday night meal out!!!!

so... convince me (I don't want to be the only newbie left out!!)

Sikky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭loinnsigh

I went for a cycle with this hat on for the first time yesterday, nice and toasty round me ears on a v. cold morning.
    Went for a run this morning with it on too, same story. Worth it so far IMO.
    As for value, I'm sure there's prob a cheaper alternative, but I'm impressed with the design and quality so I'm happy with my purchase. I don't typically buy crazy expensive gear, but the odd bit of good stuff is nice to have

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭Plastik

Sikpupi wrote: »

Am new to cycling and agree with teh maxim that 'you get what you pay for' but a Hat at the same price as a Bid Short / Shirt etc - can someone explain to me why the 'old guard' are so 'pro' this hat - especially seeing how many went with the last order.!!

If I have to find €40 I will.... just have tell the wife that I'm cooking instead of the tradional friday night meal out!!!!

Sikky

It's not. Rapha are the Apple equivalent of the cycling apparel world.

Fetish object.

Muckers wrote: »
    I missed out on the last order too. I'm interested if your putting in a bulk order.

Sikky

Sweet, so we have three now - free shipping!

For anyone who is interested, here is the thread from the previous order.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=80379525

With a discount for a large bulk order the price came to around €32 each. Will contact them this week if a few more people are interested!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,220 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

The basic problem with all proper winter hats is that the very conditions which make them most appealing, i.e. temperatures around freezing, also preclude them on the basis that you can't fit a helmet over them.

Now I'm about the most relaxed person when it comes to helmet wearing, but about half the people I know who ride a lot in winter (including two current mods of this forum) have broken bones on ice in the last couple years, and despite helmets being of limited utility I always feel like a Darwin award candidate* when I head out in frosty conditions wearing only a wooly hat.

(* sadly I actually can't win this award now, having procreated successfully)

Lumen wrote: »
    The basic problem with all proper winter hats is that the very conditions which make them most appealing, i.e. temperatures around freezing, also preclude them on the basis that you can't fit a helmet over them
    I'm sorry - what has this got to do with the rest of the thread?

I have two helmets and both fit fine over my Rapha hat, I presume it's the same for most cycling hats no?

The hat is great for starting out on cold mornings but I often take it off halfway through the cycle as it gets too warm under the helmet; with the days getting colder I will probably keep it on more and more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,220 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

I'm sorry - what has this got to do with the rest of the thread?

Well, someone called into question the appropriateness of spending 40 quid on a hat.

I'm just going one further and pointing out that the whole concept of a winter cycling hat is a bit questionable.
    Surinam wrote: »
    I have two helmets and both fit fine over my Rapha hat, I presume it's the same for most cycling hats no?

OK. I guess I'm at the limits of my helmet adjustability. I have a massive, odd-shaped head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭Gavin

Yeah also interested ! Sign me up.

I'm just going one further and pointing out that the whole concept of a winter cycling hat is a bit questionable.
    It keeps your head warm.... :rolleyes:

Right - assuming there is going to be at least 10, I think it warrants a separate thread to keep track.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056781608

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

...including two current mods of this forum...

Are you including me in that total?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

sorry bud but it covers the neck/ ears .front of head excellent piece of kit and as it's merino it will last for years keeps your head nice and warm without overheating , bet my left testical it will outdo your rapha ;)

I appreciate it's an old post but just thought I'd point out that being made of merino doesn't mean an item will last for years. I've used 3 100% merino wool tshirts and two fell apart quickly enough. Icebreaker being the still wearable one. As with a lot in life you have to pay the money to get quality.

I will also add I've no idea about the durability of Rapha.

:Dsorry you may say that but i couldn't possible comment;)